John Sharpe Photography
17 Reviews

1860 MCMENEMY ST - #J
Maplewood MN 55117
United States




Portfolio




John Sharpe Photography is a Wedding and Portrait photographer serving Minneapolis St Paul Twin Cities area. His photography seeks to be different, edgy, and one-of-a-kind. He prides himself of fair, honest service, and downright awesome photographs of your special day.




Reviews (17)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:








Wedding on 2013-12-14


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

We loved John Sharpe Photography!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

How do we choose? We loved our first look pictures - John was able to capture the tenderness of the moment, and I honestly didn't even know he was there.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John is very well organized and spent time creating and going over a schedule with us well before the wedding. He was wonderful at keeping everything on time, or adjusting if things went a little long or finished early.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

John's photography package is a la carte - we were able to start with a certain amount of hours for the day of and then add from there. I believe a CD and ownership rights of the pictures is always included - we chose to add an engagement session and a beautiful album.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John is great at putting people at ease. I'm very glad we did engagement pictures as it gave me a preview of what the wedding day would feel like and made me more comfortable in front of the camera. John is warm and funny and gets along with everyone!



Wedding on 2013-06-01


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Mr & Mrs Aitkin

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Our first look photo's were my favorite! He did a great job focusing on those and made sure it capture it just right!! :)

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

He was great with everything! He got everyone's attention when needed but for the candid's and during the ceremony I hardly even know he was there!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We had John & his assistant for 9 hours the day of. We had an initial meeting, and 2 planning phone sessions. He was very organized. Received multiple e-mails with great information's keeping me up to date on how the process on his end was going. We received a surprise gift from John when we got back from our Honeymoon and a disk with all of the proofs. Loved all the little touches he had along the way as well!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John Sharpe is an amazing photographer! He absolutely made my wedding day come to life in the pictures! We had such a great time with him and I didn’t have to worry about a thing. I was confident he would capture the day and he definitely delivered. I would highly recommend him to capture your wedding memories!!



Wedding on 2012-08-26


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Unique and Astonishing Photos by John Sharpe

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There are too many to choose from! Probably the one where we are laughing at each other during our first dance.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John was incredibly friendly, professional, and calm, even when things were running behind on our pre-made schedule. John was able to capture the most grandiose moments of our wedding, but more impressively, he was able to capture those subtle and fleeting details that you end up missing or forgetting about because the day goes by so fast.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We purchased the package that had 6 hours of photography. A few weeks after the wedding, we were sent a CD with hundreds of photos, a link to his blog which posted some of the best from the wedding, and a link to purchase photos from an online gallery.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John is very friendly and easygoing. He knows how to get groups of people together when time is pressing, and he never looses his cool! My grandfather kept getting in the way of John because he wanted to take pictures with his own camera, and John was so patient with him - he joked around with him and included him in some unique shots with me. My grandpa loves those photos he took of the two of us.



Wedding on 2012-11-01


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Absolutely STUNNING photos!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

One of our favourites was a candid which John took of some of the kids around the ceremony.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John was great, just took lots of photos, some posed others normal action shot. If a picture was not what he was looking for he would take it again and not be afraid to admit it. It was fantastic

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We got a beautiful wrapped box which included a nice keepsake tin with our dvd with all the pictures and information on it. Loved it!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Everyone loved him. He was pleasant, funny and conducted himself professionally at all times. I would hire him again in an instant.



Wedding on 2012-12-31


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

AMAZING PHOTOS!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

My husband and I LOVE our wedding pictures by John Sharpe. We got married in December, so I was a little bit worried about the lighting, since the sun would set by 4:30 p.m. However, all my fears vanished when we selected John as our photographer. He is an EXPERT in lighting. Even thought it was freezing outside, John was brave enough to venture outside with us to snap some pictures. Our church photos are absolutely gorgeous as well. Despite the lack of natural light in the church, John was able to create soft, beautiful light for our pictures. We will cherish them forever! Additionally, he was so easy to work with. My husband and I appreciated that he provided us with some guidance on how to pose in the pictures. For example, he would gently direct us to put our hand on our hip, move forward, etc. These suggestions were so helpful, because our pictures look beautiful and so natural! We are so impressed with his services and would HIGHLY recommend him to our friends, family and any bride getting married!



Wedding on 2012-08-25


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Amazing photographer!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

So many to choose from... I think all the photos John took on the driveway leading up to our venue. We have beautiful shots of the whole wedding party and just my husband and me.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John was incredibly flexible when some rain forced us to reshuffle our family portrait schedule. We have so many photos from our ceremony and reception that seem like he must have been close to us when he took them, but we honestly don't remember him being there! He was able to capture so much without being "in the way" at all.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We have digital files of all our photos (engagement and wedding) on a DVD. John brought an assistant with him on our wedding day.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John is easygoing and fun to work with. He showed us a few photos on his camera throughout the day to help us get a feel for what he was capturing, which helped us be confident that he was getting great pictures!



Wedding on 2012-03-17


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Best photos ever!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

The veil ones :)

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John is so fun, you want him with you one your big day! He is the master of Candids, and capturing love from all the guests, family and especially the B&G

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Engagement session, guest book, 3 high quality leather albums for us and both sets of parents, and a CD of all our shots.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Can't really say, John is just good at that! John Sharpe Photography is one of the most artistic and amazing talents I have seen in awhile. Not only did my husband and I get to spend our wedding day with him, we have AMAZING photos and an album that would make anyone drool! John is classy, refined and fun all rolled into one. I plan on using him for all my future photo plans. Not only do I look at our wedding photos daily I utterly stalk his blog daily to see his talent develop. You will not be disappointed. All our love John!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

The Best Photographer to Use

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I cannot choose a favorite! They were all amazing.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John Sharpe was extremely friendly and knew how to organize large groups of people without appearing bossy or domineering.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

My wedding package included a very beautiful album made of leather (although he offered me many different options from which to choose) with thick, good-quality pages with the perfect amount of pictures on each page.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

We are thrilled with our photographs from our wedding, thanks in full to John Sharpe Photography. He was extremely professional and showed nothing but respect to us and our guests. He arrived early, worked nonstop throughout the day, and left after we left. His pictures are perfect; the extreme attention to detail and his amazing ability to translate his ideas into photographs made my day perfect. The wedding album he created for us is gorgeous. We LOVE John Sharpe Photography and would recommend him to anyone and everyone who needs a talented, professional, and artistic photographer for any event!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Great experience

What was your favorite wedding photo?

At the very end, we took a few pictures on a grassy mall just as the sun was starting to go down. The setting is beautiful, the light is beautiful, and our expressions show just how happy we were. It really captured the feeling of the day.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Our ceremony was in a tiny chapel, so I was surprised just how much I DIDN'T notice John getting all of the great shots he did. I love the candid moments he caught between family members, and the portraits look very natural but show us at our best.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

He was very patient and respectful with our family members, which we appreciated a lot. He learned their names and gave us guidance but was never demanding or bossy, and even got some laughs out of everyone. Very easy to work with!



Wedding on 2011-06-24


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

An Amazing Photographer

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite photo was when John decided that we should get some sunset photos. With my husband behind me and the sun behind us, all the photos are breathtaking!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

He does a fantastic job of finding situations and poses that not only look natural, and bring out the best in the couple, but are also unique and fun. He is so easy to work with and can make any couple feel comfortable during their session.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

John is an absolutely amazing photographer! He did our engagement photos and wedding photos and we were so pleased with them! We also got a cd with all our photos and we ordered a guest book and wedding album as well. He usually brings an assistant with him, but with or without help, everything John does, he does to 110%! We never cease to get comment after comment on all the pictures that John has done for us. Not only that, but John is continually improving his work and adding new and exciting things to his photography packages so every customer gets more for their money than they would ever imagine.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Everyone we talk to wants to know “Who is your photographer?!” I recommend John to anyone and everyone that needs an amazing photographer, breathtaking photos, and artistic, professional results. We loved everything John did for us and I can’t wait to find a reason to book him again!



Wedding on 2010-09-18


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

John Sharpe is an artist

What was your favorite wedding photo?

John caught the "first look" I got of Heather in her dress. He caught he HUGE smiles we both had one when we were pronounced man and wife. He also got great pictures of both of our families that our parents love.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

At your wedding, you're in a room with everyone you know, and everyone wants attention. The last think you want is to spend all your time with the photographer. John was great about being everywhere he needed to be to get the shots, but we never really noticed him. Once or twice, we pulled us aside at an appropriate time to take a posed shot that he had set up. He got this one of us kissing in a dark corner with our faces being reflected off a glass table top. It was genius. Nobody else would have even thought to use that space!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We got an engagement shoot, our full wedding, a guestbook, a big album, and a DVD with all the files. Our wedding was in Chicago, so John actually agreed to drive down and stay in our hotel to do the shoot! I know he's flown out to do other weddings nationally, so don't hesitate to try to book him no matter where you are.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John offers great direction to help get you into just the right poses. My friends who used other photographers ended up feeling like they received no direction during their shoots, and their pictures came back looking awkward. The professionalism is as much in the placement and posing as in the camera settings. John made us look good. Really good.

Plus, he snaps a LOT of pictures. We received five times as many photos as some of our friends, and this is important because you do NOT get a do-over if you don't get the shots you want!



Wedding on 2010-09-18


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Very talented photographer!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John was excellent with candids, action shots, and portraits.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We got a cd with all of the photo files on it, engagement and wedding pictures, an album, a guestbook with our engagement pictures, and an assistant photographer. John was willing to travel from Minneapolis to Chicago for our wedding, and he was very flexible.



Wedding on 2010-07-24


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Adrienne

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I love the shots John took immediately after our ceremony. We were more relaxed and excited for the reception to start. He caught some cute moments of us. He also stayed past his scheduled time so he could get pics of us during the fireworks which was amazing!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John was never in the way - I really don't know how he got so many great candid shots that are in my album, because I never saw him shooting them! He was great at getting everyone organized for the posed shots and was never bossy or overbearing. He has a great sense of humor that helped to relax everyone.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Engagement pics, DVD of pictures, album, 100 prints and photographer with assistant.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John is a very talented photographer and I believe that he truly loves his job as a wedding photographer. Everyone at our wedding loved him - the bridal party, parents, family, friends. He was very professional, easy to get along with, full of energy and creative ideas, flexible when I changed my mind 100 times and was willing to customize the photography packages for us. We were very impressed with his professionalism during the wedding day and with the final product when we received our album. We also really appreciated that he had a sample of our pictures posted on his website just a few days after the wedding.



Wedding on 2009-12-31


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Great Wedding Photographer

What was your favorite wedding photo?

This question is incredibly difficult to answer. John captured so many amazing moments during our wedding that I am so pleased with. I for sure have a Top 20. I absolutely love the picture of me, my husband and my dad in the church right as we finish walking down the aisle.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John's presence was spot on. He was front and center when neccessary and in the background during all of the intimate moments. I was very impressed by this.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

John's wedding packages were flexible and seemingly custome. We discussed the number of hours we wanted included, whether or not we wanted an album included and we also requested that he add a unique 'live' photobooth component for the reception. We book our engagement photos with him separately. John was the single photographer at the wedding along with a camera assistant.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John is very professional and friendly. He fit right in with everyone and made the day very comfortable. I really appreciated this about John.



Wedding on 2009-08-01


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Bergin Wedding

What was your favorite wedding photo?

One of our favorite photos was of just Matt and I on the bridge. John had Matt dip me as Matt kissed me. The photo just looked so timeless!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

John jumped in when he saw the shot. He was all about making sure the moments were captured. He never was in the way and was very aware of the details as well as the schedule for the day.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

What we recieved from working with John was an engagement session and the proofs on a CD as well as photographs for the wedding day and the proofs on a CD as well.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John allowed for us to just be about our business the day of the wedding. Upfront he promised us that he wasn't one of those photographers who would take many shots in hopes for a few good photos. Instead, he said he in intentional and that is what his work proved to be. This being said, much of his work was done while the wedding day was taking place.



Wedding on 2010-04-10


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

I would choose John Sharpe again and again!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Lots of them. John was able to capture a variety of surroundings, each unique and beautiful.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

We were able to finish all of the formal photos of family and the wedding party before the ceremony, which gave us more time to enjoy time with our guests.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

John Sharpe's packages are very flexible, so you can get exactly what you're looking for. Not just a 'one size fits all' like some of the other photographers we met.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

He's a nice guy and very easy to work with. He had fun with us on our special day and created very relaxed atmosphere.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Nice guy with a gifted eye

What was your favorite wedding photo?

The one problem with John is that he takes so many great photos, it is tough to pick a favorite.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I never noticed John during the ceremony. He was able to take some outstanding shots without drawing any attention to himself.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We received a discounted engagement session with our wedding pictures. It was a great way to get comfortable in front of the camera.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

John showed up a little early which gave him time to meet and chat with family and friends. He makes people feel at ease, and then takes great pictures of them.


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.