Cutting Edge Entertainment
33 Reviews

More than just the music... We are a full service entertainment company. Our goal is to make your wedding day your day, your way.

Selected Best of 2014, 2012

161 Tomlinson Road
Huntingdon Valley PA 19006
United States




Portfolio




Cutting Edge Entertainment has been providing DJ entertainment for weddings in the Philadelphia area since 1992.




Reviews (33)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:








Wedding on 2015-07-05


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Book Richie!

First dance song?

Ingrid Michaelson - Can't Help Falling in Love

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We are so happy that we chose Cutting Edge Entertainment for our wedding! Specifically, we were thrilled with the amazing job that Richie did as our DJ! From our first meeting with Richie we knew we wanted to book with him - we could tell that he was going to make our wedding so much fun. Richie thinks of everything - there are so many little details about planning wedding music that we never would have thought of on our own, and Richie covered every detail with us. He was incredibly professional, and we instantly clicked with him and felt at ease. We knew we could trust him to make our wedding a blast. We had so much fun in our prep meeting with him, listening to all kinds of music and making our choices for the wedding. He never rushed us or pushed us into making song decisions that we didn’t like, but he was also very helpful in making suggestions and providing helpful ideas. We had no worries going into the day - we knew that Richie would be a great MC who would have everything running smoothly. Richie showed up early and set up all of the microphones for our ceremony and made sure everything was in order. When we made a major change on the fly to move our first dance outside, Richie was totally cool about it all, and it all went off without a hitch. He does a great job of getting everyone on the dance floor, and he worked very well with all of our other vendors (most of which he had worked with quite a bit in the past). We had such a great party and know it wouldn’t have been as much fun without an awesome DJ like Richie!



Wedding on 2014-10-31


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Bride

First dance song?

I used Cutting edge for my ceremony and reception. I love the music played for both parts of the night, especially for the ceremony. They cut the music so my favorite parts were played when walking down the isle.

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

A month before a schedule was made to help with the flow of the night. The music didn't stop. Richie always knew what to play to keep people on the dance floor.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Richie was very interactive with the guestes. As for numbers exchanged im not sure, wasnt playing attention.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

After we were pronounced husband and wife we walked down to thunder clatter by wild cub and our wedding song was keith urban making memories of us. I had so much fun and I'm glad I choose cutting edge.



Wedding on 2014-11-09


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

The perfect DJs you've been looking for!

First dance song?

Yup.

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

With great music and enthusiasm!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Lots!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Who could pick one?

Anyway, about Cutting Edge Entertainment: Cutting Edge Entertainment impressed me and all my guests very much. The groom and I had told him what type of music we would like played & he followed everything we said perfectly. People were asking the night of and the day after wondering how we found a DJ that wasn't cheesy, who only played good music. Everyone at Cutting Edge seems cool, but Richie Abrams is who we dealt with the most, and he is a joy. Funny, patient, and accommodating. Plus Cutting Edge's services are reasonably priced. Hire these guys! Right now! And chase away those nightmares of awful wedding DJs.



Wedding on 2014-06-06


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Perfect evening thanks to these guys!

First dance song?

Queen's You're my Best Friend

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

They continued to play amazing music all night long.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Encouraged more people to join (even though many were out there the entire time) as well as always making sure one of the grooms was on the dance floor

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

The ended the evening with Dirty Bit which ensured all of our friends kept dancing through the last song




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

May Wedding




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Great Service/Great Price

First dance song?

Forever by John Stamos

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

They took an interest in our guests and played music that kept them on the dance floor.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

No.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

What does the fox say



Wedding on 2013-11-10


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Awesome DJ!!!!

First dance song?

Crazy Love- Van Morrison

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

They knew exactly the music to play at all times, and had the entire party singing and dancing the whole night! Richie was our DJ and we are not only thrilled by how amazing he was, but we are still, a month later, hearing praise from wedding guests about how perfect he was for our event! He knew exactly what to play for our crowd, and he made the wedding not only personal to us, but also the best dance party I will ever have in my entire life! We could not be happier with his services, and I would recommend him to anyone!!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Wedding Guests have come to me requesting Richie's contact information for their own events! Richie did not try to solicit other clients during the event, yet he definitely gained fans among the guests!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Every song and dance!! Some highlights were the theme song to the Fresh Prince of Bel Air, Toto's "Africa", and The Pointer Sisters' "It's Raining Men", and our father-daughter dance to "Come on Eileen"!



Wedding on 2013-06-15


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Absolutely Amazing!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We were so lucky to have found Richie as our DJ. We had an italian and indian fusion wedding, which required music from both sides. We were very concerned that this would be difficult to pull off. However, Richie worked very hard to accommodate all of our needs, and it showed. He did an amazing job and our wedding night was perfect!! The dance floor was packed the entire night (including people we never expected to see dancing). When the night came to an end, everyone began chanting for him to continue playing songs! To this day, our guests are still talking about how much fun they had at our wedding. Obviously, we would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ!



Wedding on 2013-07-20


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

OUTSTANDING!!!!!

First dance song?

"Back at One" Mark Wills

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

If you are lucky enough to have Richie Abrams DJ/MC your wedding, you are guaranteed a good time! Our guests remarked that music was "seamless", and that the dance floor (of sand!) was PACKED from start to finish! He's professional, personable, and a warm-hearted young man! He will plan an event catered to your needs, and no one will be disappointed! I recommend Cutting Edge Entertainment one billion percent!!



Wedding on 2013-06-02


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

The Best DJ Ever!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We got married five weeks ago and are still reliving the wonderful experience Richie Abrams provided for our wedding guests and us. From the first time we sat down with him, we knew he was special. He is a consumate professional and was attentive and accommodating. He also had great ideas and suggestions.
Richie exceeded our expectations on the day of our wedding. He got everyone up and dancing non-stop and made our special day an exceptional one for all. Thank you Richie, from the bottom of our hearts!



Wedding on 2012-08-04


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

AWESOME DJ!!!!

First dance song?

Tim McGraw - Best Friends

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

They felt the vibe in the room and knew exactly what to play at all points to get everyone going!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

One of the most important items to us out our wedding was that everyone had fun on the Dance Floor. If you get Richie, you will not be disappointed!! He kept everyone on the dance floor and rocking all night long!!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Entire crowd singing Neil Diamond!!!



Wedding on 2012-09-02


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Richie from cutting edge is the best

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

My wife and I recently had Richie Abrams as our DJ for our wedding at Aldie Mansion in Doylestown. He couldn't have done a better job. We had a great time meeting with him and going over the music we did and did't want played at our wedding. He picked up on our music preferences immediately and made our wedding a blast. We had a lot of requests, such as starting songs at specific spots (1 min 15 seconds into a song) for our processional and wanting certain songs played at specific times during the wedding, all of which where done exactly as asked. Richie kept everyone on the dance floor all night with his great selection of music and everyone had an amazing time. Richie was the best and we would highly recommend him!



Wedding on 2012-06-30


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Brian was the Best DJ!!!

First dance song?

You and Me by Kenny Chesney

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

I recently got married at the Loews Hotel in Philadelphia and utilized Cutting Edge Entertainment for my DJ and MC. We were lucky enough to get Brian as our DJ / MC. He was fantastic and made the night flow so perfectly. He played exactly the music we and our guests love to hear and everyone had such a great time dancing. If you are recently engaged and looking for a DJ, I would highly recommend Brian from Cutting Edge Entertainment!




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Cutting Edge is the Best!

First dance song?

Bless the Broken Road - Rascal Flatts

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Cutting Edge was amazing! It all started when I was just 13 years old. Craig was the DJ at my Bat Mitzvah and he was fantastic. My parents loved him and he made me feel so comfortable. When I got engaged a year ago, I knew right away that I wanted nothing more that Craig to be the DJ at my wedding. I was a long-distance bride, and he was so accommodating. We met when I was in town, but did much of our communication via email and telephone. We gave him some song choices that he made sure were played, but we left much of it up to him. He made our wedding day the most special day of our lives. After the reception was over we got so many compliments regarding the music. These compliments came from our friends and family members of all different ages. Craig did such a great job of make sure all age ranges were entertained. I would absolutely use Cutting edge again. Both my husband and I will recommend them to all of our friends!



Wedding on 2011-09-11


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Best.Party.Ever

First dance song?

One republic - Won't stop

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Richie kept the party going by playing amazing music throughout the whole party. Also, he never let me be alone on the dance floor. I caught myself alone on the dance floor for a brief second after a succession of incredible songs, and he quickly had people back up there and partying with me!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

when he transitioned eddie murphy's (my girl wants to) party all the time, which I requested into Michael Jackson's PYT, which is one of my favorite songs of all time



Wedding on 2011-08-13


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Highly recommended

First dance song?

I will stay with you - John Legend

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Played the hits and called out the wedding party

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Yes, no numbers exchanged



Wedding on 2011-05-07


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Great job, very flexible and kept everyone dancing

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Did a great job on both the outdoor ceremony music and the reception music. Everyone had a great time! Very organized and helped walk us through the whole process and song selection. Thanks again!



Wedding on 2011-07-03


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Fairy Tale Wedding

First dance song?

Big Me (Live Version from Skin and Bones Tour) - Foo Fighters

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Richie did an absolutely amazing job and my husband and could not be happier!! He is very professional and personable. We went through a timeline before hand, so we knew exactly what to expect on the day, and things couldn't have gone any smoother than they did. He is extremely patient and helped us pick out all of our songs - from the entrance song, to the last dance. The dance floor was packed the whole night and people were fighting to keep their spot on the dance floor. He played a variety of songs, including all of our requests. All my guests were raving at how much fun they had due to Richie and his amazing DJing skills!!! I would highly recommend working with Richie at Cutting Edge DJs.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Very energetic and personable with all my guests.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Our Backstreet Boys/N'Sync Mix up!! Haha - everyone had a blast!!




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Great DJ

First dance song?

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Hysteric (acoustic version)

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

We had Richie as our DJ/MC, and he did a great job with our wedding. He was really accommodating with some of the indie rock that we were into, but at the same he played stuff that the crowd wanted to hear. He came in with a good plan, coordinated with the people in our reception site, and read the crowd really well all night. His song selection was really good, and there were people dancing all night. Consider also that this was a multi-cultural wedding, but he got everyone (middle aged Asians included) up and dancing.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

I believe he went to each table and asked for recommendations. He also came out on the floor and led the crowd during some of the dances.



Wedding on 2010-10-16


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Cutting Edge Entertainment made my wedding!

First dance song?

All I want is You- U2

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Music was played non stop. During the most precious moments, there was sweet, romantic music in the background. The party portion rocked like no other! EVERYONE was dancing from young to old. The music wasn't just typical wedding songs, it was music that reflected us as a couple.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

A lot of people commented on what an amazing DJ we had found. I'm not sure if there were numbers exchanged, but I recommend these guys in heartbeat.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Of course it would have to be our first dance:)




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Highly Recommended!!!

First dance song?

John Lennon's Stand By Me

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

From the beginning Richie worked closely with us to personalize every part of our wedding. He was open to all of our unique ideas and tastes, and at the same time drew upon his previous wedding experience. When the big day finally came we had an absolutely jam packed dance floor. We even had multiple side dance areas open up because the main one was so packed. Richie and Cutting Edge were able to perfectly read the crowd and to mix in our previously requested songs along with what the crowd was looking for. Most importantly to us, he avoided our extensive list of DO NOT PLAY songs. On top of the great music, as Emcee of the event Richie made the entire night flow perfectly. I personally recommend Cutting Edge DJs, and especially Richie for any wedding or event.



Wedding on 2010-06-06


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Richie @ Cutting Edge ROCKS!!

First dance song?

I'm writing this review for Richie Abrams at Cuttign Edge Entertainment. Richie did a fantastic job preparing for and executing our wedding day DJ services. I have to be honest, my bride and I thought we had all the "bases covered" with the music, but Richie was so "hands on" in thinking about and walking us through all the little details up front that we had absolutely nothing to worry about come our wedding day.

Besides that fact that Richie was uber professional and a great guy to work with, here's some more insight about Cutting Edge Entertainment in general:
- the speakers and DJ equipment used sounded great
- there package was flexible for our needs and we didn't feel pressured to "over-buy"
- like I mentioned above, very professional and methodical in preparation
- price was extremely reasonable (you get A LOT of service for the money!!)



Wedding on 2010-09-02


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Richie and music made our reception!

First dance song?

I cross my heart, George Strait

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Richie picked a great selection and variety of music.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

I didn't have a "favorite" they were all good, even the slow songs!



Wedding on 2009-05-01


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Perfect DJ for our Perfect Day!




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

The perfect fit for us!

First dance song?

Big and Rich - Lost in this Moment mixed with Baby Got Back!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

All of my guests were on their feet the entire time, we even extended it by 1 hour because everyone was having such a great time! Great mix of music to entertain all & a ton of interaction between Rich and our Guests!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Our first dance was my favorite




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Absolutely amazing-- DJ Richie

First dance song?

I cannot even express how thrilled my husband, my family and I were with the quality of service that we received from Cutting Edge Entertainment, especially our DJ/MC Richie.

We were so, so impressed by the enthusiasm we received over our big day. I know they do this for a living but we really, really felt like he was excited for us and to be a part of our big day.

Everything about the reception went so, so smoothly-- and that's because Richie knew how to be both a kind of master of ceremonies and also our entertainment for the night!

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Richie knows what he is doing. He spoke to us before hand regarding how the night would proceed. He placed the parent dances, bouquet toss, cake cutting, toasts, etc. strategically to keep everyone's attention and make a new flow through all those memorable moments!

His dance sets were fantastic. He was able to get both the young folks and the old folks up and dancing-- the floor was packed the entirety of the night. JUST TRUST HIM! He knows what he's doing!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Richie walked around and introduced himself to all of our tables and made sure to take requests! He became familiar with not just family and the wedding party but our guests-- even referring to some of them by name on the microphone by the end of the night! Everyone loved him-- he was awesome!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

Everything was great! But our favorite was probably the Hava Nagila!




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Absolutely Incredible - DJ Richie

First dance song?

Jack Johnson - Angel

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

My husband and I chose Cutting Edge thanks to the recommendation of an excellent friend. He told us that the company is great, providing a DJ AND an MC, lighting options, and always having extra equipment available in case of any issues. He raved about Richie, who is an MC but also mixes amazing beats and happens to be the best in the Philadelphia region. We met with him and were instantly convinced that he was the man for the job. He was professional, accommodating, and had a great confidence and vision, completely exceeding our expectations. Also, he helped us to pick some newer, non-cliche songs for our ceremony.

At the wedding, Richie set up the microphones for our ceremony and played the music that he helped us to pick. It was a huge success and felt very personal. On to the reception... Richie coordinated everything with the kitchen to ensure that the evening flowed smoothly, and he had the perfect choice of music to entertain guests of all ages. My parents commented how the volume was perfect, especially during the dinner hour. They were able to hold a conversation for as long as they could before we all just had to hit the dance floor. The entertainment couldn't have been better. Not only that, the price for a DJ and MC was as good as most companies who only provide a DJ, and trust me, you want both. Cutting Edge DJ Richie is as good as they get. Check out his blog on www.cuttingedgedjs.com

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

YES!!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

It was all excellent!



Wedding on 2010-09-26


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Excellence

First dance song?

"The Luckiest" by Ben Folds

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Prior to our wedding, we stayed in constant contact with our DJ, Rich Abrams, about the layout and timing of the night in order to keep the party going in an effective way. It was executed perfectly and the dance floor was constantly full of people the entire night. The music never stopped and Rich was very judicious about when and when not to use the mic to encourage guests to join in. Very professional.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Rich was exceptionally personable the entire night. The amount of interaction was very calculated, always done in a smart way, and never too much.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

It is impossible to pick just one. Rich was wonderful about playing songs that were on our very extensive play list and eliminating songs that we begged him not to play. Everything decision that he made in regards to our wedding was done with a great deal of care and consideration as to what he knew we wanted for our special day. He constantly promised to make this "the most amazing day of our lives - one that everyone will talk about" and he definitely followed through. Thanks so much, Rich and Cutting Edge!



Wedding on 1911-11-06


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Dance Floor was packed all night!




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Made our wedding even more perfect and fun!

First dance song?

I Could Not Ask For More by Edwin McCain

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Rich was amazing! He got everyone on the dance floor and kept them there with upbeat music. The floor was packed all night. It was a blast. A few weeks before I gave him a list of songs that I really wanted to hear and songs that I didn't like. He was very accommodating. We got so many compliments on how much fun our wedding was and Rich had a lot to do with that! We couldn't have asked for a better DJ!

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Rich kept the crowd very involved and having fun.
I don't know if numbers were actually exchanged on that night, but Cutting Edge was definitely recommended to many. One of my friends was getting married a few weeks after me and used Cutting Edge and Rich! Her wedding was just as fun and we danced all night!

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

"Shout" is always a fun dance and "Sweet Caroline" and Don't Stop Believing" are two more of my fave songs of the night.



Wedding on 2008-10-11


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Cutting Edge

First dance song?

"nothing else matters' by metellica

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

playing music that got people moving... and kept moving

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

DJ and MC were very much involved with the guests.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

I loved everything about it.



Wedding on 2010-05-23


Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Made our special day that much more magical!

First dance song?

"Let There Be Love" by Nat King Cole.

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

Key word here is smoothly! Cutting Edge provided an absolutely seemless transition with our band and our ceremony musician. They picked up the vibe of the band and most importantly, the guests. They played some really great crowd pleasers, so much so that everyone was disappointed when it all had to stop.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

Craig was brilliant as a master of ceremonies! He introduced a very special film that was made about the day (thanks Cinemacake - they are also well worth checking out). Craig picked up on the fun vibe of the reception and magically, got every guest to sit down on the dance floor so everyone could see the film of the day. And then equally as magically got everyone dancing again afterwards! Again this was all seemless and didn't interfere with the flow of the wedding at all.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

My mum wanted to say thank you Cutting Edge for playing the Black Eye Peas - I have never seen my mum let loose so much on the dancefloor - now that's a recommendation! Thank you so much for making everyone so happy Cutting Edge!




Selection
Accommodating
Friendly
Sound Quality

Just Perfect

First dance song?

Because You Loved Me by Celine Dion

How did your wedding musicians keep the party going?

The music was perfect. We met with our DJ (Pedro) a few weeks before our wedding and he really knew how to keep the dancefloor moving. He had come highly recommended, but we hadn't actually seen him in action. It was better than we imagined.

DJ or Band interaction with the wedding guests? Numbers exchanged?

He was just awesome, and just the right amount of interaction. We didn't want someone too pushy and he did exactly what we wanted in terms of how he dealt with our guests. A true professional.

Favorite wedding reception song & dance?

It was all perfect.


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.