Mathy Shoots People
13 Reviews

Selected Best of 2014

Anywhere and Everywhere!
Dumfries VA 22026
United States




Portfolio




Matt + Kathy = Mathy.

We are open to shoot any and everything! Our goal is to capture beauty, pure and simple. Whether it be in the eyes of a pet, a child, a senior graduating college, or in a special glance between a bride and groom on their wedding day. We love giving people tangible items to remind them of their most cherished moments.

We are located in Northern Virginia and available for shoots world-wide.

Let us Shoot You! We want you in our crosshairs!

www.MathyShootsPeople.com




Reviews (13)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:







cassieravo


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Wedding Review

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Tons of great ones, but a favorite that sticks out is after my husband and I first saw each other, Mathy captured my husband spinning my around while the wind caught my dress. It was beautifful.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They were constantly present without being overbearing. They captured so many candid and action shots throughout the day of both us and our guests. We were told during and after the wedding by our guests how much fun it seemed like our photographers were having, which I think shows through their pictures. Mathy wasn't just standing on the side snapping shots, they were having fun, engaging, and therefore were able to capture great shots without seeming like sticks in the mud standing around.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Two photographers, one additional session, photos available online to all our guests for one year.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were so easy going, light hearted, and willing to do whatever was asked. If we asked to make sure things were captured, they were on it. If guests asked for pictures, they were on it. They were able to make sure we have beautiful mementos for years to come without having stiff formality but rather genuine images.


aahwedding
Wedding on 2014-10-11


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Photographer Review

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There is a photo of myself and the flower girl waiting in the bridal suite. The flower girl was playing with her "flower wand" not paying attention to smiling at the camera. The picture taken was so sweet and genuine of me sitting with her and her having a great time with her flowers. The smile on her face just says it all.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Mathy is great with candids, action shots, portraits. They were so behind the scenes throughout the whole day I hardly knew they were there, but they were able to capture the day in its entirely perfectly.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Two photographers, engagement pics

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were very outgoing and cheerful the whole day. They never once made you feel like a job, and were so excited the whole day to interact with us and our family.


grobson
Wedding on 2014-10-12


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

We love Mathy!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

They took a candid of my husband and I walking through the grass laughing. The whole picture captured the day and they took so many great candid shots :)

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Our group was on the dance floor the entire night and they got right in the middle to make sure they captured every dance move, laugh and cheers! I have been at other weddings where the photographers were very disruptive and distracting during the ceremony, but Mathy did a great job blending with the crowd and nto taking away from sentimental moments.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Two photographers, Engagement shots, & full album.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They truly realized the stress and importance of the day and spoke to us as friends. They were very comforting, respectful and accommodating throughout the day. They did a great job keeping us on schedule throughout the day and were really helpful during the ceremony to make sure we got all the shots we needed, including a group shot of the ENTIRE reception at the end of the night!


ctasy
Wedding on 2013-09-28


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Love Mathy!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Really loved the candids taken during the ceremony and the reception but all our pictures were great! They did our engagement shoot as well and there were a lot of favorites from there!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Matt followed my husband around while Kathy was with me, they were not disruptive at all and got some great candids and action shots that were were surprised to see happened. We have a number of the portraits framed in our house and our family and guests have told us how great the pictures turned out.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Engagement Shoot and two awesome photographers!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were incredibly nice and professional, our families both felt very comfortable with them and as a results got some great shots!


Amanda McDaniel
Wedding on 2013-08-24


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Mathy is Amazing. We are forever grateful.

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Our family formals turned out amazing, the one's of my husband and I are our favorite. Some of candid one's of him and I are also my favorite. I can't just pick one, they were all amazing!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Yes to all of the above.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Our relationship originally started with Mathy after I experienced their work in action while in the wedding party of one of my friends. The bride told me all about her experience with them, and after meeting them in person and seeing them in action, I knew they would be a great fit for my now husband and I.

I quickly realized that wedding photos were more than just getting our picture taken. There was a level of comfort needed to be yourself in front of the camera that you don't always find in the photography world. And if you can't be yourself in pictures, how can you really say it's a true representation of you? The comfort level needed for engagement/wedding pictures is extreme, because it's more than just smiling for the camera, you have to be loving and affectionate, and kiss in front of strangers who are taking your picture. But, that's where Mathy differs from every other photographer we've ever met. They are strangers to none of their customers.

Mathy is fun, passionate, and personable. Their character and dynamic as joint photographers are out of this world amazing, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

They will be our first contact in the future for maternity pictures, family portrait sessions, etc. and definitely our only recommendation to those seeking photographers.


Linda Koontz
Wedding on 2013-07-17


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

We will hire Mathy for all of our future events

What was your favorite wedding photo?

When our officiant announced you may kissed the bride and the groom dipped the bride.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They were great with candid and action shots.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We had two photographers all day for a flat rate. It also included a complimentary photo session.


Tiffany Butler


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

I looooooove MATHY!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I don't have a favorite I love them all!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I completely forgot they were there. The didn't disrupt anything the entire day. The only time we notice them is when we did our "formal" posed pictures. And they caught EVERYTHING!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

The package included Matt and Kathy which was great because we have so many angles and every moment. We also get another shoot with them which we've opted to wait for a "one year later" shoot.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were so personable and friendly, all of our guests loved them! I am far from photogenic but they made me look and feel like a model.


Quaneasha Ruffner
Wedding on 2012-11-24


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

the BEST wedding photographers ever!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

We don't have a single favorite, but we love the candid shots from our reception. We also love the photos we took in the limo and the detail shots of the dress and the church.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

After taking the formal portraits, we barely even knew they were there. However, after looking at our photos, we noticed that they captured so many moments that even we missed during our wedding. Not to mention the photos look gorgeous!!! Again, we absolutely love the candid shots they took during the reception!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

The package included a free portrait session, two equally amazing photographers, unlimited coverage of our wedding day, and all of our photos artistically edited.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were really down to earth and hilarious! They didn't over impose. Aside from the formal portraits, they took most of the photos from a distance so that we barely even noticed them.


Katie Hollander
Wedding on 2012-08-18


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Mathy is AWESOME!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I'm not sure we have a single favorite wedding photo. There are so many that capture the day! One of our favorites is the picture of our "first kiss". It's perfect!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

For the most part, we didn't even notice them. There were so many great photos from the wedding that we wondered how they took them all!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Matt and Kathy were with us the whole day from when we told them to be there in the morning until we told them we were going home. We only wanted a dvd of the pictures, and they gave us a thumb drive with pictures sized for both Facebook and hi-res ones for printing. It was exactly what we wanted.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Matt and Kathy were great! Even my mom, who is SUPER picky, liked them. We had met and spoken with Mathy before the wedding, and I think we were comfortable with them from the start.


Shelby Panchal
Wedding on 2012-11-11


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

AMAZING couple and even more AMAZING photography!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite wedding photo has to be the one at the reception that shows everyone dancing, laughing and having a good time. Although there are TONS to choose from, there is one with EVERYONE in it and it just reminds me of how much fun and how special that day was to us.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They were very good about making sure ALL of our wants and needs were met. We kind of let them do their thing and they let us do ours. They had so many great ideas it made taking photos fun and enjoyable which is good because my husband HATES photos, but in all of the photos I SWEAR you can't tell :D

I think the candids they took were probably my favorite. I don't even know where to being about the action shots. I didn't realize how much dancing went on until i saw the photos. I was too busy dancing myself and just enjoying the day that when I saw the photos I really got to relive everything.

As for portraits, well, let's just say everyone on my Facebook news feed probably hates me because I have too many good ones to choose from.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Two photographers and more photos than I could have ever imagined.


Mit Desai
Wedding on 2012-06-30


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

We love Mathy!!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Photo taken over looking the water in the evening as the sun was setting.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They took all kinds of pictures. They were very easy to work with and very professional.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Two photographers, a USB of all the pictures with two sizes (web size and original).

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They made us and everyone else at the wedding very comfortable. They were a delight to have and would recommend to anyone. Wonderful couple.


C GR
Wedding on 2012-10-07


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Doesn't Get Better Than This!!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite wedding photo was the entire bridal party doing a big jump.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They did very well but were always around and had lots a patience when it came to portraits and the ideas for action shots.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Our package included just our two wonderful photographers and 1 year anniversary pictures.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

By blending in and laughing at all the funny jokes!


Laura Woodruff
Wedding on 2012-10-06


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Coolest folks ever

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My husband and I being silly. I love that they got pictures of us as we are.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I never noticed them during the ceremony! And they were so sweet and creative with the formals.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Engagement pictures! They looked so good! And they gave us usb sticks of all the pictures which was really convenient. And two photographers since they are a duo.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They got our humour and were very relaxed and friendly with everyone.


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.