Photographers in Dumfries, VA: Mathy Shoots People
Mathy Shoots People
Anywhere and Everywhere!
Dumfries, VA 22026
(540) 738-0444


Dumfries Photographers: Mathy Shoots People


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 10 Reviews
Review: Love Mathy!
03/23/2014
  • ctasy

  • Wedding Date: 09/28/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Really loved the candids taken during the ceremony and the reception but all our pictures were great! They did our engagement shoot as well and there were a lot of favorites from there!
  • Matt followed my husband around while Kathy was with me, they were not disruptive at all and got some great candids and action shots that were were surprised to see happened. We have a number of the portraits framed in our house and our family and guests have told us how great the pictures turned out.
  • Engagement Shoot and two awesome photographers!
  • They were incredibly nice and professional, our families both felt very comfortable with them and as a results got some great shots!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Mathy is Amazing. We are forever grateful.
01/08/2014
  • Amanda M

  • Wedding Date: 08/24/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our family formals turned out amazing, the one's of my husband and I are our favorite. Some of candid one's of him and I are also my favorite. I can't just pick one, they were all amazing!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Yes to all of the above.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Our relationship originally started with Mathy after I experienced their work in action while in the wedding party of one of my friends. The bride told me all about her experience with them, and after meeting them in person and seeing them in action, I knew they would be a great fit for my now husband and I. I quickly realized that wedding photos were more than just getting our picture taken. There was a level of comfort needed to be yourself in front of the camera that you don't always find in the photography world. And if you can't be yourself in pictures, how can you really say it's a true representation of you? The comfort level needed for engagement/wedding pictures is extreme, because it's more than just smiling for the camera, you have to be loving and affectionate, and kiss in front of strangers who are taking your picture. But, that's where Mathy differs from every other photographer we've ever met. They are strangers to none of their customers. Mathy is fun, passionate, and personable. Their character and dynamic as joint photographers are out of this world amazing, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. They will be our first contact in the future for maternity pictures, family portrait sessions, etc. and definitely our only recommendation to those seeking photographers.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: We will hire Mathy for all of our future events
01/06/2014
  • Linda K

  • Wedding Date: 07/17/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? When our officiant announced you may kissed the bride and the groom dipped the bride.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were great with candid and action shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had two photographers all day for a flat rate. It also included a complimentary photo session.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: I looooooove MATHY!
02/04/2013
  • Tiffany B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I don't have a favorite I love them all!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I completely forgot they were there. The didn't disrupt anything the entire day. The only time we notice them is when we did our "formal" posed pictures. And they caught EVERYTHING!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? The package included Matt and Kathy which was great because we have so many angles and every moment. We also get another shoot with them which we've opted to wait for a "one year later" shoot.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were so personable and friendly, all of our guests loved them! I am far from photogenic but they made me look and feel like a model.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: the BEST wedding photographers ever!
02/03/2013
  • Quaneasha R

  • Wedding Date: 11/24/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We don't have a single favorite, but we love the candid shots from our reception. We also love the photos we took in the limo and the detail shots of the dress and the church.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? After taking the formal portraits, we barely even knew they were there. However, after looking at our photos, we noticed that they captured so many moments that even we missed during our wedding. Not to mention the photos look gorgeous!!! Again, we absolutely love the candid shots they took during the reception!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? The package included a free portrait session, two equally amazing photographers, unlimited coverage of our wedding day, and all of our photos artistically edited.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were really down to earth and hilarious! They didn't over impose. Aside from the formal portraits, they took most of the photos from a distance so that we barely even noticed them.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Mathy is AWESOME!
01/17/2013
  • Katie H

  • Wedding Date: 08/18/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I'm not sure we have a single favorite wedding photo. There are so many that capture the day! One of our favorites is the picture of our "first kiss". It's perfect!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? For the most part, we didn't even notice them. There were so many great photos from the wedding that we wondered how they took them all!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Matt and Kathy were with us the whole day from when we told them to be there in the morning until we told them we were going home. We only wanted a dvd of the pictures, and they gave us a thumb drive with pictures sized for both Facebook and hi-res ones for printing. It was exactly what we wanted.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Matt and Kathy were great! Even my mom, who is SUPER picky, liked them. We had met and spoken with Mathy before the wedding, and I think we were comfortable with them from the start.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: AMAZING couple and even more AMAZING photography!
01/15/2013
  • Shelby P

  • Wedding Date: 11/11/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite wedding photo has to be the one at the reception that shows everyone dancing, laughing and having a good time. Although there are TONS to choose from, there is one with EVERYONE in it and it just reminds me of how much fun and how special that day was to us.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were very good about making sure ALL of our wants and needs were met. We kind of let them do their thing and they let us do ours. They had so many great ideas it made taking photos fun and enjoyable which is good because my husband HATES photos, but in all of the photos I SWEAR you can't tell :D I think the candids they took were probably my favorite. I don't even know where to being about the action shots. I didn't realize how much dancing went on until i saw the photos. I was too busy dancing myself and just enjoying the day that when I saw the photos I really got to relive everything. As for portraits, well, let's just say everyone on my Facebook news feed probably hates me because I have too many good ones to choose from.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Two photographers and more photos than I could have ever imagined.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: We love Mathy!!!
01/14/2013
  • Mit D

  • Wedding Date: 06/30/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Photo taken over looking the water in the evening as the sun was setting.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They took all kinds of pictures. They were very easy to work with and very professional.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Two photographers, a USB of all the pictures with two sizes (web size and original).
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They made us and everyone else at the wedding very comfortable. They were a delight to have and would recommend to anyone. Wonderful couple.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Doesn't Get Better Than This!!!
01/11/2013
  • C G

  • Wedding Date: 10/07/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite wedding photo was the entire bridal party doing a big jump.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They did very well but were always around and had lots a patience when it came to portraits and the ideas for action shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included just our two wonderful photographers and 1 year anniversary pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? By blending in and laughing at all the funny jokes!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Coolest folks ever
01/10/2013
  • Laura W

  • Wedding Date: 10/06/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My husband and I being silly. I love that they got pictures of us as we are.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I never noticed them during the ceremony! And they were so sweet and creative with the formals.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Engagement pictures! They looked so good! And they gave us usb sticks of all the pictures which was really convenient. And two photographers since they are a duo.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They got our humour and were very relaxed and friendly with everyone.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2014 Vendor