Photographers in Virginia: Twilight Images by Melody Smith
Twilight Images by Melody Smith
Richmond and Surrounding, VA 23111
(804) 389-1167


Photographers: Twilight Images by Melody Smith


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 22 Reviews
Review: Melody is an artist!
10/30/2009
  • Jessica H

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There were so many amazing images to choose from it's hard to pick just one. The picture of us in front of the red window shown above is one of my favorites! Melody has such a great eye, I feel like all of the pictures she took were their own individual works of art. So many of our friends and family told us that the pictures were so amazing we looked like we were in a magazine!
  • She was excellent, I never even noticed her or her assistant during the ceremony. There are plenty of candid shots, action shots and portraits. They were all phenomenal and there was an excellent mix of all types of shots.
  • Bridal portrait, unlimited time with two shooters on wedding day, an album, photo credits for printing, online proofing, a disc with all images of the wedding and all images of the bridal portrait, rights to use the photos, and engagement pics (although we chose not to do the e-pics b/c we were so busy!).
  • She is easy to get along with and very friendly. She really does love weddings and her enthusiasm shows. She is down to earth and she gives very clear and easy to understand directions for photos. I initially felt very uncomfortable and nervous at my bridal shoot, but she made me feel comfortable and beautiful in my dress and within a few minutes I felt great! I had an excellent experience with her throughout the entire process, and she is always very quick to respond to any questions you may have.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Personal Attention and Professionalism!
08/19/2009
  • Erin C

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are so many!! It is really hard to pick but. I really was impressed with a photo where I was standing in the room above the chapel waiting for the ceremony to start and the sun was setting and shining through the window. Melody took this amazing picture with me leaning against the window and ended up altering it into three different contrasts. There were also a group of photos where Melody was up on a chair and Austin's (groom) friends were surrounding him preparing to throw him up in the air. The shot is very creative and really puts you in the moment. It was a great time.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Melody and her partner never got in the way during the day, they were on time, they did their own thing and told me exactly what to do and where I needed to be. I told her that she is the artist and that I wanted her to control the shots. She took great candids, action shots and the portraits were fast, creative and I felt like I didn't miss a beat at the reception.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? In our wedding package, we received a full CD with all images and printing rights, engagement photo session, and unlimited time with two photographers the day of the wedding. She also worked with me a lot before the wedding to figure out timing, a list of portraits and other details.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Melody was fun and relaxed. Her attitude and personality was extremely comforting. It felt like she was just one of the group - she just had a camera in her hand. I received so many comments from guests at the wedding about how professional she was. She also conversed with a few of the guests and they mentioned her following the wedding. They complimented ME on finding her :).

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Ingleside Winery Wedding
05/21/2009
  • hopkinss

  • Wedding Date: 04/25/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 4 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We have so many favorites, however one set of pictures def sticks out. Melody grabbed us to take a couple pictures as the sun was setting and they were gorgeous! We also loved the portrait shots that she took. All in all the photos were amazing.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Melody captured everything and we had no idea that she was there. Again all of the shots were amazing. The candids were great. The portraits are awesome and she definitely knows how to pose both men and women to bring out their best attributes. We had some action shots with a horse and carriage which were great too. All in all we could not have been happier with the work that she has done.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? In our package we got Melody and her assistant for 7-8 hours. The package also includes a high resolution CD and we separately ordered thank you cards with a couple of pictures
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Beyond my expectations.
02/13/2009
  • calexander

  • Wedding Date: 11/01/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 3 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? In all honesty, there is no way to pick. Melody delivered so many fabulous shots, it took me months to pick the ones I wanted to order because they were all so good. If I had to pick, I'd mention two specifically - one was taken by a stone wall after the wedding, the lighting was very dramatic and the picture turned out just perfect. The second favorite would be our cake feeding picture, Melody got on a stool and took the shot from above looking down - one of our favorite wedding moments, captured forever in such a creative manner.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I didn't notice Melody at any point getting in the way of guests having fun, and no one has commented that she disrupted anything. In fact, several guests have commented that our photographer was very nice and creative. Melody is great with portraits, her creativity as an artist always comes through, you will never get an average run of the mill wedding shot. Her candids and action shots are very nice as well, she has a knack for catching just the right moment.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? In our package we received engagement photos, bridal portraits (Melody made a bouquet in my colors for the bridal shoot) and the wedding coverage (unlimited day of package with an assistant), an album and a full resolution CD of all our pictures. We also got a framed print from each shoot.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She knew exactly what she wanted to do, the best way to do it and her assistant was working in concert with her to get the portraits done quickly and without alot of time away from the party. Melody had me complete paperwork prior to the wedding day to let her know who I wanted a picture of at the wedding - I didn't have to give it a thought on the day of. After working with her through the engagement photos and the bridal portraits - I knew i could trust her to get the shots I wanted and to deliver wonderful wedding memories. That's exactly what she did.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great experience!
01/30/2009
  • jlharris99

  • Wedding Date: 12/06/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 3 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Oh gracious ... I have to choose just one?! Melody captured so many great moments both between my husband and I and of the overall event that I really can't pick one! My husband, in particular, looooved the picture of him and his groomsmen posing together. I had to literally tear my computer (we were looking at the proofs) out of his hands so we could finish choosing photos for our album.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I believe my package (which was on the lower end) included an album, CD of all the pictures, engagement or bridal session (I opted for bridal portraits), 2 shooters for 7 hours, a framed 8x10 and a framed 5x7. Additionally, I have also used Melody for budoir photos and was so ridiculously thrilled I couldn't see straight. The price for that was reasonable and it was a fabulous experience. Who doesn't like being a model for a day? (=
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Having worked with Melody during a budoir and bridal portrait session, I felt extremely comfortable with her already. She is very personable but also efficient and everyone felt at ease. She was unobtrusive and many people (myself included) barely even noticed her or her assistant. Melody also dressed professionally, which is more than I can say for my coordinator! By the end, I felt like she was more of a friend then a vendor.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Mrs. Duke
11/02/2008
  • ataylor

  • Wedding Date: 11/02/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 3 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Melody did a great job with all my wedding pictures, they look like their from a magazine which is pretty amazing considering the weather the day of my outdoor wedding was pretty awful and caused everything to be turned around at last minute.  My favorites are of course my husband and I with an old car!  Melody was really creative with these! 
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I was surprised of all the photos twilight images was able to capture because I my husband and I didn't even notice they were there!  Candids shots are very good and I can't imagine any better detail shots, Melody really excels at capturing those small things you're glad you have photos of to remember the day!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I had a package deal of engagement, bridal, and wedding photos, really a lot packed into what you get for the price.  Bridal shots were really fun having your make-up done and Melody is good at photographing a bride in the way makes you look good!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She did very well and managing a complicated family of mothers, fathers, stepmothers, step fathers.  Everyone was included and got pictures!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Perfection is the only word possible!!!!
10/31/2008
  • Mrs. Mason

  • Wedding Date: 05/31/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 3 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have a picture from my engagement shot that is my favorite. I am sitting on this bench and I have a flower in my hair its just perfect. I look like a diva and it every time I look at it I think how wonderful it is. My husband picked the flower for me and Mel saw me put it behind my ear and I honestly felt pretty in this picture.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? During my wedding and reception she took pictures and I knew she was their because I could see her running around but she was never a bother. I wanted someone who could get the right picture's without being in the way and making us pose for everything. We look normal in our pictures and all our pictures we look happy. Our posed shots were on the beach and I am telling you they came out perfect. I had a large bridal party but she made sure they all looked beautiful and she got us having fun.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? My package was great I got the engagement, bridal, and wedding/reception. We picked this package because we wanted her to be at our reception for as long as we were. Another thing that she did for us was during the reception she made a little booth where she could take pictures of our family and friends. It was perfect because my family was able to take pictures and we got all the pictures we wanted. We received a coffee table book and she is amazing with her books if you don't like it you are crazy.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She made it so easy a little tilt her and just smile and be normal. My family loved her she was perfect and she is basically part of our family now. I love the way she is up front and honest and also the fact that she knows what she is doing. I think that is what made it so easy for my family to deal with her because she would just tell it like it is. Plus the girl has an EYE for details and photography period.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: One word...AMAZING!
10/30/2008
  • jesipu8

  • Wedding Date: 05/03/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 2 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? honestly this was the most difficult thing out of everything i had to do with the wedding planning and so forth but pictures were the most important thing to me about the wedding and i was so lucky to have found melody!....but it was the most difficult thing to decide b/c literally almost EVERY picture she took was awesome! and i know every other bride had a hard time choosing b/c i've seen some of them too and that look amazing! Melody's work is simply the best! :)
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? It seemed like she was always at the right place at the right time and you didn't even know! Looking at my proofs after the wedding i didn't even remember some of them crazy things that happened and didn't even know she was there...ESP during the cake pic's :) hhaha hilarious. and yes i believe she can turn any boring posed photos into something beautiful! like i said before there's noone like her! If you want a photographer that is going to give you something different and not the same ol' pic's like everyone else Melody's ur woman!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Traditional captures with a personal touch!
10/30/2008
  • just4kmt

  • Wedding Date: 05/30/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 2 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Well in lieu of sounding too cliche', of course my photos are ALL my favorite. There is just a way Melody can find something that may seem out of the ordinary to most but make it into the most beautiful photo. I think that is clearly what makes her company stand out, especially in a bridal/wedding scene.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Wow, I have seen her in some situations where guests are definitely not following instruction. Because weddings are one of the most important days in the brides/grooms life, Melody has a way of getting everyone to fall into place with simple gestures and looks that make it easy for the bridal party/family etc to get great memorable shots, without almost needing to say a word! She is definitely great with both posed shots and action shots. I have seen some of the best action shots from her studio but unique posed but NOT so posed shots of anyone in the area.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Melody offers a ton of packages and an a la carte' menu. I believe most of her packages include all three shoots (e pics, bridal wedding coverage) and print credits for each. I booked on the lower end and I know I got all three. I priced others in the area and know she is the best price around, if you compare apples to apples.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Well most people know there is ALWAYS the one in the group who is not interested in taking a photo. Because she is so apt for these people she continues to shoot no matter what face anyone makes, because ONE of those shots is going to be worth a million dollars. Even grumpy grandpa who is not "photogenic" will look like he is having the best time of his life... she knows how to CAPTURE these SMALL moments, not only for a wedding but in life.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Got a wonderful photographer I will never forget!!!!!!!!!
10/30/2008
  • Airbear846

  • Wedding Date: 10/30/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 2 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Honestly all of my pictures are my favorite...But some of my favorite ones are when she stopped traffic for my whole wedding party and had us walking down the street...You can even see the green traffic light in the background. She did whatever she needed to do to get fabulous shots.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? She blended in with the crowd to be honest with you. Most of the time i didnt even know she was there...she was ALLL over the place getting all the best shots...None of the stop and posey posey shots during the reception and honestly I loved being around her so I was more or less looking to be near her all the time.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I purchased the Platinum package I believe which included engagement, bridal and all day of the wedding shoot. I ordered probably $250 in photos and will probably order ALOT more because i love them so much. At the bridal shoot she did my flowers and my make-up they both looked awsome!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She is more like a friend to me then a photographer. She made all of us feel like friends and family and not just as clients. She worked with a group of stubborn guys (the groomsmen) and had them on the ground like dogs and they did it with out heistation because everyone knew that if they listened to her then the pictures would be wonderful and they were...I will be going back to her with out a doubt!!!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2009 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor