Jennifer Whalen Wedding Photography
20 Reviews

Selected Best of 2010, 2009

2186 Scudder St.
Minneapolis MN 55404
United States







My style can be summed up by this phrase: Uniquely Modern Artistic Direction. The challenge I give myself as an artist is finding that delicate balance of creating a classic photo with a modern twist. I believe in capturing the genuine romance between each couple and their unique individuality as they relate to one other. Creating trust with my clients is intrinsic to this process and through mutual collaboration the photographs make themselves. I have a very youthful energy and am absolutely smitten with couples that like to laugh and have fun. I want you to be YOU in front of my camera and feel beautiful and uninhibited while we are creating memories. I focus a lo of my energy on creating a strong connection between all the wonderful people that I photograph.




Reviews (20)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:









Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Thanks Jen!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

It's impossible to pick just one. There were so many great ones!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jennifer fit right into our wedding day. She was helpful and fun to have around. We got plenty of candids and action shots, but were also able to get in all the portraits we needed. She gave us just the right mix of traditional and artistic.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

The thing that really sold us was the album; it is top quality and well worth her reasonable prices. We got a DVD with all the pictures which is really helpful. She also did a beautiful engagement session with us and we ordered a book to use for guests sign-in. It is perfect. Jennifer had an assistant with her at the wedding.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer was very easy to work with. My friends and family loved her as well!




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Artistic, Modern, and Friendly

What was your favorite wedding photo?

One of my favorites was when we slipped out of the reception for a quick 15 minute photo opt while the sun was setting outside. This was Jennifer's idea and we are so happy for the beautiful photos that came from it. The sunset was a beautiful red color and looked great behind the bare branches in our November wedding.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jennifer did a great job with candid shots. She was good at balancing when to get people in order for photos to work out and when to let the day just flow naturally.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We had a great package that fit our needs. We had 2 photographers for 8 hours. We ended up adding an extra half hour at the end of the night just to get a few more pictures from the evening. The package came with all of our rights to the photos and more.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer is a friendly and easy-going person. It would be hard not to be comfortable around her.



Wedding on 2010-10-30


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Very professional, very talented, and just FUN!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Jennifer caught us as the sun was setting in the background and we love it. It was the photograph we decided to use for our first Christmas card!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

We love all the photos taken by Jennifer. She took great portraits and action shots. Our favorite by far however are the candids she took. Jennifer just seemed to have a way with blending into the background and getting the candid shots that will help us remember our wedding for the rest of our life.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

All of the above. We ended up getting an album, dvd, engagement photos, and had two photographers. Also, Jennifer has been great with getting us anything we ask her for very promptly. All things considered, I feel we got way more than what we paid for by using Jennifer!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer was very professional, very talented, and just FUN! It is extremely obvious she loves what she does making her strive to do her best and that helps other people feel comfortable around her.



Wedding on 2010-09-26


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Jennifer creatively captures emotion

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There were so many great ones, but my favorite was a quiet moment after the wedding, my hubby and I sitting on a park bench with me resting on his shoulder. She captured the contented feeling we both shared after our wedding went so smoothly. She also got all the little details in the shot, like our wedding rings, my special Looney Tunes pin from our engagement, and the top of my custom-made veil with our initials on it.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jennifer and her assistant, Carrie, seamlessly blended in and never got in the way. Their candids were wonderful, especially of my mom. She was totally game for our silly ideas, like the wedding party embarking on a paddle boat adventure. And she managed her time so well that we were able to fit everything in.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

The two photographers were included in our package, everything else is additional (we haven't placed our photo order yet).

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer and Carrie were very relaxed and didn't make anyone pose in boring, routine ways. She let everyone be natural, which really makes for the best photos.



Wedding on 2010-08-13


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Creative and Fun Photographer

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There were so many to wonderful photos. My favorite is of my husband and I kissing with my families stone barn in the background.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jennifer and her assistant blended seamlessly with our guests, which enabled them to get great candids of everyone.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Jennifer and her assistant was with us the entire day. Included in the package was a dvd of all the pictures and an album.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer and her assistant are very personable. They blended in with all of our guests and family. They took a lot of great candid shots which ended up being our favorites.



Wedding on 2010-11-20


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Helping a dream come true :)

What was your favorite wedding photo?

This is very hard to decide which one is my favorite but I would have to say probably the one where I am giving my son (ring bearer) a kiss. He will be 3 in February so kids that little generally don't like to sit still for too long.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She was able to work very well when people were running around the church when they should have been getting their picture taken....I was rather stressed out about and she ALWAYS seemed cool and calm which helped me out as well. I love the candids she was able to take some amazing pictures outside in the windy cold! now that is a hard worker!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

I got all my pictures available online and a CD with all my pictures.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She listened to everything I wanted and when I had questions about where we should take some pictures at she was so helpful. I feel she blended in with everyone there and make the whole experience relaxed and just flow beautifully :)




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Best Photographer in Minnesota!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

To be honest, I couldn't just pick one favorite.. we loved them all. I have never had so many compliments on pictures before!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

With only hiring Jennifer (and not her assistant), we were worried about getting all those perfect shots (candid, actions, etc... ) but Jennifer rocked it! She was able to capture all those things that you (as the bride) sometimes miss out on during the day.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We chose to have 8 hours of coverage by only Jennifer the day of the wedding. Jennifer provided us with all of the digital images from our wedding day (about 650 photos) almost immediately.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

AMAZING Minnesota Photographer!!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Not to be cliche, but ALL of our pictures were incredible...I can not pick just one. Jennifer was able to capture our entire day in photo. She capture our emotions, our personalities, our wedding day. I was thoroughly impressed.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jennifer and I sat down about a month prior to the wedding and outlined all of the photos I wanted throughout the day. Because of this she was able to stay in the background when needed and lead the group when needed. We received a wide variety of excellent candid, action, and posed photographs...and as mentioned above, all of the photos exceeded our expectations. In my opinion, her greatest strength is capturing her subject's emotions, both candid emotion and inspiring emotion for "posed" pictures.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Jennifer has multiple wedding photography packages available to fit your needs. We chose a package that included the digital copies of our wedding pictures, a custom designed album, one photographer for the entire day, and a engagement session at a location of our choice.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer is a fun, yet professional young woman. She had multiple preparation sessions (including the engagement shoot so we could get to know each other) before our wedding so we didn't have to worry about the photography details at all on the big day. She was quick and easy to communicate with.



Wedding on 2010-10-16


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Incredibly talented photographer that far exceeded our expectations!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Too hard to pick! Jennifer is a true pro that gets the shot 99.9% of the time. Many favorites, including Veil at Sunset, featured on her blog.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

A number of our guests commented on the remarkable work ethic of Jennifer and her assistant over the course of their long work day. We literally did not notice them taking any of the candids and the shots are amazing. For the requisite formals, Jennifer and her assistant maintain a sense of professionalism to make sure large groups of people are where they need to be at the right time, while making the formals a fun experience for everyone involved -- even the crying babies! Our wedding party, along with ourselves, had so much fun taking photos on location between the ceremony and reception, with exceptionally creative and artistic photos being the results.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

All day coverage with two shooters, which included a disc of high resolution images and printing rights. Package was definitely customizable to fit our needs and budget.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

We could not have felt more comfortable with Jennifer and her assistant. It takes a very talented photographer to be able to direct large groups and still create shots that capture the raw emotion of the day, which Jennifer did. Jennifer and her assistant have a strong sense of professionalism, which keeps everyone on schedule, but are very fun and accepting, which makes everyone comfortable and natural for photos.



Wedding on 2010-10-09


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Absolutely amazing! Worth every penny and MORE!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I have so MANY favorites! Jennifer captured all the beautiful details, amazing artistic photos, and all the love and emotion of the day - from me and my groom, or families, guests, and wedding party! Jennifer captured things that I never even got to see on the day of my wedding. I started today to go through the 703 images she took - after the first pass of picking out the "best of the best" I am down to just 691! She honestly is THAT amazing.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

In addition to her very beautiful and unique artistic shots, Jennifer took the time prior to the day to discuss my "must-have" family shots. This included a large, very-challenging-to-organize family photo. Jennifer was so patient and gracious in getting everyone together, and the results are phenomenal. I cannot express how wonderful it is to have such beautiful and thorough documentation of such a special day.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We chose to have 8 hours of coverage by only Jennifer (she has a fantastic assistant as well). We had also done our engagement shoot with Jennifer, and that certainly helped for both of us to be comfortable and know what to expect. Jennifer provided is with 100% of the digital images from our wedding day (over 700 of them!).

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer is professional, down-to-earth, cheerful, and she is an expert at putting people at ease. She made us feel as though OUR wedding was the most special event she had ever had the pleasure of shooting. On the day of the wedding my family commented on how pleasant and efficient she was, and after they saw the photos, their comment was "She is not just a photographer, she is an artist!"



Wedding on 2010-07-17


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Minnesota Bride Magazine Feature was the result!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

A stylized group shot of the entire wedding party. The result was the most unique photo of an entire bridal party that we have ever seen!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jennifer and Carrie were so approachable, yet professional. We communicated with each other through the entire process, ideas, time management and expectations. We discussed ideas together prior to the wedding date, and Jennifer had a list of these with her, on the wedding day. It allowed us to enjoy the moment, while capturing so many unique memories. There are no limitations when it comes to this girls talent! You want it, you get it! But more!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We chose to hire in additon to Jennifer, a second shooter, Carrie. This guaranteed all of those fun little details that were happening in the other direction, were going to be captured. We received our stunning pictures, on DVDs, so as to have unlimited personal use. The albulms offered by this company are stellar. Highly reccommend.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

By clearly sharing in our joy and excitement of the day, they felt like an extension of our bridal party! The endless energy of this team, and dedication to their craft, made everyone enjoy the process of photos on a day of record high temperatures!



Wedding on 2010-08-14


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Creative, dynamic, and absolutely fabulous

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite wedding photo is one that Jennifer took after dinner at the reception hall. She pulled Greg and I out onto the golf course at sunset. The clouds were swirling in the sky. It is absolutely beautiful. It could be a painting.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jennifer and her assistant, Carrie, were great. Prior to the big day, we had met to go over the essential shots that I wanted to make sure we got. So on the day, everything went smoothly. She took all the shots that I wanted and used her creativity with some additional shots. Our final disc of all images is a great mix of candids, action, and posed pictures. They are of the photojournalistic style, much more modern and less traditional. This is exactly what I wanted.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

In our wedding photo package, we had two photographers. We also got a DVD with all of the high resolution, edited images. This disc can be used where ever we want to print the pictures. Our package also included a beautiful album at a discounted price.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer and Carrie were wonderful to work with and put my family and wedding party at ease. They took candid pictures which really allowed everyone to get used to the camera and relax. They were talkative and personable, which made everyone a lot more comfortable with their all day presence.



Wedding on 2010-07-31


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Creative, talented and full of energy!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Jennifer was able to capture outstanding features of the beautiful outdoor setting of our wedding. Our favorite photo was one where John and I stood next to a fountain of sparkling water and Jennifer captured the rainbow that was shimmering in the sunlight!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jennifer was familiar with the venue and had already planned the shots that we had discussed with her in advance. She offered unique suggestions and welcomed ideas from us, right on the spot. The collections of photographs were outstanding and captured the day moment by moment!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We were very pleased with the diversity in the packages that Jennifer offered. DVDs are very popular and we selected that option. Jennifer offered a second photo assistant if we felt it was necessary.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer is a master at making me, John and our wedding party feel comfortable. From our first meeting at the Wedding Show, we were impressed with Jennifer's energy and enthusiasm. Her commitment to quality was evident by the communication leading up to our wedding and following the wonderful day.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Jennifer Whalen Photography is a MUST!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There is no way I can pick just one photo that is mt favorite! Jennifer is such a fantastic photographer and a visionary! Each photo was unique and caught the moment of laughter, enjoyment and love!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

The day was very chaotic and Jennifer was very clear in when the photos will be taken and what we wanted captured! The casuality of the pictures made the capturing of the moment breathtaking! The action and reaction shots of family, friend and ourselves made the memory last. The portraits were gorgeous! My flowers girl started to cry during the ceremony because she was so happy. I was in my own little world during the ceremony and missed out on family and friends, where everyone sat, where my flower girl went crying, who took care of her, etc.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

The wedding package included engagement photos and rights to the photos on a disc, online access, wedding photography with photos and rights on a disk, she traveled to town, spent the whole day at the wedding, and was there for every moment! She even brought an extra photographer- double the moments!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were very nice to my family and my husbands family. They never rushed us and asked us for our input in what we wanted and what style.



Wedding on 2010-07-02


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Fantastic Photographer!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I have so many where do I begin? I love her candids and the pictures we took as a couple out by the lake before the wedding. Absolutely beautiful.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jennifer was on top of everything before, during, and after our wedding. I was so happy with her professional manner. Her candids are wonderful and her creativity was what caught my eye. I can honestly say she is great at any type of photo - I was so happy with the outcome.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Engagement session with all rights to the pictures and a CD, wedding photos for 8 hours with a second photographer - all rights to the photos and a CD. Her quickness was so impressive! I had my pictures about a week later, and the quality was fabulous!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

From the moment we met Jennifer, we were so comfortable with her and we knew that her creativity and attention to detail was unmatched by many. Her patience and willingness to go above and beyond to make sure all of the details were taken care of seemed effortless for her, and made our wedding day so much more special. We couldn't be more pleased with our engagment and wedding photos - as she was able to capture every feeling we had for us to look back on years from now. They are absolutely gorgeous!

Her professional manner, friendliness, and genuine interest in providng us the best photographs on our big day was amazing. We have had so many people comment on her beautiful photos from our wedding, and we would highly recommend her to anyone looking for a seamless, outstanding and memorable photography experience.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Love Jennifer Photography

What was your favorite wedding photo?

A group photo Jenn shot for our wedding. There were about 30 people in the photo and everyone had some kind of a funny pose. It was a perfect portrayal of what the whole day was like- FUN - and she caught it.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She knew exactly what kind of shots she wanted to take. Jenn was also very accommodating. She respected my wishes and was able to replicate wedding samples I gave her before the event.

I had a good variety of photos. I was very satisfied with her service.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

• Rehearsal, the whole entire wedding day from noon to 10 p.m.
• All the raw files
• Two photographers

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She was great with everyone. She was wonderful with the kids. I received a ton of precious photos of our flower girls. Jenn had both classic and traditional ideas. Plus, she is FUN.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Jennifer Whalen Wedding Photography

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Several great natural pictures of my husband and right after the ceremony.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

We were a rather tough project, I think - huge, somewhat free-wheeling (read, unorganized) wedding, strong aversion to being photographed, especially in formal, posed pics. Jennifer was diligent in getting candids of almost everyone who attended. She and her assistant blended into the crowd and took some fun pictures of our guests. We didn't even notice they were there.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We only requested rights to the digital files and received a copy of the edited images.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jennifer has a genuine, down-to-earth personality. She heeded our interest in the photography not getting in the way of the celebration and was flexible with us and adaptable to the somewhat atypical conditions. She also went out of her way (70 miles each way) to travel to the site ahead of time to prepare.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Captures all the magic moments

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Nice black and white shot of us (the bride and the groom) inside the landmark center

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jen met with us a couple of times before to get an idea of what we needed and this allowed us to establish a rapport with her. As a result, on the big day we were relaxed and not nervous, communication with her was not a problem. She took and lot of pictures very unobtrusively. We loved some of the natural shots she took and she captured moments - that when we look back we laugh and revel in.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Two photopgraphers

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She was very friendly and talked to people and mingled naturally with the guests capturing the moments efficiently.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Jen will exceed your expectations!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I have many favorites! She did a lovely, intimate sequence of photos of just me and my husband and she did a great job of capturing the emotion in them. I couldn't pick just one favorite. She also did some spectacular night shots with the city lights reflecting off the water. She even caught a ferry boat in the background!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She was not intrusive at all. She was very prepared, there long before I was scoping out the place and getting ideas. She came up with loads of creative shots but was also able to get them done quickly and move onto the next thing. She is very easy to get along with, and I think she excels at both candid shots and portraits. A lot of the posed photographs didn't look posed at all.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We had the DVD of all the pictures, and an assistant photographer who got some great shots as well.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She is really friendly and easy to get along with, and she obviously knew what she was doing and knew what shots we wanted. Especially with the big family shots, she gave clear directions and got everything done in record time so people could get back to enjoying themselves. She was great, and my whole family was really impressed with her.




Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

SUPER CREATIVE! LOTS OF FUN! VERY CONSIDERATE!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I have two favorite wedding photos: 1) the wedding party all jumped up into the air while the bride and groom (me) dipped in front of them. The picture is amazing! 2) the pictures of the bride and groom lying on the ground. The picture is very colorful and very seductive - without being distasteful.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jenn met me a week before the wedding at both the church and reception area. This allowed her to know what the lighting was going to be like as well as where she would be able to set up. It was a HUGE relief knowing that she was familiar with the surroundings and already had thought up some photo ideas!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

The package was AMAZING! It included Jenn and an assistant for the entire day (11am to 9pm) at both the church and reception area. She provided a CD of the photos so I was able to print off the ones I wanted - which is exactly what I wanted. She also made me an album - which is amazing - which I purchased after the fact at a discounted rate.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jenn was so considerate on the day of the wedding. She knew what types of photos I wanted - based on our previous conversations - and worked directly with my personal assistants so I wasn't overwhelmed. Jenn had amazing ideas for the outdoor pictures and was very inventive!


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.