Oakhurst Hill
321 W Hill Street
Decatur, GA 30030
(404) 373-4702

Oakhurst Hill



View Oakhurst Hill in a new window.

write a review
  • Star Quality : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Amenities : 4.8
  • Variety : 5.0
  • 5.0

  • 5 Reviews
Review: Perfect Evening Under the Stars
05/13/2010
  • Jennifer M

  • Wedding Date: 05/01/2010
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • We wanted a casually elegant, informal wedding ceremony and cocktail party reception to allow our guests to move freely and enjoy a spring evening in Decatur to the fullest.
  • Palate fit the bill perfectly - the romantic front patio was perfect for the ceremony and the night was so beautiful that the inside, my favorite part!, was empty. The back garden tables allowed all of our 90 guests to sit and Jill and Co. were very flexible and gracious in accomodating our few specific requests.
  • Yes, and yes! My parents and I received a million compliments and everyone had a wonderful, comfortable time - exactly what I envisioned. The food was great and we received several comments on this, as well as the frendliness and accomodating attitude of the staff. A memorable time was truly had by all and Jill and her staff were great to work with in executing our plan.
  • My favorite is the beautiful, romantic interior but I would say the back garden was the favorite of the guests. I would recommend Jill and Palate to anyone - although perhaps more suited for those seeking an elegant, laid back vibe.

Overall Rating: 4.8 / 5.0

  • Star Quality : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Amenities : 4.0
  • Variety : 5.0

write a review
Review: Couldn't have asked for better!
03/09/2010
  • Meg C

  • Reviews Posted: 2

  • What was your wedding theme? Décor? Setting? We were going for simple, so we didn't have too much-- just classic, with red and white colors. The ceremony was just up the road, and we had the reception next door at The Solarium, so it was helpful to tell our wedding party-- "It's just next to where the rehearsal dinner was!"
  • Flexibility of venue to meet your needs? Completely flexible-- we weren't very picky, but what we got completely blew everyone away.
  • Have both your reception and ceremony there? If so, make for a happy couple & guests? No, just our rehearsal dinner-- but we were so pleased, and all of our out of town wedding party members wanted to know why they couldn't have a Palate in their hometowns!
  • Favorite part of the venue? THE FOOD! Even though we were worried we hadn't gotten enough food, everyone was stuffed and happy by the end of the night!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Star Quality : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Amenities : 5.0
  • Variety : 5.0

write a review
Review: Anxiety-Free Perfection
01/29/2010
  • Robin S

  • Wedding Date: 10/20/2007
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your wedding theme? Décor? Setting? We wanted a "party with a wedding in the middle." A relaxed event to celebrate our lives and our friends and families. And, Oh Boy, did Jill and the crew deliver. We encouraged guests to visit the bar before the ceremony in the back courtyard. The landscaping was still filled in, so we only needed a couple of planters with candles to designate the "altar." The guests stood, creating an aisle through the middle. The ceremony was short, and included a toast, with all of our guests raising their glasses at once - a magical memory. We had 70 guests, but the facility could have held more. There was no decorating needed since Palate is already beautiful and unique. I didn't have to think about anything. It was perfect as-is. The fire pit was a popular area as Georgia in October is incredible - so many people stayed outside.
  • Flexibility of venue to meet your needs? Jill said yes to everything. And she made me so relaxed about the entire process. If you can't stand the idea of an "event facility," then Palate is for you. It felt right from the minute someone told me about it. And affordable? It was exactly what we were hoping to spend.
  • Have both your reception and ceremony there? If so, make for a happy couple & guests? The reception and ceremony were so blended that it did not feel like a wedding. It felt like a party. As to happy guests? Well, I've had MULTIPLE friends tell me that they wish their weddings had been like mine. Even the guys were gushing that it was the coolest wedding they'd ever attended. Everybody told me that they weren't ready for the night to end. Yeah, we were all very happy.
  • Favorite part of the venue? I can't pinpoint the single best thing about Palate. The character of the venue is its strong point. Palate is so comfortable and inviting. And Jill's team is so accommodating and calm, you can relax about details.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Star Quality : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Amenities : 5.0
  • Variety : 5.0

write a review
Review: Perfect Wedding Venue
01/22/2010
  • Sara H

  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your wedding theme? Décor? Setting? We really wanted to have an organic, and relaxed wedding. We didnt fuss with lots of decor and decorations, nor did we need to. The setting at Palate was perfect. The gallery art was very tasteful, and the mood-lighting was perfect. Lots of twinkly candles everywhere!
  • Flexibility of venue to meet your needs? Jill was so amazingly easy to work with and very flexible–and so was her staff. They seemed to be having as much fun as we did. We actually went back for dinner for our six-month anniversary and the bartender remembered who we were, by name.
  • Have both your reception and ceremony there? If so, make for a happy couple & guests? We only had our reception at Palate. Our guests were very happy, saying that it was the best and most fun wedding they had ever attended. The food was OUTSTANDING, the kusic was great–it was such a fun night!
  • Favorite part of the venue? The whole package. Really-we had so much fun and none of it would have been possible anywhere else!

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Star Quality : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Amenities : 5.0
  • Variety : 5.0

write a review
Review: Wonderful place for an intimate wedding reception
01/21/2010
  • Ann F

  • Wedding Date: 10/28/2006
  • Reviews Posted: 1

  • What was your wedding theme? Décor? Setting? We wanted to have our reception in a very comfortable atmosphere where everyone would be able to relax and enjoy the good company of friends and family. We chose Palate because we both enjoy good wine and good art and we wanted to share that atmosphere with our guest. The space is warm and intimate with several small, comfortable seating areas, two outdoor patios and an art gallery. We had a three piece jazz band that helped to set the mood and really complemented the space at Palate.
  • Flexibility of venue to meet your needs? Jill and the rest of her staff at Palate were very easy to work with and very accommodating to our needs. During the reception, they did an excellent job of taking care of our guest to ensure their good time.
  • Favorite part of the venue? We loved the historic building where Palate is located. The architectural details are wonderful and the size and layout or the space really were exactly what we were looking for. It is a very unique place and we felt it was the perfect fit for the two of us.

Overall Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

  • Star Quality : 5.0
  • Knowledgeable, Friendly : 5.0
  • Amenities : 5.0
  • Variety : 5.0

write a review
OneWed Awards
OneWed Best of 2010 Vendor