Wedding Planners / Consultants in Coronado, CA: Creative Affairs by Amanda
Creative Affairs by Amanda
371 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118
(619) 993-0710

Creative Affairs by Amanda



View Creative Affairs by Amanda in a new window.

write a review
  • Joyful : 4.6
  • Connected : 4.6
  • Experience : 4.6
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 4.6
  • 4.6

  • 10 Reviews
Review: Wonderful Experience with Amanda!
05/20/2010
  • Michelle M

  • Wedding Date: 04/03/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Amanda was such an amazing, calming presence at our wedding. From expert advice and tips to running a smooth event the day of the wedding, I cannot imagine our day without her help and support.
  • Amanda was creative but practical. I was a bride on a budget and her suggestions really helped us get the effect we were looking for without breaking the bank. We did tray passed desserts instead of a wedding cake which our guests LOVED, and instead of a seated dinner we did a cocktail reception and buffet. Both were Amanda's suggestions and they were a great touch!
  • I'm an event producer so I've got a very critical eye. It was wonderful knowing that someone like Amanda was "on the job." It allowed me to relax and enjoy the day.
  • I hate to sound like a Master Card commercial but in a word, PRICELESS.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding Planning Made Simple - Thank You Amanda!
04/19/2010
  • Danielle K

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? My husband and I are young professionals in high profile, long hour careers so while we would have loved to spend countless hours planning every details of our wedding - there was no way we could. We hired Amanda to do our reception “day-of “coordinating and I will tell you she did MORE then just day-of coordinating. First of all, Amanda never stops working and has a team of available assistance so if it was even Midnight on a Sunday and I sent an email, I kid you not, I got unexpected responses almost immediately! Back to “making it special” – Amanda provided me lists of preferred vendors that helped cut through the long lists of available vendors in San Diego and she has both large and small groups within each list – I was able to find vendors that fit my personality. I would provide Amanda with suggestions as to lay-out and table design and she would provide me creative additions or “food for thought” on things I would have NEVER thought about. We made sure every details from flowers to the ratio of alcohols to purchase to what exact types of candles should be on each table – for someone like me, having someone with years of experience, creativity, generosity and personality was so important. Did I mention when we ran out of tonic water Amanda has bottles of it re-stocked within 15 minutes – she bought it and did not even ask to be refunded. She did that because she knew how important it was for us to have a stocked bar – not many coordinators would pay attention to those types of details at 9:30 pm the night of your wedding. Amanda made sure weeks before the vent that we had a detailed list of everything we would be providing her before the event and had everything moved into the reception hall. I literally packed a car full of stuff and she took car of the rest – it was unbelievable. If you were to ask my vendors (Tracy Zemke from Personal Touch Dining and Jay Brannon of Brannon Entertainment) what they thought about working with Amanda, they would say easy to work with but professional and just a team player overall. I envisioned the way my venue would look when I arrived and it looked so much more spectacular then I could have ever imagined; that was because of all Amanda’s little touches and how she arranged everything. And when I forgot a cake serving set, Amanda provided me with her very own Vera Wang set – it looked amazing.
  • Useful suggestions, tips, wisdom your planner offered? Lay out, table sizes (this changed several times and she nailed it), ratios of alcohol, flower lay-out, vendors, everything - she was awesome.
  • How the planner reduced your inner-Bridezilla? She made it simple and helped minimize the number of things I needed to do by giving me so much advise and knowledge. I didn't have to be bridezilla because I had 100% confidence in her and she did even better then I could have imagined.
  • Value of a wedding planner? PRICELESS! I didn't have Amanda plan my entire wedding, she was the "day-of reception" coordinator BUT she did soooooo much outlining and pre-planning and my reception went off without a SINGLE hiccup, she was priceless!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: A Perfect Wedding Coordinator = A Perfect Wedding!
04/15/2010
  • Brandon W

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? To encompass Creative Affairs by Amanda would only be explained at minimum as PROFESSIONALISM at its highest extent! Amanda's organization, and ability to create and develop a wedding/event goes unmatched by any of her competitors. She is the type of person, with a "do whatever it takes to get the job done" attitude. Prior to your wedding/event, you'll find Amanda cleaning windows, mopping scuffs off the floor, placing tableware, silver wear in the expect position in order to create the perfect event. Additionally, she has been referenced as one of the easiest wedding coordinators to work with in San Diego, because she takes the time to individually talk with each couple to ascertain the environment, the mood & feeling and transpose those ideas and thoughts into creating a wedding/event that could not be matched by anyone else. Creative Affairs by Amanda has successfully managed and maintained two of San Diego's more prolific and sought after venues, Diamond View Tower and the San Diego and Wine Culinary Center. Creative Affairs by Amanda has built a solid team comprised of experienced coordinators and vendors that share the same attitude in creating an event specifically designed for your needs. In the chaos in which events are created, Amanda, and Creative Affairs by Amanda are the light at the end of the tunnel that makes your party from the basic and average gathering, to an evening executed in perfection. Amanda has been known to set "the bar" for any further parties/weddings/events you'll ever attend! You're in great hands!!!!!!!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: Best Coordinator!
04/06/2010
  • Irene G

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? Amanda is one of the best coordinators you will ever work with! I have worked with Amanda from the inception of my business and with her expertise and continued support over the years, she has a very big hand in helping us to become San Diego's award winning linen rental company. Amanda has an awesome personality...one that sets you at ease and makes you feel as if you have known her all your life. For this reason she makes the best coordinator. Every event we have ever worked with Amanda has gone off without a hitch and the clients are always extremely pleased with the service she offers. I took the opportunity to read the negative review from Matt G. on Yelp and I would just like to say that every story has two sides. Amanda is very professional and good at what she does. She is extremely conscientious and would never go out of her way to ignore a client or give bad service. I am certain that it was a mis-communication that blew out of proportion. Rest assured you are in good hands with Amanda. I give her the fullest endorsement, support and back up from my own business. Irene Gonzales, A Perfect Table Linen Rental

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: Most Amazing Wedding Planner
04/06/2010
  • Callie L

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • Value of a wedding planner? Mike and I wanted to take a moment to thank Amanda so very much for everything! She truly made our wedding day, March 20, 2010, more than we could have ever imagined. She was so professional, organized and personable and we could not have asked for anyone better to have helped us plan our big day. Our friends and family continually commented on how seamless everything was and how kind all the vendors were. Amanda was amazing throughout the entire wedding planning process, answering emails within minutes, more than willing to answer the many little questions that come up and always making you feel like her top priority! We will absolutely recommend you to all my friends.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: Simply the BEST!
04/05/2010
  • cindy l

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? Amanda and her team were fantastic to work with from start to finish! My (now) husband and I have very time consuming jobs; with plenty of travel and days where we are just simply "out of office". While the thought of a celebration of our marriage with 200 of our nearest and dearest, complete with perfect food, setting and no hiccups SOUNDED wonderful, we are realists and we knew that our aspirations were probably not quite reality. Panic of "wedding planning" set in. Ugh. Then I was referred to Creative Affairs by Amanda (a dear friend had used her services for her parents 60th b-day party and was very pleased) Well, let's just say that I will owe my friend for that referral for a long time! Amanda and her awesome team made our wedding day EVERYTHING that we dreamed of and much, much more. She is so incredibly easy to work with, she listens (really listens) and more importantly, she understands the vision and knows just how to execute it perfectly. She actually made the planning (which many friends had prepared us for the stress of) enjoyable. Inevitably, SOMETHING , whether big or small, is going to go wrong on a persons wedding day. Ours was the fact that the particular day we chose to tie the knot (in Palm Springs) it happened to be 101. Needless to say, I was stressed. Without fail (and without my even needing to ask her!) Amanda had called, arranged and reserved outdoor cooling fans for the event! She calmly called me to see if I would be interested and the second I screamed a solid "YES!" in to the phone, she was on it. I could go on and on! She is a quality person with a professionalism that can't be matched. She has a natural ease and warmth about her. In fact, her relationships with the many rental companies (who were actually affordable!!) told it all. They all seemed to just love working with her- a testament to her character and integrity. After my first meeting with her, I was convinced that we were in good hands and boy, was I right. I tip my hat to companies like CABA that really "get" what true service is. I am already planning a big one year anniversary party so I can work with Amanda and her team (at Diamond view! It's beautiful!) again. Luckily, I booked her 6 months early as the only problem that you may run into is catching her when she is available. Lucky me! (and lucky you if you get the opportunity to work with her and her team)
  • Useful suggestions, tips, wisdom your planner offered? Amanda and her team were fantastic to work with from start to finish! My (now) husband and I have very time consuming jobs; with plenty of travel and days where we are just simply "out of office". While the thought of a celebration of our marriage with 200 of our nearest and dearest, complete with perfect food, setting and no hiccups SOUNDED wonderful, we are realists and we knew that our aspirations were probably not quite reality. Panic of "wedding planning" set in. Ugh. Then I was referred to Creative Affairs by Amanda (a dear friend had used her services for her parents 60th b-day party and was very pleased) Well, let's just say that I will owe my friend for that referral for a long time! Amanda and her awesome team made our wedding day EVERYTHING that we dreamed of and much, much more. She is so incredibly easy to work with, she listens (really listens) and more importantly, she understands the vision and knows just how to execute it perfectly. She actually made the planning (which many friends had prepared us for the stress of) enjoyable. Inevitably, SOMETHING , whether big or small, is going to go wrong on a persons wedding day. Ours was the fact that the particular day we chose to tie the knot (in Palm Springs) it happened to be 101. Needless to say, I was stressed. Without fail (and without my even needing to ask her!) Amanda had called, arranged and reserved outdoor cooling fans for the event! She calmly called me to see if I would be interested and the second I screamed a solid "YES!" in to the phone, she was on it. I could go on and on! She is a quality person with a professionalism that can't be matched. She has a natural ease and warmth about her. In fact, her relationships with the many rental companies (who were actually affordable!!) told it all. They all seemed to just love working with her- a testament to her character and integrity. After my first meeting with her, I was convinced that we were in good hands and boy, was I right. I tip my hat to companies like CABA that really "get" what true service is. I am already planning a big one year anniversary party so I can work with Amanda and her team (at Diamond view! It's beautiful!) again. Luckily, I booked her 6 months early as the only problem that you may run into is catching her when she is available. Lucky me! (and lucky you if you get the opportunity to work with her and her team)
  • How the planner reduced your inner-Bridezilla? Amanda and her team were fantastic to work with from start to finish! My (now) husband and I have very time consuming jobs; with plenty of travel and days where we are just simply "out of office". While the thought of a celebration of our marriage with 200 of our nearest and dearest, complete with perfect food, setting and no hiccups SOUNDED wonderful, we are realists and we knew that our aspirations were probably not quite reality. Panic of "wedding planning" set in. Ugh. Then I was referred to Creative Affairs by Amanda (a dear friend had used her services for her parents 60th b-day party and was very pleased) Well, let's just say that I will owe my friend for that referral for a long time! Amanda and her awesome team made our wedding day EVERYTHING that we dreamed of and much, much more. She is so incredibly easy to work with, she listens (really listens) and more importantly, she understands the vision and knows just how to execute it perfectly. She actually made the planning (which many friends had prepared us for the stress of) enjoyable. Inevitably, SOMETHING , whether big or small, is going to go wrong on a persons wedding day. Ours was the fact that the particular day we chose to tie the knot (in Palm Springs) it happened to be 101. Needless to say, I was stressed. Without fail (and without my even needing to ask her!) Amanda had called, arranged and reserved outdoor cooling fans for the event! She calmly called me to see if I would be interested and the second I screamed a solid "YES!" in to the phone, she was on it. I could go on and on! She is a quality person with a professionalism that can't be matched. She has a natural ease and warmth about her. In fact, her relationships with the many rental companies (who were actually affordable!!) told it all. They all seemed to just love working with her- a testament to her character and integrity. After my first meeting with her, I was convinced that we were in good hands and boy, was I right. I tip my hat to companies like CABA that really "get" what true service is. I am already planning a big one year anniversary party so I can work with Amanda and her team (at Diamond view! It's beautiful!) again. Luckily, I booked her 6 months early as the only problem that you may run into is catching her when she is available. Lucky me! (and lucky you if you get the opportunity to work with her and her team)
  • Value of a wedding planner? Amanda and her team were fantastic to work with from start to finish! My (now) husband and I have very time consuming jobs; with plenty of travel and days where we are just simply "out of office". While the thought of a celebration of our marriage with 200 of our nearest and dearest, complete with perfect food, setting and no hiccups SOUNDED wonderful, we are realists and we knew that our aspirations were probably not quite reality. Panic of "wedding planning" set in. Ugh. Then I was referred to Creative Affairs by Amanda (a dear friend had used her services for her parents 60th b-day party and was very pleased) Well, let's just say that I will owe my friend for that referral for a long time! Amanda and her awesome team made our wedding day EVERYTHING that we dreamed of and much, much more. She is so incredibly easy to work with, she listens (really listens) and more importantly, she understands the vision and knows just how to execute it perfectly. She actually made the planning (which many friends had prepared us for the stress of) enjoyable. Inevitably, SOMETHING , whether big or small, is going to go wrong on a persons wedding day. Ours was the fact that the particular day we chose to tie the knot (in Palm Springs) it happened to be 101. Needless to say, I was stressed. Without fail (and without my even needing to ask her!) Amanda had called, arranged and reserved outdoor cooling fans for the event! She calmly called me to see if I would be interested and the second I screamed a solid "YES!" in to the phone, she was on it. I could go on and on! She is a quality person with a professionalism that can't be matched. She has a natural ease and warmth about her. In fact, her relationships with the many rental companies (who were actually affordable!!) told it all. They all seemed to just love working with her- a testament to her character and integrity. After my first meeting with her, I was convinced that we were in good hands and boy, was I right. I tip my hat to companies like CABA that really "get" what true service is. I am already planning a big one year anniversary party so I can work with Amanda and her team (at Diamond view! It's beautiful!) again. Luckily, I booked her 6 months early as the only problem that you may run into is catching her when she is available. Lucky me! (and lucky you if you get the opportunity to work with her and her team)

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: The best event coordinator in San Diego!
04/05/2010
  • scott w

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? How do I begin - let's see . . . I own San Diego's top, organic catering company and have worked with Amanda at over 100 events/weddings so it goes without saying I know how she operates as a individual, a business owner and ultimately as a coordinator. I have the utmost respect and reverence for her professionalism, demeanor and attention to detail. Hands down - she is the best event coordinator I have worked with in San Diego and my kudos doesn't come lightly (anyone who knows me, knows this to be very true). Circumstances happen in this industry - it is difficult, often chaotic, overwhelming and in hiring an event coordinator - it requires an innate ability to multi-task, delegate & define the limitations of each event & budget in planning the execution of perfection. Amanda McPhail & her team have these elements down to a science. I highly recommend her and would choose her in coordinating my own wedding. Chef Scotty

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: Thank You Amanda
04/05/2010
  • John W

  • Wedding Date: 10/17/2008
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? The one thing you always hear when you are planning a wedding is, "Don't stress out. Something is going to go wrong at your wedding, but it's no big deal." Having never been married before I just figured that was a fact of life, but boy was I wrong. Thanks to Amanda's expertise and incredible attention to detail, not only was our wedding one of the best days of my life, but it went off without a hitch. My wife and I laughed about it on our honeymoon because we felt like we somehow cheated the wedding gods out of their fun. The reality of it is Amanda handled everything for us with such professionalism that nothing could go wrong. Instead my wife and I (and all of our guests) were treated to the night of our lives. I am so thankful to Amanda and her team for helping us to make our vision a reality, and a resounding success. We could not have done it without her.
  • Useful suggestions, tips, wisdom your planner offered? We got married on the beach and Amanda suggested that we set up the chairs for our guest in a circle, with my wife and I in the middle. It was such a cool idea. We had 150 people there but only needed three rows of seats, so nobody had a bad view. Plus it felt so cool to literally be surrounded by that much love. Great idea!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wedding Consultants a Must!
04/03/2010
  • Madison M

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? Amanda McPhail of "Creative Affairs by Amanda" has gone beyond all expectations to date on the planning of our wedding. We definately made the correct choice when choosing a wedding planner. Amanda was so friendly and warm and extremely helpful with all of our needs for our perfect day to remember.
  • Useful suggestions, tips, wisdom your planner offered? Creative Affairs team offered numerous ideas with decorating, arranging, flowers, food and on and on. I do not know what I would have done without her expertise!
  • How the planner reduced your inner-Bridezilla? Amanda of Creative Affairs and her team completely removed any anxiety I was having and allowed me to enjoy my day completely as "Queen for the Day"!
  • Value of a wedding planner? We highly recommend anyone to consider hiring a professional wedding consultant (hope you choose Amanda). Your wedding should be your day without the stress, you should enjoy yourself with your friends and family.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: Avoid at all costs
03/24/2010
  • Matt G

  • Wedding Date: 11/06/0210
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? Amanda is the worst wedding planner in San Diego - if you go with her, you're going to get what you deserve. Let me regale you with our tail of the disaster that is Amanda's service: We first met Amanda when looking at the Diamond View Terrace, then again when we decided to check out the San Diego Wine and Culinary Center for our wedding. At first she seemed with it, competent and organized. We soon learned how not true this is. When I'm planning events, the first thing I make sure I do is communicate with the people I am working with. Amanda apparently didn't get this message. While we were trying to book the SDWCC for our wedding, she wouldn't return calls or emails and when she finally did was vague with details. We always got the feeling we were and inconvenience to her rather than a customer. I think this stems from the fact that as event planners, my fiancee and I know what we want and she couldn't pull her usual BS on us. But what really set me off was what happened a few weeks ago: We had been having problems with SDWCC and were looking for other venues. Amanda had actually stopped working with them. Then we get an email saying she was back on staff, that things had changed and she would call us to discuss. Mind you this was occurring when we were trying to sign a contract a put a $7000 deposit on the venue. Nothing for three days, despite numerous calls and emails from myself and my fiancee. When we finally did get hold of her we were told our contract was basically garbage and changes would have to be made. She then went on to say she "didn't recall" 90% of the items that SHE PUT INTO OUR ORIGINAL CONTRACT!!!!!! And that she would research them but was in meetings for like the next 5 years so couldn't guarantee when. The 5 years is an exaggeration, but the rare times I could get hold of her, she couldn't deal with it now because of her "meetings".
  • Useful suggestions, tips, wisdom your planner offered? If you go with Amanda - just take the $2000 and flush it down the toilet. You'll make a better use of your money...

Overall Rating: 1.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 1.0
  • Connected : 1.0
  • Experience : 1.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 1.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor