All The Above Events
33 Reviews

Selected Best of 2014, 2012

8702 Cadillac Ave.
Los Angeles CA 90034
United States




Portfolio




Pro DJ/MC with club level sound system & wireless mic, lighting, Event Planning & Coordination, 100 inch video projection screens. UNLIMITED music library with wireless Internet. 10+ yrs experience with music for all generations & styles (pop, hip hop, Latin, R&B, club/techno, rock, etc.). Reference




Reviews (33)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:







Kbroome
Wedding on 2016-04-15


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Look no further!

First dance song?

Mirrors by Justin Timberlake

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We gave him a list of songs that we both loved and also solicited requests from the guests. He did a great job of reading the room and knowing when to mix it up!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

DJ for reception

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Only You by 112 and Don't stop believing by Journey


jonny78
Wedding on 2016-03-19


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Better Than We Expected!!

First dance song?

We have been to two other weddings that James did and we had a blast at those so when it came time to choosing our DJ, there was only 1 person on our list. James is great to work with before the event, very responsive, very flexible, and very accommodating. During the event he is electric, keeps the dance floor full, plays a great mix of music, and when we were running late, he knows how to bring it all back together. He also puts together a beautiful ceremony. For us, the DJ was the top 1st or 2nd most important choice for our wedding and I am so happy that we chose James. I would highly recommend contracting with James for any event and I would definitely choose him for any future events that we have.


carmen-1
Wedding on 2016-02-20


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Great for Company Events

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James is amazing and a great pleasure to work with. We used James for a company event with 200+ people. We have worked with James in the past and last year for our event James unfortunately was booked for another event and we used another DJ who was good but not as radiant as James. Working with James for our company party this year really made a difference to the party atmosphere. This is a great DJ and a must have for any party. We will definitely use him for our events to come!


swissmiss
Wedding on 2015-11-01


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

The best of the best!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James was perfect at keeping the party on track through the announcements we requested he make throughout the night and he picked the perfect songs based on our requests. He is so professional and organized, he really made the night a stress-free experience. Look no further, he is the best DJ in the business.


Tony Alvarez


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

WORTH EVERY CENT! James is Incredible

First dance song?

Bride & Groom first dance song - Something Special - Usher
Song to kick off dancing - Celia Cruz - La Vida Es Un Carnaval

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

He read our guests perfectly. Ours was a tricky wedding to cater to: I'm Colombian, my wife is half Mexican, half German, and all our friends come from different backgrounds and tastes.
I sent him a bunch of Colombian folk music that would appeal to my side of the family for cocktails, then a bunch of Mexican folk music for her side of the family for dinner. Then I threw him a bunch of Latin danceable music (salsa, merengue, cumbia), a bunch of Top 40, and a bunch of hip hop (I work in the urban radio world, so many of my invited coworkers wanted to hear hip hop as well). Just a clusterfudge of everything.

He started with all the big Latin dance music that got EVERYONE dancing immediately, and just read their moods and energy perfectly for the rest of the night.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

I had many guests tell me his music selection was great, including friends that work as bartenders and know what a good DJ sounds like. One of our friends even invited James to his hotel afterparty! Great energy, got along amazingly well with our guests. I can't stress this enough.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Shut Up And Dance - Walk The Moon


j2dak10
Wedding on 2015-07-17


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best DJ hands down!!

First dance song?

It was perfect, played exactly the time length I wanted and he found the song I wanted since it was a special rendition of a song my husband and I love.

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

He played all the best music to keep my party going while keeping within my request, he also felt the vibe of the crowd and took into account the age groups that were out dancing. His MC skills are amazing, he has amazing energy and is very upbeat but in a good way. Everyone at my wedding couldn't stop talking about how amazing he was.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

I loved everything!


mochi217
Wedding on 2015-07-10


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Wedding

First dance song?

James was our DJ/MC for our wedding at Sherwood Country Club in Thousand Oaks last weekend and he did an absolutely amazing job. We also used him for our ceremony and for up lighting. I found him on Yelp and from the beginning, James always responded to emails right away. Our first meeting was at a Starbucks halfway between us. We were so impressed with his professionalism, that we booked him on the spot. No need to interview anyone else. He books fast! My husband wanted to do a mash up for our first dance and he made it flawless. There were a couple songs that James had to download and my husband offered to pay but he said he would not charge since it was part of the package. My guests were impressed with James and he kept the dance floor going all night even to the very end when there was just a handful of people left. James is the best out there and I would definitely recommend him! If I could give more than 5 stars, I would!!!


vicki
Wedding on 2015-03-20


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Awesome DJ/MC - James Lee

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James Lee is an excellent DJ/MC. Extremely professional, responds promptly always, punctual, well prepared, and fun to have on your big day. Great music selections and extremely easy to work with. He is on top of things and very organized.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Great!


sino525
Wedding on 2015-01-18


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best wedding DJ!

First dance song?

Frank Sinatra - The Way You Look Tonight

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

DJ played really great music that everyone loved

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

DJ was very friendly with all our guests. He took requests and kept the music selection rotating.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Frank Sinatra - The Way You Look Tonight / First Dance


jbf2014
Wedding on 2014-11-01


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Above and beyond

First dance song?

"Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want" - The Smiths

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We had some guests that weren't really into dancing, but he kept the music going and would tailor it to what he saw people were dancing to, while also trying to play the music that we requested (which was a lot). He did an awesome job!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Excellent


carollee157
Wedding on 2014-12-13


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

BEST DJ/MC/LIGHTING! Highly recommended!

First dance song?

This I Promise You by Ronan Keating. James/All the Above Events played the right version and played just enough of the song so that it wasn't long and boring.

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

He played everything we wanted him to play. We obviously didn't give him a whole playlist - just genres and maybe a few song requests - and he worked with that so well! The music was great and the set up was perfect. I had made certain requests for types of music and he really followed through. Everything sounded great and his set up and sound system is superb. There were absolutely no sound glitches or power failures. Everything was perfect. He also did the music during our cocktail hour outside so that was really awesome.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Your MC can either make your wedding awesome or absolutely terrible. James was more than awesome. He makes everything flow. He's aggressive but in a good way. He was able to get people moving and even volunteer for a really fun game - but he did all this without being cheesy, mean, or pushy. I was really impressed. We had a buffet for our wedding and he called out tables efficiently and everything moved quickly. He did a really fun dance game and he was able to get so many of our guests out on the dance floor! It really was amazing. He went through our timeline perfectly and was very clear in his announcements. He really did an excellent job running the whole wedding. What I liked most about James was that he never talked about himself. I cannot count how many times I've been to weddings where the MC talks about himself one way or another. A wedding is not and MC's show! James does not take the spotlight away. And he does not crack cheesy jokes. Thank goodness! I seriously cannot express enough how important it is to have a great MC - James is more than great.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

At the very end of the night, James played Back at One and we all got together in the middle in one big circle (hugging) and sang it out loud. It was so awesome and unexpected! Worked sooo well!


jillestell
Wedding on 2014-06-28


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

James was the BEST DJ!!

First dance song?

Frank Sinatra-The way you look tonight
James played exactly enough of the song so we could enjoy our first dance, but it didn't get too long!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James played songs everyone knew the words to, everyone was singing, he got everyone on the dance floor surrounding the us and it was a non stop dance party. From the beginning of planning I had worried that people would not dance, but people were definitely dancing the night away, it was awesome.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

So many favorites of the night, but Black eyed peas-I gotta feeling was the best. Everyone was up jumping dancing, the video of it is amazing!


31flavas


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

David M.

First dance song?

James is simply the BEST!!! He was definitely the MC from the get-go. He pumped up our family & friends before we entered the reception area which equaled to a huge ovation when my wife & I walked in... it was unforgettable! :)

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James began the dance party with one of my favorite songs, which got my friends & I to immediately start dancing. He then switched over to some Spanish (salsa) music for my family & some romantic slower music for my wife's family! James kept everyone in the building involved, smiling faces all around!!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

James was a professional from the day we met him until we said good night on our wedding day!! He stayed until all the guests were gone to assure we had a fun time until the end!!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

I would highly recommend James to anyone who is planning a wedding or any other event a hundred times over!! James will make your special day even more memorable!! Thank you very much, James!!!


Elizabeth Poser
Wedding on 2013-09-13


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best DJ and MC ever!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

James was totally AWESOME!!!

My husband and I got married on 9/13/13. We contacted several DJs and felt everything was ridiculously priced and I didn't like how most places offer their services starting in 4 hour block of time. Why would anyone just want music for 4 hours? Most weddings last longer than that! When I contacted James, I felt the price was very reasonable.

James was very professional and organized! As someone who is a bit OCD, I really loved that! He emailed me spreadsheets for timelines and suggestions on music. He always responded quickly when I had questions. When I told him we didn't want to do traditional things such as first dance and garter toss and wanted to play games instead, he emailed me a list of possible games. How awesome is that?!

On the day of the wedding, we were suppose to use our shoes for one of the games to indicate "HIM" or "HER". James actually made signs for us to hold up! That is really going above and beyond!

James was not just an awesome DJ he was also a fantastic MC! I simply emailed him the games we wanted to play and he explained them flawlessly to guests. He made all the announcements and was funny and entertaining. We really couldn't have asked for more!

We even got many compliments for guests about how great our DJ was!

James made our event memorable and we thank him greatly for such a wonderful night :)


lisa_m
Wedding on 2013-07-14


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Fabulous DJ!

First dance song?

Dustin Lynch "Cowboys and Angels"

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

DJ James of All the Above Events was amazing! We knew the minute we met him that he was our guy! He came totally prepared and worked with us on song selection and getting exactly what we wanted for our wedding day. We gave him a few of our specific song choices for each part of our wedding and then asked him to fill in with whatever he though was best to create the right vibe. We trusted him totally and he really gave us everything we thought we wanted and more. He gave us 110% and really worked hard to make sure we were happy. He brought beautiful lighting to make our venue and dance floor come alive and perfectly manned the projector all night. In addition he was a fabulous EMCEE all night long and he gave us a fantastic price. He also worked well with our wedding coordinator and family members that had special requests. He is the WHOLE PACKAGE. We were so happy and thankful we chose All The Above Events to DJ our wedding. Thank you James! You are the BEST.


angulowedding
Wedding on 2013-06-08


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Exceptional DJ

First dance song?

Etta James - At Last

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James did an excellent job of reading the crowed and playing music selections that kept the momentum going.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Any information that James provided to a guest was due to our guest requesting his contact / business information, which was ok with us. James is very professional.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

It difficult to pick only one as James played exactly what we wanted to hear...


Pmsaylor
Wedding on 2013-06-02


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Highly recommended DJ

First dance song?

At Last by Etta James

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James knew just what to play to get the crowd on the dance floor no matter what age they were. He had the whole party dancing the night away! He was extremely helpful and took care of every detail that I asked for.


zhenmastery
Wedding on 2013-06-01


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Very professional, responsive, and great mixer

First dance song?

helped us create a customized version of the song we wanted so that it fit within our timeframe and tempo

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

the DJ/MC was instrumental in maintaining vibe and energy on the dance floor. He also knew the right genre of music to bump for different crowds. Everyone was very happy with the outcome.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

DJ/MC was very courteous with all guests

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

there were multiple memorable moments that we had on the dance floor and we credit it to the work of our DJ/MC


dWeston
Wedding on 2013-05-24


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

AMAZING DJ & MC!~

First dance song?

"I Wanna Grow Old With You" by Adam Sandler

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Having planned my Malibu, CA wedding from Hong Kong without a planner, I was a bit overwhelmed with many of the small details. Throughout the process as well as the day of the event, James was incredibly helpful. He was not only prompt with his email replies, but on the day of, he kept the event on schedule while accommodating any last minute changes that needed to be made. He was such a great help and I am so glad we booked him!


aaron diaz
Wedding on 2012-12-29


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Our Wedding

First dance song?

Sea of Love

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Our DJ knew the pulse of the crowd by being prepared and keepig us abreast of everything. He took requests and anticipated all wedding reception activities (toasts, speeches). Over a month later, we still here how he was the best DJ and the dancing never stopped.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

The DJ kept everyone involved and welcomed all requests and played all requests in a timely manner. We have never seen such a smooth operation.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

too many to count...We loved our intro, our first dance, the night flowed so smoothly. Can't say enough but will say this, the DJ means everything to a reception and he nailed it! Thanks James!


Adam Wilkenfeld
Wedding on 2012-04-15


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Five-Star DJ

First dance song?

James is super-professional DJ, easy to work with and very comfortable with a crowd. He believes in preparation which means bringing duplicates of all equipment and helping the bride and groom in a gentle way to figure out what we want. We appreciated his efforts deeply and would recommend his services without question. He made my bride feel comfortable and even my new father-in-law made specific mention that he was a great choice. Thanks James!


Julie Chung
Wedding on 2012-03-24


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Talk about a PARTAY!

First dance song?

"Everytime I Close My Eyes" by Babyface

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

1. He's professional and showed he's very experienced at what he does
2. He got the crowd PUMPED when we did our grand entrance
3. He packed the dance floor which included my grandmas and quiet unsuspecting uncles!
4. He's easy to talk to and FUN!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

During our first dance, we had a contest for the best lip-sync performance. James was the host and judge and he got the whole crowd in an uproar. One person from each table sung and he somehow convinced my mom who came up and started singing to us on the dance floor.

Everyone loved James.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Definitely the one that got my grandmas dancing!! I've never seen my uncles' dance like THAT before. Everyone had a blast. :)


Cristie Forshee
Wedding on 2011-10-15


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Loved James!

First dance song?

"Let's Stay Together" Al Green

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James played everything on our must play list and followed our do not ply requests. He was awesome, and kept the party going, managed to keep all of our events on time, and all of our quests loved him. Of all of the vendors we hired, we were happiest with James! I would highly reccomend him! I also loved his very organized spreadsheets for planning everything out!


Victoria Barzilli
Wedding on 2011-07-03


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

There is no one as good as James!

First dance song?

life house-you and me

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James is so talented! He is funny and charming, his music was awesome and he has a special talent for getting and keeping people on the dance floor!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

James has fantastic interaction! He included all the guests with questions and games all while playing awesome music!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

first dance, father daughter dance and freestyle dancing all night!


susan montoya
Wedding on 2011-05-28


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

MONEY WELL SPENT!

First dance song?

jason mraz lucky

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

james was wonderful. he hit everything on my play list and everyone had a great time dancing all night!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

james did his best to accommodate the overwhelming amount of request. we also had a last minute performer and james was very accommodating and had the performer's track ready!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

all our requests!


Justin Hom


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

A&J Wedding 10.10.2010

First dance song?

"When You Say Nothing At All" by Alison Krauss. James also helped us incorporate 2 songs from our slideshow (Lady Gaga and Bruno Mars). Sound quality and system was excellent!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We can't say enough about James! He is totally awesome and accommodating! James kept the good times flowing with great music and personality. We highly recommend James for your DJ'ing and event planning needs, as he is very experienced, knowledgeable, and patient.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

James kept our wedding event flowing very smoothly with timely announcements and fun games to interact with our guests. Many of our guests had commented how much they enjoyed our DJ and his humor. The music selection played during the reception and during our after hours dancing was just-right.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

All of them!!


Kristine Encinas LeonGuerrero
Wedding on 2011-03-25


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Amazing DJ/MC for an amazing, memorable night! :)

First dance song?

My Destiny by Jim Brickman. Was sung by a family friend and James had the mic and track ready for the singer without any glitches.

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Kept the party going with upbeat/ romantic music and fun games in between.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Like a G6- Far East Movement, my husband now claims that song as 'our' wedding song haha.


