Photographers in Harrisonburg, VA: RubySky Photography
RubySky Photography
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
(540) 289-3244

RubySky Photography



View RubySky Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 43 Reviews
Review: WONDERFUL photographer
09/23/2011
  • Andrea K

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • We honestly couldn't pick a favorite photo - they were ALL wonderful! Keesha and Katie did SUCH a wonderful job!
  • Except for pre-wedding and family photos, we didn't even know Keesha was there! She was extremely unobtrusive and caught TONS of great candids and action shots.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Picture Perfect
07/17/2011
  • kable p

  • Wedding Date: 06/11/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I don't think I can pick just one! The series in front of the barn are amazing, but of coarse I love the ones of my husband and I with our daughter.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were awesome. I didn't even see them during the ceremony but the pictures they got were spectacular! There were some amazing candid shots of my husband and I that I had no idea they took. They had some great ideas for photos around our farm and listened to our suggestions also.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had 6 hours with 2 photographers and all our pictures on a cd with proofs. They even posted a sneak peek on their blog the week after our wedding which was a special treat!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Both of them were so friendly from the moment we met them. We were totally relaxed and comfortable in front of them. They made me feel so beautiful during all the pictures. They even put up with all the guys and their antics!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing, artistic photography
07/06/2011
  • Laura W

  • Wedding Date: 05/14/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? RubySky captured so many beautiful images! They had great ideas for posed shots, and were up for any ideas we had, including silly ones from my siblings. It's impossible to choose a favorite.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We hardly noticed they were there. When looking at the proofs, there were lots of shots that made me think "when did they get that one?", but in a very good way. Candids were excellent, and even a lot of the posed photos were done in such a way that they still looked more like candids, which I liked.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Included in our package was an engagement session, 2 day-of photographers for 8 hours, CD of all digital images, a proof book and two albums.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were both just so nice! Everyone that interacted with them said they same thing.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful experience!
05/30/2011
  • Lindsey N

  • Wedding Date: 04/09/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite wedding photo was taken on the dock leading out to the island. My husband is dipping me while kissing me and Keesha was able to capture this special moment.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Communication with Keesha ahead of time allowed for less disruptions throughout the day. Aside from meeting with her when deciding to choose her as our photographer, we went through the details of the day multiple times before the wedding. I was able to send Keesha the exact portrait shots as well as action/candid shots I wanted before the wedding day. She was very organized and did a wonderful job not missing a single shot.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Included in our wedding package was 2 photographers, 6 hours of coverage, a CD of digital negatives, and a proof portfolio of 200-300 images. We added additional hours of coverage and purchased an album for ourselves and two albums for our parents. RubySky Photography came in at about $1,000 less than any other photographer we contacted. While the cost was less the quality was not compromised at all!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Keesha and her assistant were very friendly and accommodating. Even when we got slightly behind schedule, Keesha did not seem alarmed or give me any indication that we would not be able to get all the pictures we wanted at that time. She was very efficient which was a must for my husband and she made the most of every minute of coverage. I was reassured by her feedback throughout the day that she was getting wonderful shots. She checked in with a couple times throughout the reception to see if there were any group pictures I wanted and was always available if an impromptu picture came about.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: RubySky Photography
05/17/2011
  • Alice L

  • Wedding Date: 03/26/2011
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite photograph is a black and white taken before I was about to walk out with my father. RubySky was the best in seeing the perfect picture in the heat of the moment, capturing our memories in such a special way.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Avoid disrupting the day? They fit in so well with everyone. They were polite, available, and always eager to help in anyway. One photographer had to even help me button up my wedding dress.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I did a lot of researching for photographers when I first got engaged. My husband and I both put a lot of value in photography, and therefore we wanted the best. We, however, were on a tight budget. After researching extensively the photographers in my area, I found that RubySky gave the most for the packages (especially compared to other photographers). However, what really made the decision for me was judging each photographers Blogs. I felt you could see a lot about the photographer as a person, how they ran their business, their clients, and the way they used the setting in the pictures. RubySky's blog was artistic yet classical touch to their photos.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The first thing I want to say about the actual process of being photographed that I liked most about RubySky, is the way they made you feel infront of the camera. It is more of an intense process that imagined being photographed. Unless you are a model you aren't used to posing for the camera, but RubySky saw the best places and light in which to take my pictures, they were very sweet in coaching me on how to pose. My Bridal portraits came out BEAUTIFULLY, and I could not be happier. On our wedding day, my whole family was commenting on the photographers and their professionalism and the photos they saw being taken. I could not be happier with RubySky photography, my husband agrees, my parents, his parents, and all our friends!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: RubySky Photography is Fantastic!
03/08/2011
  • Courtney S

  • Wedding Date: 11/20/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Wow, that is a hard question! I really like all our wedding photos but am especially fond of the ones taken at night. Our wedding ended close to sunset and was downtown so we walked from the church to the reception site and our photographers got a lot of great shots along the way. I didn't know how the nighttime photos were going to turn out but they are lovely and very romantic.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Our photographers were not in the way and they did a nice job of capturing all sorts of special moments. There weren't a lot of "action shots" since it was a wedding but there are some great posed shots as well as candid ones. I really appreciate the blend of posed and candid shots, as well as the "group" shots of the congregation during the ceremony and reception. It's so nice to look back and see our friends and family enjoying themselves as they celebrate our wedding day with us.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? A paper proof book, a CD with digital photos, access to the online photo gallery (great for sharing photos with long-distance family and friends), a customized photo book, and two photographers.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Our photographers, Keesha and Katie, told us just what to do and made us feel comfortable. They were very kind and a great blend of laid-back and professional. I think they get the credit for our fabulous wedding photos--all we had to do was stand there!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best. Photographer. Ever.
01/31/2011
  • Erin G

  • Wedding Date: 10/10/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are SO many great ones to choose from. I love the picture of Mat and I dancing from the outside window. And I love the picture of us coming back up the aisle petals in the air! We both love all the "couple" shots that were in the tall grass.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Keisha and company were fantastic! Maybe, as the bride, I was completely overwhelmed/focused on everything else, but I felt zero intrusion. They were very natural and blended well with the guests. We had an outdoor ceremony and indoor reception in the early evening. Perfect lighting! The candids are fantastic, especially the ones from the dance floor. Everyone raves about the outdoor portrait shots -- wish we had had more time to do even more!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received a proof book of 300+ retouched photos, a cd with rights to print those 300+ photos, an album (yet to pick photos for), 2 photographers, for 7 hours.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Everyone, as far as we could tell, was completely comfortable with them. They were part of the family that night! They were courteous and respectful. They knew the photos were one of the more important things to me, capturing our magical day. They were extremely professional and in the process become your friends. They are the crème de la crème!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: RubySky did SUCH a wonderful job
12/15/2010
  • Jessica B

  • Wedding Date: 10/16/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It's so hard to choose my favorite! Keesha and Katie did a fantastic job capturing the ceremony, so those are among my favorites. We also did a day after session with them, and they were nice enough to let us bring our dog and march through fields fighting weeds and bugs, and those photos turned out beautifully.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I realized later that after we finished the "posed" shots, I barely even noticed they were there, that's how good they were about not interupting the flow of the event. I loved that they were able to do our portraits in an interesting way, from different angles and with really cool light, so that they looked different than just your regular wedding portraits. There are some great shots of the cake cutting and all the dancing too.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included two photographers for 8 hours total. We got our images on two CDs about six weeks after the wedding (just in time for Christmas presents!). As I mentioned, we also did a two hour day after session. I really like having the option to purchase my photos on CD, so that I can print them on my own time in the ways I want. And the overall value was great--I honestly think RubySky should charge more for their great work!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I'm no model and felt a little apprehensive at first about so much attention, but Keesha was really great about making me feel at ease even in a weird situation (kissing on command is so awkward!!). She was also so great about corralling my unruly family for group shots so that I did not have to do it.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: RubySky, perfecto!
12/06/2010
  • Erin J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our dog was in the wedding, so naturally any with him was our favorite.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? There were 2 photographers, one with the bride and the other with the groom. But it felt very natural to be with them. They were friendly, courteous, and always went with the flow. There were some small changes, and they always made it work.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had a tight budget, so we cut a beautiful album from the package to make it work. They worked with us the entire way, and we have online proofs, two photographers, and a CD loaded with the pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were very courteous. We have elderly grandparents, and they were very flexible and let us take the pictures from their seats instead of making them stand around. They were kind, funny and seemed to understand our sense of humor. We are all cut-ups, and they did a great job capturing that! We love them!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Get RubySky for YOUR wedding!!
12/01/2010
  • Sara K

  • Wedding Date: 10/09/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Oh goodness! There are so many to choose from! I love the candid ones, goofy shots, and portraits. There was one candid shot where I'm climbing up a staircase holding my bouquet in one hand and dress in the other as I'm waiting for my que to walk down the aisle. I'm looking up with serene anticipation and Keesha/Katie perfectly captured that emotion on my face from a great angle. It was such a great candid that it almost looks posed.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Keesha and Katie were great to work with. We didn't meet before the wedding, but Keesha understood what I was looking for and I understood her photography style so it worked out great. The shots weren't too posy, but more of a photojournalistic style, which was ideal for my tastes. They weren't intrusive at all and they got some great candid shots to boot! The portraits were also gorgeous. Keesha gave just enough direction so that the portraits didn't look stiff or posy.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our wedding package included hundreds of proofs both in digital form and a spiral book, 6 hours of photography with 2 professional photographers, a wedding album of your choice, and great service and results! You also have the option to extend your time of photography at the wedding. Engagement pics or day after sessions are a very affordable addition to the package, too.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Let's just say Keesha and Katie never made us feel uncomfortable during the whole day. They allowed us to make suggestions for shots and they were completely open to them--no matter how goofy! Before the wedding day Keesha and I talked about a schedule for the day and of course we were running behind on the day of the wedding. But Keesha happily went with the flow and made it all work--even with the time constraints!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2012 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor