Photographers in Harrisonburg, VA: BlackBird Images
BlackBird Images
1866-C East Market Street
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
(540) 433-5252


Harrisonburg Photographers: BlackBird Images


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 8 Reviews
Review: A lot more than photography
06/28/2010
  • Darcy G

  • Wedding Date: 05/08/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • My favorite photo is the look on my face when I found a special note my fiancee left for me in my dress... it was so sweet, and they captured my feelings perfectly.
  • I love my posed photos but the candid photos are incredible. They are like snipers. You don't realize they are there but they are shooting you and your family and friends. If you arent that comfortable with having your picture taken they are perfect for you.
  • I received two albums, lots of photos, and all my proofs on CDs.
  • They take great photos but the best thing is how helpful they are. At different times they took care of a problem with our officiant, helped our coordinator adjust the service at the last minute, worked with the DJ to make sure he stayed on track, and even helped us carry our things to the car at the church because everyone else had disappeared. They get involved in making the day go well in a really good way. I felt very taken care of.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: They Are Just the Best
10/06/2009
  • Sarah F

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have too many favorites to choose from, but there is one in particular that I really love. My whole wedding party is standing on a balcony, we're posed but not too posed, and my veil is perfectly caught in the wind as my husband and I kiss. It's a great photo.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They did a wonderful job - both unobtrusive and equally good with posed and action shots. Highly professional.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got a beautiful album and a ton of prints. I like that we didn't have to do the "photo credit" thing and pay more for photos later. You get exactly what you want and don't get sold or charged any extra later.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Very approachable and also let us do our own thing. But also very confident and engaging when needed. Had positive control and managed everything very nicely. We didn't have to worry about a thing... and we got to do our own thing.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Melissa & Paul
12/16/2008
  • metaylor

  • Wedding Date: 03/29/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We used bubbles instead of rice for when we were leaving the church, and while I was glad not to have rice thrown at me I was also worried about how the photos would look since most wedding photos I've seen with bubbles turned out horribly. I was thrilled to see mine, though, because there is a sequence of about 10 shots of us leaving the church, walking down the steps, easing into the limo... and the bubbles are floating around and you can see our friends faces and smiles and we look so happy (because we were!) that they are amazing. We loved those photos so much they created a custom montage for us that we framed.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We met with Jeff ahead of time and got comfortable with him, and met Cynthia (the other photographer) the day of the wedding, and we felt comfortable with them instantly. They are friendly and relaxed yet professional and hard-working. I can't really describe it. You have to work with them to understand how hard they work while making you feel relaxed and un-rushed. They are busy but in a highly good way.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got the largest package, including all proofs as digital images and the copyright release. We're only getting married once so there was no reason not to get it all.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I hugged them both when they were leaving. They made us feel great, and we knew we had made the right choice even before we saw the photos.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Sneaky Fun
12/16/2008
  • deanna

  • Wedding Date: 04/05/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We love the candid photos the most, and there is one at the altar where I am looking up at my husband and I have a little smile but my eyes are misty and I'm close to crying and it's just a perfect, perfect picture.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They are really good at action shots; it is amazing to look at the photos and see things that I was doing that I didn't realize I was doing. Some things happened in seconds that were captured. I have no idea how, but I'm really glad!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We ordered their second largest package. It fit our needs perfectly, although we did add an additional hour. After the wedding we decided to change some of the photo sizes, and they were very accommodating. I really think they just want you to be happy with what you receive. I know we are!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? One of the most common comments we've received from our family and friends was, "The photographer was amazing!" We appreciated the professionalism and expertise, and how he kept everything flowing without ever getting in the way.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Thank You!!!
12/08/2008
  • mallnrob

  • Wedding Date: 05/24/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Let me start by saying we were really picky. We spent $45,000 on our wedding, not including our honeymoon. We knew exactly what we wanted and we expected to get it. Out of all our vendors, BBI were far and away the best. They were always available to talk things through, answer questions, calm my nerves, etc. I don't have a favorite picture, but I do have favorite photographers.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They really shine on candid shots. They have a way of "sneaking" photos so no one gets self conscious.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got their best package,plus some add-ons.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They are wonderful to work with. They mixed well with the crowd (we had over 300 guests) and I have to say were a hit with our friends. Two of my bridesmaids already booked them for next year.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Everything We Hoped
12/03/2008
  • lexingtonbride

  • Wedding Date: 09/06/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One of the photographers snuck around behind the altar area and took a photo of my fiancee and I looking at each other during the service. I never saw him back there, and neither did the guests, and the photo perfectly captures our emotions. It's amazing. Even when I'm old I'll always remember myself the way I was that day.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They are just really really good. No other way to say it.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We love the online gallery for our proofs, and we love the fact it's password-protected and we control who we give our password to. It's also nice that our family could order their own photos directly from BlackBird Images so that way we didn't have to get involved in all that.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My mother loved one of the photographers. He was nice and friendly and made sure she felt comfortable asking him to take different photos. They try really hard to work well with everyone, and they made sure all of us felt taken care of.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Fantastic!!
12/03/2008
  • taby

  • Wedding Date: 06/21/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? You wouldn't believe how many great photos we have. We wanted a 16 x 24 print for our living room, and it took us a month to choose the photo - there were so many we loved.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They take some posed photos, but most of what they did for us was candid. We love those photos. Sure, you have to have the posed photos, especially after the wedding, but the ones that are the most fun are the ones we didn't know they were taking.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? They offer a bunch of different services, and we changed to a bigger package after the wedding. We got CDs of all our proofs so we can print them ourselves, but so far all we've done is use the lo-res versions they gave us to email to friends and put on our flickr page. (Which is really cool!)
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? It is really important to chose vendors who you are comfortable with and who aren't set in their ways. Remember, it's your wedding! They let us have the day we wanted to have, and didn't try to get in our way or change our plans or disrupt us at all. They were great!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Nicole & Phil
12/03/2008
  • nicolephil

  • Wedding Date: 02/17/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We have so many favorite pictures from this day... my favorite ones are the ones that I had no idea were even taken that captured such amazing detail of events before, during, and after the wedding that I did not even remember.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They are very smooth... they said that within ten minutes or so we'd forget they were there... and they were right! Neither of us normally like having our pictures taken, but in this case, it was really fun!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got the largest package and feel we received an excellent value for the price. We've seen our friends wedding pictures, and ours are much better... and they cost less!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Very! They are super nice, don't get in the way, and were fun to be around. Our friends complimented us a number of times on our choice of photographers... even though they're the ones (the photographers) that deserve the praise!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor