Alvarado Photography
16 Reviews

Selected Best of 2013

98-360 Koauka loop
Honlulu HI 96801
United States







We believe that everyone has a story to tell and we want our photos to tell your story. We strive to make each photo shoot an enjoyable and memorable one for our clients and we would love the opportunity to work with you! - Jess and John Alvarado




Reviews (16)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:








Wedding on 2013-05-17


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Beyond Expectations

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There were so many pictures that we loved but the ones I favor are where my husband is picking me up and the waves are crashing behind us or when we both have our hands on our hips looking back at each other.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

The photographer showed up to the beach before our ceremony was finished and started taking photos right away with out any of us realizing she was there which was awesome. She had awesome ideas for poses and was very confident in directing us and our family

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Our wedding package included 1 hour session with 75 photos of our choice on a personalized cd with over 200 pictures for us to choose from.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

I can not be more pleased with our decision to go with Alvarado photography for our beach wedding in May 2013. After much research to find a good quality photographer who was reasonably priced it almost seem like a no brainer to go with them. Jess was always in close contact every time I had a question and her quick email responses impressed me from the start. When we arrived in hawaii she called me the day before our wedding to confirm everything and I remember her giving me words of encouragement to just relax and get plenty of rest. Her words came with compassion and made me realize she cares for her customers as individuals. When the Big day came she was prompt on her arrival to the beach I think she might have even been early and made the flow from the ceremony to the photo session seamless. She had such a light and comforting personality and any picture that we had suggested we wanted she made sure she took for us. I have to say I was a little worried how the pictures would turn out only because it was really hot in my wedding gown and I felt as if that might have ruined the shots but not a chance with her expertise! Every single picture turned out perfect and I was completely taken back by the way she was able to capture the moment and how perfect every single picture turned out. I would most definantly recommend Alvarado photography to anyone who is looking for a photographer in hawaii and I am completly satisfied with the professionalism and quality they have put into our wedding pictures.



Wedding on 2012-12-22


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

WE LOVE ALVARADO PHOTOGRAPHY

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Lying on the sand in the beach and in the water.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They were so stealth. We didn't even know they took certain photos until we reviewed the photos. They were great with beach shots.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

125 Photos, CD, two photographers, photo release

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

WE LOVE ALVARADO PHOTOGRAPHY! They made us feel so comfortable. They felt like they were part of our family. They knew the exact poses to place us in that would result in the perfect photos.

I will admit, I found them on the internet and at first I was a little worried because I only contacted them by e-mail and sent them a deposit. Through the process I found them to have the highest integrity and attention to the details that made me confident that I made the correct decision. They are thorough communicators and I knew they would be there on my wedding day.

The end result is that they were very punctual, professional, caring, organized and artistic. I refer all my friends and family to them and I have no reservations in recommending Alvarado Photography for professional photographs. We plan to use them for family photos and anniversary photos in the future.

Thanks John and Jess! You are the best!



Wedding on 2012-11-17


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

The Perfect Mix

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There are way too many that I LOVE, to just pick one. John and Jess took more than 900 photos of our wedding and of those 900+ select pictures were sent to us as originals and in black and white. Somehow they had the intuition to know that those were the photos we would love most, in both color and with special effect.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John and Jess did the opposite of disruption; they made sure that they knew what I wanted prior to the day of. They were organized so well that it kept me organized, and I didn't have to worry about a thing with them. Because of that, everything on our wedding day went according to plan and the pictures came out great! They are great with candids and action shots (especially with our energetic groomsmen), but portraits were the best. My husband and I are not especially comfortable being the center of attention or having our own photo shoot, so John and Jess's direction made us look and feel natural instead of uncomfortable.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Alvarado photography offers a range of packages. I chose one that comes with the services of two photographers for x amount of hours, $175 in print credit (because we did not have an engagement session), and 325 pictures of my choice on a CD for me to print as I please.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John and Jess clearly knew what they were doing. They gave specific direction for posing, made sure that they had a list of my needs, and executed with grace. I wasn't living in Hawai'i while planning my wedding, but my mother and I visited to meet with several vendors and view the venue. I let Jess know of our intent, and promptly (as always) I got an email reply asking where and when I wanted to meet. She was the first person we met with and my mother and I were blown away by her friendliness, professionalism, and, above all, her hospitality. We met John, her husband, on the day of the wedding and, to no surprise, he is her equal.



Wedding on 2012-10-07


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Service and Quality Delivered Beyond Expectations

What was your favorite wedding photo?

A picture in the ceremony. The background are the choir members, centerpoint was us and the minister, background is our guests. It captures the solemnity, happiness and holiness of the occassion.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

We hardly noticed they were there!!! I'm grateful to them because they worked harder to get shots because of our request not to go specific areas of the chapel. Not one request was missed..

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We used the 8 hour package with 2 photographers. We were fortunate because they really honor their commitment to us even when we switched from the 6 hour package to the 8 hour package.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They had a relaxed style of talking. They were never bossy when speaking to our family and guests, yet they were stern (albeit gentle) when needed.

Jess' organization skills also helped especially when taking pictures after the ceremony. We had such a long list of pictures to take in a short amount of time, but Jess and John accomplished it! We are truly grateful to them for trying to capture every little detail of our special day.



Wedding on 2012-07-28


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Stunning photos!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

We loved all of our trash the dress pictures!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They didn't do our wedding photos since we were married in Florida, but they did do our engagement pictures and our trash the dress ones as well. We loved them. They got some awesome action pictures of us standing in the water laughing with all the crazy waves in the ocean. It was a blast! So much fun!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We had the couples package which included a disc of 40 photos

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

My husband HATES being in front of the camera. I had to beg him to do trash the dress pictures with me. After the photo shoot, when we were leaving, he told me that he had a lot of fun. I was so surprised! Alvarado Photography are so easy to work with. They are fun and make you feel comfortable in front of the camera.



Wedding on 2012-08-25


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

A wedding we will remember by its photos!!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Picking one is HARD!!! I think the one with us as a couple out on the rock in the water with our reflections in the water. It is so pretty. You can tell that we are in Hawaii... and that is what we wanted!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I think that is why I loved working with Jess and John. We were on such a high from just saying our I Dos and they did not take us away from our wonderful love high we were on.
We are a blended family and they did such a wonderful job making my kid feel like he was part of the big day.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We had a very small wedding with just our moms, dads and sibling. The three hour package was perfect. We got to view our photos online and then have them put on a CD. It did come with engagement pictures but because we weren't there before the wedding they had a different option for print credit. It worked out great.
There were two photographers, Jess and John. A married couple that could communicate with each other with out speaking to each other. It was fun to work with them.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

WONDERFUL! They had such great ideas for our photos and they allowed to have input in the types of photos. I thought it was going to be hard because we didn't get to meet before the wedding but they got the feel of the wedding and of us. They really understood what we wanted.



Wedding on 2012-08-22


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Genuine Husband and Wife Team!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

The detail shots at our ceremony and the candid shots of my husband and I.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John and Jess have professional and fun, easy going personalities which helped with setting up shots with ourselves and our families. They entertained our little niece so that she would smile for the photos, and she finally did!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Fortunately we had both John and Jess as our only two photographers. You can tell that they worked so well together, knowing one another's next movement... etc.

We booked for a two hour photo session, which included 125 photos on a CD. It sure didn't seem like it was 2 hours, it felt longer in the sense that they both took their time and had tremendous patience with us all!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John and Jess are a truly warm, friendly and easy going couple. And with their easy going attitudes, they made all of us feel so very comfortable. Both my husband and I are NOT comfortable in front of the camera, but John and Jess put us both at ease so much, that before we knew it, the photo session was over.

Truly a pleasure to work with!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Alvarado Photography, truly professionals

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Impossible to pick one,we loved them all!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jess truly has an eye for detail! Even though it was just the two of us, she made us feel so comfortable! Gently coaxed and coached us to get the best shots...kept us on track with our schedule so we were on time.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We had our photos in a cd, just the one photographer since it was a small ceremony, just the two of us

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jess makes you feel like you've known her forever! We truly were quite comfortable with her. You can tell she loves her job and takes the time to get the perfect picture!



Wedding on 2012-05-21


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Amazing Wedding Photographers

What was your favorite wedding photo?

A photo of our first dance with our initials projected onto the wall behind us.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They were every where, yet, never got in the way. We hardly noticed they were there.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We received 350 photos, digitally remastered.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were very nice and fit in well.



Wedding on 2012-05-12


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Amazing photographers and beautiful pictures!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Loved their candid photos. We were amazed at the moments they caught on camera. They blended in with our guests so well.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They were both early on the day of our wedding and did such a wonderful job keeping everything on time. We did not feel rushed at any point. We have so many beautiful pictures to choose from!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

As a team they were both there on the day of our wedding. Our package included a DVD, engagement session, credit for pictures, online proofing with availability to our friends and family.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Absolutely loved John and Jess! They were so professional and ALL of the pictures they took on the day of our wedding came out beautiful. Communication was smooth and effortless. We did not have to worry about one thing with the two of them. They did a wonderful job picking the perfect places and poses for all of our pictures. Their prices were very reasonable when compared to photographers on island. I have already had friends interested in their services. We would recommend them to anyone who asked. OUr family and friends just loved them! They got pictures of everyone at the wedding!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Great photos by great people

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There were too many photos we love to pick one favorite!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

The photographers did a good job of blending into the background on our wedding day while still being close enough to the action to get the great shots. I hardly noticed they were there during the ceremony and reception! The proofs they submitted to us were a nice balance of candid shots, portraits, and shots that captured the atmosphere and ambiance.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Our package included both an engagement photo session and printing credits. We had 2 photographers at the engagement session - Jess & John - and it was a pleasure to work with them. For our wedding, we had Jess & John as well as their assistant, Anthony. Anthony did a great job with the groomsmen getting ready, and he took some really nice photos of the groom prior to the ceremony. We feel like we got a great value on our package.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

The photographers have great personalities and are very easy to get along with. They are professionals and know how to interact with all kinds of people.



Wedding on 2012-04-12


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Best photographer I have ever worked with!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

We had a wonderful time with Jess as she caught the intimate nature of our beautiful Hawaii wedding. She was excellent to work with and the pictures turned out wonderfully. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect day.
Planning our wedding from Canada was a little nerve wracking especially doing it in only 4 months. But Jess was fantastic from the first contact email through alvarado's beautiful site to the arrival of our final proofs. She is a talented professional and is highly recommended.
Thank you for capturing our love!



Wedding on 2012-03-22


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Best Photographer in Hawaii

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Photos of a wedding last a lifetime, so it was very important to us to get the right person to do the job. My husband and I Chose Alvarado Photography and boy did we hit the nail on the head!!!!! There were many friends and family unable to attend our wedding due to the fact we live in Texas and chose to have the ceremony in Hawaii. It was therefore very important to us to get the best pictures ever, and we did!! We were blown away by the great variety of shots taken and professionalism of our photographer (Jess).We are so happy with our wedding photos and our family and friends can’t stop commenting on how wonderful they are. Thank you Alvarado Photography for making a special day even that more special, our photos are our most treasured memory of our wedding day.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Alvarado Photography does amazing work!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I can't just pick one favorite. Alvarado Photography does such great pictures. They captured all of the special moments from my wedding.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

All of the photos, candids, portraits as well as action shots were very well done. Alvarado photography made the experience easy and fun. They guided us on where to look and how to position ourselves for the portraits. Very creative on the candids, capturing different angles and using the surroundings to the best advantage. The action shots were perfect they really captured the special moments.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Very affordable for the package we chose. For my wedding we got two photographers for two hours including time and travel. Up to 125 photos digitally retouched on a personalized wedding DVD. On-line proofing section for two months. Photographer release form to make personal prints/enlargements.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John & Jess were great. They are such an amazing team. They give great direction and very easy to work with. My family and friends had a great time, they made the experience fun!



Wedding on 2012-03-03


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Best Deal in Hawaii!!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite wedding photo is the one with my husband and I and the lion dancers. I am pretending to look scared and my husband is pretending to protect me from the scary lions!!!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They were great with candids, action shots, and portraits. They were very unobtrusive, I hardly noticed they were their, but they managed to get every shot on our important day!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Two photographers. Engagement pics were an option, but we chose to choose extra print money instead. Prints were included, along with 5 hours of photography, and photoshopped pictures.

Love Story Package:
5 hour package
Time and Travel*
Up to 275 photos digital retouched on a personalized DVD**
$100 in print credit***
FREE Mini engagement photo shoot session OR additional $50.00 Print Credit
On line proofing gallery for 3 months
Photographer Release Form to make personal prints/enlargements.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were very friendly, and gave great direction while being completely nice and patient.



Wedding on 2012-01-26


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Wonderful Experience on our Wedding Day

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I had a lot of favorites! Bride & groom beach shots were fantastic.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They had several angles and candids - they captured the entire day beautifully.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

I purchased the ever after package - 2 photographers for 6 hours, mini engagement shoot, 350 photos on a cd & $125 in print credits. It was a bargain!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

So comfortable - they were flexible with taking group photos. They were patient and organized with getting all of our "must have" photos taken care of. I felt relaxed and confident in their ability to capture our special day.


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.