Laura Jie
Wedding on 2011-01-16


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

JAMES IS THE MOST AMAZING DJ!!!

First dance song?

Custom mix by choreographer.

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James was sooo AMAZING!!!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Everyone loved James and we love love love him too!!! =)

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

We had James play all of our favorite songs, so all of them were our favorites!


Ditmara Hernandez
Wedding on 2010-11-14


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

James ROCKS! :)

First dance song?

James provided LED Uplighting for my wedding. Unfortunately, by the time I found him, we had already booked our wedding DJ/MC so we did not use his service for that and so our review will be based on our experience with him to acquire uplighting for our wedding. It was such a pleasure working with James. From our very first meeting, he was friendly and energetic and accommodating. He arrived on time and with equipment ready to show us what he is able to do as far as LED Uplighting goes. He provided an affordable uplighting package that was more than enough, even for the large size reception room we had. James always made himself available to us via phone or e-mail, he was able to make come to life the vision I had for the uplighting in our reception room and during one point of our planning when my husband and I had to change our wedding date, he kindly accommodated us with no problems and on the wedding day, he took care everything personally. The uplighting was gorgeous and our guests raved about it! I have no doubt that James is an excellent DJ/MC as well & I will definitely recommend him to anyone I can. Thanks again James!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

NA

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

NA

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

NA


Adrienne Perry
Wedding on 2010-09-18


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Ode To James, the Best DJ EVER.

First dance song?

Neutral Milk Hotel's cover of "I Love How You Love Me."

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Everything. James seemed to anticipate what the crowd wanted to hear, and every song someone was yelling "Oh gosh, that's my favorite." People who haven't danced since the 60's were tearing it up. James was awesome!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Yes. At least half a dozen of our guests with impending nuptials requested his card.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Gosh. Has to be our first dance song. We're sappy romantics.


Sy Thao
Wedding on 2010-07-09


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Beach Wedding

First dance song?

Feels Like Home by Chantal Kreviazuk

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James played the list of songs we wanted to hear at the wedding and added his own picks. He kept the dance floor going by knowing what songs my wedding guests were into. He also allowed our guest to make songs request. James was also a great MC by keeping the wedding flowing and organized

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

James was the main talk after the wedding. He moved around the room to get things done and made sure my dancers for the wedding were ready to go. We live in Southern California but had the wedding on the beach in the Central Coast. James was willing to travel to the location of the wedding at a very resonable price. All the girls loved him!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Our wedding reception was exactly how I imaged it would be. We didn't want to deal with decorating the hall so James used LED uplighting to light up the room. It was beautiful and simple.


Vivian Ku
Wedding on 2010-07-11


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

James is a MUST-HAVE!!!

First dance song?

Can't Take My Eyes Off You

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

James did a GREAT job in terms of time management so my wedding flew really well and smoothly. He gave us a lot of great suggestions and advises during consultation and meetings so we had a better idea how it'll turn out. We didn't give him much personal preference because of our lack of knowledge of songs, but we were confident that he'll do a GREAT JOB. And we were absolutely right! Everyone (including us) loved everything he played and had so much fun.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

We were very happy that there was no excessive talking which usually annoys guests. James did everything we asked for including making announcements effectively. He was a great help during reception because our guests knew exactly what was going on. Everyone was telling me how great he was!! I am very happy that we made the right choice! :)

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Honestly we loved EVERYTHING he played because we had so much fun the entire night! Thank you SO MUCH James. We had a beautiful and fun wedding because of you!!


Joanna Oh


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

AWESOME DJ/MC - COULDN'T HAVE ASKED FOR MORE!

First dance song?

At Last by Etta James

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Playing great music we wanted. He accepted our request lists of what to play and what NOT to play. Hyped up the crowd without being annoying on the mic. GREAT PARTY!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Great interaction and communication. Had an open request list and downloaded songs if he didn't have them on hand. Made announcements clearly and effectively when necessary.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Too many to mention ... all my guests kept complimenting the music and how James kept the dance floor jumping all night. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a real professional DJ and MC!!!!


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.