Photographers in Oregon: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
Portland Metro, OR 97202
(503) 936-9469


Photographers: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.9
  • Creativity : 4.9
  • Unobtrusive : 4.9
  • Value : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 51 Reviews
Review: Wonderful pictures, great service. THE BEST
07/08/2010
  • Peter J

  • Wedding Date: 02/13/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Most everyone of the ceremony ! One is hard to pick, but there is a very beautiful picture, and unique, of Sara, my wife, looking back at me down the path way. I also like my groomsmen's group action shots.
  • He worked with us, on our schedule with little reminders occassionally. He told us to "forget he was there" and just enjoy the day. That worked because we just forgot he was there, and the pictures looked unposed and natural. He even made the traditional formal poses fun.
  • WOW... even we were promised and more. Prints, DVD with full size photographs (3 DVD sets, a total of 5 sets) because we had over 1,000 pictures, slide shows with our special music (Mel is a DJ too), but most important we can use any producer of prints because we own the copy rights to the images. We used the option of 2 photographers because the ceremony was real complex and wanted different angles. We also got 2 leather albums and 4 flush mount albums. He also did 5 collauges we were not expecting.
  • My family has booked him for another family gathering and a wedding in 2011. They liked him a lot, and especially our pictures.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Check this photographer out... We loved them
07/06/2010
  • Gloria G

  • Wedding Date: 04/17/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One? Maybe 50, and then we liked 576 other too. But for one... our sunset silloette. Beautiful colors and background. A WOW ! I also liked the natural poses he did, relaxed and natural... fun pictures too !
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Except for the posed shots I knew that he and the 2nd photographer were around, but had to really look. He was there when we wanted them, or our schedule, and had to be there at other times because he got so many pictures when we didn't know he was taking pictures. One of my favorite pictures (I suppose action shot) was Jared and me running across the field with multiple exposures. Kind of like an old fashioned movie with lovers running together... kind of cheesy and would have never asked for it, but they are wonderful. Many portraits of us being natural together. One is on our wall, a large 11x17 perfect wedding picture of him kissing my hand.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Full print rights to our pictures, 2 DVDs with all of our pictures large fine images, several DVD slide shows with our special music on it, on line downloading and sharing plus easy ordering, lots of prints and 2 surprise gifts... I can't remember everything right now
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Like I wrote above, and made taking pictures fun. Mel was very helpful in recognizing when I was tired of pictures and would start again when I WAS READY. Most of my family spoke Spanish, but it didn't seem to be a problem. Everybody loved him trying to speak Spanish... it was funny. Sorry to mention that Mel, but it was fun to see how hard you were trying, senior.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: WOW... what a photographer ! Saved a bundle too !
06/29/2010
  • Terry J

  • Wedding Date: 05/15/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There wasn't just one, but if I had to pick: on the hill looking back at the venue, looking very pretty... but he did some many and many special effects there must be 50. I also liked hundreds of the originals
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Except for the formals we didn't really even know when he was there. Once in awhile he would whisper to me something to relieve the tension. Very patient and nice man. I have over 500 candids. He really told the story of my day from the early morning to the final exit. Didn't skip a beat... He did a sequence of the cake cutting, bouquet toss... still can't figure out how he got so many images in such a short period of time. Portraits galore, we are printed a 24x36 for over our mantle that makes me look like a model (and I usually hate my pictures) with my handsome husband...
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVDs with full size pictures, slide shows; on-line viewing, sharing, full size downloading for anybody I want for forever, prints and some freebies we didn't expect... oh, 3 coffee table albums and we have the option to by a professional leather crafted flush or traditional album(s) AT COST plus 15% whenever
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He said that we must like him, his style and trust him before he would even contract with us. That we should treat him as a long known family member and he would blend in. My family loved him, thought he was pleasant, friendly and fun. He got smiles even out of my sometimes grumpy family members because of the general stress of planning this wedding. Absolutely Only Wedding should have 10 stars, not just five.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Superb wedding and family portrait photography
06/28/2010
  • Dorothy P

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Mel did a very creative modification to a shot of our daughter and new husband that he converted to black and white with a hazy effect and the wedding candle lit. when I think of that lovely day this shot in particular comes to mind . It was ethereal and romantic. He also, on 06 20 2010 did a charming collage of some of the many great shots he did of our family. He truly captured the moment for us all.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel was present but never intrusive. He took shots we requested and offered some really fun suggestions, ie one of the guys in the wedding party's hands. They had all gotten manicures along with the ladies. He made getting pictures taken fun and not a chore.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Since most of us are very comfortable with digital photos, Mels method of doing the digital work with creativity and tons of shots that he provided both on-line and in DVD format was ideal for us. He does not do prints but did steer us towards services that did. He was immensely affordable but remarkably talented.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Mel is very personable and open, never directive or annoyingly intrusive. We liked his work so much that we had him do family portraits this Father's Day to include my 91y mother. I am looking forward to printing many of these and they absolutely wonderful both the candids and the formal shots. He captures the important moments beautifully.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Easily the best photographer ever
06/28/2010
  • Lynne P

  • Wedding Date: 06/28/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: The best photographer! And at the best price!
06/12/2010
  • Tabitha P

  • Wedding Date: 06/04/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One? Sorry, there isn't just one. Mel got great shots of me, my husband, our family, friends, all of the entire experience really! I love the candids as much as the formal shots! I love the pictures of our rings and that he took the effort to get pictures of my brother and his wife, our good friends, and even a group photo. Mel took shots I never thought of but totally appreciate and love, I'm grateful that he took the time to get to know us and was able to get pictures we didn't think to ask for! All of the pictures are lifetime treasures!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel blended in so well that he was able to get true candids, some really fun ones too. When shared with friends and family later there were lots of stories, "I didn't realize he was taking that, here's what was happening...". I love the formal portraits, he did a great job with getting all the important shots and including those with parents and step-parents. What I remember most about the formal shoot is laughing, a lot. It shows in the pictures, people are smiling naturally. Mel is a gifted photographer!! He's the whole package; great eye/talent, knows the tools of his trade, and has the personality to pull it off with grace.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our wedding package was perfect! All pictures are our property! There was no picking and choosing because we could only get a set number, instead we have all of them and, with Mel's guidance, know who to use online to print the copies we want, when ever we want them. He also did some editing to some of the pictures, some of which are amongst my favorites.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? When we sat down to meet with Mel it quickly became apparent that we had found our photographer. He was personable and it was evident that he is passionate about what he does. Yes, he has a standard contract to protect himself and you (the client), along with a picture list so you can make sure to get the pictures most important to you. But he goes beyond this, he gets to know you and becomes so much more than someone contracted to take pictures. In an unobtrusive manner he comes up with totally new and different ideas that work out wonderfully, pulling out individual's personalities. Mel gets 6 out of 5 stars as far as my husband and I, and our family, are concerned!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
05/30/2010
  • Carina M

  • Wedding Date: 07/13/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It is so hard for either my husband or myself to pick a favorite! They were all so wonderful! I think we favor one with us in the grass. I was laying on top of him with my elbow on his chest and he looked like he was asleep. Mel did such an amazing job with the effects and it's a stunning b/w with my bouquet in color!!!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? So many of our family members are hard to get good pictures of. Mel was such an amazing photographer that we now have at least one amazing "haha we got your picture and you didn't know it" shot of each member in the family. He simply blended in as "Uncle Mel" and was like one of the family. Everyone really enjoyed meeting him and we truly felt he was our guest rather than a vendor. As for action shots, we didn't stop moving very much that day but there are so many wonderful shots of my husband and I dancing and everyone mingling and having a wonderful time.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I could not believe the AMAZING deal we got for the price we paid!! Most photographers are stingy and WAY over priced. Not only was the price far cheaper than any other wedding photographer and was custom made to our budget, we got more than we could've imagined: Rehearsal Photo Shoot; several hours of photography; HUNDREDS of shoot; copies of all the proofs; NO COPY RITE!!!; DVD Slide Show; CD of all images in full, web, and email size formats; photo books; and so much more......not to mention the priceless gift of going from the stress of trying to plan and survive my wedding to finding a photographer that was in my budget price wise and was such a joy to work with that everyone (including my husband and myself) felt was a great family friend!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I could never say enough how much we enjoyed working with Mel and Absolutely Only. My family still to this day comments on how much fun the photo shoots were, how amazing the pictures turned out, and how we couldn't have found a better photographer to capture and share the biggest day of my life!!!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful way to own ALL your pictures!
03/01/2010
  • Nell B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Flower girl and ring bearer (bride and grooms kids!)
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Did a great job of fitting in with the crowd. Candids, action and portraits were great.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? All shots in color and black and white as well as several artistic renditions of many shots. Made a wonderful DVD to music of all shots as well as CD of pics
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Knew what he was doing, friendly and unobtrusive

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: WOW WOW WOW
01/09/2010
  • Katie J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were about 50, but if I have to pick ONE: Mel color popped every one of my ceremony photos and on one evrey bridesmaid (6) and my bouquet were color popped, and so were the grooms boutineirs and the groomsmans too. How he did that, I'll never know, because we never saw him take that picture during the ceremony. AMAZING.. my dad who paid for more than half loved his "no more money" picture with me FUNNY
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The photography flow was very smooth. Mel introduced himself to all the family and bridal party. He told use to pretend "he wasn't there" except during the traditional poses. We were surprised with all the candid great pictures he got, especially my little talk with the flower girl before the ceremony --- very sweet. I knew exactly what he was going to do because of our pre meetings and emails. He captured every picture I wanted. I should have hired him for more time. "Great" with candids is an understatement. Fantastic is the word. He was truthful of combining his classic and photo-journalism AS I WANTED. I expected only one kiss picture, but he got the entire sequence of the 1st kiss from being asked by the minister, to the tears I had after and Tony's laughing after... 30 regular ones in color, plus special effected ones, plus black and white pictures... over 60 pictures of a 10 second moment. On his slide show it looked like an old flicker movie ! WOW My romantic pictures with Tony still make me cry... it was a special day !
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I was surprised when we wanted his expensive package, and he actually made suggestions where he made less money to help our budget. His packages are almost too good to be true, but he even did more than I expected. I was a little concerned that he was the lowest cost of all the wedding photographers I spoke with, but he gave us more than the most expensive photography (BIG NAME). We booked 5 hours for the before 1st viewing and formal pictures, ceremony and reception... we wanted 7 hours, but he told us we were wasting our "honeymoon" money and we booked 5 hrs with the option for more... didn't need it and Mel DID save us money (and my Dad). We had over 700 photos on DVDs (he just gave use 3 extra copies for free), we are on-line so I can share my pictures with a special code... 3 flush mount coffee table albums. We only had a 2nd photographer for the ceremony. The best though is we own ALL the copy rights to our pictures, and he even recommended 2 great processors, and as he said "less expensive than local printers" and great quality. I still can't believe I got 50, 8x10s for $49, and 11x14s for $1.29 Slide shows on DVD and on-line
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Mel (and Janie) are professional AND friendly, making us all feel comfortable. He said he'd be my valium, and he was. I was a mess. He said if I had what he called "crankie face", he'd make me take a break... happened once, and he was so sweet... it all worked out; even my parents liked him.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography Rocks!!
01/08/2010
  • Brittany K

  • Wedding Date: 07/26/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Mel provided many beautiful photos and it is very hard to say which is my favorite. One of my top favorite wedding photos was of me and my husband when we saw eachother for the first time before the ceremony and formal pictures took place. Mel did a wonderful job setting up the scene, and his light editing gave the photo a magical feeling and touch!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel is very on tops of things, he knows how much needs to be done in order to get all the shots he needs, but he does so in a very nice and professional mannor. He even kept me on top of things (ie: when to do the garter and flower toss)! Like I said before, I have many wonderful photos, way more than I even know what to do with! I have plenty of both candids and action shots as well as about 200 photos of just my husband and I in our private session!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received all of our pictures on CDs (3 different copies) with the rights to them!! I was very excited about this fact because since Mel gives us the rights to the photos, it allows us to have the freedom to print how ever we want! He also made us hardcover books that included approx. 20-30 of our favorite shots. We were also given copies of a slideshow that he put together for us that included music from our wedding!!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Mel was great with making everyone feel comfortable, he is quite the character! =P

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor