1st Officiant
36 Reviews

Selected Best of 2010, 2009

8574 E. Via De Dorado
Scottsdale AZ 85258
United States




Portfolio




Planning your nonreligious wedding should be FUN, LAID-BACK and STRESS-FREE. If you look at bride's magazines and think, "That’s just not us" then we're probably a good match. Whether you would like a warm, simple ceremony, a completely personalized ceremony or even for me to bring two witnesses t




Reviews (36)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:







Lindsey Richardson
Wedding on 2011-05-07


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Personalized, unique ceremony

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Absolutely - he is open and friendly and easy to talk to. He is willing to accommodate your personal wants and desires.

What did the officiant or clergy add that was unexpected?

Our ceremony was very personal to us, because he had us write down 10 things we love about each other and our aspirations for married life together.

How did you personalize your wedding ceremony?

See above.

Favorite wedding ceremony comment from guests?

Many guests commented that this was the best ceremony they have ever seen because it was so unique to us.


christy th.
Wedding on 2009-11-20


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Sounds like you'll be marrying friends of ours

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Matt,
Hope you had a wonderful Christmas! Thanks again for doing a wonderful job at our wedding! We have close friends that attended our wedding and are planning to marry in October 2010. They asked for your information because you did such a nice job. So be on the lookout. :)


brian turner
Wedding on 2009-11-27


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Thanks Matt!

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

The entire experience was exactly what we wanted and envisioned! From the first meeting it was very relaxed and easy to work with you! It was very important to us that the ceremony reflected ‘us’ and didn’t have a generic feel…this was exactly what we got!

Rank from 1 to 5 stars:
-Personable: 5
-Customized Ceremony: 5
-Presence: 5
-Responsiveness: 5
-Professionalism: 5
-Flexibility:5
-Quality of Service: 5


ellen daryl
Wedding on 2009-12-19


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Grateful

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Matt,
Thank you for officiating our wedding. You did an axcellent job blending our stories with the vows. My sister said it was so well put together that it sounded like you were there when the events happened. Everyone loved the ceremony and told us it was the best they've attended. Thank you for all your help and making the ceremony go so smoothly. You made our day extra special and memorable. Thanks again. Have a fantastic new year!
Ellen & Daryl


stacy staver
Wedding on 2009-11-26


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Best Thanksgiving Ever!

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

OMG first of all you were totally awesome and a life saver!!!! I would highly recommend you to anyone and have been nonstop talking about that day because of all of the chain of events. Thank you again for making that day so awesome and the kids loved the sand/candle ceremony. Now you at least have another idea for someone who was struggling with the sand like me. Don’t forget…Hobby Lobby on Guadalupe.

Thanks again for everything and I hope your family has a wonderful holiday season – please stay in touch.

Stacy C. Watkins


don guillory
Wedding on 2009-12-05


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

5 Stars

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Definitely Five stars all-around! Heather and I were talking about sending you a follow-up email this past week to let you know how pleased we were with the ceremony. In fact, there were many of our guests who commented that the ceremony was the best that they had seen or attended.
We appreciate all of your help with the ceremony and definitely catering it to our personalities.


dornea williams
Wedding on 2009-11-21


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Matt was flexible with our rescheduled date

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Matt you are a blessing. Elliot & I are so grateful we had the opportunity to have you at our wedding. I can’t say enough how much the ceremony meant to both of us. We will keep in touch. We could feel your positive energy, vibe and sincere time you put into the ceremony. It was much appreciated. Have a Happy Happy New Year!!! = )


lisbeth loza
Wedding on 2009-10-31


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Halloween will always be memorable

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

You did such a great job! Everyone had such wonderful things to say and I wanted to be sure to pass on the compliments!

I hope your family had a great Thanksgiving! You'll hear from me soon!

Lisbeth Hazel


Paul Fin
Wedding on 2009-11-14


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

We're all so happy

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Hi Matt,
My husband & I just wanted to let you know how pleased we were to see you again to officiate at our son's wedding (Paul & Danielle) on November 14th. in Mesa. It was a beautiful day, a beautiful setting and the ceremony you performed was just perfect. Our paths may never meet again but just know that you are a wonderful young man who has definitely found your "calling". We wish you and yours only the very best life has to offer. Thank you again for such a memorable day.

Bill & Jana Finlayson


Christine DeCourval
Wedding on 2009-10-30


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Just back from our honeymoon!

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Hey Matt!
Thank you again for making our ceremony so special! I can't tell you enough how thankful we were to have you there. We have received an TREMENDOUS amount of compliments from our guests! We've heard lots about "how personal it was" "how unique & special" "how intimate & heartfelt" These are just a few of the compliments we received. So thank you again. We rate yo 5 stars for everything! :)
Thanks Tons!
Mr.& Mrs. Matty D :)


Roni Loftus
Wedding on 2009-10-24


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Everything was great, Matt

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Hello Matt!
Thank you so much for a wonderful experience; I may be biased but I think it was the best wedding ever!!

I would not change a thing.
Rank from 1 to 5 stars:
-Personable: *****- 5
-Customized Ceremony: *****-5
-Presence:*****-5
-Responsiveness: *****-5
-Professionalism: *****-5
-Flexibility: *****-5
-Quality of Service: *****-5

Just wanted to say you really made David and I feel special.
So many people say- "Oh it's just a piece of paper and nothing will change"
Well it felt like it was the most important moment in my life- thank you for adding all the specials moments.
David and I wish you all the best and will refer you to all our friends.
Thanks again!!

Take Care,
Roni ;)


Michelle lsdkfjlkj
Wedding on 2009-11-10


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Beautiful Sedona wedding

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Thanks again, Matt for your service. We really enjoyed the ceremony and wish you the BEST always.

Many blessings,

Michelle & Bill


jaime j
Wedding on 2009-10-17


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

We really like Matt

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

We wish you could have stayed around longer to be introduced to friends and family and possibly those who would be interested in using your services. Many guests including us felt close to you right after the ceremony ( everyone loved how intimate it felt) and the 'personal touch would have been that much better'. Its such a personal time in our lives as well as our family. you were dressed very well in regard to personal appearance though :) We overall loved your ceremony and wouldn't have changed a thing.. just wish you could have spent more time with us and our guests :) maybe even the rehearsal dinner....


Christine Brown


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Everything was customized just for us

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Everyone loved the ceremony and the extra special touches that you incorporated. People that you would expect to cry it even brought a tear to their eye!!! Thank you so much you made our wedding day so special...we had a blast!!


Oscar Garcia


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Matt could win Star Search

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

We think you are great! We love how you took what we love about each other and weaved it into our ceremony. We have gotten a lot of compliments on how great the ceremony was and how great our officiant was. You were able to combine the perfect amount of personable with profesionalism. We are so happy that you were the one to marry us and wouldn't change a thing about our ceremony. If you were on Star Search you would be moving on to the next round!!!


shawna j


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Mrs. Johnson!

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Hi Matt,
I wanted to tell you how wonderful you did throughout the ceremony! It was truly special and unique to us, and I could not be happier with how you made such an impact on our special day! This is a memory I will keep close and will never forget! You really out did yourself! We have heard so many wonderful comments about you, and have already recommended your services for a wedding next year! All our best to you and your family!!

Thank you again so much!

Shawna Johnson—I love that!


Danika D


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Thumbs up for Matt!

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

We wanted to thank you so much. So many of our friends and family came up to us after saying how beautiful the ceremony was. All of them loved you and said it was the best ceremony they have ever seen. It was so real... not like the traditional "do you take so and so..." it let us pick exactly what we wanted to say and made it our own and expressed our feelings to a tee. All of my friends said that when they get married they are copying our ceremony exactly. From the blessing tree to the unity sand, you gave us a lot of unique ideas for our unique wedding and it really made it our own. Even people who never cry at weddings were tearing up and then laughing the next minute. I couldn't have asked for better and I am so glad we decided to go with you.


sarah s


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Thanks

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Matt,
Sarah and I would like to express our deepest gratitude for officiating our wedding You guided us through our ceremony with grace and calm, adapting with us as we giggled and flirted about.
You are a wonderful soul and were our ideal officiate for our special day.
Thank you again,
Eric & Sarah Sanderson


Alexis Cohen


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

5 Stars

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

-Personable:*****
-Customized Ceremony: *****
-Presence:*****
-Responsiveness: *****
-Professionalism: *****

-Flexibility:*****
-Quality of Service: *****


mike painter


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Our friends and family loved Matt

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Hi Matt,
We were extremely happy with our wedding and having you there as our officiant. We would give you 5 stars in all of the categories below. The ceremony that you provided was beautiful and exactly what we were looking for. We had several of our friends and family tell us that they really liked you and were very curious where we found you. Jenn and I are very happy that you were there to set us off on our new life together.

Best,

Mike and Jenn


brett smith


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

What can I say?

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Matt,
What can I say!? You did an amazing job! We were so happy with everything! You exceeded everything expectation that we had set! I could go on and on, but will keep this short! Thank you a million!!!! If you ever have a couple who are on the fence about the services you offer, please feel free to have them call us!


Brett Smith


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

What can I say?

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Matt,
What can I say!? You did an amazing job! We were so happy with everything! You exceeded everything expectation that we had set! I could go on and on, but will keep this short! Thank you a million!!!!
If you ever have a couple who are on the fence about the services you offer, please feel free to have them call us!
Brett and Tiffany Smith


melissa gonzalez


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Thanks Matt!

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

I think we would easily give you five stars in all categories. People really loved the ceremony (and we did too!). You were wonderful to work with. I hope you, your wife, and your daughter are all well.

We want to thank you so much,
Melissa (and Tom too!)


Velvet Francois


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

From France

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

We were extremely satisfied with your contribution to our special day. I'm assuming that 5 is the best? If so, it would be 5's all around. You were very professional, punctual and a big help in providing the texts. François' mom who is a traditional catholic really enjoyed the ceremony and message.
Thanks again!
Kind regards,
Velvet & François


Becky Esh


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

DC Ranch wedding

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

I would say that Matt did an outstanding job at our ceremony, everything was absolutely perfect! We wanted short and sweet but with meaning as well and the ceremony that Matt provided went above and beyond what we were looking for. I would HIGHLY recommend Mr. Matt Nathanson for your ceremony if you are looking for someone who can make your ceremony extra special!


Melissa Lahr


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Rooftop Wedding

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

You were great, very flexible and we felt that we were very special to you. We knew you really wanted to help us make our day everything we wanted and your system was very easy to work with. I can't tell you how many people commented on our ceremony. Thank you very much. and I just received a follow up email letting me know the county clerk had done their thing and it was official!!!! That was very unexpected. I expected once our event was over we would never hear from you again, not that its a judgement but we didn't think there would be any reason. Its very rare to find someone with GREAT customer service. Matt everything was great and I don't have one negative thing to say. Thanks again for everything.


Andrea Kirke


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

PV wedding

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Hey there! Five stars for every catagory!

Gary and I were very pleased with everything that you did for us. Teonna told us that you were one of the best, most organized officiants that she has ever worked with. Several friends and family members also made a point to comment on how great and professional you were. The photographers also called you a professional because you knew to "get out of the way" in some photos. Not that we wanted you out of the way haha!

Thank you very much for the document you sent us of our wedding and everything that was said. I would certainly recomend you to anyone getting married. Married life is great by the way. thanks again

andrea


Mike Painter


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Very Happy

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

We were extremely happy with our wedding and having you there as our officiant. We would give you 5 stars in all of the categories below. The ceremony that you provided was beautiful and exactly what we were looking for. We had several of our friends and family tell us that they really liked you and were very curious where we found you. Jenn and I are very happy that you were there to set us off on our new life together.

Best,

Mike and Jenn


Darren Private


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Megan and Darren

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

We want to thank you for being a part of our special day and making it a memorable one. Your service was beautiful and will stay in our hearts forever. We certainly could not have asked for more. You made the entire process so easy and simple it helped us focus on our other details of the wedding. Thank you again.

Darren & Megan Glau :)


lincoln


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Everyone thought Matt was great

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

You were great and we really appreciated your service...your outlook on life, marriage, and the spiritual meaning of both fitted us perfectly...thanks for keeping the ceremony light and fun...everyone commented on atmosphere of the event as special without being stuffy...it was great...

Rank from 1 to 5 stars:
-Personable: 5
-Customized Ceremony: 5
-Presence: 5
-Responsiveness: 5
-Professionalism: 5
-Flexibility: 5


bungalojenn


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

We planned our ceremony long distance from DC

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

We planned our wedding from another state and "met" and worked with Matt via phone calls and e-mail. He was flexible working with the long distance and our ceremony requests. We when arrived in AZ, Matt met with us and took the time to get to know us better. Because of his experience, he thought about aspects of the ceremony that we hadn't considered and made everything very easy. Matt made the ceremony something unique and special for both of us. Our family and friends have commented on how well he did with our ceremony. We could not have been happier with Matt!


sockocolin


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

We loved Matt

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Matt gave our wedding a very comfortable, personal feel which is exactly how we wanted our wedding to be! After months of planning and dealing with facilities, caterers, photographers, flower and cake people(arrggg...), Matt provided EXACTLY what my wife and I wanted in a down to earth, personal, calm and confident marriage ceremony. It just felt right!


geniedave1


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Matt ROCKS!

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Just got back from my Honeymoon early Tuesday morning so sorry I didn't get back to you sooner. You were absolutely fantastic. Thank you so much for being there for our special day. Ill be sure to recommend you to others. ;-)


m5billion


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Thanksgiving Wedding!

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Matt--We just wanted to say thank you so much for performing our ceremony on Thanksgiving. It was truly wonderful and you did a great job. We really appreciate all you did. We liked you from the moment we met you and your handling of the whole thing was terrific. Thanks so very very much Matt! All the best to you,

Regards, Mr. and Mrs..........Gillette...........


gradypants


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

You were great!

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

Matt, You we re awesome buddy. We loved working you. You were the best man!! You offer great weddings and look, speak and act very professional and laid back as well.


lindamcn


Personable
Customized Ceremony
Reliable
Presence

Linda and Ed

Wedding officiant make you comfortable? Why or why not?

We were very pleased with our initial contact with you at Carolyn and Jason's home the day before the service. You made us feel very relaxed and comfortable as we had no clue of the options you made available to choose from. We wanted as simple a ceremony as possible and yet you made it feel very personal to us. It was just right for us. We would recommend your services to anyone we know who wants to get married in Phoenix area and perhaps one day you will perform a ceremony for Carolyn and Jason. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors in this field.

Sincerely,

Linda and Ed


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.