Photographers in Richmond, VA: Bob Schnell Photography
Bob Schnell Photography
Richmond, VA 23234
(804) 647-3640

Bob Schnell Photo



View Bob Schnell Photo in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 4.5
  • Creativity : 4.5
  • Unobtrusive : 4.6
  • Value : 4.5
  • 4.5

  • 8 Reviews
Review: Worst Mistake I've made
11/12/2012
  • Lizz B

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Ones that our friends and family took. Majority of Bob's pictures are blurry, and out of focus. They depicted very little life and happiness, and he missed many moments. Total my husband and I only have 9 pictures of the two of us, and many are in a gym, despite being in a beautiful park with water fountains and gazebos, of which he used NONE of in our pictures.
  • Considering he left early, and went inside during our ceremony that was outside, I would say he was very non- disruptive. When we spoke prior I told him I wanted a lot of shots of just my husband and I and about the venue etc. He did not do any of these. The day of I was so excited about being married to the man of my dreams, and I had already spoken with him so I was not making sure he had every shot etc. He then blamed me for not reminding him day of... ridiculous. He complained our ceremony was hot, it was 75* that day and breezy, beautiful day and honestly if it was 100* you should not hear a peep out of someone you are paying. I have no candids of my husband and I, and the reception, they are all blurry.I would BE HAPPY to show them with anyone who asks.
  • When we met him, he assured us that the day of he would have an assistant. We also paid him extra to stay later. He left early, and a friend had to start taking pictures. There also was no assistant. His contract is so vague be very careful. We had engagement pics, which were done well, but our wedding was a disaster. I will never get these photos back from the most important day of my life. I wrote a review before on another site, he responded saying he reached out to us...which he did later, basically black mailing us saying he would give us an album (of blurry bad pictures) if and only if we took down our review, and didn't write any others. I said no. Other Brides deserve to know what they are paying for and could be missing. His response was so rude back, that I am sure other brides saw and did not hire him simply how he treated us back, regardless of my review.
  • The day of I had a million emotions and was so excited! He blamed me for not having more pictures saying I seemed anxious... Last time I checked, this is his job to get the pics, and make everyone have fun with it!

Overall Rating: 1.2 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 1.0
  • Creativity : 1.0
  • Unobtrusive : 2.0
  • Value : 1.0

write a review
Review: Above and Beyond Photographer
01/02/2011
  • Kyle S

  • Wedding Date: 05/08/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I was really pleased with the final product, but my favorite photo is when my wife and I are making our getaway under and arch of sparklers, and you can feel the happiness on our faces.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Bob took a ton of photos, most of which I never noticed him taking. There were a small number of photos we had to pose for, but he did a great job making sure that it took as little time as possible, allowing us to enjoy more of our day. He always seemed to be around as something silly or sweet or memorable happened, and caught it all for us with his lens.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We receive engagement and bridal sessions prior to our day, as well as a disk with wedding day proofs that wasn't right protected (which is a huge plus over other photographers we had looked at), and an amazing album that was far beyond anything I had envisioned.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Bob was fun and light-hearted. He stayed in the background, but always got his shot. He never made anyone uncomfortable with his camera, and accommodated anyone who decided to pose for a random photo. He was professional, and was quick to address and questions we had. He did a wonderful job, and left us with many, many photos to remember our special day by.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: August 2010 Wedding - Jamie and Brent
12/27/2010
  • Jamie R

  • Wedding Date: 08/28/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It is hard to narrow down, by my favorite two were of my husband and I kissing at the end of the ceremony and one of my dad and I hanging out at the reception.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I am not one for posed photographs, so Bob did a great job keeping those quick on the wedding day. They ended up being some of my favorite photos so I was glad he initiated them. He also did a great job capturing everyone's personalities during the ceremony and reception. He got a ton of great candid photos of people dancing, laughing, and just having a fun time. I didn't even notice he was there during the wedding and reception outside of the posed photos.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our photo package included engagement photos, two 8x10 printed engagement photos, and all rights to the wedding photos that were given to us on a CD.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Bob has a great, open personality that made everyone feel at ease. A number of my guests not only told me how much they liked the photographs, but also how much they liked Bob.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Extremely happy out of town couple
01/26/2010
  • Erin W

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Like everyone else, there were far too many fantastic shots to pick out just one. One picture that is really special to me is of me with my aunt (who never gets her picture taken) when both of us are laughing. Bob was able to capture so many great geunine candid moments, we had loads to choose from.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Bob's style is to not be obtrusive and just capture moments. And most of the time they are moments that others may not see. We have candids taken on the dance floor, at tables, standingin groups, at the bar, during the ceremony, and before the ceremony. We also have some great non-tradtional (which is what we wanted) portrait shots that utilize the old city of Richmond. What I would call portraits with character and interest.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had engagement shots when he spent hours with us on his birthday, I might add...as well as wedding day photos when he also spent many hours with us covering all aspects of the day. We also got a DVD with all of our pictures on it.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I really don't like to have my pictures taken but with Bob I was able to forget I was the subject and was very comfortable with him taking pictures. And the fact he got pictures, and great ones, of my Aunt speaks volumes if you knew her. It was like having someone that we've known forever taking pictures of us yet, we'd only met him face to face once.I can't say enough about Bob! I wish we were closer so we could have him photograph all of our important moments!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Bob is WONDERFUL!!
01/21/2010
  • Lisa J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many photos between the engagement session and the wedding day that it is impossible to narrow it down to just one. I do especially love the one of my father and I just before we enter the church, and there were several of my husband and I that Bob shot that are just beautiful. Instead of just hanging one picture...we had to create a wall that includes about 16 of our favorites.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I didn't even know Bob was shooting pictures through the ceremony and during the other parts of the day (from getting ready to all of the reception traditions). He moved throughout the crowd with ease and is very personable. That was what drew us to him in the first place...Bob is very professional and easy to work with. He felt like an old friend from the beginning. Our wedding photos are full of candid shots (I hate posing) that show a unique style and an eye for heartwarming moments. When it came time to gather the family and wedding party...all of whom were ready to get the party started...Bob was very swift and organized. He was able to capture all of the shots that we had requested in addition to some we didn't even realize he had done.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Bob was very flexible in designing a package that fit our needs. We chose a package that included an engagement session, the wedding day photography, an album and CDs that included every picture for us to do as we pleased. Bob also offers our pictures on his gallery for friends and family to view and order. His prints are gorgeous!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We were very comfortable with Bob from the very start. We met at a coffee shop initially and discussed our wedding and the style of pictures that we desired. We immediately had trust in both Bob's integrity as a businessman and his professionalism. We felt that Bob truly LOVES his job and is rewarded by providing the best service possible to his clients. Our five year old daughter, who is sometimes very shy, even warmed up to Bob very quickly. We had a large number of children in our wedding party and Bob was excellent with them. Bob has always made himself very available to us via phone conversations and e-mail. He is also on Facebook where we could keep up with his work. We highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for a relaxed photography experience with high quality results.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Photographer for a Great Value
05/31/2009
  • bschardein

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite photo was one he took of me with my cousin who walked me down the aisle. It was a very tender moment that was very important to me, and now I know I will never forget it.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Bob sends out a list of possible shots and asks what (if any) particular shots you might have in mind before the big day so that he can be sure that you get what you want without having to bug you about it on the day of. The candids were wonderful, (I knew they would be because that's how I picked him out!) I had spectacular action shots of the dancing, and the few portraits I wanted were done just in the style I like... bright and fresh, not too traditional or stuffy.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? He customized a package for us. I didn't want traditional bridal portraits, so we arranged for a post-wedding "Trash the Dress" shoot. For the big day itself, we used just him as the photographer, but he seemed to be everywhere! On the traditional side of the package, we got a contemporary style printed album and 4 parents albums, a large print to be used in a frame for signing at the wedding and an engagement photo shoot. He gave us all the pictures on cd's (about 1000 pics to choose from for the wedding, and at least 200 each from the engagment and dress sessions.)
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Bob is so approachable, that you can ask him anything, he isn't afraid to try something new. The "Trash the Dress" session is a risque idea, especially in the south, but he was up for it, even to the point of risking equipment to follow me INTO the river!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best Photographer Around!!!!!
04/23/2009
  • brandishumaker

  • Wedding Date: 05/10/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Seriously...I cant narrow my absolute favorite picture down. There were many...with over 1000+ photos to choose from. So many different pictures captured different moments of the day but they were all amazing!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I really never knew he was around! Candid shots were wonderful and my favorite, with two photographers there, nothing was missed! When it came time for portaits with family, Bob had a smooth and fast plan of action that worked like a charm!!! We never missed anything and neither did our guests!!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We chose a package that included our engagement session, my bridal portrait, and the wedding day. We recieved a high resolution disc copy of all images from each photo shoot, my enlarged bridal portrait and an album. We were able to add smaller parents albums also! Bob was willing to work with us to make sure we recieved everything we wanted for our big day!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Bob was always easy to reach by phone or email and responded quickly to any question we had. He fit right in at the ceremony and reception, had a great personality and was genuine when talking to you.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Our New Favorite Photographer
04/15/2009
  • jkmakris

  • Wedding Date: 06/14/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are too many great photos to pick just one favorite!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Throughout the day I didn't even realize Bob was around. He took great photos without telling us where to be and how to pose. When it was time to do formal pictures Bob was good at directing everyone into position. When he did pull us aside to do couple photos he was fast and I didn't feel like we missed any of the day.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I was able to custom create a wedding photo package that included all the components that I found important. My custom package included: Bridal session Bridal portrait Wedding day with 2 photographers (no time limit on # of hours with photographer on wedding day) Leather Wedding Album (large size) High resolution cd with all wedding day photos
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Bob made everyone feel comfortable throughout the day with his relaxed demeanor.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review