Photographers in Harrisonburg, VA: RubySky Photography
RubySky Photography
Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg, VA 22802
(540) 289-3244

RubySky Photography



View RubySky Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 45 Reviews
Review: Love Love Love!
12/11/2014
  • Mérida M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • I have three (I wish this review site would let me upload them). The first is the photo of my dad and I spinning around the dance floor. We had a non traditional/ non choreographed Father Daughter dance to Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes and this image perfectly captures our goofiness and love for letting our dance hearts out. The second is right outside of the bridal suite, im still in my get ready robe with my hair and make up all done smiling as I stalk a 6ft black snake that came to wish me good luck. The third is my husband and I standing in a wheat field smiling and looking off into the distance. Its absolutely stunning.
  • The wedding party ended up being a tad late to the venue and I was freaking out that I had now put everything 15 minutes behind schedule, however, once we walked into the bridal suite I was instantly put at ease when I found Keesha and her assistant already photographing the dress, shoes, flowers, etc. That kind of initiative from Keesha and her team made the whole night run smoothly. She got all the photos we asked for and more without being in anyone's way. We felt it was really important for our guest to have a low digital presence during the night (no cell phones, cameras etc) so everyone could really enjoy the moment, Keesha blended perfectly with this and the guest all enjoyed themselves immensely.
  • * 2 photographers- her assistant was great! * proof portfolio * on-line proofing galleries (password-protected) * on-line ordering * digital files of professionally & artistically-edited wedding photos * choice of Engagement, Bridal, or Day After Session- We haven't done this yet but we have a year to do so. We are thinking a possible after wedding engagement photos. Keesha is very flexible which has made this whole process a breeze.
  • Keesha was extremely easy to work with, my husband and I don't live in the state where we got married so the majority of our planning had to be done through email or through phone which ended up being no problem at all. Keesha was very responsive and willing to work with us to capture our day exactly how we wanted it. Her assistant was great as well and the two of them were so unobtrusive which is exactly how we wanted it. Our photos are so stunning and its been so much fun being able to relive the night through them. Im so glad she had an opening for our date because im really not sure if any other photographer would have been able to capture the funk and 20's glam of our wedding quite like RubySky did.

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 4.0

write a review
Review: RubySky is great- no regrets!
07/01/2014
  • s.hornack

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Keesha obliged us and, during out first look, took photos of me putting in my groom's contacts (since he can't do it on his own). It's one of my favorite funny moments! However, my favorite photo was captured at the golden hour of sunset. Keesha pulled as away from dinner for a minute and the results are magical!!!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Keesha and her assistant were both incredibly stealthy- they managed to get a number of fabulous candid shots without being intrusive at all. They were very flexible and somehow managed to direct our wedding party so efficiently that we got to partake in a good portion of the cocktail hour, which was so great!!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We purchased the Burgundy package and added time so that RubySky was with us all the way from getting ready to the sparkler send-off (we were able to use included engagement session as one of the extra hours). The package included two photographers (so essential!). In the end we received our photos on a lovely USB and album for ordering proofs, all packaged in a really cute box!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? From our first interaction all the way through receiving proofs, Keesha was wonderfully professional and helpful. On the day of the wedding, even when things were hectic, Keesha was calm and collected. She had a gentle way of directing things while also being open to others' input. Beyond these qualities, she is just a really sweet, fun person!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: If I could give 10 stars, I would!
11/14/2013
  • ashleighlay

  • Wedding Date: 09/14/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? All of our photos were lovely, but there were probably 25 that were catch-your-breath-do-a-double-take magical. Seriously, my husband and I cried when we saw them! I have two favorites: one where my husband and are sitting on a fallen tree with a beautiful golden light coming through behind us, and the other with my husband and I laughing hysterically. Keesha, the photographer, will definitely take all of your "portrait style" family photos and your "this is my dress" and "these are my shoes" photos, but she also knows how to find beauty and fun in less conventional places.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? During the ceremony and reception, I was hardly aware that Keesha and her assistant were taking pictures. They were totally discreet as they worked and never distracted from what was happening. Furthermore, Keesha has a positive, relaxing vibe that made the "getting ready" portion of the day so much easier. Keesha has a truly unique style and a rare ability to take pictures that are both technically superb AND whimsical at the same time! "Vintage" and "Rustic" brides who are a little outside the box will particularly love her work, but I bet that Keesha could make a regular old hotel event room look like a magical fairyland, LOL!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We chose the basic "Burgundy" package, which covered 6 hours of shooting with two photographers, Keesha and her assistant, an online proof gallery and a CD of the digital images. We added two additional hours to make sure that the photographers would be there for the entire time (getting ready, bridal party/family portraits, ceremony, and reception). Ruby Sky has other photography packages available which include engagement or "day after" photos and a photo album, but we didn't go that route.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Keesha is sweet, friendly, and calm. My wedding morning was a little chaotic but she never made me feel like I was running behind or not adhering to a plan. She used her time effectively and I appreciated that she had her own ideas about what photos to take but was also receptive to ideas we had in the moment.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful, modern photography
05/01/2012
  • Susan H

  • Wedding Date: 03/17/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? How do you pick just one? There are some that I really, really cherish with my children - and then there are photographs of just my new husband and me that I love as well.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Once the festivities got started, I really didn't even notice the photographers at all! The candids and action shots are bar none - and we did have a few "posed" items but I would not call them portraits - but they were done so creatively and intimately that they felt candid.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We chose a package that included 5 hours of the photographer's time (two photographers), on-line proofs, a CD of proofs and proof album. Because my husband and I are both in a creative field we opted to do our own albums (I can't wait to get my hands into that!) and we were too far away (a destination wedding) to do engagement shots.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My husband and I hit it off with the photographers right away - it was so very comfortable - for all of us! The photographers, too, need to feel comfortable with their clients in order to capture the best images and do their best work.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Ruby Sky Wedding Review
02/05/2012
  • DS Y

  • Wedding Date: 12/28/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Ruby Sky has one of the most perceptive styles of photography that I have ever seen. To start with, they were not only very professional in regard to the time they took to get the more candid shots during our wedding day, (posing with family and friends) but they were also not the least bit intrusive in the ceremony or the reception. We knew they were there doing their work, but always on the periphery, takes pictures of everything from the people and their interactions, to the more sentimental objects and "flavor" that coincides with that special day. (flowers, food, dress, etc.) After witnessing their process, I was overwhelmed by how easily they captured the resulting images, which were both strikingly beautiful at first glance, as well as deeply contemplative over a period of time. Keesha's style of pulling up rich colors that coincide with the shimmering light that is so often reflected with the white dress and full smiles that happen on your wedding day is brilliant. The pictures were more than a catalogue of the event, but a representation of the tone and euphoric feelings of one of the most important events in our lives. We highly recommend Ruby Sky Photography.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Outstanding Photography Services
01/08/2012
  • Hayley B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I love the way all of our photos turned out. RubySky photography has a wonderful way of finishing their works that makes each one a piece of art. Probably my favorite is one of my husband and I walking around the vineyards at our venue. We didn't know we were being photographed, and it perfectly captured the moment.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Keesha and her team were very professional and were the perfect photographers - they captured the moment beautifully, and were there when we needed them and blended in when we didn't. RubySky helped us plan the flow of the evening to make sure the sentiment of the day was captured. They arrived at our church before we did and were ready to capture all of the posed shots we wanted. They came out beautifully. RubySky also did a fantastic job with the details of the event. One beautiful black and white shot of a guest signing our guestbook comes to mind.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? RubySky was very flexible with their offerings, and we chose to have an engagement shoot, which Keesha travelled from Virginia to New York to make happen. They have many available packages an RubySky does bring two photographers to the site and provides a convenient website on which we could view and share our proofs. They also provided a beautifully packaged CD as well as a printed book of proofs.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Keesha and her team are very warm and friendly. They are a wonderful addition to the celebration, and are able to easily direct friends and family when necessary. For me, being comfortable meant keeping on schedule, and Keisha was very efficient while maintaining a friendly tone.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: FAB Pics! :)
01/05/2012
  • Kelly B

  • Wedding Date: 10/15/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Sorry I couldn't pic a favorite photo! They were all so great!! We absolutely LOVED having RubySky photograph our wedding and have already highly recommended them to family and friends getting married in the coming year! We were married in Staunton, VA at Barren Ridge Vineyards but were planning our wedding from Charlotte, NC where we currently live. Keesha (the owner) was so flexible, attentive, helpful and accommodating when it came to making arrangements for the wedding as we were out of town. During the wedding Keesha and her assistant (Katie) took pictures non-stop and were so flexible and laid back with us. They were open to any suggestions but had wonderful suggestions of their own, which took all of the stress off of our shoulders! I knew they had everything under control. They were also so fun and friendly and we actually wished that they could have just put their cameras down and joined in the celebration! We definitely had a connection with them and they contributed to our great memories of that day just by being there with us. Overall they were so wonderful and we couldn't have been more pleased with the pictures! Just take a look at the samples on their website...I don't have to say anything more about the quality and creativity of their photographs since they speak for themselves! Keesha has a refreshing appreciation for art and for capturing our human sentiment. If only she could be my personal life photographer...

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Perfect.
12/07/2011
  • Jessica S

  • Wedding Date: 10/07/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Wow. My favorite - how do you pick just one? Well, we're in love with a photo of my husband and I in front of a green barn - the mix of glam and rustic chic is perfect!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Keesha and Katie were wonderful! They were there without you even realizing it - when I received my photo proofs, I was amazed by how many candid moments they caught - I never knew they were there! It's amazing to have those photos that capture that very moment before walking down the aisle, those nervous times in the bridal suite and all of the fun during the reception.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? The value of RubySky Photography is outstanding. The packages offered are the best value out there - I was also able to customize my own package. There are so many options and price points for everyone. I received two photographers, extra hours, a sneak peek blog post a week or so after the wedding, online proof gallery and ordering, bound proofs and proof CD.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Keesha and Katie were very warm and friendly - everyone felt very comfortable around them! It was a pleasure having RubySky Photography photograph our big day!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: WONDERFUL
12/06/2011
  • amy a

  • Wedding Date: 10/01/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? This is a difficult question! I have several favorites. Some are with my adorable flower girls -- the expressions they captured are amazing. Another favorite is of my husband and I, looking over the water and beautiful blue sky.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They did an amazing job with everything. The biggest thing is that they didn't wait for our instruction, while we were busy enjoying the day, they were busy capturing all the details. I hardly noticed they were there. They were wonderful listeners and made sure we got every shot we wanted. During our couple's shots, my veil (a blusher) came flying off my head. One of the assistants ran all the way across a field and back to my tent, found my mirror, and came back so that I could place the veil back into my hair with confidence.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Two photographers stayed with us for over 4 hours. We got a CD of all the pictures she color-corrected (which was A LOT) and a thumbnail album of all the photos on the CD. While waiting for our pictures in the weeks after our wedding, she also created a "sneak peak blog" which included about 10 of our best shots. It was fun to send this link to friends and family while anxiously awaiting the rest of our photos.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were very easy-going and confident. Most brides are having this experience for the first time -- while Keesha and her team are experts. They made us feel very calm and walked us through the day so that nothing was forgotten amidst the excitement and emotion. Having them there allowed me to stop worrying about how the photos would turn out and just enjoy the day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: They captured our fairy tale wedding!
11/21/2011
  • Meredith C

  • Wedding Date: 09/24/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? This is actually IMPOSSIBLE to answer. The shots of my husband and I by the barn are simply gorgeous. Keesha also did an amazing job of capturing emotions and expressions during the ceremony and first dances.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Keesha and her partner were great about capturing all aspects of our wedding without disrupting anything. She was great about communicating with me before the actual wedding day and she knew in advance different shots I definitely wanted. The formal portaits are amazing but what I love is that she was able to get such great action shots. There were things that I had completely forgotten about but thanks to Keesha I was able to relive them. Some of our guests even commented on how great they thought she was.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Two photographers (which I think is huge!), a DVD, and traveling expenses. I knew I wanted RubySky to shoot our wedding, and so I traded in the album for the cost of traveling. Plus, I like to put together albums and scrap books, so for me it was better to get the DVD and put together my own personal album.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They did an excellent job of making all of us very comfortable. They were never "in our face" or pushy about any shots. I have been in weddings before where the photographer seemed very bossy and I did not want that for mine. Keesha and her partner were wonderful about communitcating a point and then going with it (in other words, I did not have to explain myself or ask any further questions). Not only were they very professional, but they were also very nice and easy to talk to. I only heard great things from my family and friends.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor