Tom Nicol Photography
34 Reviews

Selected Best of 2012, 2010, 2009

330 Olson Court
Geneva IL 60134
United States




Portfolio




You have a lot of choices when it comes to wedding photography. I know that looking at ads, websites, and all the other sources of information can be overwhelming. So why choose me to be your photographer? I try to keep your choices simple and your costs reasonable. If you call me, I'll answer and if you send me email, I'll answer that too. I won't try to sell you more than you really want, but can offer you all the things you'd like - engagement session, photo CD, proof book, and digital albums. And your gallery will be online in days not weeks. I'll be there for you before, during, and long after your wedding's over if there's anything you need.

The receptions and parties, even honeymoons, are over all too soon, and memories fade. Relive your wedding day any time you like and keep those moments alive forever. Call or email me soon to check your date availability.




Reviews (34)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:








Wedding on 2013-01-12


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Wonderful!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There are wayyy to many great pictures to chose from! One of my favorites was when he got a picture of my husband and I kissing at our head table with the wedding party in the back. Very nice.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Disrupting? Tom took over our day (in the best way possible). I was stressed and all over the place but when Tom arrive, early I might add, I showed him the dress and bouquets and he went to town. He took all the pictures of the girls getting ready then he move to the guys. He had a lot of great ideas for pictures including pictures of me sitting in front of a piano with each bridesmaid. I love those pictures!! I really appreciated that. He knows what he is doing.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

He was extremely flexible on how many hours we wanted. I believe I emailed him a few days before the wedding asking him for a few more and his response was I could add time on whenever I wanted including the day of the wedding. It was wonderful. Then he gave us the rights to all the photos along with a CD with them all on it. He also made us a wedding picture book with 100 pictures that we chose. It's a really sweet and cute touch and decoration. I love it.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

My family and I really enjoyed Tom. He was profession, friendly, and nice. I love all that he did.



Wedding on 2012-12-12


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Amazing Photos

What was your favorite wedding photo?

It would be impossible to choose only one photo as my favorite! As the mother of the bride, I am so happy Tom was able to capture the emotions of the day from joy of the reveal, the pride of her father as they walked down the aisle, the tenderness of a first kiss and the celebration as two lives were joined.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was in "stealth mode" most of the day....he was able to capture photos at beautiful angles and we were unaware he was there. He was respectful and courteous to everyone. I love the way he can see s shot and frame it so beautifully.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom is a very talented photographer and a great person. From the beautiful engagement photos to capturing the details of the wedding day, he exceeded my expectations.



Wedding on 2012-12-12


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Could't be Happier!!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I'm not sure it is possible to pick just one photo that Tom took throughout the day. They were all fantastic!! I am having a difficult time trying to figure out which ones to hang throughout my house.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom blended into the background the day of our wedding and got some amazing shots that I didnt even know he took. I like the wide variety of pictures that he took, from action shots to portraits, they were all beautiful. I feel extremely lucky to have had such a wonderful photographer for our wedding day!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom made us feel extremely comfortable and was even able to get great photos of my husband smiling with teeth, which he never does!! Tom was so accommodating and made sure that everyone was visible in all of our group photos- even the large family ones! I couldnt be happier with all of our photos and would recommend Tom to anyone looking for a fantastic photographer.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Awesome!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

So hard to choose! Tom took so many amazing shots. There was a beautiful one of me behind our church by this tree. It looked like something out of a magazine!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I have had people comment while looking at my pictures "wow! where was he when he took these! didnt even know he was there!"

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Included was an engagement session, a custom made album, he wwent wherever we wanted him the whole day, and we got the rights to all engagement and wedding photos on a CD.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom was awesome. It was such a pleasure doing business with him and I would suggest him to anyone. Couldnt have been nicer!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Wonderful!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

All of them! I can't choose just one! They were absolutely amazing!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I barely noticed that pictures were even being taken of us. Tom captured all the shots and more that I could imagine without us even noticing. He captured wonderful pictures of our ceremony and reception. Lots of family pictures too which I loved because it's so hard to enjoy your special day with everyone, but seeing the pictures made me realize how much fun everyone had!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

In our wedding package we had an engagement photo session in the location of our choice, a disc with all the images, a memory book and Tom also included a little montage of the pictures with a beatiful song! We chose not to have our wedding videotaped and Im so happy we chose that because the photographs themselves tell the story of our special day!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Extemely comfortable!!



Wedding on 2011-10-08


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Best. Photographer. EVER.

What was your favorite wedding photo?

a GORGEOUS black and white of our faces at our first dance... twinkly lights and HUGE smiles. it captured the ENTIRE feel of the evening!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was such an absolute joy to work with... in reviewing our wedding photos I realized there were shots from when I didn't even think he was in the room! He was SO NON INTRUSIVE! This was a huge concern of mine, I didn't want someone bowling people over, or getting in my guest's views either... he did the best job of getting multiple angles, multiple options... and literally breath-taking shots. there were so many good ones, I wouldn't be able to choose... he was so polite and professional and very flexible. He understands how stressful a wedding can get and is so willing to work with any situation. We had planned on taking a few more pictures of just the two of us after the wedding but we took so many family pictures that we sort of ran out of time... and he was able to make time for one more hour for just my husband and I in the following weeks... SO sweet. I would recommend him to anyone!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

the prices were phenominal compared to other vendors... we paid 1450 for an engagement session, unlimited photos the day of the wedding at two locations... our own site to go and order pictures from, and a memory book (album) of pictures of our choosing... this is pennies compared to the 5000 and 3000 my friends have paid for the same quality pictures!!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

he was VERY polite, and VERY professional, dressed nicely... and basically just blended in! he was able to make conversation so easily and got along with everyone.



Wedding on 2011-09-09


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Couldn't have asked for a better photogrpaher!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

How could I possibly choose?! There was actually one picture that I look at and laugh about often...During our reception a couple of my friends noticed that one of the banquet servers looked a lot like Pauly D from the infamous Jersey Shore. As the night wore on they actually convinced him to pose with them....and the picture is EPIC! The guy seriously looked like Pauly D...and we get lots of comments about it now! (Thanks for being patient with all our obnoxious wedding guests, Tom!)

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I was actually very excited to see Tom as soon as he showed up. I knew from then on everything would run super smoothly. My husband and I did all of our "posed" pictures before the actual ceremony...including family and bridal party shots. Even during our posed pictures I felt like we were given a lot of freedom to do certain poses. And honestly, during the ceremony and reception I don't remember seeing Tom all that much....but he was right there to capture every moment!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We received a copy of all our pictures as well as the rights to them. We also received a complmentary engagement shoot (so much fun) and unlimited amount of time with him at the wedding. Also included is a "proof book" with our 100 favorite pictures.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

From the moment I met Tom at a bridal show I knew I wanted to use him as our photographer. He's very laid back and is calm about everything. During the planning process he was very organized and checked in frequently. Leading up to the wedding he only checked in when needed which helped me stay on track with everything else. Tom made it very fun taking all the posed shots of the wedding party and families and I really felt like to he listened to us and gave us exactly what we wanted. I would ABSOLUTELY refer him to anyone to capture moments of their big day! :-)



Wedding on 2011-07-30


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Amazing!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Tom took so many fabulous photos! He did such a great job at directing us to get a great shot. I love the candids he took, especially the ones of our first dance.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom just sort of blended into the background. You didn't even know he was there. However, he was great at giving us directions and guiding us to a perfect shot. I love the candids that he took of the day.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Our package included 4 hours, a 100 photo album, a CD of the proofs with rights, and engagement pictures.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

All members of my family just raved about Tom. They said that he was quiet, but he gave good instructions to pose us for our family shots.



Wedding on 2011-04-09


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

ABSOLUTELY THE BEST PHOTOGRAPHER EVER"!! THANKS T

What was your favorite wedding photo?

It is hard to pick a favorite wedding photo. They are ALL ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. I LOVE them ALL. Tom captured so many beautiful moments in a picture. I love the ones when we are walking outside just being ourselves, the ones taken of us dancing, then there are the ones of me and my maid of honor walking into the church. You see what I mean, it’s impossible to pick a favorite. I just don’t know how Tom does what he does, but his pictures are breathtaking, magical and priceless.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom did not disrupt anything. He was very patient and was able to work around all the guests taking pictures. He captured so many wonderful pictures, from candids, action, portraits and so much more. There are moments he caught that I don’t remember and there are others that brought joyful tears to my eyes. I really don’t know how he managed to get all those great pictures. I think he has super powers. I am so grateful for Tom’s skill and gift at capturing my Fairy Tale Wedding day.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Tom has different packages to help get you started. The packages are very straight forward, easy to understand and his prices are very reasonable. He is very flexible to add to the package and will to help you along the way to customize what you want. He also does this picture video, set to music that captures the day. We did the smaller package of 4 hours, with the photo book, and DVD.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

From the very first time I saw his pictures and then after meeting Tom, I knew I found the photographer that I would entrust to capture our Fairy Tale Wedding Day. Tom has a great personality, is compassionate, and was fun to work with. He made us and all of our guests feel very comfortable. Tom truly has a gift for capturing moments in a photo that tell a story.



Wedding on 2011-03-19


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Couldn't be more pleased!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

It's hard to pick what my favorite wedding photo would be since I felt they were all so beautiful and really captured the feel of the day. However, one of my favorites was actually taken as my new husband and I were getting ready to head over to the reception, my husband took off his jacket and put it around me because it was getting a little chilly. Tom ran up and captured that sweet moment.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was never, never in the way. When I saw the pictures afterwards, I was amazed at the pictures he captured because I never really heard him or saw him running around. His candids are great!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

My wedding photo package included an engagement session (that we unfortunately didn't take advantage of because our engagement was a few short months), and a photo book with 100 of our favorite pictures from the ceremony.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom made us all comfortable by allowing us to kind of get the pictures we wanted. He wasn't forceful and was very patient with us as we got lined up for pictures. Overall, out of all the vendors I worked with--Tom was by far the best pick for the wedding.



Wedding on 2010-11-06


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Best Choice I made in wedding planning!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I absolutely LOVE all the pics! My favorite would have to be the pic of me and my groom outside the church. Tom did such a great job with all the pics that Im having a hard time picking the pics for our album! There are so many to choose from and I love the all!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

He was simply amazing! I had him with me all day! He started at my parents house in the morning and stayed the entire time at the reception. I didn't even know he was there at times! He got all the pics I asked for and more! Anytime someone asked for a pic he was always ready and willing to capture the moment! Love my cake pics!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

My wedding photo package included all day coverage, an album of my choice, and complimentary engagement pics. The package also included a CD with all the engagement pics and wedding pics. All packages are VERY affordable!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

We were completely comfortable with Tom the day we met with him to "interview" him for our wedding. My family and friends all raved about his photography! He made me laugh and made my groom smile! We are very satisfied with our wedding pics and would definitly recommend Tom Nicol for wedding photography!



Wedding on 2010-10-09


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

"BEST PHOTOGRAPHER EVER"!! 100% HAPPY! THANKS TOM!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

All of them! Ok, if I had to pick one, I really couldn't...Tom captured every waking moment possible! My "two" favorites are, how he captured our "You may kiss your Bride" photo. I along with my husband are very shy, and we don't often kiss in public, so I was quite worried how the picture would come out, considering how uncomfortable it is in front of all those people! Well, when I saw the picture (there are two, that captured the kiss) I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL IT LOOKED! It looked like something out of the movies...the first photo, just leaning in almost to the point of our lips touching, and then the actual lip touching kiss...so romantically BEAUTIFUL!! My second favorite picture was how Tom captured the moment after the kiss when we were announced...the smiles on our faces seemed to glow, and at that very moment you could truly see just how happy we both were!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom could never disrupt anything! For being only one person, I could not believe how he managed to get around so fast, to be able to capture EVERYTHING! I can't tell you how many people said "I had a great time at your wedding" and you would know that was the truth by how Tom seemed to capture that feeling...it was like watching a video when I viewed the photos, it was like I was there all over again! During the reception every photo Tom took, really showed the mood of the evening, I don't think there was one picture taken where someone wasn't smiling!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Honestly, you just can't find a better photographer for the money...PERIOD!! Our package included, ALL DAY coverage, no time limit (from the ceremony to the reception), complimentary engagement session, high resolution CD of all images with copyright release, and to top it off, a 100 page 7x7 hardcover memory book! I know friends that had two photographers cover their wedding and honestly, I truly feel Tom "alone" captured more moments than those "two" photographers together! Like I told him after seeing my photos...I think he must be magical, I still don't know how he did it!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom is so easy going and friendly, he just fits right in like a member of your family! He is so creative and so professional. He listens to what you want, while also giving his expert advice. If you have a chance to visit his website, you will see how fantastic his work is...straight down to these beautiful videos he puts together of "still pictures". From the song he chose, to the layout of every single picture...even if you view one, of a wedding where you don't know the people, I promise you will cry your eyes out...I mean that's how beautiful it is!! When I viewed mine, I surely cried my eyes dry! Although the planning of my wedding was VERY stressful...everything that could have gone wrong..."DID"! Although from the start, the one thing I was always confident about, was Tom Nicol and his wonderful gift of photography! My wedding was October 09, 2010...and to say the least, it was the most PERFECT day of my life!! Even the weather was fabulous...80 degrees the second weekend in October? Who would have ever imagined! I can tell you that Tom took the most beautiful pictures that I will truly cherish forever!! Thank you Tom from my heart...thank you!



Wedding on 2010-07-30


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Beautiful pictures!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite wedding photo was taken just after my husband and I had gotten married. We were just announced and walking down the aisle. Tom captured us at the perfect moment. You could see the joy on our faces. Priceless!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom worked with us to get the posed pictures done and then stayed in the background for the rest of the evening. Some of my favorite pictures were taken when we didnt even know that he was taking them.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

An engagement photo session, copyrights to all pictures, CD for both the engagement session and wedding, and 8x8 photo proof book

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Very friendly, remembered people's names, very flexible, worked with whatever time schedule we gave him...



Wedding on 2010-08-14


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Great professionalism, creativity

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Oddly enough, our favorite wedding photos were the one showing people being themselves and having fun. Everyone commented how much fun our wedding was, and Tom captured many of those moments.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I must say that the people who came to our wedding often disrupted Tom! I come from a "photographic" family; we have alot of amateur photographers who shoot DSLRs, and Tom was able to work around the distractions like a professional. All his shots turned out great, even those tough low-light shots! I don't know how he managed to get the shots he did -- while we were enjoying the wedding he was working, start to finish.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Tom shot our wedding alone, as it was a pretty small venue. The chapel barely fit 100 people and the reception hall was small, too. I don't think he would have needed an assistant. We will be receiving a DVD with all the wedding photos along with a professionally prepared wedding album. We were engaged three years ago and told Tom engagement photos were not necessary.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom was great. He managed to work seamlessly within the crowd. Many of his shots surprised me when I first saw them on his site, making me think "How did he get that one?" The compositions and creativity were awesome!



Wedding on 2010-06-26


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Excellent!!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There were so many favorite pictures that Tom took, but my favorite was of our first dance.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was more than willing to work with us throughout the entire process. He showed up on time for everything and was always extremely nice and professional. Tom took so many pictures throughout the reception and ceremony that we love with multiple angles and finishing touches.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Tom offers a number of different wedding photo packages and will work with you to figure out exactly what you need/want.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

We felt comfortable with Tom because he was never demanding or asking us to do things that we didn't want to do. Also, when we first met with him we went over different poses that we wanted and didn't want. We never had to ask him to do anything for us, he used his own creativity to shoot hundreds of pictures that we continue to look at in awe.



Wedding on 2010-05-29


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Wonderful Photographer

What was your favorite wedding photo?

It's truly very difficult to just pick out one photo as my favorite. Tom Nicol did an amazing job on my wedding photo's and I couldn't be any happier!!! Tom also did my sisters wedding 2 years ago and they turned out amazing too!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was wonderful with working with everyone especially the video guy. He took all the pictures I wanted in all the many different places around Dixon. I am truly happy with all of my wedding pictures!!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

My fiancé and I met with Tom for our engagement pictures in the middle of Winter and Tom was very understanding and flexible with shooting winter engagement pictures.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom is a great guy and was very helpful in making sure we captured everything from our wedding day!



Wedding on 2011-06-11


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Amazing Photographer Amazing Pictures

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My fiancé Brian and I recently had our engagement pictures taken by Tom Nicol at Lombard Lilacia Park. The whole experience was truly amazing. In my opinion each picture was as beautiful as the next. Tom has the superb ability to capture the beauty of the landscape while also bringing out the best features of a person.
Though I can't stop looking through the beautiful images that Tom created, my two favorite pictures include Brian and I surrounded by tulips and lilacs. These pictures truly captured the love and happiness Brian and I share when we are together.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom envisioned a direction for our shoot, but was also quite open to any suggestions Brian and I had about images we wanted included in the day.
Tom is an exception photographer. In my opinion he is a multitalented. He possesses the artistic direction of capturing a person's beauty through traditional portrait type pictures; however he possesses just as strong a skill set in producing modern commercial layout type prints.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Tom. He has an amazing and genuine personality. He made Brian and I feel at ease during our shoot.
He is very dependable, quite efficient in the delivery of prints, and was readily available with any questions that I had before and after our engagement session.



Wedding on 2010-04-17


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Nothing but great things to say!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Tom took several perfect photos of us so it is hard to pick! He took one picture when we were not looking (during our reception) of us holding hands...it was one of the best shots! His photos of my bouquet and our wedding rings ranked up there as one of our favorites too.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was always scooting around taking photos, but never was under foot. He would pop in, request a shot and then fall back again. During our reception, he took some great shots that we were unaware of until we saw our photos..they were all fantastic!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Our package included a set number of hours (which he was kind enough to stay longer without charging us!), unlimited photos, a backdrop (which we did not need for family photos as he took them using natural backgrounds), a DVD of all of our photos, as well as an album.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom was very friendly, polite and professional. He had a good sense of humor and interacts well with all ages. We received many compliments from friends and family who attended the wedding on how nice and friendly he was! We also received so many compliments on our wedding photos too! We were so pleased with the entire experience.



Wedding on 2010-03-27


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Tom was perfect for us!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

All of them! Tom has this magical way of making every shot Amazing! I guess if I had to choose one, it would be the black and white shot of Galen and I dancing alone. Beautifully done Tom! You truly captured the deep love that we feel for each other in that shot... doing what we love to do, happy, fun, and in each other's arms.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was very much out of the way. He made sure we got all the shots that we needed (family, wedding party, parents, etc) and all the ones we never even thought of (favors, details of the reception site, etc).

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We got 4 hours of Tom taking as many photos he could, a cd of all the photos and a 100 photo proof book.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom is incredibly nice. He approached the guests and asked to take their photos and said thank you. Tom was just perfect for us. He fit into our easy going style and understood what we wanted. The way he captured the day was remarkable. I would recommend him to everyone for everyone of their events without hesitation



Wedding on 2010-02-14


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Tom Nicol - THE Best Photographer There Is!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

It's so hard to choose! I guess it'd be a tie between our first kiss and the Daddy-Daughter dance... Tom did an amazing job of capturing the moments' emotion!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Our wedding party consisted of 4 bridesmaids, 4 groomsmen, and 7 kids (ushers, ring bearers, and flower girls)... And despite 2 of those kids (mine, of course!) being extremely difficult, Tom managed to get beautiful pictures, both staged and candid, of all of us! A perfect example of this - a close-up of my youngest son and me looking at my bouquet when we were supposed to be looking forward!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We went with a smaller package, but still got 5 hours of coverage, a CD with copyright release, and a proof book.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

From the very first time I spoke with Tom, I felt comfortable trusting him with our wedding day memories! We got married 10 hours away from home, and being able to pay in increments online and arrange everything via phone and email conversations was a big plus for me. The only time Tom was "front and center" was during our formal photo session between our ceremony and reception. I felt like he was more of an extremely helpful guest than a vendor!



Wedding on 2009-12-20


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Dan & Kellie - December 20, 2009

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I have to choose one? I think my favorite was the shot of us walking into the reception hall. The rings on my flowers too was something I didn't know he'd done and was so thrilled to see when the pictures came in.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was unbelievable!!! He took pictures of us laughing, candids that caught every moment of our day. You wouldn't have known he was there for most of the unposed pictures. Every picture told a part of our day that I might have forgotten until I saw the photo.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

All of our pictures on CD and DVD...set to music and the pictures come to life....it's like watching a video. We got an album of our favorites and every pictures belongs to ME unlike most places that copy right them.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

We had a very small wedding, 40 people. Finding a facility and photographer that will accomidate that isn't easy. Tom was willing from the first time I emailed him. He was very reasonable in price and he took his time, I never felt like he was ready to be done and out of there. He took his time and brought every minute of our small wedding to life...I couldn't be happier with the choice I made in Tom!!!!!



Wedding on 2009-12-05


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

TOP NOTCH ALL THE WAY

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Some very beautiful, original and unexpected pictures of the rings before the ceremony and the silhouette pictures during our first dance immediately spring to mind. Some very clever portraits with fun use of B/W and color together were also very beautiful.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was very patient with us throughout the planning process, pre-wedding, ceremony, and reception events. We were not very organized and he went with the flow. He was never obtrusive but seemed always to be within shouting distance when we needed him. Tom has a great eye for group pictures, backgrounds, etc. and caught a lot of great candid moments throughout the night. Every picture looks great, no funny eyes or weird lighting - everyhting was pro through and through. My best man has been in the photo business for a long time, and was very impressed with Tom's work, and said that his lighting was the best he'd seen in any wedding pictures he'd dealt with.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Tom sent s a link to the online proofs and a CD of the pictures shortly thereafter. We had a fairly simple package and Tom was very honest and up front about his pricing.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom is a very easy going guy, and fit right in to our group of family and friends. He never lost patience or denied any requests during our fairly frantic and disorderly affair. You would never know it was as off the cuff as it was to look at his pictures. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!



Wedding on 2009-11-21


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

My daughter's wedding

What was your favorite wedding photo?

photo of couple taken from above in church...couple looking up at camera

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was there, but never in our way. He got lots of great candids and action shots. The portraits turnout out great too

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

engagement pics with cd, album, cd with all erffomh pics..all day photography. Photos were posted online in less than 2 weeks

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

cordial, friendly. Always wanting to please. We were very comfortable with Tom from the beginning to the end.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Great pictures and service!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I truly can't pick a favorite because Tom took so many varied pictures, all with excellent use of light, angles, and color. I was happy with the entire portfolio.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

The action shots are unbelievably good. It's like seeing pictures of a wedding that you were not even at. I kept wondering "how did I not see that when it happened?"

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

My package included an engagement session, a 100 picture album, CD's of all photos, an online gallery for everyone to order from, and also a video slideshow for my post wedding party guests to view. If you compare this package to other photographer services you will not find the same value elsewhere.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

I had many guests comment on how much they liked the photographer, as did my husband and I. We found Tom on a blind Google search and were impressed by how responsive he was to my email questions. He was the only vendor related to my wedding that was proactive with my wedding arrangements. I did not have to micromanage him, or worry about how the outcome may be. I highly recommend using Tom Nicol Photography. One added note is that I did all correspondences long-distance and never had a delay. Also, I had a suburban and city event and both were captured, through his photography, in their own colorful ways.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Tom Nicol Photography

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My best photos were the ones that weren't posed for. Tom spent the day walking around just snapping pics of the kids running around or the scenery. I love every single one of my pics and I couldn't have asked for anything better.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I rarely knew Tom was there until we were posing. He had a way of getting all the best pics but w/o being in the way or obvious.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

In my package I got the proof book, a CD of all the pics, and a 30pic album.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom was amazing. I couldn't have asked for anything better. Not only was he professional but he fit in with EVERY person at my wedding as if he were part of the family. He was funny, charming, and really listened to what the bride and family wanted...and was more than happy to oblige. I would recommend Tom to anyone getting married. He's VERY affordable but when you see the pics you'll think you spent a million!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Nice day for a White wedding

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There were so many it would be hard to pick. There is one Tom took of the chapel were married in. He took the picture through a beautiful fall garden. The chapel was in the back. I alway want to remember where we were married from that picture. I just love it.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

We didn't even know he was there. We have the most amazing posed pictures of our friends and family. Then Tom took some great pictures of people dancing and talking when they didn't even know he taking the picture. He has some amazing dance pictures. He took table pictures from our reception and I love some of the group pictures he took. We'll treasure them always. We shared several of them in our x-mas cards this year. He has great idea's for how to pose people for pictures or to find the perfect spot to take a picture.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Our package did include an engagement session but, my husband and I felt we were to old for that. So, instead for us, Tom took time for us on a Sunday fall afternoon to meet us. He took some pictures of us with our harley motorcycle at a park. Our wedding album is just perfect. Everyone who see's it loves the album as much as we do and says how they've never seen an album done like that.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom makes everyone comfortable to approach him and ask him to take a photo they would like. That was the best surprise when looking on line. These wonderful pictures that you didn't even see being taken. He captures your entire day so you'll always remember it and who you shared it with.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Tuntland/Wolff Wedding

What was your favorite wedding photo?

We (and our families) have several favorite pictures. Some romantic, some fun/goofy, some symbolic, and all meaningful and worthy of making the pages of our final wedding album. Tom creatively captured our memorable day and we (and our families) revisit the photos often which have proven invaluable to all of us!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom indicated to us up front that 'he would do his thing', which would be to capture the memorable day, yet it would seem to us that he was not really there. Tom was efficient prior to the ceremony capturing more posed shots with the wedding party and family members (although very creative with some depth and wedding ring/flower photos which we love!) and discret during the ceremony and reception yet capturing all the important moments (i.e., arrival of bride, father and mother, hand-off of bride, marriage vows, exchanging of rings, flower ceremony, wedding party announcements, toasts, first dances, guests, food, location, moon/stars, etc.). Tom did equally a subpurb job of capturing posed and action shots!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Tom suggested prior to our wedding that we meet with him to capture some engagement photos and to allow us to get to know eachother and for us to view is photography work. Great suggestion, as we captured some amazing shots in a nearby park, river front area.

We just recently finished our photo albums which not to our surprise contain ALL the Tom Nicol wedding photos, it was too hard of a decision to select one photo over another photo, excellent work Tom!!!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom reiterated to the wedding party and family members to just be 'natural'. Tom provided guidance when it came to posed shots and did not hesitate to take several shots with only minimal changes in between to capture the perfect photo. His calmness, confidence and reassurance made everyone in attendance feel relaxed and natural, which resulted in so many beautiful and memorable photos!!!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

You'll relive every happy moment of your big day for years to come with Nicol Photography!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite picture is one of my husband and I standing on the steps of the Madison Capitol building, the wind sweeping my veil back as I'm dipped for a kiss. I was amazed how many great shots Tom got in just a matter of seconds during this quick photo opp, and I'm glad he did as they turned out to be my favorite. Throughout the day, Tom was able to work quickly and adjust to many different lighting conditions, both indoor and out - all of the pictures came out beautifully!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

When we looked through our pictures, it seemed that Tom had been in multiple places at once several times throughout the day, even though I had barely noticed him in the moment. He got shots of every important moment (all discussed before-hand), yet he was never obtrusive or distracting during the day's events. He did an excellent job of directing people into place to get excellent shots, and some of the candid shots he took throughout the day are my favorites. The session Tom and I had to discuss expectations before the wedding was very helpful and ensured my husband and I got the shots we wanted. Tom has a very artistic eye and knows just when to snap the best shot!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Tom's prices are reasonable and he works with couples so they are happy with the package they get for the price they agree to up front. There were no surprises with Tom.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom is very friendly, easy to work with, and willing to do whatever is needed for your pictures to turn out just the way you want them. He was easily able to work with big and small groups of family members during our session to get the photos we wanted. He enlisted the help of my Maid of Honor (my sister) to be sure that all the right family members were in the shots we asked for. Tom would make comments and funny remarks that put people at ease during our photo sessions. I highly recommend Tom for your day - you'll be so happy you chose him!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Bride

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite picture is one of me and my husband. We went to this historic park in DeKalb The Elwood House and our picture was taken in front of an old iron fence. The picture is black and white and the sun is coming between our lips. It is priceless.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was wonderful to work with. He just acted like a guest and stolled around taken pictures.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

The package that I ordered was all day at the best price. All of my prints were ordered from a disk which made the process so easy.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom was such a friendly man, it was easy for everyone to comfortable working with him.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Our wedding Sept. 2007

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Hard to choose as I love all the photos that Tom took, but I especially love the black & white picture of me and my husband with the flowers and background trees in color. It's beautiful, as all the pictures are. Tom was amazing!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom was great - the only time I knew Tom was there was when I requested a specific picture which I didn't think of before the wedding. He took all the pictures we requested and much more both posed and action shots. Everyone felt like he was a friend taking (professional) pictures as he was so friendly and made everyone feel relaxed.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Tom took a few engagement pictures when we first met with him so we could make sure we liked the pictures he took. The pictures were great. We were so pleased. Tom had all the proofs online very soon after our wedding. It was easy to order the prints we wanted from his website. He also provides a CD of all high-res images. His pricing fit out budget. Our wedding was not a long, full day event so I was glad that he had many options to choose from.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

We were so comfortable with Tom...he's so friendly, he made us feel calm and relaxed. He's down to earth and made us laugh, we weren't stressed at all. My mom was very pleased too. I heard she had special requests for pictures and he didn't mind at all. We loved all the suggestions that Tom had for pictures...absolutely brilliant! Tom was wonderful to work with. I couldn't have had a better photographer. Tom is the best!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Nuestra Boda May 05 2008

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Wow we don't even know where to start we have so many.. We loved the ones where its only the two of us and the ones with our families...We would say all of them are great.. Tom really did a great job.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom is a very polite person and he is very good at capturing both posed and action shots.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We just ordered the CD which includes all of the pictures of our wedding we were so happy he had that option,so we just went and printed pictures for ourselves and our family members.
Tom offers different packages the first time we met him he took our engagement pictures we didn't have to buy them he posted them online and we just picked the ones we wanted(that was a great option because before that we didn't even think about engagement pictures) Thank you Tom. He offered albums,pictures on the CD or just get the pictures from his web site.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Well when Tom was taking our pictures we felt very comfortable because he wanted us to be happy and get what we wanted. He did an awesome job.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Stockam Wedding~ August 2, 2008

What was your favorite wedding photo?

It's hard to choose,I have so many favorites. I really love the one of my, now, husband wih his sunglasses on turned from the camera so all you get is a side view. Tom did this photo in color and in black and white. I love the black and white one!!! I also love the ones of me and my husband on the swings!!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom made sure that we had our pictures taken with all the people that we wanted to and went above and beyond our expectations. Tom was wonderful, during the reception, we were so busy talking to everyone and dancing that I hardly even knew he was there. I can't find one picture that didn't turn out good. He did a fabulous job with both the posed and the candid shots!!! WE had such a great time and Tom captured that for us!!!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

With Tom we got the rights to our pic for an unbelieveably low price. We were on a budget and Tom worked with us to make the perfect package that we could afford!!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom has such a great attitude! He was very laid back and calm. People keep telling me how impressed they are with the photos of our wedding and we agree. Thank you Tom, for everything!!!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Hoepfner Wedding - July 26, 2008

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Some of my favorite pictures are the ones of Nick (my husband) and me dancing, or of my dad and me dancing. Tom did a great job of capturing the emotion there without making them look cheesy. Tom also took some amazing pictures of my wedding party outside - my colors were pink and green, and the girls' dresses really popped against the green grass. Tom set up all those pictures so it looks like we're in a big nature reserve or something, not a golf course! They are beautiful.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I never even knew Tom was there! He took the traditional in-church pictures after the ceremony and some pictures outside the reception... after that, I was too busy talking, dancing, drinking and eating to notice Tom taking pictures. He took a ton of shots, both action and posed, during the reception, and I never felt like he was being intrusive or disrupting the party at all.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Tom posts all the pictures online first. This is awesome because he makes them available to you quickly and easily. Then he also gives you all the pictures on a CD so you can order whichever shots you want from wherever you want. There are albums available through Tom, though I chose to do one myself.

When we first showed interest in using Tom as a photographer, he offered a free photo shoot where he took a bunch of pictures of Nick and me (any of which could definitely have been used as engagement pictures), so we could see if we liked his style. My family and I were very impressed, both with his relaxed style and willingness to spend this time on us even though we hadn't committed to using him yet.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom is a very laid back, down to earth guy. I think the reason my dad and husband like him so much is because they are all engineers. :) There is nothing showy or pushy about him; the best way to describe Tom's style of photography is beautiful, simple and relaxed, which is exactly what we wanted. He really helped to make the big day special and more comfortable.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Bacci/Ramsay Wedding November 8 2008

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My absolute favorite picture is of the bride standing at the alter looking to her right. Tom gave us the option of that photo in black and white and it is just gorgeous!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Tom did a great job! He not only was not disruptive, but was such a good sport and has a great personality! A pleasure to work with and he was equally interested in any poses or shots that we wanted

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Our wedding was in November, so there have been no prints ordered directly from the photographer yet. There was an engagement session included. We and all of our guests have been extremely impressed with getting our proofs online within one week of the wedding! Now that's great service!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Tom did a wonderful making everyone feel at ease while we were taking pictures! There are some wonderful poses and there are some great fun pictures that he suggested! I will definately use Tom as our photographer for any future events that we have!


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.