David Rothstein Music
52 Reviews

Selected Best of 2013, 2012, 2010

1735 W. Diversey
Chicago IL 60614
United States




Portfolio




Chicago Wedding Band, Chicago Wedding Bands, Chicago Wedding Music, Chicago Wedding, David Rothstein Music




Reviews (52)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:







shodgman
Wedding on 2014-07-19


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Colleen and Kevin's Fabulous Wedding

First dance song?

The David Rothstein Band was amazing! They really interacted well with our guests. They had everyone on the dance floor the whole night. Our guests have told us that our band was the best band that they had ever heard at any wedding. My daughter and Son-inLaw found David very easy to communicate with prior to the wedding. By the end of the night, David and his band felt like part of the family! I know who to call when my other three kids get married. Thank You David!!


Karolyn Dietrich
Wedding on 2014-10-04


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best Decision Ever - Amazing Music!

First dance song?

Our daughter's wedding was October 4th, 2014. We know how important it is to find the right band/entertainment so every guest has a good time and it makes the reception memorable for all. My husband and I cannot express enough how wonderful the David Rothstein Band was for her wedding and how many of our guests are still complimenting us about them. From the cocktail hour trio to the entire ten piece band closing out the reception at midnight, we were so impressed what a kind, talented, and professional group of musicians they are! Jeff was especially awesome. David himself and Rebecca - David's assistant, were also a dream to work with during the planning stages. We have nothing but the highest regard for the entire staff and are so pleased that we have already told David that we want them to play for us again at our other daughter's wedding! We cannot imagine having anyone else!


Kevin Chandler


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

David Rothstein Music made our wedding night

First dance song?

"You Are the Best Thing" by Ray Lamontaigne

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

By playing the right mix of music and making sure everyone stayed engaged and on the dance floor.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

They kept everyone in the crowd involved and made sure everyone had a great time.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

At two points the horn section came out onto the dance floor and played while everyone danced around them. It felt like something out of a movie!


Allison Mickel


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

My 80 year old great aunt was up and dancing!

First dance song?

The Fear You Won't Fall - Josh Radin

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

At my wedding, we got countless compliments on the band. Everyone said they had no idea wedding bands *could* be this good, including one of my very picky musician friends. Their choice of music was spot-on, even starting a conga line that got everyone including my 80-year-old great aunt up and dancing. And I hate conga lines! But I had to confess, that was one of the highlights of the evening in the end.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Call Me Maybe


alifrogameni


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

David Rothstein Band

First dance song?

Whatever It Is by Zac Brown Band

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We had David Rothstein Band for our wedding 7/12/14 and they were absolutely amazing!! All 250 of our guests were on the dance floor the entire night! Even my grandparents were dancing to song after song. After the wedding, I kept getting comments that we had the best wedding band people had ever heard. David was extremely easy to get in touch with throughout the wedding planning process. He was also able to accommodate any and all requests that we made. The band was worth every penny and I hope that I will be lucky enough to be at a wedding where they play in the future!!


Antonia Jones
Wedding on 2014-07-18


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Hero Band!

First dance song?

Sade By Your Side

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

What a wedding we had! If we could do it over and over again we would and every time we would definitely have David Rothstein Music run the party! You want to give your business to someone who is conscientious and altruistic and David is just that guy! He brings 100% and more to the table going out of his way to make sure that everyone at the event is having a wonderful time. When all of the kids started to peter out on the dance floor because their feet were hurting, David saved the day by running out and buying socks for all of them! Not only that, he provided awesome light-up hats and sunglasses for them giving them added incentive to keep dancing! Everyone had a blast dancing right up to the very end of the night! To top it off, David took our donated flowers to a local nursing home the next morning to "spread the love"! We felt so great about that! Oh, and of course, on top of it, the band was amazing, talented, and energetic....and even with all of that they kept the focus of the night on us and on our party! I highly recommend David Rothstein Music!


Steve_M
Wedding on 2014-05-31


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best Wedding Band!

First dance song?

L.O.V.E. by Joss Stone

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

David Rothstein knew we wanted a party with very little slow songs. They knew how to get people on the dance floor and keep them there. Whenever the floor got a little light, there was a surprise that hooked the entire crowd and got the party going again.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

I think the blinking Michael Jackson hats were a hit! You put that on somebody and suddenly there is a 80 year old Korean guy trying to break dance!

Our wedding was such a blast! Our guests continue to rave about or reception, we even received thank you cards from our guests! David Rothstein and his band were an integral part of our entire event. We had the dance floor packed with guests of all ages and from many cultures. We could certainly recommend to anybody to have The David Rothstein Band for their event, worth every penny!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

All of them!

The best part for us was when the brass players came out and had a dueling solo.


Jeff L


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Amazing Band!!

First dance song?

Kip Moore - Hey Little Girl

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We hired David Rothstein music for our wedding in May. When I went to meet with David I felt like it was too good to be true. The prices were negotiable and he just seemed perfect!!! He was open to all of our ideas and song choices we had in mind. He was also great with advice when we weren’t sure what to play at certain moments in the night. After the meeting, we went on YouTube to listen to samples. Honestly, it’s hard to tell how good a band is online, so we were a little skeptical when we heard their sound. However, when the wedding day came and we heard the band live, it was truly amazing! To our amazement, people were getting up on the dance floor within minutes of the reception. They began with a great intro song by Marc Anthony that really pulled everyone onto the dance floor and let everyone loosen up before the night began. Throughout the night, our guests continuously told us how much fun they were having and how amazing the band was that we picked. They even asked for the band’s information for their future events. To this day, many of our friends and family still talk about the music they heard that day. If you’re looking for a band for your special wedding day, I would fully recommend the David Rothstein band!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

100% interaction

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Marc Anthony - Vivir la Vida


Lisa Maglione


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR NIGHT!!!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

From start to finish David was pretty much the coordinator of events the night of our wedding. The first time I spoke with him over the phone I knew David was the guy for the job, he was so accommodating and helpful the entire time planning our wedding. We booked him almost 2 years ahead of time, he was always available to us for any questions, concerns of suggestions. We met with him twice at his office and he made us feel very comfortable and at ease with the choice that we made.

I was very excited leading up to our wedding about the David Rothstein Band because of the videos I have seen, and my first hand experience with David. We were blown away by the intimacy David and his band brought to our wedding. My husband and I love Elvis Presley- Graceland's front steps is where my husband proposed to me. After getting to know us David had purchased a stand up cut out of Elvis (that also talked) to have all of our guests sign, along with a very unique Elvis PEZ dispenser. Then he helped us recreate the Entrance Song that Elvis played prior to every concert he performed in the 70's, which was our entrance song at our reception. To our surprise the band played an awesome Elvis Medley toward the end of the night & gave us Elvis sunglasses to wear while dancing to Elvis Hits!!! He really takes the time to get to know the bride and groom and it shows the night of the wedding.

Overall, our guests and us were left speechless when the night was over. Anything I needed that night, David made it happen. Everyone loved how interactive the band was playing instruments on the dance floor and including the crowd in many of the songs choruses. I have pictures of my husband holding the Mic and singing with the lead singer-it doesn't get any cooler than that! We have heard many compliments from our guests but our favorites have been "Your wedding ruined it for any other wedding I will ever go to", "Nothing compares to this" and "I do not remember the last time I danced the entire night at a wedding"! Exactly what we were looking for and I am sure you are too! Even my grandfather's only living sibling was out there right after dinner with her walker having a blast!!


David Tarrant
Wedding on 2013-11-02


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

If you want an unforgettable reception..

First dance song?

Til Kingdom Come by Coldplay

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

The mid dinner dance -- most guests had a look of confusion for the first five seconds and then realized this wasn't your average wedding party.

The band coming out into the dance floor at times.

The singer coming out onto the dance floor at times.

The professionalism of the band and just the pure talent. Older people loved it as much as younger crowd. Friends/family that are serious musicians were impressed and thought it was the coolest thing ever.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Unreal.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Hard to pick. I liked our song we danced to. Till Kingdom Come by Coldplay. Not a very popular song and their live version was awesome.


NancyTyler
Wedding on 2013-08-03


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Amazing Band!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Blown Away!! If you are searching for a band...stop. We hired David Rothstein for our daughter's wedding and it was the best decision. They are energetic, fun and sound amazing. The dance floor was packed the entire night. I cannot recommend David Rothstein enough! David as the MC was perfect. The night was perfect


JodiBF
Wedding on 2013-03-03


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Awesome Band!!!!!!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Awesome! Energetic! Accommodating! David Rothstein Band DELIVERS! We had many special requests for the band- including learning our favorite blue grass song for our ceremony, bringing in extra band members to play particular string instruments, accommodating a wild HOUR LONG HORA with an extra Hebrew singer, among other things! We were very particular about the songs on our "do not play list" and the band listened! Our dance floor was packed the entire time and David Rothstein lead a really fun interactive dance toward the end of the night that we loved and my friends loved- people are still talking about our party and the band 4 months out! Thank you DRB!!!!!!


Blanca Baldoceda


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best Wedding Band Ever!

First dance song?

First Day of My Life by Bright Eyes

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Best Band Ever! The David Rothstein Orchestra is amazing. My husband was hesitant about hiring a band initially, but after said it was one of the best decisions we made. David was really great about working with us throughout the whole wedding planning process. We had a few family traditions and special favors we wanted included in the night and he was really accomodating to our requests. He also made really good suggestions about how to keep the energy going during the night. And the night of our wedding was just great. The band is great - they sound great, are fun, have a ton of energy and get everyone excited to be out dancing. So many people came up to us after and told us how great the band was. There is also another thing that stands out about working with David. He really cares about what he does and you having a good time & it shows. He knew we liked to cook and had all our guests sign this huge bowl for cooking. We had such a great time at our wedding and so glad David Rothstein Orchestra played.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Just enough to keep the party going and so fun!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Probably Shout - they came out with the trumpets into the crowd, it was amazing!


Jessica Bee


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Perfect Wedding

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Amazing! How do you express in words something that made your wedding so special. My husband and I had David's musicians at both our wedding ceremony and the reception. It took me a long time to convince my husband that David's band was the way to go, and a DJ could never compare. It is worth the investment! David and his team were so accommodating and flexible and patient. By far the hardest thing for me (because I am not the least bit musically inclined or knowledgable) was picking the ceremony music, so I turned the decisions over to my father-in-law. Alex (who directed the musicians at the ceremony) was very helpful with suggestions and spent a lot of time talking to my father-in-law about the details of the ceremony music. It could not have been more perfect. They worked in perfect harmony with the organist at our church, it was beautiful. As for the reception, my husband and I had total confidence in David to pick the write music for the moment at the reception, so we simply told him songs we did not want, and left the rest up to him. We had chosen two songs to be played from iTunes and David was able to accommodate that and make the music transition seamless. I spent nearly all night on the dance floor with all my guests (of course the floor was always packed), even my 80 year old grandfather with Parkinson's got out on the dance floor. Such priceless moments like that would never had happened without David. He interacted with my guests, who of course loved him, and danced with my Mom and step-mom (both of them were just tickled). David even coordinated with my brother-in-law to sing a song by the Bee-Gees, it was so much fun. I can honestly say that it absolutely made my wedding everything I ever wanted. I could not have asked for more. Thank you so much David.


Stephanie Herian
Wedding on 2012-09-02


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Made it a night to remember

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We are so happy that we chose David Rothstein Music for our wedding. Unlike other bands that we looked into, DRM was willing to work directly with our reception hall so we didn’t have to. Even though our reception was several hours away from Chicago, David made everything run so smoothly.
Not only was the music amazing, but David and his talented musicians had everyone up and having fun on the dance floor. So many of our guests told us that it was the most fun they have ever had at a wedding and we are still getting compliments months later. No matter what we had for entertainment we were going to remember the night forever, but David Rothstein Music made our reception a night that everyone there will remember forever.


Andrew Mutz


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Great Wedding Band!

First dance song?

Just Breathe - Pearl Jam

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

One of the definite "musts" for our wedding was a great band and a great dance party. We searched a number of Chicago bands and decided to go with DRM and could not be happier with our decision. David assured me that the band was amazing and that they would keep our guests dancing all night and he was absolutely right! Our wedding set up was somewhat nontraditional, but Jeff Sanders worked closely with us to figure out the best setup and a rocking dance party ensued. DRM was also very helpful in the planning process and made our wedding and reception music selection process a breeze. Definitely check out this band, you wont be upset.


Mary Flaws
Wedding on 2012-09-22


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best event entertainment ever!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

If I could score DRM above a 5.0, I would! I was the MOH at my best friends wedding. When she decided against a DJ I was a little worried. How upbeat and request friendly could a live band be? Not only was I wrong (which never happens) but I was WAY WRONG!! DRM was better than any DJ could have ever been. They played a variety of music, took requests, and kept the party going. David was on the floor with us from start to finish. He assisted in the speeches, kept us from being nervous, gave us an awesome entrance, and had some fun group numbers to do that made the entire wedding feel like we were not just a number on his schedule. The Best Man's speech was very involved and needed participation from guests. Not only did the guests participate, but so did the band. They were great sports. David purchased a Sox jersey for the bride and groom and had everyone at the reception sign it for them. DRM made everything so personal, like they were just more friends there to celebrate, but with more talent then the rest of us. And a little secret, I DO NOT DANCE! I did at this wedding. I don't think I sat down once actually. Stop looking for your event entertainment, you just found them!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Favorite was a special dance David had us do for the bride and groom. The bride and groom sat in chairs in front of the band while every reception guest lined up in three lines (think U shaped). Each line then took turns dancing up to the bride and groom and the other lines then had to do the same dance. It was great fun!


Mandy Rogers
Wedding on 2012-09-15


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Mandy

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

My husband and I had always said the one thing we wanted at our wedding was a live band, and a full dance floor all night. We met with and researched a lot of different Chicago based bands, but something was different about DRM, something that made him stand out from the other bands we considered. After meeting with David for the first time, my husband and I left with a huge sense of confidence that if we hired him, our wedding would be flawless and we wouldn't have to worry about a thing. Not to mention, our guests would have an absolute blast, and our wedding would be "that wedding" that people talk about 10 years from now as the best wedding they've ever been to.

DRM did not disappoint. David ran the entire show from beginning to end. He made sure the entire bridal party was lined up for introductions, ensured all toasts were in order and on time; even made sure to have a glass of non-alcoholic champagne waiting to hand my father immediately following his toast (since he doesn't drink alcohol). Knowing that David was in charge was a huge relief and allowed me to relax and enjoy our special day.

In addition to the organizational side of things, the band was amazing. I have never been to a wedding that the entire dance floor was so packed I had to literally fight to get one foot on the dance floor...and this was before dinner ever started! Our guests had such a good time, and throughout the night people kept coming up to me telling me how awesome our wedding was and how much fun they were having.
The lead singer had a beautiful voice. I didn't know how well our first dance song would sound live (vs. just playing it on an ipod), but it was wonderful.

Even though we griped about the high investment associated with DRM, looking back, it was well worth the investment and I have no regrets. I would highly recommend DRM if you are considering a band.


Tim Duet


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Groom

First dance song?

We are in love.

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Some phrases that come to mind when I think of the David Rothstein Orchestra are:

1. "Service with a smile"
2. "Extremely professional"
3. "Talented"

From the start and well "after the sale", David is enthusiastic, organized, and flexible. He truly loves what he does and it's very evident. As the old saying goes, "Music makes the party." And, the David Rothstein Orchestra will definitely make your event special.

Frankly, my wife ("Molly") and I were dealing with a different set of circumstances in planning our special day as my beloved father-in-law passed away six weeks prior to our Wedding day. My wife, myself, and our family are extremely positive and happy people. However, you can only imagine the challenges we had to face when a tragic event like that happens during such a joyous time in your life. At one point, we even contemplated a private ceremony at City Hall. But, as my courageous Mother-in-law said, , "the show must go on."

So, she and my wife began planning. Music is a very important part of our lives. But, it's especially important to my wife. So, hiring the right band was critical. "Molly" and I cannot thank the David Rothstein Orchestra enough for the incredible performance that they put on at our Wedding. David and his band members REALLY carried us through a bittersweet time. They really stuck to my wife's music requests but were also able to make it personal for me by learning "Beardown Chicago Bears", "Go Cubs Go", and my personal favorite-letting me "serenade" my wife by allowing me to play lead guitar during our rendition of Oasis' "Wonderwall". "Molly" and I will never forget the magic of that evening and it was due in large part to our new friends at the David Rothstein Orchestra.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Please read review under the question, "How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?"

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

"Wonderwall" and our first dance as a married couple.


Laura McIlroy


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Amazing Band!!!!

First dance song?

Heart of Gold

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

The band was incredibly upbeat and knew just what songs to play to get the crowd involved. They sounded AMAZING and people just couldn't help but get up and dance. They had everyone out on the dance floor - it was hard to find time for a break!!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

The band really got the crowd involved and everyone loved it. They got out into the crowd and made sure everyone was having a good time.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

The tango - they can play anything and it all sounds phenomenal!!


Bryan Cobb
Wedding on 2012-06-16


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

More than we could have hoped for!

First dance song?

"Magic" by Colbie Cailat

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Phenomenal music and attention to detail!! From the very beginning of the planning process, David made us feel like friends. He truly got to know us and our likes/dislikes well beyond specific songs we wanted played and he mapped out the entire evening taking our input at every step. On the day of our wedding, David acted as emcee which made the reception flow from music to special events almost seamlessly and gave us incredible piece of mind. We also did dancing between courses which let us go right into special dances after introductions and saved the entire post-dinner period for partying - I would recommend this despite the additional cost of having the full band present longer. Don't think twice about hiring this group. I haven't even gone into the quality of musicians, their professionalism and interaction with guests. Suffice it to say that the dance floor was never empty and I am still getting comments about how people have never heard such a great wedding band. Thanks to David & co for providing unfaltering energy and excitement for our special day!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Very professional interaction

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

"Shout"


jen debord
Wedding on 2011-09-24


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

INCREDIBLE BAND!!!

First dance song?

Brad Paisley- Then

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

I'm not sure how they did it but they did it. They came out and played with the crowd. They kept the songs upbeat and fun, and they had surprises around every corner.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Everyone had a blast, all we keep hearing was "you're wedding was so much fun, and that BAND was amazing"

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

ALL OF THEM. It was truly a night to remember for EVERYONE!!!


Lori Ard


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

SO GREAT!

First dance song?

My Dad & I sand Peace in the Valley

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

OK...... So I know hiring a band for a wedding or event is expensive and some of you are wondering if it is worth it. Well I can tell you if you hire this band IT IS!!!!!! David and his band played at our wedding July 30th and they were suberb! My Dad and I decided we were going to sing a duet together instead of doing a father daughter dance and David was so accomodating. They learned the somg and played it perfectly when my Dad and I sang. It was the hit of the party! David was always super quick to answer any questions or concerns I had and was very kind. The dance floor was packed all night and we loved the fact that the entire band got involved with all the guests. My uncle is in a band himself and he went on & on about how great my band was and that he was very impressed. So many of my guests keep telling me that my wedding was truly the best they have attended and believe me David has everything to do with this :)

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Good

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

All


Michael McGloon
Wedding on 2011-08-13


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

HIRE THIS BAND

First dance song?

Wonder of You-Elvis Presley

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

David and his band played our wedding on 8/13/11 in Schiller Park and brought the house down!! EVERYONE had an amazing time. EVERYONE was on the dance floor. EVERYONE was raving about the band. Several people went so far as to tell us it was the BEST wedding they had ever been to. Not only did they play the kind of music we wanted to hear, they learned a few traditional Irish songs that we wanted our families to dance to

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

EVERYONE was on the dance floor. EVERYONE was raving about the band.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Our last song of the night: Sweet Home Chicago to end the reception. Horn section out on the dance floor surrounded by 300 guests going crazy. It was the perfect end to an AMAZING night


Marni Zaideman
Wedding on 2011-08-28


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best band ever

First dance song?

Al Green - Let's Stay Together

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

I am soooo happy that I had David Rothstein and his band as my wedding band. They promised they would get everyone on the dance floor, and they definitely delivered. They were able to personalize our wedding for us, by playing everything that we asked, ranging from Klezmer music, to oldies, to modern music. They even had a few amazing surprises for us-including a gift of two aprons that they asked our guests to sign for us. I wasn't the only one impressed by the band-- all of our guests were raving about the band, and saying what an amazing job they did. I highly recommend this band for any celebration!!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

The wedding guests were on the dance floor the entire night. They were all really impressed with the band, and said that they were the best band they've ever seen.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Shout.


Lisa Ihde
Wedding on 2011-05-15


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

The Best Band EVER!

First dance song?

At Last - Etta James

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Keeping everyone involved!


Melissa Boston
Wedding on 2011-05-28


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Amazing!

First dance song?

Amazing - we danced to Elton John's 'our song'

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Amazing! That’s really the only way to describe David Rothstein Music.
My husband and I had the privilege of hiring David and his merry band for our wedding, in May. The band was amazing.
Music was one of the areas where my husband and I spent a lot of time ‘discussing’ our options; circling around the topic of DJ vs. Band vs. combo vs. BUDGET.
Here are a few of the reasons that we initial decided on Dave Rothstein Music:
• His rave reviews – which seemed to good to be true… but I can say, I now understand where everyone was coming from!
• His professionalism – During our first meeting, which he graciously accommodated early on a Sunday morning, to fit our schedules, he was prepared with examples, paperwork, and videos to guide us through the available options and help us create a viable and fitting musical program to match our wedding style. (To my husband’s delight, Dave quickly ushered us from one Mac product to another displaying videos on a large mac desktop and then demonstrating his unique set-list approach on the iPad – this alone was enough to win over my husband!)

We did have a few concerns prior to/while booking:
• The costs – I have to admit, I did experience a moment of sticker shock. It really was a commitment to spend what we did on music, and we didn’t make the decision lightly. After receiving David’s quote, we had to sit down and figure out what was really important to us on our wedding day. Through our mental review of weddings past (both great and, unfortunately, some really bad) we realized that music was the determining factor in most cases; thus, convincing us to commit.
• Will a band really appeal to all our guests? Will people dance? – My biggest fear was that no one would dance; we would spend all of this money on a fancy band and people would be wishing they could plug in their iPods and put on dance hits. David quelled this fear a little by showing us videos of prior weddings and the packed dance floors. I was still hesitant (and preloaded my ipod – just incase... needless to say, it was not needed!)

Overall review – I couldn’t have been happier with how everything turned out! I will recommend Dave Rothstein Music to all of my friends and family!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

good. appropriate!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

to many to count!!!


David Ramich
Wedding on 2011-06-18


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best Wedding Band of All Time

First dance song?

“When you say nothing at all”

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We had two dance floors and roughly 150 guests. I would say that both dance floors were completely full 90% of the time and the majority of our friends danced the entire time the band played. The band largely played great dancing songs and only sprinkled in a few slow songs throughout the night, so everyone was always dancing.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

We have had multiple guests tell us after the wedding that it was the best wedding band they had ever heard.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Right after my wife and I had our first dance the band immediately transitioned into "I Gotta Feeling" by Black Eyed Peas and practically our entire wedding reception jumped onto the dance floor. It was fantastic.


Rebecca Belger
Wedding on 2011-07-02


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Outstanding Music! Outstanding Party!

First dance song?

Smile by Uncle Cracker

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

David Rothstein did an outstanding job of reading the crowd. They knew our wedding was large, so they suggested "Dancing Between Courses" which got the party going immediately and got people excited about dancing the rest of the night. David worked as the emcee which helped make sure things flowed. He helped us make the wedding personal by getting to know us. He was willing to coordinate with my husband who had written a special song for me on the piano so that he could play it and worked with us to dedicate a special song to my aunt and uncle who were celebrating their 45th wedding anniversary that same day. David worked very hard to make the wedding what we wanted and to ensure that our guests would have a blast.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

The singer and various musicians came out into the crowd throughout the night to interact with the guests, and everyone loved that! David was also up all night keeping the party exciting and interacting with people to get them on the dance floor. There were so many people that commented to me, my husband and my parents about how fantastic the entertainment was and how much fun they had.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

At one point, David got just about everyone out of their seats and on the dance floor to do this dance. People lined up in a horseshoe and followed his lead by doing crazy steps and funny movements. It sounds kind of silly, but it was hilarious to watch, and you could see by the looks on people's face and the laughter that the crowd was enjoying it to.


Ellen Davellis


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best Decision!! Amazing Experience!!

First dance song?

My fiance and I knew that one of our biggest priorities for our wedding was getting the best possible band - a great band makes for a fantastic and fund wedding. We did research into Chicago area bands and David was by far the most helpful and responsive from the start. Our timing was great because soon after we spoke with him we were able to see the band play live at a wedding event - they were awesome and David was so great! After we hired them, David continued to be super helpful and supportive throughout the planning process (unlike some vendors who disappear after they get your deposit!) David's process for getting to know you, whats important to you for your wedding and what kind of music you want is impeccable.

So after a great experience leading up to the wedding, our expectations were HIGH - very high! And DRM exceeded them tenfold (which I did not think was possible). First, David does an excellent job emceeing the night - especially in the beginning a lot is going on - announcements, first dance, toasts, etc. But the best part was that our dance floor was packed the entire night - young and old! A lot of people's favorite moment was when the trumpet section came on to the dance floor with everyone! Everyone had a blast and a million people told me that they've never had so much fun at a wedding or that it was the best wedding they've ever been to. And I know these people and they were not just being nice. I attribute 95% of this to David and his band. They are not cheap, but worth every penny - you get what you pay for!!! If I had to do it again all over on a budget, I would hire David, and skimp on everything else. Nothing else is as important as the atmosphere, energy and the fun at your wedding. Thanks David!!!!


Emmie Ryan
Wedding on 2011-01-29


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

GREAT BAND!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We chose David for our reception music only and it was a very wise investment, indeed! From the very beginning, David was very professional while giving off a "we're good friends from way back" vibe. He was very easy to talk to and do business with. Being a music junkie myself, I personally believed the band was the most important part of my wedding, so I was VERY picky about picking a band. The song selection was endless and their energy while performing was lively and addictive. David worked with me to be sure everything was exactly how I wanted it and even learned some songs that were special to my husband and I. We got married in January and my guests are still talking about their performance and saying how it will be a wedding they will "remember for a lifetime". They helped me every step of the way and made the whole planning process a lot let stressful. David was sure to include important family and cultural traditions as well as family members during their performance. I can not say enough good things about them! You won't regret your decision if you choose DRM, I promise!


Sarah Kandl
Wedding on 2010-12-18


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

DRB

First dance song?

"When You Say Nothing at All"

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

What you read in the DRB reviews is true! David Rothstein really delivered on his promise: we had the best wedding ever! Our dance floor was packed the entire time the band was playing, and our guests had a wonderfully memorable evening. The best part of the night was when the lead singer and the horns came down from the stage and danced with our friends and family. It was a special and unique touch.
From the very first phone call with David, you feel as if he guarantees all will have a good time, and he does not disappoint. I’ll always be grateful to him for including my 82 year grandmother in such a special way. During our first meeting and through our “get to know you” questionnaire, David picked up on the importance of the relationship my husband I share with my grandma, and he made sure to not only recognize our relationship during the wedding, but he also gave her a gift that she will always treasure.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Yes

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Spice Girls "Wanna Be"


Andrew Stoll


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

The Band that made our day!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Picking a wedding band is a daunting task:

So much execution risk...How do I know I am making the right choice?...Will they be any good? Do they understand my vision of the experience I am trying to create?

From the start, David Rothstein put all of our concerns to rest. The process he went through in working with us before our wedding was highly professional, illustrative of what he and team have to offer, and was tailored to what we were looking for.

And the reception it self was a huge success! David played the role of a charming emcee and kept the party rocking. We opted for a NY / E Coast style dancing in between courses, and the band could not have pulled off the logistics better!

David went above and beyond what might be expected of a band, learning our first dance, "To Make You Feel My Love"; "The Sweetheart of Sigma Chi" so that I could sing with my fraternity brothers to my bride; "Hail to the Chief," upon introducing the Father of the Bride; and yes, even a polka medly for the extended Germanic family members!

The energy level remained high the entire night and the dancefloor was packed from the first introduction. My groomsman said that the extended version (with audience participation) of "Shout" was the best he's ever heard and Lou singing Sinatra will be something no one will forget.

We got married in June this year and during Christmas parties and gatherings this December, family and friends were still talking about David Rothstein!


Suzanne Hardy VonDruska
Wedding on 2010-12-04


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

BEST BAND EVER!!!!

First dance song?

Awesome, love them!!!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

They kept us all entertained with different styles of music, fun games, and the best of all was our incredibly long lasting conga line!!!! It was truly amazing!!!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Yes, they were all so friendly, nice, and full of great ENERGY!!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

HOT HOT HOT!!


Beth Todd


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best Wedding Band Ever!

First dance song?

How Sweet it Is by James Taylor

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

They were amazing at keeping the party going. We had dancing between the courses and the party started right away and continued through the whole night. The guests LOVED it!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Yes, the band got on the floor during the song Shout and the band leader walked around interacting with guests throughout the night.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Shout


lindsay holler
Wedding on 2010-10-16


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Absolutely Fantastic!

First dance song?

Just Breathe by Pearl Jam

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Very interactive with audience and high energy

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Not sure

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Shout!


Kristin Gullo
Wedding on 2010-09-25


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Classiest, Best Wedding Entertainment in Chicago!

First dance song?

"Just the Way You Are" by Billy Joel

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

They just put together an amazing playlist that progressed perfectly (because that is key to a good band or DJ), and appealed to ALL age groups! They were energetic and interactive, without being too overpowering! Just great!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Yes! We had one of the sax players on the floor with us for our first dance to highlight the sax solo in our song. It added so much to a first dance, that can otherwise be pretty predictable. The lead singer also came out in the middle of the crowd for the song "Shout!", which got EVERYONE on their feet...although, chances are, they already were!!!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

After the first dances, we had the band invite all our wedding guests out onto the dance floor and they kicked off with the song "September" by Earth, Wind & Fire since we got married in September. It was such an upbeat, fun party song, that literally got every guest from every age group, out on the dance floor. No one left until midnight when they turned on the lights and the party was over! It was just what we wanted and more!


Lawrence Wang
Wedding on 2010-09-18


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best band in Chicago!

First dance song?

David and his band were absolutely amazing! They made our wedding a total blast, and our guests have not stopped telling us what a treat it was to dance the night away to the music of a live band. David's ability to energize and involve the crowd was just amazing...he even got my 81-year-old grandmother out on the dance floor!

David was easy to work with, promptly responded to questions, and took care of every little detail. My husband and I could not have asked for anything more. Thanks again, David, from Maria and Mark!


Lawrence Wang


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Amazing Band from Chicago!

First dance song?

Unforgettable

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

David walked around encouraging everyone to dance - the dance floor was packed. Everyone had a blast and the environment was very fun and energetic!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

One of the vocalists sang "Shout!" on the dance floor and asked me to help him sing. David danced with our guests and encouraged everyone to dance and have fun!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

"Shout!" - everyone was on the dance floor and was laughing and having fun!


Matt Conn
Wedding on 2010-07-17


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

What a Reception!

First dance song?

The David Rothstein Band was fantastic at our wedding. David had two weddings that night, so Jeff Sanders was our band director. He was an amazing MC and musician and the band was outstanding. We had a great time and our guests can't stop talking about the band.
We started with a 7 piece during dinner and expanded to the 10 piece for dancing. The horns and the extra vocalist made the atmosphere and our guests were on the floor all night.
Thank you Jeff and David for all your help. You helped make our wedding a HUGE success.


Nathan Lynch
Wedding on 2010-05-15


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Great Music / Wedding 5/15/2010

First dance song?

You are the Best Thing - Ray LaMontagne

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Great music and selection. We worked with them from the beginning so they would know what kind of music we liked. By then watching how the wedding was going and what people were responding to they were able to keep it going.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Everyone had a great time, and asked how we found them.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Journey - Don't stop Believing.. Actually got played twice..


Sara Berg


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Awesome Band

First dance song?

I'm Yours by Jason Mraz

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We had David Rothstein Music play for our wedding in March 2010. We had 2 ceremony musicians (violin and piano) for the cocktail hour, 7 piece orchestra before dinner, and 10 piece after dinner. They were fabulous!

David was very easy to work with and really cared about us and our event. He went out of his way to make sure that things went the way we wanted them to, and to make each member of our families happy. He was very accomodating when it came to discussing the details of our event, and very thoughtful.

The music itself was awesome! Our dance floor was packed for the whole night. It was the perfect combination of music and everyone had a great time on the dance floor. They even learned a new song for our first dance, and allowed 2 of our friends to sing with the band! David Rothstein music allowed us to have the event we had hoped for!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

The horn players and vocalists came out onto the dance floor for some of the songs and people loved it!


Schan S


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Awesome Live Band


Jason Kilsdonk


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Amazing Performance!

First dance song?

Lucky - Jason Mraz

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

My wife and I were married May 9, 2009, and had a wonderful experience hiring David to take care of our music for both the ceremony and reception. We were able to pick from an extensive song list, encompassing any variety of music we could want to choose from, to create our perfect song list. One of the best parts was being able to pick songs we wanted that the band had not played before. The band did a phenomenal job accommodating our requests, and our guests had a great time dancing and enjoying an excellent performance! I would highly recommend David to anyone who wants to have music a cut above the rest for any type of special occasion!


sharon wagner
Wedding on 2009-07-17


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Amazing Band

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

They got our wedding guests going and going and going.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Amazing

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Every song played by DRS was our favorite. We loved "Lou", he sounded just like Frank SInatra during our dinner reception.


Joel Casper
Wedding on 2009-10-25


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Great Band!

First dance song?

Wonderful Tonight

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

David and his band were part of our wedding at the Sofitel downtown. We had the classical quartet, the jazz trio and the 11 piece orchestra for dancing. The ceremony music was great - and the Ceremony Music Director, Alex, was very helpful to my wife before the wedding.

Our hora was amazing, and we had the dance floor packed the whole night even though it was a Sunday. It was a great selection of music for all age groups. We received lots of compliments from our guests, and we had a great time too!

David had great communication and follow up from the very beginning. The band was punctual and professional - on your wedding day its nice not to have to worry about that kind of stuff.


Courtney Farrell


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Great band!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

"David Rothstein and band played for our wedding back in November. They did the music for the church, the cocktail hour, dinner and the reception!! They were absolutely amazing and kept the party going all night. The music during the early part of the night was so enjoyable and once the dancing started, our guests, as well as the two of us, never left the dance floor!! The band did a great job of getting everyone on their feet and the music was enjoyable for people of all ages. Three months later, we are still being told by our guests that it was the most fun wedding they have ever attended. We truly recommend David Rothstein Music for any event!"


Adrienne Stockhausen
Wedding on 2007-10-06


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Fantastic Band

First dance song?

You've Got a Friend In Me - Randy Newman

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

One of the things that was most important to me while planning the wedding was for all of our guests to have a great time, and I knew that needed a great band. David Rothstein didn't disappoint! We danced all night, and regularly received compliments after the wedding. I frequently heard "we loved the horns!" or "we loved the singers!" and "we just loved the band, who were they?!" Hearing what a fun night everyone had made this band a great choice for our wedding.


lisa stonehocker


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Recommendation for Wedding Band

First dance song?

I'm yours, jason mraz

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

David Rothstein Music was a part of our wedding planning that we did not get worked up about because of the excellent organization, experience, and professionalism of the band. To compliment that, the band was awesome and even came off stage at times to work the crowd. Our dance floor was always crowded and we still get compliments today about the band. Numerous people have come up to us saying how the night started with such energy from when we first entered the reception hall and this energy never died. They are talented and very involved, ensuring that the night goes smoothly and most importantly, that everyone has a good time. Plus, they are even willing to learn songs if necessary, and that was huge for us.


abby muratore


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best Wedding Band in Chicago


Rebeca Daisley


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Our Wedding

First dance song?

Sway - a New Zealand Singer - they learned the song

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

"We used David Rothstein Music for our wedding and could not have been happier with the night! They did an amazing job of getting EVERYONE on the dance floor all night long... They did a great job learning about us and listened to what we'd want to hear... It was like our own personal upbeat concert! They did a great job with the Klezmer portion of the night, getting all of the older guests involved, and they did an amazing job with the mainstream music.

My husband is from New Zealand, so they did a great job learning some NZ music to add to the night and we requested they learn "Land Downunder." They put so much into learning the song that it really made the night. They even brought out a flute to stay really true to the song, which was the talk of the night! It was really impressive.

Tons of our guests went out of their ways to tell us how amazing the band was and that it was the most fun wedding they'd ever been to! If you're looking for a quite night for your wedding, this is not the band for you... We had an amazing night, thanks to the music and I've never been so exhausted in my entire life!"

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Land Downunder


Jim Lahanis
Wedding on 2009-10-02


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best. Wedding. Ever.

First dance song?

Everything by Michael Buble

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

With great entertainment and even better sound.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

David Rothstein Band played for our wedding on 10/02/09. My husband was very unsure about getting a band vs a DJ, he was not convinced that it was worth the cost. But , after meeting with David and seeing that it wasn't just about the music its about the whole flow of the wedding we decided to go with the band. We could not have been happier!!! We went with the full horns section and had Lou sing for us over dinner. THE HORNS ARE A MUST!!!! We didn't have to worry about a thing the whole night. The band is very professional and has their act together. Well Done.

Thanks for a great night and a fun time!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Our first dance.


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.