Photographers in Oregon: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
Absolutely Only Wedding Photography
Portland Metro, OR 97202
(503) 936-9469


Photographers: Absolutely Only Wedding Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.9
  • Creativity : 4.9
  • Unobtrusive : 4.9
  • Value : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 51 Reviews
Review: Wonderful experience
01/07/2010
  • Jacob B

  • Wedding Date: 02/23/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There was a photo that was taken of my wife and I that some how and some way, Mel captured completely the love and purity that we share with one another. When we saw that picture arrive in the packet we were brought to tears from the shear beauty and amazement that Mel delivered.
  • We had many children at the wedding that day and even though they were running around being wild and getting in the way, at no time did Mel OR his assistant show that they were distraught at all. Mel also went out of his way to make everyone there feel as though they were not being "photographed", they were just a part of the family having fun and taking wonderful and amazing pictures during the wedding.
  • We only ordered 200 pictures on a cd. But we received over 750 pictures on a dvd, and some amazing prints from the wedding as well. Every shot was perfect and some how Mel made them all show the real beauty of the day and the emotion that we all felt as well.
  • Everything that Mel did for us made us feel as though we were there ONLY to have fun and to be with our family on our special day. At no time did we feel pushed to do something or act a certain way so that he could take a picture. He just had a way of capturing the mood of the atmosphere the entire time that he was there. Thank you for everything that you did for us Mel, you went above and beyond the call of duty. You gave us exactly what we wanted and so much more.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding Photographer
01/04/2010
  • Sharlene G

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Actually, there were so many favorites, we had a hard time picking out just a few of the hundreds of shots taken. Mel was able to capture the special moments and add special effects that made them even more special.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel actually helped keep things moving smoothly. Whether it was time for the champagne toast, cutting the cake or throwing the bouquet he was there to organize and think out of the box for the pictures. They were unusual and we loved them. Some of our family and friends that have seen the pictures don't even remember their pictures being taken and those are some of our favorite pictures.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I think the most valuable thing that was included in our photo package was the fact that we own our pictures. We have many family members that wanted the family photos, there would have been no way we could have afforded to buy as many as we needed. The DVD, Mel put together with some of the pictures and music is absolutely wonderful. We did have two photgraphers, one of which was his wife Jane. It was wonderful to be able to have her in our dressing room to take some special candid pictures, my favorite was a picture of the wedding gown hanging and a picture of both Mom and Mom-in-law lacing up the corsett.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We were running an hour late, so our pictures that were suppose to be taken prior to the wedding had to be taken after the ceremony. Mel went with the flow and made it fun, not only for the wedding party, but our guests, as well, which really showed up in the pictures. Thanks, Mel.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: A day to remember!!!!!!!!!!!
01/01/2010
  • Jay R

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many awesome pictures, I can't imagine picking just one. I really love images captured durring our first dance. i can't believe how well Mel was able to capture the moment without being in the way.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel arived to our event very early, and was able to easily calm the nerves of an anxious bride. We were ably to laugh and have so much fun during what could have been such a stressful time. Actually, with a family full of sisters, I have never been in a wedding party where photography was so easy.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I have an awesome album of photos... A DVD with hundreds of pictures that are all mine... and we couldnt have gotten what we did for this price anywhere!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Definately! I can't say enough! Thank you so much for capturing our memories!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: AMAZING
12/29/2009
  • Denise L

  • Wedding Date: 12/29/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I don't have just one - In fact there isn't one photo I didn't love.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He was wonderful - he just walked around and took amazing pictures, or would find groups already sitting together and get what you would have thought was a set up shot, only after talking to people in the pictures did we find out they didn't even know he had taken them. If he saw something he would wait until we were free and then say I want to take this picture if you have a minute. He was wonderful
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We owned all our pictures, he also gave us dvd's of our pictures, slide shows, wedding albums. He did all our pictures in color and black and white, and some with different effects. If there was one we liked I would email him and ask if he could do it to other pictures, and he always has. It's been six months and he is still sending us pictures with different techniques.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He was wonderful, my sister is disabled and in a wheelchair, he asked my family if he could get her set up for one of our formal shots and was amazing with her. He is just a nice guy and very laid back - it was wonderful.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: The best and only photographer for me & my family!
12/28/2009
  • Melisa B

  • Wedding Date: 05/19/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I had so many favorite wedding photos. The reason being is that Mel used various creative projections of our pictures. Some were traditional which were beautiful, and some were more artistic and had some added features which I loved putting around our home so it didn't look like we had all just traditional poses. Mel was also able to take some great photos of my family members throughout the wedding which I loved because I couldn't exactly take all of it in, being so busy throughout the ceremony and reception. I absolutely LOVED the smiles he brought to all the faces he captured!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel did a great job with staying on point in the time frame we gave him. He tried very hard to accomodate all my bridal demands and yet continued to be servicing to my family and I!!!! As I said earlier, he took beautiful pictures of my family which I love and was so honored to share with them!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I received DVD of the photos and ALL my photo rights. I also received a picture dvd slide show of my wedding ceremony/reception! As one photographer he did it all for us! My husband and I AND my parents were very satisfied since they were the one who generously paid for his services as a gift to my husband and I!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My family enjoyed having Mel as a photographer! I will always use him for future needs. I will always recommend him to other potential customers who are in search of a quality photographer! Not only was he very professional he also became one of the family! He made my inlaws feel very at ease and brought smiles to many faces that evening! Especially to mines! As a photographer, not only did he bring quality to his work, but he went above and beyond what I expected. He really took the time to work with me on what I wanted and show me various things he could do with my pictures. Even giving me some that I really didn't expect! Having being 5 mos pregnant at the time of my wedding, he was very good about capturing me in a "non" pregnant manner and then in some very touching pictures, honored my pregnancy. In addition, Mel worked very professionally with the other people I had there assisting (i.e, my makeup person, flower arragements, dj) I really couldn't ask for more! After hanging numerous pictures of my wedding around my house, not only do I have great satisfaction with them, I adore them so much and how it captures the happiness and meaning of such an important day in my life!!! Thanks Mel for EVERYTHING!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: spivey wedding
12/24/2009
  • susan s

  • Wedding Date: 04/25/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? signing papers
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? very quiet and observant; patient with formals and wedding party joking around
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? DVD of all photos, special framed formal of bride and groom. No albums desired by bride.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? By being very patient and making good suggestions for settings, etc.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Superb job capturing our special day!!
12/23/2009
  • Ilene W

  • Wedding Date: 08/19/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We had so many great pictures that it is impossible to choose just one favorite! I love the picture he took during the ceremony of our kiss. He was able to capture several shots at different angles and they turned out beautifully! Also when we were having our first dance, he took some very romantic shots as well.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel was not disruptive at all! Most of the time at weddings, you can see the photographer getting in front of people or stepping up very close to the bride and groom, but we didn't have to deal with anything like that at all. Mel was very good at getting close ups without being right in our faces or in people's way. He had some great creative ideas for some fantastic shots and just did a fabulous job all around. When people look at our wedding album, they always compliment us on how gorgeous our photos are! We could not be happier!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received all of our pictures, including the rights to them!! This is a VERY valuable deal for us, since we wanted to print so many of them for our families. He also made us hardcover books that have many beautiful shots in them. We were given several copies of a slideshow that HE put together for us that included music from our wedding!!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? He made us feel comfortable by not bossing us around like some other photographers do. He would make suggestions and really LISTEN to what we wanted. My husband and I LOVE our pictures and we will treasure them always! Thank you, Mel for doing such a great job!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great photos, did everthing and more
12/23/2009
  • Janice T

  • Wedding Date: 06/14/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Actually photoS. We wanted something different. Greg and I wanted to have all the groomsmen jumping in unusual poses. We had seen Mel, our photographer, had done some very unusual poses in his studio and on-line and that's want we were looking for and wanted along with the usual traditional pose... He did hat and more than we expected.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We were in a very small building and were worried about this, but I have to say, except for the the posed traditional pictures and the unusual pictures we wanted, we hardly knew he was there. Mel worked well with our DJ and was spot on for all the events we wanted pictures of. Mel even got shots of things I would not have thought of. Without being over the top, Mel is a PRO. We rec'd over 800 pictures and special effects, all our pictures in color AND black and white (not expected)... one of my favorites is when I am talking to my flower girl... still warms my heart.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got 4 sets of DVD images with full rights to print our own anywhere. He also recommended 2, maybe 3, great on line picture processers. Prints units were a bonus, 8 8x12, 8 8x10 and alot of 5x7s. We didn't need his 2nd photographer, the building was too small. We also got 3 flush mount albums. He also offerred us free on line viewing and sharing, and downloading. That is very neat !
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I think my mom has a crush on him... my family thought he was relaxing and his services were a pleasure. When we were beginning to get tense with pictures he was funny and made us take a break

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: OUR SPECIAL DAY
12/22/2009
  • Sandra H

  • Wedding Date: 12/22/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We have so many favorites! He caught such great footage throughout the whole day, from beginning to end.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Even though part of the wedding party was running late, he assured us that we were doing fine and didn't rush us. And with that we got some amazing shots. Also they were able to get more shots then we were expecting.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had two wedding photographers, albums and dvds. A lot of my husbands family wasn't able to attend the wedding. So it was nice to give them a dvd/slideshow of the wedding and music. It was like they were at the wedding as well.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? From the moment we had a contract with Mel and Jane it was like they were a part of our family. We had an issue with out invitations, the date was wrong. I called them just asking for advice, and they were so helpful. So when it came time to our photos i was completely comfortable with them. They made sure to get exactly what we wanted on such a short amount of time, and never once did we feel rushed. They were very professional and polite, which is a big thing with my family. it was never like they were strangers, it was like they were part of the family taking pictures, for us to remember our special day. Thank You Both!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Total Satisfaction!
12/19/2009
  • Robert D

  • Wedding Date: 12/19/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? "You May Kiss The Bride" photo will always be our favorite. That is the moment our lives truly began as "ONE"! We have a thirty six inch framed photo over our fireplace. The quality was as excellent as the oritinal photo, even after being blown up to that size!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Mel provided us with the total story of our special day... Looking at our photos is like reliving our wedding, especially the candid shots. Some we laugh at and some causes a few tears of joy... Our wedding party was quite a challenge for Mel, with all that was going on at times it was difficult for Mel to get everyone in place for the many special shots that we wanted... but Mel managed to take control and we now have such quality, beautiful photos / videos of our very special day! We thank you Mel !!!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Two Photographers, both working as a team!! Our original DVD is now in our home safe and we had Mel make several duplicates for family and friends that were not able to attend. We have had so many comments on the DVD's and how it made our family and friends feel like they actually attended our wedding! Our Wedding Package from Mel was totally worth every penny spent. We never expected so many photos and Mel captured so many special shots that we didn't even think about. I can see now that being a professional photographer is not just pressing the shutter button on a camera! Thanks so much Mel and we apologize for running late!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Mel was like part of the family.... We didn't feel like he was a stranger that we hired to capture our wedding. He joked along with members of our family, was always polite and most of all very PROFESSIONAL! My wife's aunt and uncle renewed their wedding vows and Mel captured that special moment... and didn't charge us any extra. We highly recommend Absolutelyonly as your wedding photographer. If your running late and some in your party hit the champagne a bit early, Mel will do what it takes to capture YOUR SPECIAL DAY! We both thank you so much Mel and your wife ( 2nd photographer "Jane" ) For ALL that you did to capture our Special Day.... We will be contacting you for more duplicates that are in high demand !! Thanks Again! Rob

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor