Photographers in Virginia: Rothwell Photography
Rothwell Photography
535 South Main Street
Mt. Crawford, VA 22841
(540) 383-3647


Photographers: Rothwell Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 21 Reviews
Review: Lindsey and Missy
11/30/2008
  • Linds

  • Wedding Date: 09/07/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • With so many wonderful pictures, how could I pick just one? Tim and Sasha photographed my dog and I as we played at a local park. They were able to capture Missy's personality and even coax a smile out of me that didn't look posed.
  • I hadn't had any pictures taken in over 6 years and didn't have any with my dog who I adopted over a year ago. The Rothwells got pictures of us playing with her favorite toy, as well as some posed shots. During the action shots, both Tim and Sasha were taking pictures so that they were able to get the best action shots. For the posed pictures, Sasha posed us while Tim took the pictures. She was great at getting the best angles, taking into consideration the weather and lighting. Both were great with Missy and capturing her fun personality and were able to get me to laugh and smile, too. Tim and Sasha are extremely professional, courteous, creative and friendly, and I've recommended them to everyone I know! Since I had my pictures done, my sister drove from NC to VA to have the Rothwells do family pictures of her family and they also came out fabulous. Don't trust your special day to anyone else!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Joel, Melissa and Annie's Fall Family Pictures
11/18/2008
  • wonderstew

  • Wedding Date: 11/18/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It looks like something straight out of a magazine! Seriously! Tim deftly observed the rule of thirds and placed my beautiful wife and daughter in the sweet spot. Good work.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tim and Sasha work flawlessly together, balancing on eachother's strengths. Their professionalism and efficiency allowed us to go on about our business of a lovely autumn walk. As you can guess, that made for excellent pictures.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were very in letting us plan our own shots but at the same time, they had very solid ideas of what would look good. It's reassuring to have a confident photographer; it does wonders for putting you at ease in front of the lens. Their amicability mixed with creativity plenty of energy really go a long way.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Talented, Creative, Friendly, AMAZING!!
11/17/2008
  • jugardne

  • Wedding Date: 05/14/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have had the pleasure of working with the Rothwell's on both a personal basis and on a professional level, and both times, they have amazed me. In my individual photoshoot, they were creative with the setting, poses and props and really made sure to capture my personality in each picture. I recently had the opportunity to direct a wedding for which they were the photographers, and they were so wonderful and professional to work with. They were thorough and efficient with the time provided, and always friendly and warm. I think my favorite pictures will be the action shots of everyone dancing at the reception as those will show the fun personalities of all involved in the special day.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Since there are two photographers, they are able to work together quickly and efficiently, so as not to interrupt or disturb. In some situations, both Tim and Sasha have a camera and are snapping photos from different angles so as to capture all perspectives of the moment. Then in other times where posed pictures are more appropriate, Sasha coordinates the pose quickly and starts thinking of the next pose so that more time can be spent with the action shots. Both type of shots are amazing, and they always turn out really really well. They are so good at capturing the memory in it's purest and most natural form, and the pictures always reflect the emotion and uniqueness of each moment.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Rothwell Photography releases the copyright for ALL photos and will provide a CD-ROM of the pictures, so you can print and distribute as many as you would like, which is PRICELESS. Their wedding packages include full service editing and numerous options, and they'll work with you to create a package that suits your needs and desires for the big day. The engagement photos that I've seen are absolutely amazing, and I fully plan to have the Rothwell's capture that special stage of my life when the time comes.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? It was great working with them as a wedding coordinator because I was able to see how they handle large groups as well as large bridal parties, and they were successful at both! They both were able to organize the groups effectively to get the best picture, but efficiently so time wasn't wasted in between each pose. They laughed and made the group laugh, and really allowed the personalities of the family members to shine. Even for my own photo shoot, it was so easy to be in front of the camera because they treat you like a real person, and not just a photography subject. It was so easy to be natural, and I have and will continue to highly recommend Rothwell Photography to all my friends and family!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Jen and Joey - Mother and Son Pictures
11/17/2008
  • jamlacher

  • Wedding Date: 11/17/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have too many that Tim and Sasha took that I love, to pick just one. My favorite shots were the candid ones of Joey and me just sitting together.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tim and Sasha just let Joey and I run around the field, and sit in the grass together while they took pictures. They were able to capture some very special moments of my son being his "true" self. If they had an idea about something they found that works well, they made the suggestion and we tried it. They were very easy going, and willing to work with our surroundings.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Tim and Sasha were great, in that they didn't have an agenda, they let us move freely, and it worked wonderfuly. When taking pictures with a young child, it can be challenging to get them to do what you want them to do, but Tim and Sasha never made us feel rushed, or like we were being a burden. They truly love capturing family moments, and are willing to wait until they see the perfect one to take a picture of.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Lookabill Family
11/17/2008
  • tabitha

  • Wedding Date: 11/17/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Because of the creativity and number of amazing pictures they gave us, that's a really hard question to answer! The ones we look at often are of our one year old son who they perfectly captured in all of his fun and curious exploring.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We had so much fun playing as a family in front of the camera! When our photo shoot was over we felt as though Tim and Sasha had just come along with us to play in the park. We felt energized and not at all as if we'd been posing for pictures. There was such a great mix of posed and action shots. Importantly for us with a young one, the posed shots were very quickly done and yet we did not feel rushed. Tim and Sasha had so many ideas and they thought ahead of shots they'd like to try so there was an easy flow from one shot to the next.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Tim and Sasha work so well together. They are both so creative and make you feel that taking pictures for you is a great joy. How wonderful to feel that they are enjoying the time too! They are patient and fun.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Engagement and Wedding pictures
11/15/2008
  • alishawright

  • Wedding Date: 05/24/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite picture is from the engagement shoot which was taken at sunset. Sasha had me lean against a tree while my fiance leaned in to me. The rays of the setting sun shown on my face and Tim caught a timeless photograph.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were excellent with both posed and action shots! They had a lot of creative ideas for poses and things to do that fit our personalities. They made us feel comfortable even while shooting the intimate, up-close and personal shots.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were flexible with what we wanted to do and didn't impose their ideas on us. When we needed help they offered many great suggestions. We were very pleased with the service they provided and the pictures turned out better than we could have imagined!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Bradsher Family
11/14/2008
  • Lehrerin

  • Wedding Date: 11/13/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It's hard to choose, but one of my favorites is of my daughter tossing leaves in the air and laughing. It's a total action shot, but it looks so lively and fun!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? They were great - they moved with the kids and took all sorts of pictures. After a few minutes, the kids were used to the cameras and played, and the Rothwells both trailed them and anticipated their next moves to get great pictures.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We paid an up-front fee that included the copyrights to the photos taken so that we were able to print exactly what we wanted.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They talked to us and told stories while we played. They made a few suggestions about things that we could try with the kids, but they were very relaxed and casual - it definitely put us all at ease.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Dillon-Wilkinson Engagement
11/14/2008
  • Sam and Jarrett

  • Wedding Date: 06/06/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We havent decided on our favorite picture...and i doubt that we'll ever be able to. Tim and Sasha took such a wide variety of pictures and then complimented each of them with great style and effect. They really captured what we were looking for from posed to action and romantic to fun we couldn't have asked for a more skilled and personable pair to photograph our engagment and upcoming wedding!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tim and Sasha made us feel totally relaxed during the shoot and it really showed in our pictures which turned our so genuine and true to who my fiance and I really are around one another. Our posed shots were excellent and our action shots were equally as great...it was everything we wanted and so much more!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were able to relax us by their wonderful personalities that make you feel totally at ease so all we had to concentrate on was just being ourselves. When we were done it didn't feel like we had just finished with an engagement shoot, it felt like we had just hung out with friends for the afternoon.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Brilliant Photography, Delightful Photographers!!!
11/12/2008
  • Turleys

  • Wedding Date: 03/22/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? It would be hard to choose a single favorite - they took so many great pictures! Justin's favorite is a black and white of his new wife peeking out of the vintage limo window. Another favorite of ours is one of us immediately after the wedding. We're cheek to cheek, both have our eyes closed and look like we're breathing a joint sigh of happiness and relief - we're finally married! ;)
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Tim & Sasha are great about snapping merrily away without making you feel like you're having to stare into a camera lense all day. They're delightful people to be around, but also know how to slip into the background so that people don't even notice they're being photographed. Works brilliantly! And yes, both posed pictures and action shots were fantastic. They just have a way of capturing every moment beautifully, whether planned or not. They're also great at making everyone comfortable and relaxed, which results in the best pictures, especially for shy people. They even managed our 19 flower girls with skill and creativity! :D
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Tim & Sasha work together so well to bring out the best in everyone! They are excited, skilled, quick to direct and see great photo opportunities. They're also great with people of all personalities and comfort levels. We had all kinds in our wedding - outgoing and shy, people our age down to three-year-olds. Tim & Sasha were also very relaxed while still very efficient, so we never felt rushed or anxious about timing or getting the right shots. They managed it all beautifully!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Williams-Newman Engagement
11/11/2008
  • MNewman

  • Wedding Date: 10/10/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? First off, my fiancé and I loved working with the Rothwells! We got a wide variety of pictures, which makes it hard to choose a favorite. We managed to narrow it down though. His favorite is a close up of my face while I'm clutching his shirt. My favorite was of both of us, where he was holding me in a dip. It looks so romantic!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Both Sasha and Tim came to take our pictures, and it was so comfortable being around them. I was a little nervous at first but they are both so down to earth it seemed to come naturally. They had so many suggestions on what we could do, and it never felt disruptive. They were also wonderful with all the other photos!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I would recommend the Rothwells to everyone. They are genuine people, and we truly had a wonderful time with them. Tim and Sasha are great to be around, and their great personalities made our session a blast. After seeing our engagement pictures, I can't wait to see what they do at our wedding.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor