Photographers in Appleton, WI: Painting With Light
Painting With Light
Appleton, WI 54915
(920) 257-3436

http://myninjagrapher.com



View http://myninjagrapher.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 16 Reviews
Review: Review for Painting With Light
12/21/2010
  • Hannah R

  • Wedding Date: 10/15/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • It is too hard to decide on a favorite. Every photo was done excellent. I am still looking through my photos and loving every one. I have picked a few out to create our album but still not sure which ones out of all the great ones to choose to put in frames.
  • Lem was great with candid shots, action shots, and portraits. All the photos were great. he kept the flow of everything going at a great pace to help with the disruptions. he was very calm and always was helping us have a smile on our face.
  • Our package included two photographers, pictures from the rehearsal, meeting us at the salon, photos before the wedding, everything during the wedding, photos after the wedding and he stayed till the end of the receptions. We also received a cd of fun shots at the end of the night, a coffee table album, thumbnails of all the photos he took, discs will all the photos, and a website to order all our photos. There was also a website before the wedding that was created with an outline of the times and places people needed to be at the day of the wedding.
  • My family and I were very comfortable with Lem. He added humor and hugs and everything that was needed on our day. He listened to what people wanted and did not want and paid attention to all the details.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Groom
11/16/2010
  • Lance W

  • Wedding Date: 08/28/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Very hard to decide. Lem and his assistant Heather did an awesome job capturing everything we wanted. We have great family photos, great photo's of the wedding party, great photo's of me with my bride, which I would have to say is my favorite. We have some wonderful candid photo's that will be cherished for the rest of our lives.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Preparation and attention to detail. Lem did a great job interviewing us while we interviewed him. It was obvious he took all the information we gave him during our two meet and greats. He defiantly talked with his assistant, Heather, before the big day. The two of them showed up well prepared for us and ready. During the ceremony they did an awesome job of showing off there "Ninja Photography" skills that they bragged about. Never once did I see them during the ceremony. Candid shots, we have some great ones. Not exactly sure how they where able to pull it off, but they are amazing. The neatest thing about Lem is he knew when to participate in the activities and when to blend in. Anytime we wanted him or Heather to snap a photo, they where right there. When we wanted them to participate in an activity, they where right there having fun right along with us.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our wedding package was a little different then most. We traveled to WI for our wedding and weekend full of fun planned. Lem and his assistant captured all of our events that we had on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Lem has a great way to taylor your needs. We have albums, DVD's/CD's, a great proof book, several parent albums, and a large album for us. After using Lem, I know his services can be tailored for anyone anywhere. Everyone I know is always looking at the value or quality of a service. I got both excellent value and quality from Lem and Heather.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? By being himself. Lem has a very addictive and spontaneous personality. It was a real treat watching him work with all of our family members. He made sure then young ones where having fun while keeping the adults in laughter. He defiantly had everyone's attention. I can not thank Lem and Heather enough for the great job they did for us. Both of them surpassed all of my expectations. Thanks guys!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Exceptional
06/20/2010
  • Chad H

  • Wedding Date: 05/22/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? After the ceremony and before the reception Lem accompanied my wife and me across the street into a yard sale where he took a picture of us pretending to get into a 1983 DeLorean DMC-12. The photo was taken from the front of the car showing the hood and the DMC symbol while we were standing to the side of the car with the gull wing open. The picture has a large sense of depth and perfect focus. It was also taken at the perfect time when a small breeze of wind caught a DMC flag in the background. Having this picture taken was not an ordinary request for a photographer, however Lem was more than happy and excited to do it.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? A few weeks later I was at a wedding in the same church and noticed that there photographer was in the way in the aisle quite frequently. I asked my wife if this had happened during ours. Neither I nor she had noticed him during the entire ceremony yet every picture that you could possibly want was taken. Every part of the ceremony was caught; even the small things like me kissing my mom on the cheek have a perfectly focused picture taken from the perfect angle. As far as portraits go, Lem took little standard, family standing in a line pictures. Instead there are pictures with depth and angles. One of my favorite pictures is with my two brothers. My face takes up the right half of the shot in focus while my brothers are standing back to back in the distance slightly out of focus.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our wedding package was exceptional. May standard items included double coverage the entire day starting with the girls getting ready in the morning until almost the end of the reception. Engagement photos and bridal photos were included. Lem has given us a Copyright release and CD’s with our photos to do with as we please. This is one of my favorite features. There was a slide show set up at the wedding where he had put together pictures from just hours before. Not an hour into the reception Lem came up to my wife and I and gave us a framed photo he had taken just three hours prior as a small gift.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Lem is very charismatic and everyone loved him. During the day I got several questions from people in the wedding including how I found this guy. He is more than sociable to everyone in my family. My sister who is hard pressed to laugh or smile during these kinds of things was doing both because of him. His presence at the wedding was not a distraction. Everyone loved him and it was almost like he was a member of the family by the end of the day.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: I could not have asked for more!
02/03/2010
  • cassie m

  • Wedding Date: 03/14/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? All of them are really great photos but one of my favorites would have to be the one of me standing in our church with the light shining down through the skylight right on me and I was waiting for my mom to walk through the foyer to me. It was the first time I had seen her all day.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Many people in photos that were taken didn't even know the photographers were there watching them. They are great with candids, action shots and portraits. They can catch every moment of your day with out getting in the way. Painting With Light did my friends wedding and when I was shopping for photographers I was looking through her pictures. The best way to describe it is that they catch those little moments that nobody else can or looks for.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included thumbnails of all the photos, CD's with all of the pictures on them, A DVD slide show, Engagement Pictures, Two photographers, coverage from 8:30 am- 11:00 pm with both the guys and girls getting ready, and they take the time to put together a hard cover book which is an awesome piece to have at your home on display. Besides their services they offer in their package, you also get advice and help on any other detail in your wedding and someone who is ready and prepared to fix anything that could go wrong with anything!!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Everyone who came in contact with our photographers had nothing but compliments about them. They create a fun environment for everyone to be in and it makes it a lot less stressful on the bride and groom. They plan ahead and are so organized that you don't have to worry that a photo requested may be missed. I can't say enough good things about them and I would recommend them to anyone. A quote from my step-mom "I don't think there is another person in the world that loves and enjoys doing his job more than he does".

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: PAINTING WITH LIGHT IS AWESOME!!!
01/13/2010
  • Krissy J

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Favorite was the picture them took of my husband and I on the balcony of the chapel. It was absolutely beautiful!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Lem did what he had to do to keep things moving. He knew that I wanted some great pictures, but also that I am not a person who likes to have her picture taken. He made me feel at ease and only took the posing pictures that I wanted taken. It was awesome! He also took candids of everyone at the wedding so I have a picture of all the people I love.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Lem and his assistant were at our wedding. Lem made three cd's for us with over 500 pictures to remember our day, as well as a really special DVD that captured the day perfectly. Earlier in the year he did our engagement photos which I loved just as much.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? I have known Lem for years and know that he is a wonderful guy who can make anyone laugh and have fun. Even those of us who hate to have our picture taken. THANKS LEM

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding & More
12/23/2009
  • Phillip M

  • Wedding Date: 12/23/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? We have 2 favorite photos. The first one is the one of us with our wedding party. It looks really good and captured the spirit of this special occasion with our family and closest friends. The second favorite is a joke picture of me grabbing my wife butt. It great to have a photographer who could also catch the comedy of the event.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Lem was not obtrusive at all, even after we gave him the green light to do whatever he had to do to get the shots we wanted. He was to capture everything we wanted and more.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We got Lem in the early stages of his photography career, so all we got were the photos. However,we loved his work so much that we flew him here to NC this year to shoot my parents 40th anniversary. That package included the photos and a dvd.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Lem was a joy to have. He was able to get along with everybody and was able to work with any xtra request that we asked of him.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Nick & Jen Berken's Wedding 08/21/09
12/22/2009
  • Nicolas B

  • Wedding Date: 12/22/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have two that are my favorite. One was taken on a patio in a doorway. He had me leaning on the door frame with my hand up above my head. My wife was leaning in and we weren't quite kissing but close. The other one was taken in front of this miniature house outside. He had me pull my pockets out and shrug while my wife stood there looking at me in disappointment because all I could afford to "buy" her was this miniature house! Love those two shots!!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? He did a spectacular job staying behind the scenes, especially during the meal and dance. We barely noticed him there but he caught some wonderful candids and action shots which is exactly what we requested!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? He has an "a`la carte" type of package where you just select the specific items you want included and each thing had it's own price. The main things we picked was the Rehearsal/Rehearsal Dinner, an Album, DVD (came free), All the pictures taken including the Copy Rights, 2 Photographers were included and we were given 12 hours (although he stayed longer than that which was appreciated)
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Oh he was spectacular!! He has such a wonderful sense of humor! He had everyone cracking up which definitely worked with our families. He also made sure to remind my wife and I that it was our day. There were some issues with the vendor for our hall and the amount of time we were given and he didn't let it bother him. He just worked around it and our pictures still turned out soo great! After the wedding, a lot of people from both of our families kept talking about how much they loved him and how wonderful his pictures turned out!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: photographers that love what they do!
10/02/2009
  • Vicky V

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? the house across the street from the church was in full bloom with tulips and daffodils. Lem laid on the ground and shot upwards at us through the tulips. The picture turned out awesome with the tulips in the forground and the two of us kissing behind. even more stunning in B&W with just the tulips in color.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Other than the formal church pictures we did not know that Lem & Mel were there taking pictures all night long... till after 11 they were there getting the great pictures of everyone enjoying the dancing and fun without stopping the show they got great pictures.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Engagement session & CD of pictures, Rehearsal session, wedding day coverage starting at 8am at the salon till 11pm at the reception with 2 photographers all day! During the getting ready part of the day one photographer was with me and the girls and the other one was with my husband and the guys. CD of all of the pictures with full reprint rights, a wedding day DVD, and a bound album... and he even let us include some pictures of the bachelorete weekend that he didn't take at the end of the album for a memorial to a friend that was supposed to be a part of the wedding day but died the week of.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? They were both fun and upbeat which made all of the formal pictures go faster. They took the time really know who and what we wanted photos of so we had no worries the day of that an important picture would be left out. It was apparent early on in meeting Lem that he was a photographer because he truely loves to do it.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Brilliant!
04/19/2009
  • michelle53085

  • Wedding Date: 10/11/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite wedding photo was one of us looking at eachother. We are blurry in the background and my pink bridal bouquet is in focus in the foreground. It is an amazing picture that captures so much!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Lem and Mel were amazing with everything! They were in the action where needed and stayed back when it was right. They captured the essence that was our wedding day. Laughter, jokes, friendliness, and an open mind to all ideas made our day fabulous. My husband and I along with our guests and family felt as if we were around friends, not just photographer. The action shots/candids were fabulous. There were plenty of our friends and family enjoying themselves as well as a bundle of my husband and I. Our portraits were amazing. The language used was perfect and the kids in our wedding party related well to the direction of where and when they were needed. Also, Lem and Mel were fabulous letting the meddling family know when and when not to take pictures!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our package included 2 photographers for the entirety of the day, a DVD of pictures (able to be purchased by family at the wedding), a slide show of the days pics thus far at the reception, an album, and the rights to our pictures! SUCH A DEAL, but with so much quality!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Amazing and happy all day. I have never heard so many compliments about a phtographer in my life! 6 months later, I still hear stories about how Lem said this, the phtog did that! Both of my husbands and my families, as well as our friends were greatly impressed and took home cards to reccomend him to their friends. Everyone was happily satisfied! Also, Lem traveled 90 miles to come to photograph our wedding and we had many meetings and he was very very organized!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding October 3rd, 2008
11/30/2008
  • arahmlow

  • Wedding Date: 10/03/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite picture is one of the two of us kissing at our wedding reception. Lem captured that perfect moment where we felt like it was just the two of us and all of the other guests had faded away. It is beautiful!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? What can I say, he really is a ninja! Both the posed photos and the action shots were wonderful. I appreciated that there wasn't constant direction with the posed photos, i.e. lift that arm up, turn your chin to the left, etc. etc. It allows even the posed photos to look less posed and more real.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We were given our photos on cds and on an internet website so we were able to have our pictures printed anywhere. PWL allowed us to customize a package that best suited us. We were not interested in an engagement session, but instead we were able to have Lem at our rehearsal dinner, my final dress fitting, and at the salon the day of the wedding.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Lem was magnificent in this respect. He had his Ipod hooked to speakers and playing great music throughout all of the pictures. It kept us all laughing and having a great time, which also helped to keep the pictures looking real.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Contact This Vendor
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor
OneWed Best of 2008 Vendor