Photographers in Appleton, WI: Kim Thiel Photography
Kim Thiel Photography
534 N Vine St
Appleton, WI 54911
(920) 968-8743

Kim Thiel Photography



View Kim Thiel Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 8 Reviews
Review: Erin Edwards
05/16/2013
  • Erin E

  • Wedding Date: 04/24/2013
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There were so many, that I cannot narrow it down to one! (see question below)
  • Kim was phenomenal in all of the areas listed above. See below for more details... I am the type of woman who, when it comes to something important to me, thinks and researches and analyzes and rethinks and…. so, although the motto for our wedding (due to my analytical nature) was K.I.S.S. (Keep It Simple, Sweetie), one can imagine how much time and effort I spent researching photographers. In fact, I even explored photographers in both my home state of Wisconsin and our wedding destination state of Florida. In the countless hours I spent investigating, I kept coming back to one photographer in particular- Kim Thiel. Even though some friends and family members encouraged me to find a photographer in Florida to save time and money, my heart knew that none of the other photographers would produce work as unique, as beautiful, as intimate, as romantic, as authentic… as Kim Thiel Photography. I was right. Now that our wedding images have been shared, everyone who sees them understands why I invited a photographer from Wisconsin to Florida. Reactions to those viewing my wedding pictures range from smiles, to laughs, to sighs, to tears… My friends and family love Kim Thiel Photography now too; in fact, many of them will be hiring Kim in the near future for their children’s senior pictures or for their own weddings. Kim is a true artist in every sense of the word. When it comes to capturing the raw emotion felt during your special day, playing with scenery and lighting to get the perfect shot, noticing little details to capture (that nobody else even saw at the time).…Kim’s artistic eye will see it and capture it. Kim’s photos speak for themselves. Not only is Kim an amazing artist, but her personality is beautiful too. Kim will quietly blend right in on your wedding day. I can guarantee you will have no regrets if you choose Kim Thiel Photography. Let me save you some time and effort looking for a photographer during this busy time of wedding planning; take it from a thorough woman who has firsthand experience. Kim Thiel is the one. The memories she will capture for you will be one of your greatest investments.
  • I selected a destination package which came with a disc of pictures.
  • The photographer is like another family member now- she blended right in! (see second question above)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Excellent photographers!
12/29/2010
  • Amy P

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I honestly can say that I love all of the wedding photos. I do have a few favorites, but they are all beautifu!!! I would Highly recomend Kim Thiel Photography!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? There are so many photos that I looked at and just wondered how they got some of the shots! They seemed to be everywhere without us knowing and get every memorable moment.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I had all of the above. The engagement session we did in the winter, and it was very chilliy, but she had no problem with that because it was what we wanted. She was all bundled up and even lying in the snow to get the angle she wanted! They all turned out great, i played the engagment pictures during our first dance. I also had the story book, which is amazing! I have showed it to many people and have gotten so many compliments, i absolutely love it!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? My family and wedding party was a very energetic and outgoing group. The photographers jumped right in and joked around with them.. Everyone in my group had a lot of fun and really like them!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best Choice I made!
12/22/2010
  • Erika H

  • Wedding Date: 06/12/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite photo would have to actually be the series of photos from our "First Look." Kim asked us if we would be interested in the first look, while I was skeptical at first, I am so glad we did because not only were those my favorite photos and FUSION footage, it also calmed our nerves and made me much more relaxed going into the ceremony.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We hardly knew Kim, Kari and Jason were there through out the day- but they did a fantastic job capturing every memorable moment. I loved every photo that was posted on my gallery- so I would say, Yes, they do great shots of every kind.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We received an album, FUSION, engagement photos, and two photographers for the whole day with our package. I would highly recommend, well everything. The album is breath taking and an amazing keepsake. I have never seen a wedding album that is so well made and timeless. It is a great coffee table book, that people actually enjoy looking at! FUSION was amazing. I think we were one of the first videos Jason did, but you would never know. Everyone that sees our video says it is the coolest wedding video they have ever seen (even my friend who is a photographer). The engagement photos were a great way to get to know the people you will be spending most of your wedding day with, so it was nice to be comfortable with them when the wedding came around. Two photographers is also a must so you get every shot from all of the important angles.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Kim, Kari and Jason are so nice and sweet it is just natural to be comfortable with them. My bridesmaids even commented in the dressing room after just having met Kim and Kari- that they were "so nice and cool and they really felt comfortable around them," which is so important. During our couple shots, you think it would be awkward kissing in front of the camera- but they made us laugh and you can see by the photos that we were really comfortable. Overall, we had an amazing experience with Kim Thiel Photography and I highly recommend them to any Bride. Like, I said in the title of this post- I honestly feel that the decision to go with Kim, Kari and Jason was the best decision in our entire planning process.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Excellent work
12/22/2010
  • Rachaele P

  • Wedding Date: 05/25/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Its really hard to just pick one. I would have to say my favs that Kim and Kari took were at a local golf course as well as on our bus. I have many posted around my house and whenever people look at them they say how wonderful the photos are.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I didnt even remember they were there. They were so good at letting us enjoy our day yet capturing every part of it. They took great candid shots yet the posed shots were still fun to do as well.... nothing felt uncomfortable.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I received a free engagement session, DVD of both the engagement pics and wedding pics with the rights released. I also had 2 photographers until after the first dance. There were many packages to choose from with a great variety of services.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She wasn't pushy. My grandparents forgot to stay after church for pictures and i was a little bummed but Kim said not to worry... ill catch them at the hall. She was so easy to work with and all my family loved her and Kari both. They made my day so relaxed. When they could see me ready to cry.. they were there, when i was tense they loosened me us!! They were absolutley AMAZING and would recommend them to anyone. I will definalty be going back in a couple years for baby photos!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Fantastic work- even easier to work with!!
01/25/2010
  • Ashley W

  • Wedding Date: 01/02/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? That's a tough question because- literally I have almost 800 to choose from!! I haven't picked 1 favorite yet- but there were some beautiful pictures taken of us in the balcony of church after the ceremony as well as some taken with us in front of an old house with snow all around and the sun setting behind us and my husband dipping and kissing me.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Kim and her assistant Kari where literally everywhere, which I only now realize after looking at the pictures. She captured all of the details of the day as well as some great candids. Her posed pictures were more of a direction than a typical photo shoot. She made us all smile and laugh so the smiles in the pictures were peoples' authentic smiles- not their "picture" smile. We also took some really cool action shots of us walking and running in the snow as well as kicking snow. Her portraits of us and our wedding party were beautiful- her motto is "Photography is Art" and her work could not be a better representation of this- they truly are art in every fashion of the word.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? The package that worked the best for us was one that started 2 hours prior to the ceremony and lasted through cake cutting with 2 photographers. A CD with all of the images on it is also included. An engagement photography session was also included with this package. Kim also does some fantastic work creating collages and beautiful images that we will use to create our own personalized wedding album. The album itself is not included in the price, but all of the work that Kim does to put it together and arrange it is.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Kim made us all feel comfortable by casually directing us to create the images. This way the portraits and candid shots alike were natural, comfortable and life-like. Kim was never obtrusive and yet was able to capture a ton of intimate moments- not sure how, but she did! Kim also made me feel comfortable by organizing and directing our large wedding party in order to keep us all on time and on task.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Experience
01/12/2010
  • Kerry H

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were so many beautiful wedding photos to choose from but our favorite was one of my husband and I with my veil blowing in the wind. It was so romantic and really captured the easy going nature of the whole day. We had many requests for copies of that photo!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? When we received our first look at our wedding pictures there were so many great pictures where I thought to myself, "I did not even remember seeing the photographer there!" The team was in no way disruptive and were able to capture beautiful pictures without us knowing. The talent of this team with candids is wonderful. There were so many candids that brought you right back to the moment they were happening and you felt that same feeling again. They took the time to take photos of items you tend to forget about long after the day is over such as the jewelry you and your bridesmaids wore, the look of all of the flowers, your unity candle, and many more! Action shots were plenty! It was a cool windy day so there was lots of movement! We were a lively bunch so the photography team had a moving around and got some really fun group shots! Of course the protrait shots of my husband and I were plenty and wonderful but we really appreciated the potraits of our wedding party. Single shots and shots with each of us. They were great pictures and we got lots of requests from the wedding parties parents for copies of these great shots!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Kim Thiel Photography has so many wonderful package options from albums to DVD's. The package we chose was the Engagement Photo session and photogrpahy 2 hours prior to ceremony to the cake cutting. It was just what were looking for. Whether you choose the smallest package or the biggest the same amount of care and time come from Kim and her team. Even when all was said and done Kim sent us some complementary prints wrapped delicately in tissue and an envelope. She put a wedding picture in a beautiful silver frame and took time to write a hand written note. It was great!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? We were very fortunate because we got a lot of quality time with Kim and her team. My husbands sister was married 6 weeks prior to us and used Kim as her photographer as well. We were both in her wedding party so it was easy to feel comfortable with her and her team. In meeting her for the first time she and her team are very relaxed. They do not put pressure on you or rush your time with them. They let you and your wedding party be yourself which is why I think the photos bring you right back to your day. They were able to work well with children to grandparents. It was an overall wonderful experience. Going forward we hope to use Kim Thiel Photography for baby pictures to family photos in the future!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: 12/5/2008- Lambie-Wunderlich Wedding
12/28/2009
  • Ashley L

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There were SO many! But my personal favorite.. we got married December 5th, we had a beautiful picture with a big wreath in the backround, it looks sooo pretty!!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I didn't even know she was there. Once we got our pictures back I wondered when she had taken a lot of them?!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had 2 photographers. And our Engagment pics were included.. which were also AMAZING!!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I personaly knew her, so I was comfortable with her. But even if I didn't know her, she never took a picture of something without you knowing. Like in your undies getting in your dress. :) She does such amazing work! I can't wait for her to take my pregnancy pictures in the next couple months!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding day review - A+
12/24/2009
  • Kristen S

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I loved every picture so it was especially difficult to choose just one...especially which one to hang on the wall! So,I ended up going with a very nice album, with a collage of pictures that captured the enitre day. However, if I had to choose just one, it was a black, white photo of my husband outside - close up, and the blue jewelry I was wearing was in color - filtered out1 Beautiful!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Kim was very respectful throughout the day and by meeting with us ahead of time we were able to develop a great "game plan". We have a great mix of portrait shots - which did not consume too much time during the day. Kim was able to look at the locations and structure the photos to capture the best image. We have great candids that truly capture us, our friend's and families' personalities. Action shots are great - especially at the reception! I love the mix of photos that we received that allowed us to have a great wedding picture album to capture each special moment.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? there are plenty of options, but we received a full day of services (including engagement pictures which were awesome). We chose the package that best suited our tastes and budget - we received the proof books, several large prints, DVD slideshow including video clips. during the ceremoony there were two photgraphers which I think made things easier. The phtographer rode with us from the church to a park location and then to the reception hall so no moments were missed! There were also plenty of other options that were presented to us as well.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Comfort was not an issue with a fun-loving happy photographer. By being optimistic and cheerful, she put everyone at ease! By being present but discreet there were never uncomfortable moments for us. I think having a level of comfort where you can express your wishes is particularily important, after all it is your special day, and one thing you can never recreate are the pictures! There is only one chance to get these right and we had no doubts that the job was getting done.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor