Gala Productions Wedding Planning
Baton Rouge, LA 70810
225-439-6502

http://www.imaginegala.com



View http://www.imaginegala.com in a new window.

write a review
  • Joyful : 4.0
  • Connected : 4.0
  • Experience : 4.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 4.0
  • 4.0

  • 4 Reviews
Review: Professional and
06/12/2010
  • Jasmin N

  • Wedding Date: 08/08/2009
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • When we first met Stacy at Starbucks we automatically knew that she was a perfect match for us. My husband was not sold on the idea of paying/hiring a planner to plan our wedding, as most men are. It took him very little convincing to want to work with Stacy after the initial meeting. At the time of planning our wedding we lived in Philadelphia and haven't lived in Baton Rouge for nearly a decade. I was not confident in planning a large wedding remotely in addition to not knowing great vendors to work with, proper venues, etc. Our best bet was to hire a professional in the area that had experience. Stacy patiently listened to our ideas (some were out there too!) and she was very supportive with her professional (not her personal) opinions. She took our vision and "held our hands" through the entire process, start to finish.
  • Some suggestions and wisdom that Stacy offered was assisting us in choosing the perfect color palette to create the party, fun, dramatic and glamorous feel we wanted. I originally chose red and black....blah! She kindly suggested different colors that worked together to create a fun party vibe and reception pictures that show what the end result will most likely be (dull vs. exciting). We were able to make an informed decision because Stacy listened to what we wanted to accomplish and properly led us to that vision. Stacy also educated us about her 3L's to create the perfect ambience (linens, lights, and lush)! Stacy professionally worked with us around sensitive topics including the proper etiquette of addressing the issues that arose regarding step and biological families. Stacy arranged our vendor meetings, accompanied us to the meetings and was wonderful at taking the lead when necessary at those meetings when my husband and I were at a loss. Without Stacy's help, our wedding would have not been the success it was. As a matter of fact, we are still receiving raving reviews from our guests! Stacy and her staff provided the utmost care and the star treatment. I also had 2 strangers contact me via Facebook to ask who my planner was due to word of mouth from extremely satisfied guests.
  • Honestly, my inner-Bridezilla didn't occur until LITERALLY the day of the wedding. My husband was freaking out which freaked me out because we're not the type to treat others disrespectfully. Stacy assured me that I was only turning into a BRIDE that day!!! How true!!! I realize that a year of hardwork and planning was boiling down to only this one day and it was nerves and expectations that were speaking.
  • The value of a wedding planner is more than just taking a budget and planning a party. This is one of the biggest days in your life and the planner is an intricate part of making this day memorable. My husband is an advocate now of any sort of planner due to Stacy's professionalism, efficiency and her results. She has set the bar very high in the Baton Rouge area and went beyond our expectations.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: Call it Cliche' - it was the best night of my life
06/11/2010
  • Kelli E

  • Wedding Date: 05/08/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? Stacy and her great people literally removed all increments of stress from our wedding. While I consider myself a creative person at many things, I literally did not know where to begin with planning a big wedding and the thought of it scared me. Stacy was extremely prompt and professional while being laid back and personable at the same time. She was able to remove the guesswork and anxiety in the big details of our wedding (vendors, cost cutting, etc) all the way down to the minor details. My fiancee and I had many people in our wedding and both families came in from two different cities. Having said that, Stacy made a point before our church rehearsal began to give everyone in the chu (40+ folks) her cell phone number, waited until everyone in the room got a pen or took her number down on their own phones and told everyone that if there was ANYTHING anyone needed on the day of our wedding, they were to call HER specifically- not us.. And call her they did! Everything from little girl stockings to cuff-lings- she and her people were on it in a second. There are countless things that Stacy attended to with grace that made our wedding so special- but there is one thing I'm still blown away by! Over 200+ people were at our reception- all of which were very different by means of appearance and some way or another, Stacy spotted one person at the wedding whom she thought looked sort of "out of place"- for which reason, I'm not sure because no one at the wedding was oddly dressed or anything like that, but- She asked members from both mine and my husband's families if they had any idea who the person was and no one had a clue of who he was. She then took it upon herself to make him find someone at the wedding that he knew as he went to help himself to our food! Lo and behold, we had ourselves a wedding crasher!! She immediately informed the security at the wedding and the "gentleman" was discreetly kicked out- without us seeing a thing!! People, when your wedding planner can notice all of your guests and pick up on some obscure thing about one person that isn't quite right- and that person turns out to be a crasher- your wedding planner is worth her weight in GOLD.
  • Useful suggestions, tips, wisdom your planner offered? Stacy was able to offer great tips on so many things that I could personally do during the year's time before our wedding that greatly served to help us cut costs on certain things while still providing us with an aesthetically gorgeous wedding. Her knowledge of our city and the quality of the vendors within it proved to be the perfect combination to suit our tastes for what we wanted on our big day. While my husband and I are resourceful folks :)- no way in the world would we have been able to have the kind of wedding we wanted without her vendor connections, professionalism and expertise.
  • How the planner reduced your inner-Bridezilla? Stacy treated my husband and I like the three of us might as well had been the closest of friends for many years- Friends that she wanted to go above and beyond for from day one to make our wedding the best it could be. When so many relationships exist that are "strictly business" - consumers are often left feeling like "just another number" when hiring professionals on for services. Stacy, however- was just as much human as she was professional.
  • Value of a wedding planner? I have had countless folks tell me over the last few weeks that our wedding (and I'm not exaggerating, here!!) was one of the funnest weddings they had ever attended. One of the reasons they gave was because my husband and I were without stress that night- we talked, ate, drank and danced at our own big wedding as much as anyone of the attendees! Please trust me when I say that your big night goes by soooo fast- its lots of time, lots of planning, lots of money- you need to be able to take in every single moment that night.. If not for Stacy, I sincerely believe my husband and I would have been another one of those couples that you hear saying.. "I was so stressed out, I was so tired, I couldn't really enjoy my reception, etc.." All I can say is, if you are entertaining the idea of hiring on a wedding planner, 1.) Call Stacy at Gala Productions and then 2.) actually enjoy the "daunting" process of planning your wedding and 3.) find yourself ridiculously gratified when your wedding is over (like me) because your wedding actually WAS the happiest day of your life.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: The perfect day
06/11/2010
  • Jennifer E

  • Wedding Date: 03/06/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? Stacy let me be a bride. She called me only when she had to and otherwise took care of everything. I found out later one of my vendors was over an hour late which put everyone else behind but I never knew about this. When the vendor finally got there, Stacy and her assistant pitched in to get everyone caught back up. I'm friends with one of the servers who worked for the caterer so that's how I found out about all of this. I would have been a crying mess if she wouldn't have been there because all of those people would have been calling me while I was getting hair and makeup done.
  • Useful suggestions, tips, wisdom your planner offered? Where do I start? I thought I knew what I wanted for my wedding and I did still get everything I wanted but Stacy showed me things to do that I would have never even thought of. It was beautiful and most of that is because of her.
  • How the planner reduced your inner-Bridezilla? I'm not the bridezilla type but she was always available to me. When I first met Stacy, I already had some vendors chosen. My florist was one of them. He told me I had to come and pick up my bouquets and boutonieres because he had other weddings that day. She called him and called him out on it. I was there when she called him and she wasn't mean but she said things I didn't know to say, like why were they charging me a delivery fee when they weren't delivering everything. She offered to pick them up for me so i wouldn't have to be running around that morning but he called back later and said he would drop them off.
  • Value of a wedding planner? Impossible to say how valuable a wedding planner is! I already had some of the stuff done when I hired her but she immediately saw some things that needed to be fixed. It would have cost me more money on my wedding day if she hadn't found those mistakes in my contracts. Either that or my photographer would have left 2 hours before my wedding was even over. She found this and fixed it.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 5.0
  • Connected : 5.0
  • Experience : 5.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 5.0

write a review
Review: Not a positive experience
07/13/2009
  • honeybeebizzz

  • Wedding Date: 01/11/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • How did wedding planner make your day special? Her assistant Kim was very helpful and Stacy was awesome up until the week of my wedding then she turned into an embarrassment. Where do I start? -My guest favors were left in a box under a table. Huge waste of my money and time since they were handmade. -More than a few family members and friends said she was rude at the rehearsal dinner as well as the wedding and reception. -She was rude to our officiant at the rehearsal dinner RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME, TWICE. -She was rude to our cake vendor, told them they did not know how to do their job (they called me and complained about her, I should not have to apologize for someone I pay money for). She should have been very polite to someone who is in charge of something as important as the wedding cake. Stacy was freaking out about "how she knew that the bakery did not chill their cakes and I didn't understand that" when I knew for a fact that they did chill their cakes. Guess what was cold, even in an outdoor wedding in the middle of summer in Arkansas, THE CAKE! And it had been out there for about an hour, and was still beautiful and cold even though Stacy informed me that it would be a disaster. -When I told Stacy that I wanted the cake to be delivered early and not set up DURING the ceremony, instead of saying ok, she argued with me and I think she may have been trying to make me feel like I was a moron (i.e. me knowing that the bakery chilled their cakes and Stacy promising me they didn't). Hello, I hired you, you work for me right now, it's my wedding and this is the way I want it. Period. -My husband and I met with Kim a couple of weeks before at our venue to discuss set up, and I told her where we wanted to walk in. My husband told me that even though we had it all planned out, Stacy changed it, overruling what we had already lined out. We had to walk down the aisle a TOTALLY different way than what we wanted because it was too late to change it when they started playing the bridal march. -Stacy rushed us through family pictures, so we could hurry up and be introduced at our reception, and when we got to the reception, we just stood there for like 10 minutes before being introduced and walking in, even after being in such a big hurry during pictures. Then some of my bridal party was actually introduced by the wrong name. -My toss bouquet was nowhere to be found, and I had given it to them in a bag along with some other reception favors. So here it comes time for my bouquet toss, and I am rushing around looking like an idiot, looking for it while the song is playing, trying to find it. I asked them and all I got was, "I haven't seen it." I ended up throwing my regular bouquet. At the very end of the song. -Stacy had the nerve to tell one of my bridesmaids that I had the wrong idea about her, and asked her to talk to me about it instead of approaching me herself. I guess she could tell that we were not happy with the way the wedding was going. -My husband had given Kim the money for late pickup of our rental items during the reception, and Stacy kept asking about it even though Kim already had it. My husband was becoming very irritated. -Our wedding ended earlier than planned, and we paid servers by the hours they were going to work beforehand. We ended early, and no one offered to give us the difference we had paid back. We would have given it to the servers as a tip anyway, but I feel like we were taken advantage of by not being asked what we wanted done with the money. Bottom line, I would NEVER recommend this wedding consultant to anyone. I feel that the level of professionalism displayed was nowhere near up to par. I am disgusted with Gala Productions. I loved my wedding, had a great time regardless, but I hired them to make my day less stressful. Instead it ended up being much more so. I hope she does not call me next week because it is all water under the bridge now, and there's nothing she can say or do that would make me ever recommend Gala Productions.
  • Useful suggestions, tips, wisdom your planner offered? Lots of useful info was offered, she knows how a wedding is supposed to go. Mine just didn't go that way.
  • How the planner reduced your inner-Bridezilla? I didn't have an inner Bridezilla until two days before my wedding, and it was created because my consultant really pissed me off.
  • Value of a wedding planner? I could have been less stressed and not spent the money, and wouldn't have hired her had I forseen the outcome. Hope everyone else has better luck!

Overall Rating: 1.0 / 5.0

  • Joyful : 1.0
  • Connected : 1.0
  • Experience : 1.0
  • Executed Your Dream Wedding : 1.0

write a review