Photographers in Madison, WI: Urban Anchor Photography
Urban Anchor Photography
7730 crawling stone road
Madison, WI 53719
(608) 843-1648

Urban Anchor Photography



View Urban Anchor Photography in a new window.

write a review
  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 13 Reviews
Review: Outstanding photographers.
09/17/2012
  • Jackson C

  • Wedding Date: 07/14/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • There are some wonderful photos of us newlyweds under a canopy of trees near our venue. We didn't even think about being photographed there, the photographers just generally suggested places for us to walk around in and then melted into the shadows as they worked their craft.
  • As I said above, the Maughans are very unobstrusive, which is not to say absent - they are easy to find, but stay close to, not in, the center of the action.
  • We had two photographers as well as a CD and some albums. Engagement photos were offered but we had a prior arrangement for those.
  • They were excellent at suggesting photograph sites, very courteous to everybody, and inclusive of the family to the right degree (that is, the focus of the pictures was on the bride/groom but we probably have a good photo of everyone who attended the wedding too).

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Highly Recommended
09/17/2012
  • Erin T

  • Wedding Date: 09/01/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? There are so many great pictures, I really could't chose one as my favorite! Since I was wearing my grandmother's wedding dress, I had the idea to try and recreate some of the photos from her wedding. The photographer was very flexible and helped me make this happen and the result was absolutely stunning! The group pictures were so well composed, and the pictures of my husband and I were very romantic and beautiful. I am a huge fan of the casual unposed pictures as well; she captured so many moments!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The candid shots were amazing, and the action shots of the dances were beautiful. The photographer uses some special technique to back light the couple giving a sort of halo affect that is really special. I don't know how she does it but it's amazing! She didn't disrupt the day at all, I barely noticed her!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? the photographer had an assistant and I purchased a cd of images as I am moving across an ocean and will not be able to purchase books until my husband and I are settled. She was very responsive to my unique situation.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? The photographer was very kind and never anxious. I think it was her easy going, yet professional nature that really put us at ease and made us feel comfortable. Most importantly, I looked at her previous work and trusted her to take good pictures so I could relax and just be comfortable. I am so happy with the pictures of my special day!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Absolutely Amazing!
09/16/2012
  • Katie N

  • Wedding Date: 07/21/2012
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorites were the photos taken out and about on Williamson St. in Madison, WI...they were so casual and fun to take!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Sarah and Todd were so accommodating and flexible with the schedule of the wedding day. They worked together with us to make plans ahead of time and then talk over what the plan was. They were great during our shoot before the wedding ceremony and reception. During the ceremony and reception they were virtually out of sight, but caught some great memories, all candid, action, and beautiful, modern portraits!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Included in our package was an engagement session, DVD's of both the engagement and wedding photographs, with the rights to all the photos. Sarah took our engagement pictures solo, but both Todd and Sarah were there for our wedding shoot before, during and after the wedding ceremony.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Here is my full review of Urban Anchor Photography: To me, the most important vendor in a wedding is the photographer. Photographs last a lifetime, so selecting the right photographer to capture the special moments of our wedding day was crucial. My husband and I did a lot of research to find a photographer in the Madison area. Everything that turned up about Sarah and Urban Anchor Photography(formerly SLM Photography)was positive; we appreciated the feedback and reviews from past and present clients. In our experience, Sarah and Todd are very professional and besides that they are great to work with. After we saw a collection of Sarah's photographs at our meet and greet, we knew she was the one who was going to bring out the best in our wedding! Sarah and Todd both have a very creative way of capturing the beauty of a single moment. Sarah and Todd took both our engagement and wedding pictures and we loved every minute of it, the time for both sessions went by so fast. They made my husband and I feel so comfortable, it was like we had known them for years. We did a pre wedding shoot around downtown Madison and a post wedding shoot at the Olbrich Botanical Gardens, where our wedding was held. Both shoots were effortless with Sarah and Todd! The moments they captured of us and all the little details of our wedding day were extraordinary - straight from a magazine! And now with all of the photos in front of me, I am so thankful we choose Sarah and Todd to capture all of those moments! They are memories that will last a lifetime! I want to thank Sarah and Todd for making our wedding day wonderful! We wish we had more time to take pictures, we could have spent all day with them! I would recommend any bride who is getting married in the Madison area to contact Sarah and Todd - they won't disappoint.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Highly recommended!!!
02/26/2011
  • Michelle P

  • Wedding Date: 09/04/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? I can't say a favorite. There were many. I can say that our ceremony pictures were absolutley wonderful! She was able to capture the special moments my husband and I shared during it... and it was only 15 minutes!!! Beautiful photos!
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? GREAT with candids!! They were our favorite photos of the day!! She's great with all the shots, but we were extremely impressed with those. Unless we were posing for photos, I didn't notice she was there until I saw the photos she took!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Copyright released DVD of all photos (and it took only a few weeks after the wedding to receive the DVD- very impressed!), engagement session w/ DVD. For an additional (but reasonable) cost you have the choice of an album or prints. We chose the album. After picking the photos we had it within a couple weeks!!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Well our families are pretty easy-going anyway so there wasn't much she had to do :)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Karmin and Morgan
11/23/2010
  • Karmin C

  • Wedding Date: 11/06/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? ALL OF THEM!!!! Sarah did a great job!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Engagement pics, Two photographers, DVD, I had the choice to get an album.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: A true artist of photography!
10/26/2010
  • Helene R

  • Wedding Date: 10/09/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Sarah captured a moment amidst the chaos of my husband and I looking at each other with our foreheads touching... When I look at the photo I feel the love and excitement of that moment all over again.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Sarah is stealthy! Many of our guests commented on how they didn't realize she was there until they saw the flash of a camera. She caught candid shots of guests and the wedding party, the children running and dancing, and moments I was worried I would forget. She is so laid back and flexible, and never missed a beat.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? The wedding photo package we chose included an engagement shoot, coffee table album, a CD of all the edited photos, and the rights to the photos as well. Sarah also offered many ala-carte options to choose from.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Sarah felt like a friend I had known forever from the moment I met her. She is so easy to work with and can definitely go with the flow. If we asked for specific shots, she was completely willing to make our wishes come true. She offered her artistic eye to every shot and made my husband and I feel as if we were models out on a shoot... making the day even more special!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Highly Recommend
10/01/2010
  • Craig S

  • Wedding Date: 08/28/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? The photos of the wedding party on the steps and around the capital. Her experience with this is one of the reason we had to have Sarah as our photographer.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? The candid and dance floor shots looked great. Sarah worked with us to get all the requested portrait photos in a timely manor. We were on a tight time schedule, with her help we were on time and everything went off without a hitch.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We had the option to include an album but declided. We did receive an Engagement session and a DVD. Great value!
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Sarah got along with everyone at the wedding. Her personality is one of her greatest assets.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: GREAT Photographer!
09/12/2010
  • A J

  • Wedding Date: 07/24/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? One where my husband and I are leaning against a wall, looking into each other's eyes.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? We interacted with Sarah for the portraits, but didn't hear much from her while she was shooting candids. She took excellent photos!
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? A near full day of shooting plus engagement session, proof book, prints, DVD copy of all images with rights to print sent 2 weeks after the wedding.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She gave great direction, was very friendly and was sure to include everyone!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Amazing!!!
09/03/2010
  • Amanda G

  • Wedding Date: 08/21/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? Our favorite wedding photo was of us standing at alter in the church. The lighting was amazing and it looks like there was a spotlight shining on us. Although it was just the natural lighting it turned out to be an amazing picture. She sent it to us in color and black and white.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? She was so quite and unintrusive. She did not disrupt a single person. Sarah got a lot of candid shots we didn't even know she took until we received the photos.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? We recieved the engagement session and all day wedding coverage. Both on disc with rights. Just one photographer but that was plenty.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? She was really nice. Not bossy about people posing. She took all of the extra poses people asked for. My 7 year old nephew requested two photos of him with me and him, my husband and I and she was more than willing.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
Review: Great Photography!
08/09/2010
  • Brianna S

  • Wedding Date: 07/10/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1 (View all)

  • What was your favorite wedding photo? My favorite wedding photo is a candid shot of my husband and I kissing among tall grasses and wildflowers that were at our location. We weren't even posing, and it looks like a fairytale wedding photo.
  • How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits? Sarah was great, she was never in the way, and she didnt carry around a bunch of equiptment, just her camera. She was able to get all the shots without being disruptive.
  • What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers? Our wedding package included a CD of all the photos at the wedding, as well as a release form so that my husband and I could print our photos wherever and whenever we wanted. She also gave us a link to her website where she had posted the photos so our guests could view and order them.
  • How did the photographer make you and family comfortable? Sarah made us comofortable just by being herself. She took all the shots we had asked for and many more, and always asked us if there was any other poses or locations we wanted to try. She also took a lot of candid shots of the guests so we have photos of just about everyone that attended.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Satisfaction : 5.0
  • Creativity : 5.0
  • Unobtrusive : 5.0
  • Value : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor