Amanda McMahon Photography
21 Reviews

Selected Best of 2012, 2010, 2008

1225 Golden West Way
Annapolis MD 21401
United States




Portfolio




Wedding and Lifestyle Portrait Photographer in Maryland and Virginia. Serving nationwide, travel available. Capturing Raw emotion in real people.




Reviews (21)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:







LizMarie1223
Wedding on 2013-09-21


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Fantastic and Flexible Wedding Photographer!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

You know you have a talented photographer when you can't pick a favorite. My favorite two from the engagement session were a shot of my fiance and I sitting in the leaves (a shot that Amanda though would look fabulous- and it did!) and a picture of us kissing (again with the background blurred- it was amazing!). She also did a private session with me before the wedding that was so classy and beautiful. I most love the pictures of the groom and I....our love is so evident in the photos!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

There were absolutely no disruptions! She captured our wedding seamlessly. I never noticed her during the big moments- I was too caught up in the excitement of the day. Sometimes at weddings, people stay off the dance floor or become wallflowers because they don't want the photographer to capture them, in this case, Amanda blended in so well that no one felt self conscience about her documenting the day! Amanda is versatile and captures classy portraits as well as the more fun candid moments and action of the big day! I am looking forward to working with her in the future- maternity, newborn, family photos, etc.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

I had two shooters, a wedding dvd of the images, photobooth added in (amazing!), an hour long engagement session (she came to the place of our engagement- old town alexandria) and 8 hours of coverage. I always wanted a photobooth and she worked with me to make it happen...it was a blast and it was packed all night long!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Amanda was a dream to work with during the wedding. Amanda checked in with me regularly to make sure I was doing ok, brought me water, etc. She actually cared and wanted to make sure that not only was she capturing the wedding, but that I was having a good time. She gave clear and concise directions so that family photos went quickly and smoothly (I thought they'd be a nightmare to organize). She let people give ideas of shots/combinations they wanted, and also had so many creative shot ideas herself. Amanda was positive and upbeat in a natural way so nothing felt forced or awkward. She helped me write the timeline and stuck to it, and got Matt when it was time for our sunset photos. I am so floored by her attention to detail and willingness to try new things in order to make me (the bride) happy. I highly recommend her to everyone!


Julie Farber


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Portrait Session with Amanda McMahon

What was your favorite wedding photo?

So I am actually not a bride but used Amanda for my portrait session and for some photos of my kids. My favorite photo is the one of my daughter and I. My daughter was playing and she ended up hugging me from behind. Amanda kept snapping and it turned out to be such a great shot.
I chose Amanda because she has a style that I just love. I told her I wanted to stick with the rustic feel and the location she recommended lended itself to that style.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Again, since this was for a portrait shoot, let me say that I have two kids under age 3 and so this was going to be tricky! I warned Amanda ahead of time that my daughter can be camera shy and who knew what would happen with my son, because he was only 5 months old. Amanda was so patient and even had a "picnic" with my daughter so my daughter would warm up to Amanda. I told her that candids of the kids might be the way to go with the kids and she pulled it off. We were very pleased.
For my portraits (for my business), she offered suggestions both in terms of poses and locations. I definitely got a handful of shots that I was very pleased with.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

I got exactly what I asked for which was a low-resolution CD of 30-40 images.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Amanda was so kind with us. She allowed my daughter to play and if I offered a suggestion, Amanda went with it. Having a newborn herself, she was very patient with my son who needed to be fed. Overall, she allowed us to be "us", which in turn allowed us to get pictures that we love.


Charlotte Gleeson
Wedding on 2011-03-12


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Simply the BEST!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

This is such a hard question-I love all of them so much! My favourite group of pictures were taken outside of the church after our ceremony with family, friends, wedding party, and finally just my husband and I. Amanda captured one moment when Adam and I are looking at each other and smiling right after our ceremony-every time I see this picture I am reminded of what an awesome day it was and how lucky I am! Another personal favourite is action shots with the bridesmaids-I don't think I have ever laughed so much :)

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Amanda did a wonderful job at taking candid photographs-I don't even remember half of them being taken! She really captured every emotion through the candid pictures she took-she is very observant. In terms of portraits, she was extremely efficient and organized, while keeping her big smile and friendly attitude. We had many different family units to take pictures with, and she really kept everyone smiling, laughing, and on time!! We had a lot of fun taking action shots-I laugh every time I look back at them! I believe Amanda's biggest talent, other than her beautiful photography, is her ability to engage with people in such a friendly and genuine manner. This was evident from the moment I met her and is reflected in her warm and personal style of photography.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

An album, DVD, engagement pictures and 2 photographers.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Absolutely! Amanda really felt like part of the family-she talked to guests, laughed and cried with us, and was an absolute joy to work with! Asking Amanda to take our wedding photographs was definitely best decision we made in wedding planning. She rules! :)


Bridget James
Wedding on 2011-06-04


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Absolutely perfect

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I have a few favorites. We took pictures before the wedding under a willow tree- actually in the pouring rain and intense wind. But it was so worth it. I had a specific vision of what I had hoped the pictures looked like, and even in those circumstances- they were perfect! I just loved all of them and Amanda worked right through the weather! We also wanted to take some pictures after the ceremony before the reception in a random field. Not only did Amanda go along with it, but she really embraced the idea and ran with it. They are gorgeous pictures and exactly what I had hoped!!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Amanda is great to work with. She has a very fun personality, but is also very professional. She takes all different kinds of pictures- from formal pictures to candid ones. She is just a good all-around photographer. Also I think she does a great job editing them- I just love the soft and romantic "feel" all the pictures have!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Due to our budget we got just the most basic package. It came with an engagement session and 6 hours. We had already had engagement photos, so we got an extra hour for the wedding instead.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She really works with what you want! Amanda listens to your ideas and does exactly that. She also is good at directing you and making you feel comfortable. Since it was raining in the beginning of the photo shoot, she had even looked up different locations to take photos at. That really impressed my husband and I, because it showed that she is ready to go above and beyond what is asked for. Loved her!!


Lindsay Leech


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

New

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Although Amanda didnt do our wedding photography, I wanted to write a review because we recently had a shoot with her and completely fell in love- with both our photos and her sweet, fun personality. To be honest, our list of favorites after a quick evening shoot is pretty lengthy! The way she captures the moment is just amazing..i have absolutely no idea how we'll choose our favorite!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

After looking through many of her albums online, I wonder if Amanda knows the talent she has! Every wedding album tells a whole story about the couples' day and whether it was candids, action shots or portraits, I am sure the bride and groom had as much trouble choosing their favorites as we did. My favorite photos have always been candid and action shots. I mentioned that to Amanda at the beginning of our shoot, telling her that most of our pictures have always been very standard and that I was hoping for something a litte different. She certainly listened to what I was hoping for :)

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

I have a husband, who like many guys, doesn't really love photo shoots and getting his picture taken. Amanda made our photoshoot so much fun- hilarious, in fact...and we were all laughing throughout the entire evening! Her professionalism in giving us enough direction to feel comfortable while still having fun and capturing the real "us" was incredible. Thank you, Amanda, for giving my husband and I such amazing photos, for the super fun memory of our photo shoot with you in our new town, and for the beginning of what will be one great friendship!! :)


Dorina Ulisano
Wedding on 2011-03-19


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

AMAZING!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Sounds so cliche, but all of them....let's just say when I was picking out photos to place in a photo book, we ended up with 100 pages with at least 3 pictures on each page!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Amanda was great with us, she got plenty of candid family dancing shots which are the best! She did really well with the family portraits (and all of my families demands) with a big Italian family, its much appreciated!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We had our FREE 1 hour engagement session with her(we won it at a bridal show in Orlando!), 2 8x10's and the engagment picture website...Naturally we hired her for our wedding because we LOVED her photos(and she was super sweet), we got 8 hours of photos, CDs, the picture website, and nothing beats not having to worry about your photographer on the day of your wedding....that was the best part! She took care of it all!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

How do I begin...from the very moment we had email contact (which she is a really fast responder) i knew she would be easy to get along with. She was spunky and sweet, and because she was, it put you more at ease. She was like having a VERY professional friend taking your pictures! My family fell in love with her once they met her too! She worked with their requests, and went above and beyond for me and my family. Thank you so much Amanda...I guarantee you will love her photos, and her professionalism.


Abigail Lee


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Not your average wedding photographer

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My mother had a difficult year dealing with treatments for a serious disease. My favorite wedding photo was one in which I was reassuring my mom with a kiss that no matter what changes were coming, I would always be her little girl. In the photo, she held me close and you can see the glint of a tear in her eye. The vulnerability and love and emotion from everything my mom and I experienced that year was perfectly captured by Amanda. I cried the first time I saw that photo.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I had a traditional church wedding ceremony and Amanda and Jus (our second shooter) did an amazing job staying in the background and capturing the wonderful details while respecting the service. All the portraits were exactly what I wanted. Candids and actions shots were still very good, and I know it's very difficult to get the million moments that I would have loved to remember forever.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

I used the a la carte menu and purchased a separate engagement session and added a second photographer (an absolute must). Both my engagement package and wedding package included three prints. One of the things that sold me about Amanda McMahon Photography was that she gave me the rights to my photos to do what I like with them-- NO ONE does that! From my friends' less than wonderful experiences with other photographers who did not hand over the rights, I knew this was a requirement for me. Overall, I was really pleased how the price balanced with the quality and professionalism--I came out a winner.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Amanda laughs a lot. During our engagement session, Amanda was such a trooper and so flexible in working with our unique location (farmland and barns). Other photographers would not have laughed after stepping in cowpie, but Amanda knew it would make for a great story later! I will treasure my engagement photos forever. The happiness and love between my husband and me and our anticipation of all good things to come are apparent in every single frame.

At the wedding, Amanda knew how to adjust her technique with my sisters who were louder and more gregarious, and then with my parents, who were less likely to open up to the camera, but I still have wonderful pictures of all them.

Don't let her age fool you-- Amanda maintains professionalism in all her correspondence. She is prompt in her replies. She always kept me up to date with progress. She has embraced social networking in a way that a lot of older photographers haven't and has used them to her advantage. I know that I've referred a few friends to her already just from my photos they've seen on her Facebook page.


Christy Alexander


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Why I love Amanda McMahon Photography

What was your favorite wedding photo?

We had family portraits with Amanda & they were the most amazing, stress free photos we have ever taken! I will never again use anyone else for photos. She captured my children, my husband, my dog & myself as no one else ever has.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Amanda just let us be us & captured that. The pictures of each of my kids (all 4, ages 3-16) were amazing & the action shots she got of my never sit still 3 year old boy, just amazing! She did individual shots as well, each one caught us being who we are, silly, serious, I cannot begin to describe how well she captured each personality.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Pics & DVD

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

We just came as ourselves & she wanted us to be US! No fake posing, no uncomfortable smiles, she caught real moments & real joy. What an experience!


simone sanchez


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

great experience

What was your favorite wedding photo?

The photo used in the logo is us!! I love it!!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Being a hobbyist photographer myself it was the most important detail when for our wedding. So I took a referral from a friend and met Amanda. We had to conduct business over the phone, being long distance, and I fell in love with her bright personality. And when we met the day of the wedding I was not disappointed. She kept a smile on our and our guests faces the whole day and you can see it in the photos. Our picture turned out amazing!
The service even after the wedding was so personal and professional, we couldn't have been happier.


Andrea McMahon
Wedding on 2010-07-10


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Amazing in every way!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Amanda was so great- I love every photo she took at our wedding. She did an amazing job of incorporating ours classic cars in a unique industrial setting... we now have one of a kind wedding photos that we can enjoy looking at forever! My favorite wedding photo from the day has to be an incredible shot of my husband and I in front of an old brick building- with rays of sun coming down from the upper left corner. It is breathtaking and we are having a large canvas print done of it- I cant wait to see it! Amanda has been very accomodating and answers all of my silly questions quickly, she's a wonderful communicator.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

You wouldnt have known she was there- she moved throughout the guests flawlessly and took some great candids and action shots. Her portraits are my favorite, and I will cherish them all. She helped us pose for the classic family shots and then used her creative abilites to get some fantastic unique portraits as well.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Amanda had an assistant with her, who also got some great shots! Our package included dvd's of all the photos, a magazine album for my husband and I, and a 16x20 canvas of our favorite photograph.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She made us comfortable by understanding what we wanted- she listened when we said that the cars were important to us, and knew exactly what to do when we explained that we wanted unique photos. After looking at her portfolio and website, we knew that we couldnt go wrong with her! I will definitely use Amanda McMahon photography in the future! Two thumbs up :)


Amanda Tullis
Wedding on 2010-05-29


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Perfect photographer!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Such a hard choice... Probably a photo of just after my husband dropped my ring as he was trying to put it on... we were cracking up and it just set the perfect mood, and the photo captured that feeling.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Great candids and action shots. You wouldn't have known she was there! The portrait sessions with our bridal party went really well and she had such creative and cute ideas.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Amanda was incredibly easy to work with. She was very friendly but was able to get everyone together and where they needed to be when they needed to be there, too.


Krissy Murphy
Wedding on 2009-11-21


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Amanda = Amazing!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Oh boy, if I had to choose just one, it might be the black and white Amanda took of me and my dad during the Father/Daughter dance, but seriously, she sent us a disc with more than 500 pictures and there are none that I dislike! =)

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Amanda is a true professional...she is like a photography ninja, swooping and getting shots without even a whisper or a flash of light! Her photographer skills can be likened to a graceful ice dancer at one moment, then she knows when it's important to direct (when it comes to portraits) and orchestrate at the next.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We did a simplicity package, which meant we had ordered the digital copies of all our retouched photographs and have the option to add on ala carte elements. It was Amanda and her assistant on our wedding day.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She is just so darn sweet! You feel like great friends within a few minutes of knowing her...and she makes it look so effortless.


Chris May
Wedding on 2009-12-20


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Chris and Sarah wedding

What was your favorite wedding photo?

We love all that we have seen so far, but our first look is pretty special!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Amanda was wonderful. She blended right in with my friends and family and made everyone feel very comfortable.


Sarah May
Wedding on 2010-03-08


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Sarah and Chris Wedding


Jamie Schroeder
Wedding on 2010-01-23


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Awesome person to work with

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

If you are looking for someone who makes you feel comfortable and will even help you put on your shoes when your bridesmaids are getting dressed Amanda is your girl. SHE IS AWESOME.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Album, DVDs, Canvas picture, we ordered a lot

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

If you are looking for someone who makes you feel comfortable and will even help you put on your shoes when your bridesmaids are getting dressed Amanda is your girl. SHE IS AWESOME.


Kate Adams-Harris


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Great photographer & excellent value

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There are so many to choose from but our favorite is probably us on the railroad tracks.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

During the ceremony, I barely noticed her there at all. It is amazing that she was able to capture all that she did. There were great candids of our family and friends!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

In our wedding photo package we recieved a edited CD w/ all of the images from our special day.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She was very friendly, she had great ideas and she did everything we asked for and more!


saueraj


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

A Wonderful Experience!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite image from our engagement session is a shot that captured the laid back personalities of my fiance and me as well as how close and connected we are to each other. The image had color, energy, emotion, a beautiful backdrop, great composition and lighting, and every time I look at it, I can't help but smile at the memory.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Amanda was very easy to work with. She let us do our own thing, wander around, be ourselves. She also gave suggestions and pointers when we were a small adjustment away from a beautiful shot. She got to know us and made the entire process fun and easy.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Amanda's selection of options, ala carte and packages, prints, canvas, albums, digital, they're nearly endless. She was able to work with us to make a package that was everything we needed for a comfortable price, even some things that weren't on her options list such as a personally designed Save the Date image! The engagement session is included in her wedding packages, and we have already claimed Amanda's expertise for our wedding day.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Amanda made every effort to make my fiance and me comfortable during the photo session. She got to know us and let us get to know her. We interacted, but weren't ordered around. She gave subtle hints when necessary, but also let us give ideas and input to the shots. It made us feel much more involved with the experience, and we were exceedingly happy with all the results!


destinym


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

The best!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Between all of our wedding photos and the photos she took of our baby, I don't think I can choose a favorite! Amanda has a very unique/artistic eye for photography and we just loved ALL of the pictures she took.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She tried to get a lot of candid shots which turned out beautiful. A lot of the time, I barely realized she was there,(Especially during the wedding ceremony) and she still managed to get some awesome shots. I think she was great at both posed and action shots.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We chose to just get our photos on a picture CD to be printed at a later time, although Amanda did offer many options when it came to prints.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

I was nervous about getting my pictures taken for my wedding but Amanda made me feel at ease and I turned out feeling great about them. Her friendly, outgoing personality made us all feel very comfortable to be photographed!


mama_kim27


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Our Family Picture

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There are so many wonderful pictures I don't think I could say just one.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She took pictures of just us we were not"posed" and that makes the best pictures if you ask me.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She came to where we wanted to pictures to be taken and told us to just come as we are and she was wonderful with my daughter and let her just be herself


Tiffany Faucette


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

FANTASTIC!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

She took many pictures of me on the golf course. They turned out fantastic. I have them posted on my website and I get tons of compliments on them.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Amanda was great to work with. She was very accomidating while thinking of creative ways to take the pictures.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

I ordered the photo album and the CDS.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

I can't say enough good things about Amanda. She was extemely friendly, she made me feel comfortable in front of the camera, and she was/is very professional. I highly recommend Amanda!


dede_webster


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

She's AWESOME!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There's no way I could just pick one favorite! She had so many creative ideas and caught important moments that most people wouldn't even think about!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I'm not a big fan of having my picture taken, but she did such an awesome job that I didn't even notice the camera was there! She did a fabulous job at action shots AND posed photos.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She was very easy going which makes a world of difference.


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.