Maira Ortiz- Makeup & Hair Services
44 Reviews

Selected Best of 2012, 2010, 2009

.
New York NY 10021
United States




Portfolio




Congratulations! I know how important is for you to look your best on your very special day. That's why my goal is to give you excellent service, starting right from the trial, with the best quality cosmetic lines, to assure you a flawless, long-lasting makeup application. Using the most advanced techniques, including Airbrush makeup, tattoo cover up, hair designs, and more, for your convenience, I also will go to your home or event location. Please feel free to contact me for more information.




Reviews (44)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:








Wedding on 2012-06-22


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

MAIRA IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST!!!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My hair was styled in loose curls with one part pinned back.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira's services more than exceeded my wedding needs! She came with two other stylists and they had everything to make me and my girls look gorgeous on my wedding day. Not only did everyone look absolutely beautiful but the atmosphere with Maira and her team was relaxed and fun. Let me tell why this was so important, on my wedding day as we were all getting ready there was a severe lightening storm and the power went out, throughout all this Maira and her team kept me relaxed and continued to style the girls as much as they could. Once the power came back on they put on the finishing touches, even with this insane interruption Maira never lost her cool, finished us on time, and had us looking even better than our best.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Absolutely, they were so much fun to have style us! We were dancing and laughing the whole time!!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

EVERYTHING!!! Maira is the BEST!




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Picture perfect hair and makeup

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

For my wedding day hair, Maira created a soft up-do. I absolutely loved the look, and I received so many compliments.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira did an amazing job on my wedding day. My hair and makeup were perfect! I felt so beautiful. She was wonderful to work with, and I truly appreciate her upbeat and warm personality. I would highly recommend Maira!!!



Wedding on 2011-10-16


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Maira Ortiz Review

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I had a low bun that was swooped to the side. When I came to Maira for the trial, I brought a picture with me. Maira not only re-created the look, but she made it unique to my face. In about a half an hour Maira finished the hairstyle and it look incredibly elegant.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Her services most certainly met my needs. My hair and make-up looked flawless the entire day into the night. My husband snapped a photo of me at 1am and if you compare it to photos of when Maira finished in the morning I look exactly the same! And that's after hours of running around, dancing, and eating. One thing a bride should never have to worry about is, "how does my hair/make-up look?" Maira uses the best products to ensure that the bride never even wonders about that.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

The best part is the fact that Maira put me at total ease. She will work diligently to make sure she finishes the look you want and is punctual at the same time. Maira is extremely professional and I have no doubt she will make you look amazing. I not only found a wonderful make-up artist but I also feel like I made a friend. Every bride should be lucky enough to have Maira.



Wedding on 2010-10-10


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

If You're Looking for Perfection...

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

There aren't enough great things I can say about Maira and her team! For my wedding, it was as important for me to have a warm, calming spirit in my bridal suite with the rest of my bridal party as it was to get hair and makeup done by a top professional who could visualize the EXACT look I wanted for my wedding day. Maira and her team are hands down the BEST of the BEST when it comes to hair and makeup -- and transformed our suite into a fun, relaxed party atmosphere that was the perfect prep for walking down the aisle. Maira and her team are just as fun, reliable and flexible as they are masterful at what they do. They care just as much about your special day as you do -- which sets them apart from the other professionals out there -- and they make sure that your bridal party is as happy with their looks as you are with yours. If you are looking for perfection when it comes to your wedding day look, look no further -- Maira Ortiz and her team are in
your corner every step of the way!



Wedding on 2011-06-12


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Makeup by Maira Ortiz

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I just had my makeup done!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Absolutely! Maira did a BEAUTIFUL job on my wedding day makeup!! She made me look absolutely stunning!!! She also has an amazingly professional set-up -- she comes with a special makeup chair and tons of equipment, and even brings her own lighting and music! When we had my trial, she carried a laptop with her and entered all of the makeup she did on my into the computer, and took professional-quality photos of what we had done! I was really impressed with all of that. The only down-side is that she is expensive, but it was well worth it for how she made me look on my wedding day! Also, I was convinced I would need her around for touch-ups, so I booked her for extra time to stay and touch up my makeup during the course of the day -- but she did such an amazing job with her airbrush makeup, that it didn't fade or smear at ALL, even after hours of taking pictures outside and tons of dancing! The only touching up I required was my lipstick! When I was getting ready for bed at 5:00 AM, after having worn my makeup for almost 20 hours, it was still absolutely PERFECT and looked as good as when it was freshly applied -- I was amazed by the staying power! I was so sad when I had to wash my face before bed!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

I don't think I have ever looked so beautiful!!



Wedding on 2011-06-11


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Maira's a magician

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

Maira did both my daughters' hair in updo's, mine half up, half down and she did the groom's mother and sisters' hair also. Her assistant did our makeup.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

The services far exceeded our expectations. Maira had done a trial run for hair/makeup for the bride and on the day of the wedding the results were nothing less than spectacular. I have never heard so many people comment that they had never seen a more beautiful bride, and that they loved her hair and makeup. Maira made us all relax and have a good time through the entire process, but never lost her professionalism.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira is friendly and casual which made my very tense and nervous daughter so much more relaxed, which in turn made me feel a lot more relaxed myself. She played music, took pictures and the whole experience was just wonderful.



Wedding on 2011-04-03


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

The Best Hair & Makeup Artist

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My hair was done up in a low ponytail with with alot of volume on the top of it.during my trial we had done a different hairstyle that was down with a lot of curls. At the last minute we decided to change it to a ponytail and I am so glad I did. Maira was able to create something that was better than I could ever ask for. It was so perfect and gorgeous!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Yes, my bridal party used and everyone was extremely happy with her. My whole party came out looking gorgeous.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira and her team came to my house and setup an entire studio with music and lights and everything. It was so professional, I was very impressed. If there was something I was unsure about Maira was happy to change it. I would absolutely recommend the air brush, it is well worth the money and I am so happy that I did it. Maira and her team are incredibly talented and I would recommend her to anyone doing an important event, especially your wedding.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Review of Maira Ortiz-Makeup & Hair Services

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My hair was half up, half down with soft curls.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira and her team did a fantastic job. Maira knew exactly what I wanted and made sure I looked great. My hair was beautiful. Maira also did an amazing job on my makeup. I was getting compliments on my eye makeup the entire night. Maira and her team did hair and makeup for 4 of my bridesmaids and for the mothers of both the bride and groom. Everyone was really happy with their hair and makeup. I was very impressed both during my trial and during the wedding on how professional Maira was. I would highly recommend her services for weddings.



Wedding on 2010-10-02


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Wedding Day Hair and Makeup

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My hair was down with soft curls and held off my face by a headband.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Absolutely! Maira listened to exactly what I wanted. She modified the make-up she did for my trial-run on my Wedding Day when I said I wanted something a little more dramatic.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Maira was wonderful to work with! Very professional and accommodating.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Working with Maira! She made me feel so beautiful. I highly recommend her to any bride!



Wedding on 2010-08-28


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Beautiful work that lasted all night

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

Updo with slightly messy low bun.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira and her team did makeup and hair for me, my four bridesmaids, and my mother. She was super organized, professional, and made everyone look the best I've ever seen them. She's a good listener and was able to help all of my girls look the way they wanted, despite their very different tastes and desires.

Everyone's hair stayed in place from beginning to end (and then some), and I amazingly looked fresh and made up even after the after party was over. I recommend the air brushing- it feels like you're not wearing anything at all and it STAYS ON!

In case I haven't made it clear before, I would like to emphasize how reliable Maira is. Not only did they get everyone made up with plenty of time before the wedding (we were on a tight schedule), but she also showed up to the hotel early!

Anyway, I can't recommend Maira enough- she's stress free and will make you look stunning on your special day.



Wedding on 2010-07-18


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Beautiful Bride

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My hair was styled in curls.



Wedding on 2010-06-26


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Maira Ortiz review

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

updo with flowers

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

yes!!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

yes

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Everything. Maira and her team were fantastic.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Highly Recommend

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

Half up, half down.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Yes, great job listening to what I wanted to look like and in the trial showed a couple different options.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira was a pleasure to work with.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

My dream wedding!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Planning a wedding is never easy, you want everything to be perfect for that one special day of your life. Planning a wedding when you're based in Europe, is even harder. But from the moment I sent my e-mail request to Maira, I felt at ease. She was not only professional, reliable and quick to respond to any of my questions, but as it turned out also a pure joy to be around. Her energy makes you smile and have fun during your trial and on your wedding day. She's flexible and listen to your ideas. I was going for a timeless elegant style, and the result could not have been more perfect. I received a lot of compliments on my wedding day, and I can honestly say I've never felt so beautiful - all thanks to Maira! I highly recommend Maira Ortiz to future brides that are in search of excellent service and someone that's talented and knows exactly how to make you a radiant beauty on your special day!



Wedding on 2010-06-06


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

My best Experience

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My hair was styled with soft romantic curls. Maira did an AMAZING job with my make-up as well. I was complemented all night on how gorgeous my make-up and hair looked. I felt most beautiful than ever!!! Thank you for making me so beautiful and special! Love you!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Yes, way more..

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Yes, I’m so lucky I had her.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

The whole process, from the moment I met Maira, I knew I was in a very good hands, I enjoyed so much my trial and my actual wedding date. I never saw other artist working the way she does. She is AMAZING!



Wedding on 2011-06-05


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

My Bridal Trial

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I had an half up half down hair style and airbrush makeup done.

Makeup: before setting up the appointment, I had emailed Maira Pictures of the looks I wanted. However, the day of the trial its as if she didnt even listen to what I wanted and I had my laptop showing her pics of the looks I wanted-- and pics of how I do my makeup on my own.... it was soo bad that my mom gasped afterwards and I almost cried and went to fix my makeup myself. she didnt apply much mascara and used a fan brush to apply it. My eyes are my best feature and she didnt add anything to them at all! She may work for some but she didnt work for me. I have a very specific makeup taste because I do my own very well. I am very happy that I did find a makeup artist who met my needs.

The only good thing about the trial is that she did airbrush foundation pretty well.

Hair: I just didnt like the style at all. she couldnt replicate or suggest looks for me.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

No it did not.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

no.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira is a nice woman.

Vendor's Response

First Adelya had a party to go to that afternoon of her trial. She was more focused on how her hair and makeup looked for the party than for her wedding, she even spent the whole time texting... it was like she just booked the trial to take advantage of the trial price. I arrived to find her hair already wet, which forced me to blow dry her very long curly hair and afterwards I even had to do curls for her, because of all these obstacles, I really didn't have much time to arrange different looks for her, and figure out which one she truly wanted. This put me in a very awkward position.<br><br>

Adelya's appointment was on Mach 12th, 2010. She did not get back to me about whether or not she wanted to book me. It seems odd that if she was so unhappy she waited until June 26th to write her review.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Maira is the best!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

Half updo with soft waves.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Yes of course! All I can say is WOW! - Maira is one of the most professional and personable people I've ever had the pleasure of working with. She exceeded all expectations, and went out of her way to make me as a bride feel very comfortable, and accomodate my requests. She is a superb hair and makeup artist, and have full confidence in her. She enabled me to have the exact look I had always wanted for my wedding, and made me feel very beautiful and relaxed during my wedding day. Even though there was just one of me - she brought an entire team with her! Everything was very smooth and organized! Love the airbrush makeup - lasted all day even though it was hot and humid- and would have lasted into the next day, had I not needed to take a shower before going to bed that night! I wish I could have her do my hair and makeup everyday! Would highly recommend her to anyone without any reservations whatsoever. I have nothing but praises for this exceptional person and her team.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Highly recommend! She does wonders!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I envisioned my hair style with a romantic (not too tight) updo with curls. I showed Maira a picture for inspiration and she nailed it perfectly!!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

I first met Maira in the summer 2009 when I was contacting various hair/make up artists for trials. Maira is the only stylist that was interested in setting up a consultation before the trial date to ensure we were on the same page. This was very comforting to me, especially since i have "ethnic" hair that not many mainstream stylists know how to properly handle. The consultation went well, and we arranged for a trial appointment on the same day as my engagement pictures, so I could see how it photographed.

Maira traveled to my house and began at work. She took her time and explained everything she was doing. She even brought music to have fun with. The makeup and hair looked great and the e-pics came out awesome. I did not hesitate in booking her for the wedding day!!

On the day of the wedding, Maira showed up early at the hotel where I was getting ready, set up and put on some fun music. Since we already knew the "look" we were going for, it took less time than the day of the trial.

The hair and makeup stayed put all day/night, and everything was flawless!

Some might consider Maira on the expensive side, but she is definitely worth every penny!! I will have photos/videos to look back on, and I know that I look the best I can thanks to Maira!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira is excellent at what she does. I loved KNOWING that I looked fabulous that day. The happy glow really showed in pictures too, and I got many compliments.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Diane Wedding

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira was fantastic. It was only myself and my fiance in New York to get married and so it was really important to me to have someone I could talk to and explain what I wanted. Maira not only was an amazing hair stylist and make up artisit (I was delighted with the results) but she was a friend to me also, helping with my dress and all of my pre wedding jitters!
She is extremely professional and I would recommend her again in a heartbeat.
Thank you Maira x

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Meeting Maira and feeling like a princess for a day!



Wedding on 2010-05-08


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Thank you so much!!!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I had a low messy bun with side swept bangs and face framing pieces. It was gorgeous! I had my nails done the night before.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

We hired Maira to do the bridal party hair and makeup. I was the Maid of Honor and was lucky enough to have to book a makeup artist for my best friend's wedding for 7 bridesmaids, who were all different races and shapes. Maira was so easy to deal with and was very responsive to the women in the party to make sure they got what they wanted and were comfortable with their hair and makeup. We looked so gorgeous the day of!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Unfortunately we didn't have time to meet and talk much before, but Maira and her team were very friendly the day of and we got along great!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Getting pampered! I don't get my hair and makeup done very often. Maira made it very fun with good conversation and music!



Wedding on 2010-05-01


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Maira Ortiz - Hair and Make-up

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I had my hair half-up with a birdcage veil. It was perfect - better than I imagined. Maira was amazing and made everyone look perfect,

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Absolutely!! My hair and makeup were great and everything that I hoped for!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Maira is so easy to get along with. She is so generous with her time and I felt completely comfortable!!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

The entire experience working with Maira was wonderful from beginning to end!!



Wedding on 2010-04-10


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Bridesmaid

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I was a Bridesmaid on 4/10/2010 at an Indian themed reception. Maira did my hair & makeup. She did an OUTSTANDING job! I looked natural & beautiful! My hair which is usually crazy curly & wavy/frizzy looked soft, with managable curls/ waves. I LOVED it!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

ABSOLUTELY!! Everything we wanted or needed, Maira made happen!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Maira is so easy to get along with. She was the stylist to my BFF's wedding in September of 2009, so I recommended her to my friend for her April 2010 wedding. Maira instantly became part of the family. She is a wonderful woman who will perform wonders for your special day. I consider her to be part of my BFF family! Can't wait to have her work her magic on me again !

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira is fun,sweet,professional & easy going. Always making sure that you, her client is comfortable & happy with the outcome.



Wedding on 2010-04-07


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Exceptional Service!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My wedding was on Wednesday, April 7th. I wanted a vintage look and Maira did an awesome job in making that look shine through. I had beautiful curls in a very soph isticated and classic style. On Saturday, April 10th, I had an Indian reception. Maira made me into a beautiful Indian bride with exceptional makeup, hair and placement of all the Indian jewelry.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Absolutely! Maira went over and beyond. Her professionalism and patience shined through.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Yes!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira was professional, fun, high spirited and lovely to work with!




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Great Experience !

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I wanted to have my hair down, flowy with big soft curls. During my make-up trial Maira took the time to really listen, understand and get my hair and make-up looking EXACTLY how I wanted. I was very impressed with Maira's commitment to perfecting my wedding day look and I left the trial feeling confident and very excited. Another thing I could check off my list!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

The salon was immaculate and professional. It makes you feel very comfortable.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Yes! Both my husband and I loved Maira! She was friendly, professional and just a genuine person. What impressed me most was that she took the time to try a couple of different looks on me until we were really satisfied with the end result,.. and time was no object!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

The most enjoyable part of the experience was just the process of getting my hair and make-up done and seeing the transformation. Thank you Maira for doing a fantastic job both at the trial and especially on the big day. I couldn't have been happier with my look!



Wedding on 2010-06-05


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Amazingly Beautiful

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My trial with Maira was incredible. I felt like it was my wedding day already. She took her time and made me feel like a princess! Even better is that I get to look forward to this again on my wedding day!!!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

The salon is immaculate and totally modern! it was more than I could have expected!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

no

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

I felt absolutely beautiful when she was done. Maira made me feel comfortable throughout and the end result was phenominal!!!




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Feedback on make-up trial

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My wedding hair style was an all hair updo, very volumized with ringlet curls at the ends which was teased and then pinned.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

The salon services met my needs to a perfect "T".

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

I was not "BFFs" with my stylist, but i had the opportunity to know more about her through the process of my trial.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

The most enjoyable part of my salon ecperience was having a perfessional do my hair and makeup while i sit back and relax.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Maira made my wedding perfect!!!!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My hair and makeup were absolutely perfect! Maira and her assistant were making sure every hair was in place and my makeup was perfect until I walked into my reception. She even left me with lip gloss and a compact so my bridal attendant could touch-up throughout the night.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira's services were unmatched!! She took care of me, my mom, two flower girls and even helped one of my bridesmaids fix her hair after it fell out after being done at a nearby salon. She even took pictures throughout the night to make sure my makeup was looking perfect in my pictures.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Yes!!!! She was such a pleasure to work with and I really enjoyed having her there. She stayed with me from 11:30 am until after my ceremony at 7:30pm. I couldn't imagine having gone with another makeup and hair stylist. She was truly amazing and I can't wait till I have another event where I can use her again!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

All of it!!!! Maira was by far my favorite vendor I used for my wedding!!! After a trial with her you will have no doubts!!!! I love you Maira!!!!



Wedding on 2009-11-20


Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

BEST MAKE UP EVER!!!!!!!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira was absolutely fabulous. She did my make up for my wedding day. I would have had her do my hair but unfortunately I already had an appointment that I paid for before meeting Maira. She also did make up for 3 others in my wedding that day. She was extremely professional. My whole family and bridal party still tell me how sweet she was to them. We wanted to take her with us to the wedding. She made me feel like a movie star. Better then I could have ever imagined. She did a trial at my home which was awesome cause I did not have to travel with all there is to do in planning a wedding. She then sent me pics after the trial so I could see myself in them before wedding. That way I could see if I did not like how I looked. BUT they were amazing. She could not have been better. In fact my OWN photographer was late coming to the house and she stepped in and took some pics with her camera in case he did not show in enough time to get those special shots before heading to church. WAY ABOVE what she needed to do. She really is more then an artist but a has a heart of gold. You will not be sorry to use her services. I am only sorry we had to say goodbye that day. My new husband is still telling me how beautiful I looked that day and it has been almost a month. SO is EVERYONE I know. Maira is the best!!! She ROCKS!!! 5 STARS ALL AROUND!!!!!! Thanks Maira!




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

My Wedding hair and make up

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I wanted something exotic. I had my hair down and curly but puffy/volume.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

It sure did. She was very professional. She had everything as if she brought the entire salon with her. I was very impressed with her service. Everyone at my wedding said that my hair and make up matched me well. Most of all my husband, could not stop staring at me during the wedding.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

As soon as i met her for my trial hair and make up, I felt very comfortable with her. She is a pleasant person to work with.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

The most enjoyable part of the service was seeing the difference after the hair and make uo was done, which I loved very well.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

The Excellent Maira!!!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira exceeded my wedding expectations! I could not have asked for more! She made sure everything was perfect. She is very detailed with her work. She left nothing undone.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

She is a wonderful person. I enjoyed getting to know Maira not only as a stylist but as a friend. She is extremely warm! You feel comfortable with her right away! She has an amazing personality that shines right away.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

The whole part! Maira made the entire experience...from the first meeting to the wedding an absolute pleasure.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

look your best!!!!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

hair extentions put in,hair styled half up

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

she far exceeded my expectations. she was pleasant, relaxed and she made me look amazing

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

would definely recommend her to friends and family

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

it was a stress-free experience on a stress filled day




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Maira made my wedding beautiful and unforgettable!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

Maira was so creative with my hair! She gave my soft curls that were pinned to on side for a side-sweeping look. It was both feminine and gorgeous. I also had a slight side bang sweep to frame my face and topped it off with green orchids down the side of my hair. It was magical and beautiful!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira and her team exceeded my wedding needs and expectations. Maira was both attentive to detail and willing to try many different styles during the trial session to perfect the look for my wedding day. Aside from her amazing talent with hair, she also perfected my makeup, I looked radiant and natural from the beginning of the evening until 4 am!!! My airbrushed makeup stayed beautiful and fresh throughout the evening through happiness tears, laughter, dancing and singing! Thank you Maira!!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Both my mom and my sister can not stop talking about Maira's magic with their hair and makeup. My mom's hair looked amazing and she had beautiful makeup that she loved! My sister' hair was funky and fun, just like the way she wanted it. And Maira matched my sister's hair with the perfect makeup, sexy and sultry, again just the way my sister likes it. My mom and my sister loved their experience with Maira!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

I think the most enjoyable part was getting to meet Maira and immediately knowing when I first met her that she was going to transform me into a beautiful bride. I had so much confidence in her because from the moment I met Maira, she and I clicked and I could tell she knew how to make me feel comfortable and beautiful on my wedding day. I love you Maira, thank you so much for being a part of my special day, it wouldn't have been the same without you!




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Thank You for making us all look like models!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My hair is very long and coarse, but that didn't stop Maira and her team from making me look great. My MoH style was pulled back low and off to the side with different twists and curls for a very fun, modern yet elegant updo. I was very very impressed and my hair looked beautiful all day and all night.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Yes! My hair and makeup looked gorgeous as did the beautiful bride. She looked magnificent in person and in pictures. Her hair and makeup lasted all day and all night. In addition the hair and makeup services performed on my little sister, mother and grandmother were also done perfectly. We couldn't have been happier.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Maira and her whole team were fun, friendly and relaxing. They set the mood - which was professional and efficient yet light and carefree. It was just what we needed at 6AM tired and nervous and stressed! She made us all feel at ease.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

We all laughed and talked and the best part was just to know that we were all meant to just sit back and relax while Maira and her team worked their magic. It was nice to know we had nothing to worry about.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

My wedding day

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I had my hair pulled back in a low bun but I wanted it to be more creative than just a bun. Maira did some twists that made it definitely different and it really looked great!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira and her team's services definitely met my needs. They came to the wedding location and they come with all of their equipment / make up, etc., so you don't have to worry about a thing. They did my hair and make up as well as the mother of the bride, mother of the groom and matron of honor. They also did one more woman's hair and make up that was a last minute request -- they were most accommodating!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

I had not met the two additional stylists with Maira before that day but they were great. Maira as always was terrific --

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

I would say having them come with everything and having the proper lighting so you can see how it will look in photos.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Lisa and Tracy Wedding September 3, 2009

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

Straight down with layers parted to the side. I had a french manicure

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Yes, Maira Ortiz was very responsive and attentive to what I wanted done for my special day.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

After meeting her for my trial and her doing such a great job on my wedding day. She will be my bff for life.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira Ortiz is pleasant and great to work with. She did an awesome job on my make up. I received complements all night. On the day of the wedding she came pumped and ready to work. She was so excited for me and it made me feel so good.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

My wedding.

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

After other unsuccessful makeup trials with other vendors I finally came upon Maira Ortiz's website. I did a airbrush makeup trial with her and I was done searching. I found the one who made me feel and look beautiful which was very important to me since I usually don't wear too much makeup and wanted a natural look. For my wedding Maira keep my hair loose and full of soft curls and played up my hazel eyes to their fullest. My wedding was at 1pm and my makeup stayed on all day until I finally took it off myself late that night. With airbrushing makeup I didn't have to worry about sweating and having my makeup run or anything else happening to it except applying a little lip gloss here and there for pictures. Maira took her time with me and even took pictures of me while applying makeup to make sure my face looked flawless. She did an awesome job on me and I would recommend her to everyone out there whether your a bride or not, she's just that awesome.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

If your looking for a professional, Maira is your girl. She looks like a professional, acts like a professional and her makeup equipment is impeccable. She truly listen to my concerns and assured me that my face will look smooth and flawless with no sings of large facial pores that I myself cannot hide.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Maira is so friendly and just a joy to work with, really easy going making me feel at ease with her smile. My parents and friend had nothing but good things to say about her and we all hugged at the end as if we were family. :)

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

My whole experience with Maira was awesome. I don't have enough words to express my gratitude towards her. I'm 43 years old and never in my life have I ever felt or looked so beautiful, all thanks to Maira Ortiz. She is the best. For all you brides out there within the vicinity of New York, please look her up, you wont be disappointed. If she can make me look so beautiful, and I have large facial pores and some acne, imagine what she can do for you. If you don't believe me, check out her web page and see for yourself.
Luv you Maira, you are simply the best.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Maira Ortiz: The BEST hair and makeup artist!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My hair was pulled back, into a very soft, classic-looking hairstyle. One of my bridesmaids had her hair pulled loosely back, with part of her hair pulled to the side in the front. My other bridesmaid wore her hair down in large, soft-looking curls. We all loved our look, and each of our hairstyles complimented our faces. Maira has an incredible depth of knowledge and skill. Also, our hair stayed perfectly in place all night long!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira is THE BEST! I ended up having airbrush makeup applied, which I was initially skeptical about, as I have heard mixed reviews about the technique. I am SO GLAD that I decided on an airbrush application, rather than the traditional method of makeup application. I usually do not wear makeup, and my skin looked much better than usual-and I have very clear skin. All of my makeup, including my eye makeup, stayed on throughout the evening, so I was always ready for the camera. My videographer and photographer both commented on how amazing I looked. My skin looked flawless, all night long. My eyes looked amazing! The only thing I needed to reapply was my lip-gloss, which Maira provided and gave me to keep. Someone once told me that the artist matters more than the products used. Maira is highly skilled in her technique, and knows which products to use. One bridesmaid was worried about her makeup application, as she has sensitive skin, and she was forever grateful that she decided to have her makeup done by Maira.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

You can tell that Maira enjoys people and making them look better than their best. Maira is professional and friendly. She arrived early, and made sure she had enough time with each person. She is also incredibly easy to get into contact with. I live in Boston, and would travel to New Jersey/New York to work with her again. She is THAT good!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

After talking with Maira, and having her do my hair and makeup trial, I knew that I had chosen to work with someone who I could trust on the most photographed day of my life. I feel confident saying that Maira can make any woman look her absolute best on her wedding day, or any other important occasion. When my friends and family saw me for the first time, their jaws dropped! I looked and felt beautiful for my entire wedding ceremony and reception.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

My wedding day

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

Maira and her team were amazing!!! I had a rather large wedding party and everyone's hair looked gorgeous. Whether they wanted curls, straightening, waves or up-dos, everyone was more than satisfied. Maira is the only one I know who can really control and blow dry my thick and curly hair to look like it is naturally straight. She pulled my hair half up and the soft look was exactly what I wanted. Maira is wonderful and a pleasure to work with!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira supplied hair and make-up services to me and my wedding party. Each one of us have a different style and look. I am not exaggerating when I write that everyone was more than satisfied and ecstatic with the way they looked! We all felt like beauty queens!!! We are going to use Maira in the future and I have already recommended her to other people. She is professional and works with each individual based on their wants and needs. From my hair trial to the day of, I was completely happy and satisfied with every step of the way.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Maira has been cutting my hair for years. She is a very easy person to get along with. Her easy-going manner and kind, sweet demeanor make the whole process enjoyable. Maira is a pleasure to work with. Maira and her team are professional and really listen to you and know exactly what they are doing. I loved working with them and they made me feel like a beautiful princess on my wedding day :)

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

I enjoyed every second of it!!! I truly would recommend Maira for any service you want. She is amazing and I have the pictures to prove it!!!




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Renewal Of Vows

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My Special Day was perfect all due to Maira. Maira was the perfect Makeup Artist...right coverage, colors. It was easy to explain all of my needs. Maira working with my Hair and knew exactly what to do and how to make it look great. I had no worries!!!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Beyond my needs, I had no worries about my Hair or Makeup. Maira was professional, she arrived on time, knew what I wanted. Had all of her equipment with her worked on my Hair first and then Makeup last.
One person to handle my Hair and Makeup and the perfect person MAIRA . Will use her again for special events.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Mairia is the best!!!! If you want to feel special and need a Stylist and Makeup Artist that will give you the look of a cover girl...stop looking Maira will do just that. As a Bride, you should not have any worries the day of your Wedding I asure you Maira will handle everything so you do not have a care in the world. Friends for Life!!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira came to my home and treated me as a Longtime Friend. I felt at ease and very relaxed. It made my Wedding Day care free. Loved Maira would recommend her over and over. The best complainment is when the Groom falls in Love again with his15 year old Bride!




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Maira Ortiz, My Fairy Godmother!

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

Fresh, young and chic updo with soft curls gathered under my pearl comb.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira was my first and only choice for hair and make up because I have been aware of her outstanding work for quite a few years. I work in the wedding industry and there is honestly no one else whose work can compare. Maira is simply fantastic!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Oh Yes! I'd say "forever and ever". Maira is the BEST!!! She really listens and understands your vision. And she instinctively knows the look that will best compliment your dress and your own style and personality.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

I could never thank her enough for making me feel so beautiful on what was truly the most happy and magical day of my life.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

My June Wedding

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I had a romantic loose up do with a one flower tucked into the side of my hair. Very Victorian and very me!! My makeup was very natural and worked well all day and night!

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Maira did an amazing job. She made my tired eyes look energized and bright. I loved the transformation from a very sleep deprived and nervous bride to beautiful and flawless and ready to be wed!

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

After our hair and makeup test we became very close. She and her amazing videographer husband are a wonderful team. I work in the wedding industry and know allot of people and I chose her because not only does she have amazing talent she is also a fantastic person to be around.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira helped me choose the hairstyle and makeup that looked best for me so I looked my very best at my wedding. My favorite moment is the look on David my fiance's face when he saw me for the very first time on our day!




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

May 15 Mejia-Furnari wedding

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

Hair was an up do, chingon with a braid down the middle parted in the front

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Yes my needs and my bridal parties needs were all fully met, she exceeded the expectations of my bridesmaids who were against paying for this service, they def. got their money's worth and everyone looked beautiful in the pictures.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

She kept in touch and answered any questions i had through out the months before the wedding!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Maira and her team were great. They arrived on time and worked carefully on each of the girls. Everything came out better then i could have hoped for. She is a great makeup artist and hair stylist. She made me look natural but glamourous! It was a stress free process!




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

She is FANTASTIC

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

I had my hair down with loose strands in front and waves.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

It was amazing! My makeup was flawless, light and so natural looking. My hair was perfect. I received so many compliments for my faince, family & my coworkers when I showed them pictures.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

My friends were so impressed with my makeup and hair trial that they are all going to get their hair/makeup done by her. They are so excited!

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

Besides looking like a million bucks, Maira made me look just like me but more beautiful. She is very wonderful to work with as she listens and cares how you will look on your special day.

I am recommending her to anyone that is in need of her services.




Gorgeousness Level
Salon Style
Product Selection
Range of Services

Wedding Make-up and Hair trial

How was your wedding hair styled? Nails painted?

My wedding her was styled down with soft curls very nice. My make-up was perfect, I loved like a completely different person. She was the right choice for my wedding day and I cannot wait to work with her on my wedding day.

Did salon services meet your wedding needs? Why or why not?

Definitely 100% yes. Maira was wonderful; I loved her presence, personality, her attentiveness and her professionalism.

Were you BFFs with your stylists?

Yes they were and they loved her and her work. They are all excited to get their hair and make-up done by her.

Most enjoyable part of your salon & spa experience?

The end result was definitely the best part of the hair and make-up trial experience. I recommend her for any event she is all around a great make-up and hair stylist, and she is down to earth. My family loved her, I do believe she is really easy to speak to as well, and she totally gets your vision for that special day.


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.