Photographers in Hudson, WI: Emily Steffen Photography
Emily Steffen Photography
361 Willow lane
Hudson, WI 54016
(715) 220-9443


Hudson Photographers: Emily Steffen Photography


write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 4 Reviews
Review: Photographic Memories.
01/22/2009
  • BrielleA

  • Wedding Date: 06/28/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • It is really hard for me to choose one "favorite" picture. Every time I go back through and look at our pictures I find a new favorite. One of my ultimate favorite ones however, is one in an alley where Kyle dipped me back and gave me a kiss on the cheek. It was a quick moment that captured not only our love but also our personalities and part of our first dance!
  • Emily is great at getting a wide variety of photographs. I am amazed when I look back at the photos that I didn't realize she was taking photos at all. Emily is also very helpful in posing photos and giving directions (if wanted) for both posed photos and action shots that in the end seem very natural and not in any way uncomfortable or awkward.
  • Emily offers a variety of packages, but we used her for our engagement session and also all day and night on our wedding day--which was included in our package. For both events, we got a bound album proof book that is great for sharing your photos with others and also for ease in ordering. Our engagement book still sits out on our coffee table and visitors love flipping through the pages. For both the engagement session and wedding, Emily was more than willing to take photos wherever we wanted, but also had some great ideas of her own for photo locations--which actually ended up to be some of my favorite photos.
  • Emily's style is natural and candid in a formal way. The formal family photos that were taken captured the essence and personality of every individual. Her relaxed style spreads to all getting their picture taken, allowing a great picture as a result. When large family photos were taken, she allowed everyone to take a place, made some minor adjustments and shot a picture that was comfortable and not forcefully posed. Great photos result from Emily's natural and comfortable feel behind the camera!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Absolutely Fantastic!
01/08/2009
  • KLS

  • Wedding Date: 06/02/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I love a lot of the photos Emily took at our wedding, so it's hard to choose a favorite. But one of the pictures that I like the best captured the image where my husband had swept me up into his arms and was twirling me around outside. Emily snapped an awesome action shot of us having fun with the poses, being in love, and just being ourselves.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Emily was very good at taking a variety of photos: action shots, creative posed pictures, fun scenery images, and the traditional family/friends photos. I was happy with the mixture of photos she took, and her creativity throughout the event made for some absolutely amazing pictures. I especially love how she captured some of the easily forgotten memories such as the card box, church sign, center pieces, flowers, shoes, jewlery, etc. Emily had an assortment of ideas for poses, and a very innovative eye. Plus she was willing to let us do our own thing at times, and she took that opportunity to snap photos which showed our personalities.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? I believe that the engagement session was included in the final package price, and the great thing is that she traveled to a location of our choice to take the photos. We wanted to have our engagement photos taken outside at the beautiful lakeshore path where my husband proposed, and Emily was willing to come snap some shots there! The proofs for both the wedding and engagement photos were presented to us in the form of a bound album. I loved having a book of pictures to sort through, versus of a bunch of loose photos. Plus we got to keep both proof albums, which are nice to have! As far as any extra prints, I just ordered a bunch of various sized photos from her later on. I was definitely happy with the quality and speed at which I received all of the products I received from Emily.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Emily is a very fun, easygoing person, so it was really easy for everyone to feel comfortable with her around. She made a point to keep things casual, but she also made sure that she got everyone's attention when she needed to and captured the pictures we wanted. Emily was in tune to when people were uncomfortable with a certain pose, or when a pose just didn't work. And she moved on to another pose that worked better.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: I can't say enough about Emily Steffen Photography!
01/08/2009
  • mjp

  • Wedding Date: 06/22/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One of my absolute faves is a perfect example of how Emily catches every moment. Just when my husband was feeling like his face was getting sore from smiling, I started to massage his face to keep the smiles coming!Emily snapped the shot just as my husband was beginning to giggle from my tickling face massage! It was a great shot!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? I seriously never even knew when Emily wouold be around. She was not obtrusive in the least. Even our ceremony....I never even saw her and she got some amazing photos of the entire thing! Emily is great with posed and action photos as well. Whaat I love about her style is that she doesn't make you look fake....she captures you. So if you're not someone who poses with your head cocked to one side and your hand on your hip, she doesn't have you do that! You just get to be you and she captures it!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Emily did a great engagement session for us out at our favorite stat park. I love those photos! She then was at our wedding all day and all night shooting great photos. She gives you this awesome prrof book with each session you do with her. It's so much better than a box of photos all jumbled around. (Plus you get to keep your proofs!) I ordered a lot of my photos....big ones and small ones...ones to give away and ones to keep. I just loved her work!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Well, first of all, she didn't make us "pose." She got us all together and snapped shots as we were ourselves. That's one of the things I love best about Emily. She doesn't make you someone you're not. She captures the essence of who you and your family really are.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing Style, amazing woman, amazing pictures!
01/07/2009
  • ErikaHockinson

  • Wedding Date: 08/16/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I have all to many to describe, but my all time favorite is the one of my husband Jeff and I as we are walking out of the ceremony site---the sun is shining and our faces are beaming! It is sooo cute.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Of course! Emily did an awesome job balancing those photojournalistic shots with the ones that were posed for the family and portrait photos. She was very unobtrusive with the getting ready, ceremony, and reception candid shots. I still look back on some of them and wonder why I didn't see her standing there snapping with the camera because she got just the right shot at the right moment.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We ordered a 12x12 album for Jeff and I and then we ordered 2 smaller versions of the albums for our parents for Christmas gifts--both our Mom's cried when they opened them. She offered just what we needed and wanted for options for the album so we were very pleased. I believe that all of her packages come with engagement sessions and the DVD of the wedding day files with reproduction rights---which were 2 things that we were searching for when we were planning.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She was great! Emily's personality was perfect for posing because she didn't do anything with us that was awkward or unnatural looking. She had nice groupings of formal pictures and didn't over emphasize the formal posing to make our family uncomfortable.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review