Ray + Kelly Photography
16 Reviews

Main Street
Viroqua WI 54665
United States




Portfolio




Our photos show real life.We believe that truly beautiful photos come from couples who feel like themselves and show love that is genuinely theirs.

We see weddings as a story about a couple and their families and we strive to capture your day as a story with depth, joy, life, and motion.

Other than creating images that are honest, artistic, and filled with beauty, our biggest goal while using our cameras is to form real friendships. We always feel the best and most timeless images we have ever made are of people we can call friends.




Reviews (16)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:







Emmakelsey


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Wonderful in every way.

What was your favorite wedding photo?

The is an impossible question. I would say I have at least 10 favorites.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

We barely noticed they were there. They just allowed us to be ourselves and got the shots we wanted without having to ever ask us to pose for them. The candid shots they got are amongst our favorites yet so are the portraits. These two really do it all.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We were sent a lovely DVD with all our edited images. We also of course got to work with both Ray and Kelly.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They both bring a calm and quiet energy to the room, a very welcomed presence on a wedding day.


wraynin
Wedding on 2014-05-16


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

The Best!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Ray + Kelly are wonderful people, and wonderful photographers. We wanted low-key, beautiful photos that captured the spirit of the day without feeling like we were posing for a bunch of photos. Ray + Kelly absolutely delivered: it was a stress-free experience, and we have gorgeous photos to remember the day with.


puja1101
Wedding on 2013-08-11


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

SO glad we went with Ray and Kelly

What was your favorite wedding photo?

It is hard to pick just one. I love the photos of just Kevin and I. I also love the photos of Kevin and the guys getting ready because I wasn't able to be there. The action shots of the flower girls/ ring bearers are also amazing. Ray and Kelly have such a way of capturing children in their element. There is also one photo where my husband and I are looking up towards the sky, which is absolutely gorgeous. Ray and Kelly understand natural light so well, and it shows when looking at the pictures.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Ray and Kelly specialize in candid shots and action shots. While I loved the posed pictures, my favorites are of the wedding party/guests naturally enjoying the day. Ray and Kelly are not your typical photographers. They really help to document the story of the entire day.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

With Ray and Kelly, you really get double the opportunities for amazing pictures because they work together (and they work together amazingly). Kelly documented the ladies getting ready, and Ray documented the guys getting ready, which really helped to tell the story of the whole day when looking at the pictures.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Ray and Kelly are just so genuinely awesome. They are amazing at what they do, but they are so easygoing about it. During our engagement shots, we really got to know each other. It felt like we were being photographed by new friends, not by a business.


emilymichaels
Wedding on 2013-08-24


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

The best!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

It's impossible to pick just one but we loved both the candids and more posed shots - overall they completely captured all the best moments of our wedding day.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

It was really important to us to have lots of candid shots and that is by far the vast majority of what we got. Ray and Kelly got along great with everyone and hung out from the time we were getting ready, by the time we got to the wedding it just felt like a few more friends had joined us.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

A flash drive of all images, link to an online gallery, reproduction rights and two photographers.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Since we live in California we were able to do a Skype meeting with Ray and Kelly far in advance of our wedding. On the day of they fit in seamlessly with our friends and family and were totally unobtrusive while somehow managing to capture all the important shots.


Lawrence Wang
Wedding on 2012-09-15


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Incredible Experience

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Our favorite photos (it's really hard to narrow it to one) are from the private session we did before dinner with just perfect lighting and away from the crowd. It was a quiet moment away from the rush of our friends and family, and we both look so happy walking together in the field. Ray + Kelly knew right when to capture the ideal lighting and all of those shots were amazing.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Ray and Kelly fit right in the whole day. They got to know us well ahead of time and we felt really comfortable with them around us all of the time. We asked that they incorporate a lot of the property in many of the shots as it was a very special place for us and they did a wonderful job with that even in candid shots, which is a great testament to their creativity and eye.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Two photographers, DVD with printing rights and engagement pics.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Ray + Kelly are in general really nice and laid back, making it super easy for them to get along and blend in with everyone. They asked us what pictures we wanted to get beforehand, which helped get through the obligatory family shots, but they were never demanding about what should be done. It was all a very easy process and I would absolutely recommend them for anyone who wants a beautiful and hassle free photography experience.


Anne Carlson
Wedding on 2012-08-25


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Ray + Kelly Wedding Photographers

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Our favorite photo is an image from the "first look". We are both so excited to see each for the first time and it was our wedding day! It was a very special moment and you can feel the energy by looking at the photo. A close second would be a panorama shot of the entire wedding party in front of the large old tree we were married in front of.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Ray and Kelly were in the background for most of the day. They would step forward and give ideas and use their professional creativity and listened to our thoughts throughout the entire day too. For the most part they were just there experiencing the day as we did. When we received our DVD we re-lived the day and all the special moments. We were looking for candid shots and not so much of the traditional wedding photography so Ray and Kelly were perfect for us. We are very pleased.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Included in our package were two amazing and creative photographers, an engagement session and many hours on our wedding day. They stayed later than they had probably planned and were able to capture more of the dance when everyone was really celebrating. Shortly after the wedding we received a disc with all of our wedding photos included to print on our own.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Everyone was very comfortable with Ray and Kelly. They are both easy going and very friendly people. We mostly communicated through email before the engagement photos. We took some surveys so they could get a better feel of what we were like and what we were hoping to do on our wedding day. They were there to work but were courteous of us and our guests as people and not just another wedding they were shooting. It was as though we had close friends photographing our wedding rather than people we had only met a couple times prior.


Rebecca Lora
Wedding on 2012-05-27


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Absolutely Outstanding Photographers

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Right after the ceremony, Ray + Kelly whisked us away for a quick walk. It was a great time to let our breaths out and be excited and giddy together. Although we knew it was "picture time," the walk was so relaxed and fun that the pictures are really natural. They took one photo that is so beautiful, it took my breath away. My husband and I are standing together in a sea of tall grass, completely surrounded by sun, sky, and fields, and the photo's angle, lighting, and framing are a work of art.

We love ALL the pictures Ray+Kelly took, and we truly treasure this photo of our kiss in the fields.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I think one of my biggest, most pleasant surprises is how much my guests loved Ray+Kelly!!!! A number of them went out of their way to tell me how wonderful our photographers were. Even though we got married in Wisconsin, I have guests from Manhattan and Peru who want to fly Ray+Kelly out for their weddings.

Everything about their photos is high quality. They captured that photo-journalistic quality I was hoping for, so the photos tell the story of the day from start to finish. And because there are two of them, one was able to be with my husband while he got ready and one with me!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Two photographers; high-resolution DVD with full rights (THIS IS AMAZING AND RARE); a GORGEOUS BLOG very soon after the wedding; and beautiful touches through the whole process.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were really focused on helping us create what we were hoping for. They listened carefully as we described our style, our hopes for the wedding, our families, etc. They are wonderful, easy-going people who love what they do and love doing it together, and it shows through the pictures.


Stefanie Goudeaux
Wedding on 2012-07-07


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Perfect Day Captured Perfectly

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There are some really sweet pictures of my husband and I just enjoying the day. Ray and Kelly also pulled us away from our guests to have an intimate moment. We took pictures holding a sign that says "Don't Give Up." Those pictures are priceless. We also have SO many candid pictures of our friends and family just having a blast.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They did so many candid shots that I would forget they were taking pictures. It just felt like they were friends hanging out. And we didn't spend too much time perfecting every posed shot but they turned out wonderful. They were also taken at unique angles which made them beautiful.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We got 2 photographers for the entire day, access to all of our photos online, a DVD of pictures and a nice bag of coffee beans. :)

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Ray and Kelly are really easy going and comfortable people to start with. The way they work together seems effortless. They also hung around all the time but it never felt like they were in "our way." That's probably due to the fact that they only took the posed pictures that we requested. Most of their pictures are candid shots that we didn't even know they were taking. Which made them so natural!


Sarah Sutton
Wedding on 2011-06-04


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

The Best Wedding Photographer

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I think it's the one in which Robbie is kissing while leaning against the Red Barn.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

They did a wonderful job of blending with with my guests. I was hardly aware of them for most of the ceremony/reception. The candid shots are great. They did a fantastic job of capturing the important moments of my wedding- moments I was there for and moments I would have completely missed if not for them.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We got a dvd with the pictures, very cool packaging for the DVD, two wonderfully observant photographers, complete rights to our pictures, and wonderful memories frozen in time for us to enjoy for the 70 years.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Ray was very laid back and easy going. Kelly was funny and made everyone laugh. They were very nice. They had great suggestions for "poses" and portraits. They were excited to let us do certain pictures that were very important to us. They let us run the show, while contributing with their years of wedding photographing experience to produce a wonderful album of pictures we will cherish forever.


Lane Burns
Wedding on 2011-07-09


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Photo-Storytelling: Amazing, Heart-Stopping Photos

What was your favorite wedding photo?

This is absolutely too hard to choose. There are categories.

Everyone's Favorite Wedding Photo of Bride and Groom: A photo of me reaching from behind and adjusting my new husband's tie while he looks askance. http://blog.raymondsiler.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/LaneJason059.jpg

One of my favorite photos of us: There's this moment where my husband and I were joking as we were supposed to be posing, and Ray/Kelly took several photos of me bending over laughing and Jason (husband) pulling me up into a kiss. This is the photo of that kiss. http:/t.com/lw9luZb

Photo that stopped my heart: This photo still makes me tear up. http://blog.raymondsiler.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/LaneJason042.jpg

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Honestly, Ray and Kelly are such great people, you probably would have invited them to your wedding anyway. Kelly hung out with me while I was getting ready, and I felt completely like she belonged there. At the end of the night, we begged them to stay longer, even though they'd run out of memory for photos!

Our whole wedding was a candid shot filled with action. I knew Ray and Kelly can do posed things, but honestly, that's not what we were about. They captured fire-spinners, parades, singers and dancers without any problems - better than most photographers who are dedicated to dance photography!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Included in our package was 12 hours of shooting time with two photographers, plus unlimited printing rights on all the images and a DVD with over 600 photos. We also got to see a blog post of our day that was mentioned on Facebook and Twitter, as well as a photo tweeted from the day of.

Part of our package was also an engagement session and the right to print these images as well.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were a part of the family, and I hope they had as much fun as we had. When they needed something, they came to us, otherwise, they took care of themselves.


Anne Lovelace
Wedding on 2012-03-10


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Couldn't have dreamed of more!


miranda bott


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Miranda & Ryan Bott

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Our sequence of first look photos was incredible. Previous to the suggestion from Ray and Kelly, we did not want to see each other before the ceremony. I am so happy we changed our minds - it was the best part of the day! We had just 10 minutes to ourselves before we left for the church, taking time to reflect on this monumental step. Ray and Kelly caught the most incredible, genuine moments!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Their love for candid and journalistic-type photos is what makes them so unique compared to most other photographers. It allows the day to proceed naturally and effortlessly. You hardly knew they were there, except for the fact that they are such great people that you couldn't help wanting to talk with them =)

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

All of the above - they use a vendor to professionally print any images that you want to order with printing credit that is included in the package, and the option to order online if your order exceeds the credit. We ordered a large print of an engagement photo for my shower, and the quality is superb!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

We could write a book on how wonderful Ray and Kelly are - as photographers and as people! Our engagement pictures and wedding pictures turned out amazing! We are not professional models, so doing unnatural poses all day long seemed daunting to us - therefore, finding Ray and Kelly was such a blessing. They inconspicuously photographed the day as it naturally unfolded, creating a story that anyone can follow. They find beauty and opportunities to create images in a way that is truly unique to them and to the couple they are working with. While the photos speak for themselves, it is important to note that it was the experience we had working with them that made it even more incredible. Their flexibility was invaluable to us. After every interaction we had with them, we came back saying "wow, Ray and Kelly are just great, genuine people" - easy to work with, easy to have a laugh with, and most importantly, easy to feel comfortable around. Combined with their INCREDIBLE talent and partnership, we will have timeless pictures that will last a lifetime!


Kelsey Vandersteen


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Best Decision We Made!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There is one taken of me and my husband from behind while we were doing our first glance - we were holding hands very delicately, a totally candid and special moment that was the most authentic shot taken the entire day. GREAT photos of the whole day but this one, when we were lost in each other, is my absoulte favorite :)

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Ray and Kelly are fantastic at capturing candids - they have two different but highly complementary styles that are able to see all sides of a scene somehow. They did do good posted/portraits as well but their signature poses are candids and funky, artsy and unique. They took one of us through the fogged up windows after we'd drawn a heart in the misty water on the picture - Ray was on his knees in the snow outside to take it through the glass. An amazing shot!!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Included in our package was 12 hours of shooting time plus unlimited printing rights on all the images and two DVDs with 550 images total. We also got a full afternoon of engagement pictures and the right to print these images as well. We also got to see a blog post of our day that was mentioned on Facebook and Twitter.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They were relaxed the *entire* day - they took care of themselves, captured so many images from so many angles, they instructed if we wanted cues but also just let us be and pick our own angles and our own shots. Never pushy or demanding, you truly couldn't even tell they were there for most of the night other than when we got the pictures back and they had captured EVERYTHING!!


Kathleen Koene
Wedding on 2009-09-05


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Can't Stop Looking at Them, Even 6 months Later!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There is a photo of my husband and I underneath my vale, with the sunlight shining on us. It's beautiful and really captured the essence of the day for us. All of the pictures are taken thoughtfully and with a ton of heart and soul.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Ray and Kelly avoided disrupting the day because they got pictures when I didn't even know they were there. I wanted a lot of candid photos from my wedding to see the moments that I missed because I was somewhere else, and to best catch the emotion of the day. Ray and Kelly are phenomenal with candid shots, action shots and portraits. Looking back at the photos I am able to see something new each time. I get emotional each time I look at the pictures.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

In our package we received two photographers, 7+ hours of photography, and a CD of the digital negatives with unlimited printing rights. Ray and Kelly work tremendously as a team.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

My wedding party, family and friends felt very comfortable with all the pictures being taken by Ray and Kelly. After the wedding we went to the park and took pictures on the railroad tracks and by the trees within the park. They came up with fun poses, and had us all laughing and enjoying the moment.


Brad Manning
Wedding on 2009-09-12


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

September Wedding- Madison

What was your favorite wedding photo?

They were essentially all great, but there were a few that were really outstanding. Ray took some beautiful photos of us incorporating the architecture of the Capitol, one of which we used on our thank-you cards. The best spontaneous picture was one of the bridal bouquet toss being intercepted by a bridesmaid as it was about to land in another guest's hands- with great reactions captured from guests in the background.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Ray and his assistant were excellent all-around, he posed only the shots he had to and they weren't disruptive in the least. Other than a brief session after the ceremony, he required very little formal posing at all- yet he came away with excellent shots of a huge proportion of the wedding guests.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We got the deluxe two-photographer, engagement session-included package, and it was well worth it. You get a digital copy of all the photos 6-8 weeks after the wedding, and can assemble a book in any way you choose- rather than being forced to purchase an expensive album. I've seen many friends with far more expensive photographers/packages get far less artistic and original photographs.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Ray is just a flat-out nice guy and pleasant to work with; everyone at the wedding was impressed with his professionalism. Equally remarkable is that many guests barely realized he was there, until they saw the incredible pictures of them that he had taken. Ray is the quintessential non-obstrusive photojournalists, and it shows in the final product.


Kristen Olsen
Wedding on 2009-09-18


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Amazing Photos!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There were so many, it's hard to choose!! I think one of my favorites is of my husband crying. We had a very emotional letter read to us by a guest who wasn't able to make it because she had just had surgery. The picture shows absolute raw emotion in mine & my husbands face. It is one of those pictures that will always be special to us and we didn't even know he took it until we got the pictures back.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Quite honestly, we didn't even realize that Ray was there for most of the day. He had a knack for being "invisible" to us, but able to catch the moments & emotions that we wanted. He and his assistant were able to capture moments that we didn't even remember from the day, very photo-journalistic.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

The pictures were very important to us, so we chose the package that included everything. Two photographers, unlimited time, engagement session, and printing rights to the photos.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

For the engagement session, Ray & Kelly talked to us like we were friends instead of customers. They are really good at guiding you to pose in a way that's natural instead of rehearsed.

For the wedding, Ray was very laid back and took everything in stride so nobody felt pressured to stand a certain way or "pose" for the camera. He was (is) easy to talk with and took my crazy families suggestions and ideas very well.

We couldn't have asked for a better photographer!


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.