Photographers in Richmond, VA: Meghan McSweeney Photography
Meghan McSweeney Photography
4719 Leonard Parkway
Richmond, VA 23226
(804) 647-9412


Richmond Photographers: Meghan McSweeney Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.9
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 4.9
  • 4.9

  • 7 Reviews
Review: Wonderful photographer, wonderful photos
06/09/2014
  • gracemb83

  • Wedding Date: 05/17/2014
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There are many favorites to chose from, but most of my favorites were those where she allowed different depths of field to enter the photo. She was able to really take advantage of natural light, and turned a lot into great black and white images.
  • Meghan was a wonderful advocate during the day. Knowing she had been involved in so many weddings made her opinion valuable. During our dinner reception, we barely knew she was in the room. Guests commented to me after the fact that they were very impressed at how unobstructive she was, while still managing to gather all of the important shots. Portraits at the church went seamlessly. She regularly snapped many shots of the same pose, to ensure there was one with everyone's eyes open and mouths closed. She even made my husband, who isn't a fan of photos, feel comfortable and "enjoy" the process.
  • We had a smaller event, so Meghan customized a package for us. Just one photographer, 8 hours, and a disk of the images (in addition to website viewing access). She was wonderful to work with during the planning process.
  • Meghan is very kind and patient, and that was evident to family during portraits and during the dinner reception. No one ever felt rushed, and was able to naturally enjoy their evening.

Overall Rating: 4.5 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 4.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 4.0

write a review
Review: Our Wedding
11/02/2009
  • Jessica O

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One photo?? How could I possibly pick just one. I have far too many favorites.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Meghan was completely unobtrusive during the entire day. We talked about what photos we would like ahead of time, but she has a natural eye for snapping at just the right moments. I felt perfectly comfortable not providing much direction to her and am thoroughly pleased with the outcome.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We kept ours fairly simple. Our package included: -two photographers -8 hours of wedding coverage -a 24-page custom designed album -set of 4x6 first edition prints -engagement session
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I can't speak highly enough of Meghan's work. She knew exactly how to move the formal photos along swiftly. She was cheerful, pleasant, and fun to have with us. She took care of many things I had either forgotten about or ran into at the last moment. She is poised, talented, professional, and very, very creative. Although the formal photos are lovely, Meghan's candid shots are outstanding. We hope to have many more occasions to work with her!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: This is "the one".
10/04/2009
  • Charter L

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We have two favorites (can you tell we're married now?). There's one of the me-- the bride-- walking down the aisle, and it's at the split second when I lose it and start crying. I'm bent over with this enormous laugh-cry smile on my face. The other favorite is of the two of us standing outside some random shop near the Richmond Farmer's Market. There's a karaoke sign in the window, Pepsi vending machine, etc. It's just us... standing there.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We always feel guilty about this: we like Meghan and Ryan personally so much that we feel AWFUL that we don't remember them being at the wedding. They were not a disruption in any way. For portraits, they didn't spend a lot of time getting everyone in place, making sure your hair is just-so, giving directions, etc. They simply capture moments in a portrait setting-- without them looking too much like portraits. That said, they also don't leave you hanging trying to figure anything out for yourself. Everything's very easy.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Like another reviewer, Jeff and I were having a small wedding on a budget, so I contacted a few photographers for a personalized quote. Meghan was so darn wonderful and flexible that I stopped looking for any other vendor. We had two photographers, 5-6 hours (??), a website with hundreds of photos to choose from, and a final CD with the ones we picked.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Meghan and Ryan felt like they belonged in our families' celebration that day (even though I don't remember them being at the wedding-- eek!). They're just so normal, easy-going, delightful, funny, unassuming. They made us feel comfortable without "doing" anything. Prior to the wedding, Meghan stays in touch to keep your mind at ease-- you know she hasn't forgotten about you and that you're not just some appointment on her calendar, etc. I could tell from her portfolio that she treats each client individually and wants what they want.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: One of the best parts of our wedding!
10/01/2009
  • Loftan M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were many, but one that we get a lot of compliments on is a picture with our two scotties, Maddie and McGreggor. It wasn't a posed picture, just something that happened naturally after we had been trying to get them to sit still for one picture, but it is such a cute picture of Greg and I trying to hold on to them by their leashes. I absolutely love it. It hangs in our living room, and it was also one of the first pictures Mom requested be developed first.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Meghan's prensence is partly what made the day special. She fit right in with everything that was going on and people remember how wonderful she was. My Father, who rarely compliments anyone, told me that Meghan was one of his favorite parts of the wedding -- and she really was. Meghan's photography is beautiful and she will find out ahead of time what type of style you like better and that's what she goes for. All the photos she took were stunning and suprising! I was amazed at moments of the wedding she caught that I didn't even know happened. Her photos warmly fill our home now and I'm just so glad I found her.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had a very small wedding and one that was planned in only about a month, so we just wanted one photographer for our wedding day. She came up with a package for us that didn't include engagement photos. It was perfect and fit our budget completely. After the wedding, it took about a month to receive our photo DVD -- just in time for Christmas presents!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I remember one day before the wedding I got a call from Meghan. She said, "How are you doing?" and I was like, "I'm fine, is everything okay?" and then she said, "Yes! I was just calling to see how you were doing." Meghan is just like that. She spends time getting to know you before the wedding so that by the time your big day comes around, Meghan is just another one of the family. Don't worry, if you have a particularly shy or outgoing family, she knows that ahead of time, so she prepares for everything. And if you've never taken professional photos before, she's got you covered. She'll help you and really make that aspect of the wedding a fun one.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: a wedding choice you won't regret
10/01/2009
  • Devin P

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Meghan did an incredible job of capturing the personalities of our friends and families. My Favorite photographs are those where Meghan went out of her way ( for example: hanging herself out of the trolley window) to capture our best friends being goofy or just really enjoying themselves.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Meghan blended in perfectly and made us feel like she was one of our friends invited to the wedding. She was fun and easy to talk too. Stephen couldn't stop saying all day, "Meghan, you're so cool! Best wedding photographer ever!" All of our pictures are perfect, especially the candid portraits.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? All of this was included. I loved that there were multiple photographers. Because of this, we have pictures of all our favorite memories. Nothing was missed!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Stephen says it best..."best wedding photographer ever!"

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Wedding Day Photographer
10/01/2009
  • Kate E

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite photos were the candid shots that I didn't even know Meghan was taking! When I looked at my pictures Meghan had captured moments I had almost forgot had happened during the hustle and bustle of the day.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Meghan is very go with the flow. She took wonderful candid photos and did the portraits in a way that it didn't take long so we could get right back to our friends and family. Meghan noticed every detail of our wedding and captured each in the most beautiful way.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I got 4x6 photos and a dvd of the proofs.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Meghan fit right into our wedding day so well she was almost like part of the family!!! She documented our day so beautifully I could not have asked for a better photographer. Meghan was professional and sweet and a joy to work with!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Beautiful photography, wonderful photographers!
09/30/2009
  • stephanie W

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It's honestly impossible to say which photo is my favorite...when I had to pick out my pictures for the photo album I was 100 over the limit! Meghan's style is truly one of a kind and beautiful.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I can't say enough about Meghan McSweeney Photography. Both Meghan and her brother Ryan were so wonderful, and I like them so much personally that they were never a "disruption". They blended right in. They were able to provide us with so many amazing shots.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Meghan McSweeney Photography provided us with 6 hrs of photography (I added an extra hour), a photo dvd, a complete set of 4x6 prints (which came in a beautiful box) and 2 photographers. Money well spent!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? From the second I met with Meghan I liked her and knew that she would be perfect. Very outgoing, sweet, and down-to-earth. Having Meghan and Ryan photograph our wedding was like having an extra friend who is really great at photography. I would recommend them to everyone!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor