Jessica Ellis Photography
18 Reviews

Selected Best of 2012

4465 Walnut Gap Rd.
Huntington WV 25701
United States




Portfolio




West Virginia Photography, Wedding photographer in Huntington, Wedding photography




Reviews (18)

Thanks for your review!
* Required fields

characters remaining



* Please fill out at least one of the following questions:







Suz


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Wedding review

What was your favorite wedding photo?

We could not pick just one! Our couple photos were amazing and absolutely beautiful! But if we had to pick one it would be the one taken inside with all of the draping, uplighting, and chandelier. It totally captured our wedding.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jessica did a wonderful job of not disrupting the day. Following the ceremony and our family/couple pictures I never knew she was there. The candid shots of our guest dining and dancing were so much fun! She captured the best moments.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Jessica was very accommodating in developing a package for me and our wants. It included a cd, canvas, acrylic portrait (stunning), and coffee table book (which was perfect and captured the best moments). She came early and stayed for about 8 hours.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jessica was great to work with! She came early and assisted me in task that most photographers would not do. I did not have a wedding planner and she stepped up, developed a schedule for me and kept all of us on track. She was very professional. She was well prepared with picture suggestions but also ensured I had the shots I wanted. Jessica was so down to earth and friendly my family and friends actually enjoyed the picture taking sessions.


lhart615
Wedding on 2012-09-22


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

amazing photographer

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There are so many amazing photos that it is hard to choose only one. I have to say that the pictures she took in front of the capital are my favorite. The lighting and background are so beautiful.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jessica was able to blend in during the ceremony and did not disrupt a thing during the day. She was able to get incredible shots of the wedding "details" while we were getting ready. Everything flowed very well and she was very organized, which I really appreciated.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

I couldn't have been more pleased with the photo package that we chose. Jessica has VERY reasonable packages available. The value is incredible. The photo book we received with our package is unbelievable. Everyone I show is so impressed. It is definitely one of a kind and gorgeous.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jessica made my husband and I feel very comfortable. We had requested to see each other before the ceremony and she was able to capture our special moment seeing each other for the first time so beautifully. I feel so lucky to have found Jessica and could not be more pleased with the experience. I would recommend her without any reservation.


amazingrace4298


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Perfect Pictures!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

Everyone LOVES the picture of my husband and his groomsmen walking outside down an alley. I also love the ones that Jessica took of us outside of the church. She has some extremely unique ideas.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jessica was extremely good at capturing candids at the right moment, and taking charge to get all of our portraits complete as well. She was very flexible, especially with the chaos of the day and adjusting picture times. Very professional!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Several different sizes of prints, an album of prints, a canvas, and a coffee table book. I LOVE that book and get so many compliments on it...it is very professional looking.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She was always trying to make us happy and capture the exact pictures and moments that we had asked for. I wouldn't change a thing!


Emily Duke
Wedding on 2012-09-08


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Great Photographer at a Reasonable Price

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I loved Jessica's detail shots of our rings, my shoes, the flowers, etc. My favorite photo of my husband and I is the one of me leaning against the front of my 1966 Mustang and Matt standing by the driver's side door. My second favorite is of my husband and I inside the reception tent with all of the paper lanterns and lights aglow.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jessica managed to get all the great shots without being in the way. I loved her candid shots, although I also appreciated that she was willing work through my list of must have traditional portraits as well. However, her candid and creative shots were some of my favorites.

Many photographers I spoke with in the Charleston area were not willing to do traditional family portraits anymore, which I think is ridiculous, but Jessica had no issue working those in with the more creative shots.

I also truly enjoyed my bridal portrait session with her (despite the intense heat!) and the photos from that day are beautiful as well.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Our package included a CD with all the edited images from the day, an 8x8 leather bound album, several 5x7s and 8x10s and a 16x20 canvas wrapped print. It also included an engagement picture session, which we switched to bridals since we'd already had engagement pictures made. We had two photographers and Jessica was there for about 8 hours, I believe, on the big day!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She was very friendly yet professional, easy to work with, responsive to ideas and extremely easy to get in touch with via phone or email. Her calm and professional attitude made it easy to get in front of the camera!


HOLLY MEDLEY
Wedding on 2012-08-25


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Great choice for your photographer!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There were so many pictures that I loved it is difficult to choose just one!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jessica showed up at my church for the ceremony while I was doing my makeup etc and found my bouquet,rings,garter etc and took pictures without interupting me to locate them. I forgot about her being at the ceremony because she blended in well with the crowd but still captured many great ceremony shots!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

8x10's, 5x7's, 50 4x6 prints, leather bound coffee table book and a canvas wrap........The coffee table book is the BEST thing I have ever seen! I searched high and low for a great photographer and when I found her at the wedding expo and looked through a coffee table book from another wedding I knew I wanted her as my photographer! I get sooooo many compliments from people about the book!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jessica asked me from the beginning what I wanted and stuck to my ideas. She even met with me at the recpetion/photo area to look at the best angles to capture the best light and scenery. She was outgoing and professional. I highly recommend her and I will certainly choose her as my photographer for futre portraits!


Laura Johnson
Wedding on 2012-06-10


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

THE perfect fit

What was your favorite wedding photo?

The one in the middle of the road in black and white with the flowers in color.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

During the ceremony you didn't even notice she was there she was hidden well within the crowd and got some amazing shots, not only at the wedding but with our after wedding shots and some fabulous ones at the reception as well.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We recieved engagement pictures a dvd of all the copy rights of the engagement pictures and the wedding pictures, a 10x10 leather album, a 16x20 canvas print,6 8x10's, and 4 5x7's.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Our family completely adored Jessica, our girls absolutely loved her and we cannot wait to have our family pictures done by her! Looking forward to see more of her amazing work!


Maria Harless
Wedding on 2012-06-09


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

James & Maria Wedding

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite wedding picture is hard to pick out because I have so many. I love the pictures taken on the bridge with the whole bridal party and James and I. I like the decorative photos that showed our rings, our flowers, jewlery, stuff like that. So I don't have a favorite..I have a bunch of favorites! :-)

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She took the guys and the grooms side of the family and got pictures taken with them out of the way while the bridesmaids and myself got dressed and finished getting ready. The portraits where wonderful, the action shots where very good and some funny ( partically because my husband seems to make funny faces during picture taken lol). Everything was wonderful.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

My wedding was just two week ago and within 48 hours had 12 pictures to see as a preview and within a week got to see all the photos taken. Jessica offers alot of differnt options as far as packages go. For my wedding we didnt have time to do engagement pictures because my husband and I work to much but it is offered. She does a album book thats pictures that don't get fingerprints on them or fade. ( I don't know the technical name of it) And with the package you get a various amount of pictures and sizes and special effects/retouched. Like I said there is a variety of options.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

I am a very hard person to get ahold of so first off she's very patience. She was able to meet me on short notice to go over what I was looking for in pictures etc...My mom wanted a couple different shots and asked Jessica if it was possible and made them possible right after the wedding ceremony. Over all very pleased with Jessica and in the future will request Jessica Ellis Photography for more picture moments like baby pictures, family pictures, and my little sisters senior pictures!


Tasha Cline
Wedding on 2012-08-11


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Engagement pictures

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I loved every single engagement picture Jessica took. However, if I had to choose, there is one photo taken at the capital where my fiancé was kissing me while he was dipping me. Every time I see it, it makes me happy!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jessica only did our engagement due to the fact that we moved to Colorado shortly after our pictures were taken. I did however love her as well as my pictures do much we wanted to fly her to Colorado for our special day!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

During our shoot, she was amazing, friendly, funny, and full of amazing ideas! She incorporated everything I wanted as well as tolerating my clothing changes in between. My fiancé and I are the same height when we are wearing flats and being the burly girl I am, I adore ahoes, the higher the better! However, Jessica did amazing work with different angles and heights so the height and shoes weren't a problem. She took some great pictures where I was barefoot and the shoes were just simply in the corner of the picture and look perfect! She's amazing and creative. She really goes out of her way to help you! She's continued to help me with wedding decor and signs from across the country. The only way to go wrong with her is to not use her as a photographer! Her pictures are beyond amazing.


Mary Huffman


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Wonderful experience

What was your favorite wedding photo?

One of the two of us by the river holding hands, looking out.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

After seeing the photos, I hadn't realized she had taken so many! The whole experience was great.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

CD and photo album...quality is magnificent.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

I've known Jessica for a while now, so it was just like having another member of the family doing the pictures.


Tiffany Redman


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Mother

What was your favorite wedding photo?

All of them

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

Jessica does a wonderful job. You will not even notice she is there, and if you do she is amazing to work with. I have candids, action shots and portraits. All are my favorites!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Jessica provided some photo editing (pimple removal, smooting of not so flattering pudgy areas etc), a dvd with release to print any and all pictures on the dvd and offers to do prints for you if you want.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She came to my home, interacted with my family and friends, made suggestions, took ideas into consideration and was willing to try any shot we requested. She made it all and everyone look and feel beautiful! She will be my photographer for all family events forever!


Summer Drake
Wedding on 2011-07-30


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Wonderful!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

My favorite photo was the fountain picture with the sunset in the background. Jessica asked us to go outside earlier, but I am happy we got distracted and did it later. The shot is gorgeous.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

To be honest, I didn't even see her most of the day. While getting ready, I knew she was there but was never in our way. During the ceremony, I don't even know where she was standing. She was great at not being seen but still got some amazing shots. Great candid shots at my reception. I am glad she shot some good photos of people dancing and having a good time!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Included in my package was: plenty of 4x6s(placed in an album already), a few 5x7s, a few 8x10s, a coffee table album, and a CD of all our pictures.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Just reassuring us that she would do anything needed on our big day to make us happy. I truly believe Jessica would go the distance to help her clients, even beyond just photos.


Ashley Sizemore
Wedding on 2011-06-11


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Best Photgrapher in WV!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I had many favorites! Our pictures turned out beautifully!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She was not in the way at all!! She got some good candids of me and my husband laughing and of me and my bridesmaids . The portraits were gorgeous and I have so many favorites! There were a few action shots but we mostly wanted posed pictures.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We had a coffee table album, 75-4x6's, 4-5x7's, 10-8x10's, a canvas wrap, and a cd with all the pictures she took. She also took our engagement photos and gave us a cd of the pictures.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She was just so professional and wonderful. You couldn't hire a better photographer in WV! Her pictures are beautiful and she knows what she is doing! All of our pictures are gorgeous! Jessica is such a oersonable and sweet person! I couldn't have asked for a better experience with my photographer! Absolutely LOVED her!!


Shelly (Braden) Hart
Wedding on 2011-06-18


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Shelly and Peter's Wedding

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I have two favorites, one of our daughter giving me a kiss during the time we were getting ready; the other is after the wedding on the back steps of the castle where Peter is leaning over kissing me.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She was great! The only time I really seen her was on and off as she was getting detail shots of my dress and our rings and then again after the ceremony when we were taking portrait shots.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Five hours of shooting, Online proofing/ future ordering,
10 x 10 Coffee Table Book, Album of 100 4 x 6 prints, two 5 x 7 prints, two 8 x 10 prints, and a choice of one 16 x 16 or 16 x 20 canvas wrapped photo. I also chose the option to add a CD of all the photo's for an additional price.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She had a great personality and very friendly. I reserved her services about 8 months before our wedding and she kept in touch with me through out the planning process to see if there was anything I needed; always giving me idea's to help decide what I wanted for wedding pictures. She worked quickly and we hardly knew she was there.


Alicia Frey
Wedding on 2011-06-26


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Tyler and Alicia Wedding

What was your favorite wedding photo?

There were many!

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

There were a lot of action shots, and the photos that were taken that had to be posed were quick and turned out beautifully! She wasn't really in the way and took pictures of the wedding cake, decorations, etc before the wedding even started!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

A DVD of 50 pictures of our choice and 2 11x14 pictures that she included with no extra charge. We got a great deal and she worked with us on a package of our own.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

They didn't seem to mind her at all. She got the pictures she wanted and wasn't really in the way.


Jill Rider


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Jessica's Photography Style is Amazing!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I loved the pictures Jessica took of us in front of the lake. Her special effects and touch-ups in photoshop were amazing. She definitely has a talent for this! She was also available before the wedding to take pictures of me getting ready.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She has a great photojournalistic style that captured all the special moments of the day. Her candids tell the story of everything that happened and we loved looking through all the details. She was absolutely fun to have around and helped us stay relaxed and have fun with it.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

We received an amazing photo book that is absolutely gorgeous! She did a wonderful job laying out the pages and using her special effects to show beautiful pictures and all the important details of our day. It is my favorite keepsake of our wedding.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jessica is a natural photographer and loves what she does. She fit right in and was part of our day. I would highly recommend her!!!


Minnie Shultz
Wedding on 2010-07-31


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

BEWARE OF THIS PHOTOGRAPHER! DO NOT USE!!!!

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I have no favorite wedding photo because Jessica Ellis never showed up for the event. She accepted a $200 deposit and stated that I could make the remainder payment "whenever" so we made arrangements to meet the day of the event and she never showed up, she never answered our calls or emails. We left numerous voice mails and she refused to answer us.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

She RUINED the day!!! I have no professional photos of my wedding or reception!!! I would not take the risk by hiring this photographer! BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE!!!

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

NOTHING!!! she did not show up, nor make contact to state she would not be there! she made me believe that she would be attending and did not show. My wedding was on Saturday and she arranged with my sister aka matron of honor to meet saturday morning for payment because she said i could pay "whenever" and she said she would meet us and never showed up and then turned her phone off!

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She ruined my wedding day! I have no pictures of me getting ready, no pictures of my mother helping me! VERY UNPROFESSIONAL! She really managed to ruin one of the most important days in a persons life! IT IS NOT WORTH THE RISK OF USING THIS PHOTOGRAPHER!!!! There are too many to choose from! BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE!!!!

Vendor's Response

My contract policy is to receive all remaning balances 2 weeks before the event, if I do not receive payment in full the contract becomes void. The Bride and her Fiance signed that agreement. After emailing the bride several times leading up to the wedding with a reminder of balance owed, along with my new address to send it to and mailing many invoices to her house...I was told they would pay in full, then promoised they would send 200 that monday but did NOT... 2 days before wedding they called and were going to meet me and never delivered that promise either.<br><br>

The day before the wedding the maid-of-honor called me at 9:40pm that friday night, I still gave her the benefit of the doubt and gave her till first thing that morning the next day, she did not show up with payment ...after going out of my way, I finally gave up because the bride did not have money for my services and did not intend to pay me so I voided the contract and informed her and her maid-of-honor I could not commit to doing the wedding. They did not seem upset...cry or plead, it did not seem like a priority to them, I would of driven straight to my house friday night to hand deliver the final payment.<br><br>

I always try to work something out but I felt like I was given a complete run-around and they wasted my time. This is the first wedding I did not end up doing.


Katie Eastwood


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Our wedding Day

What was your favorite wedding photo?

I loved all the photos, but she did such a great job with the outdoor photos, utilizing the beautiful scenery to create some fantastic romantic shots. Some of my favorites are pictures of my husband and I that we didn't even know she was taking.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I hardly noticed Jessica was there, so was amazed at how many pictures she took of every detail. She allowed us to give our input on pictures we wanted, and had tons of great ideas herself. The pictures were effortless because she made the experience fun and relaxing. Candids, action shots, and portraits all turned out great.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Our package included unlimited coverage that day, coffee table book, several enlargements, online proofing, canvas wrap, and 100 4x6 photos.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

Jessica put everyone at ease my allowing us to be ourselves. She was very professional and allowed everyone to just have fun!


Lauren Smith
Wedding on 2009-06-13


Satisfaction
Creativity
Unobtrusive
Value

Awesome

What was your favorite wedding photo?

The one she took outside. It was somewhat of a cloudy day and with her expertise in photoshop she created a sunset sky instead of the dull dreary sky it was originally. The picture turned out gorgeous and ended up being my favorite.

How did the wedding photographer avoid disrupting the day? Great with candids? Action shots? Portraits?

I barely even noticed she was there. She took all the shots i wanted without being a disruption. Very professional.

What was included in your wedding photo package? Albums? DVDs? Engagement pics? Two photographers?

Prints, Enlargements, photo album, coffee table book, online proofing.

How did the photographer make you and family comfortable?

She made the pictures fun. Knew exactly what to say and how to position us to make everyone comfortable.


Browse more local vendors on OneWed.

Plan your perfect wedding.


Browse thousands of photos

Gorgeous inspiration for every aspect of your wedding

Find & book local vendors

See the venues, photographers, florists and more, near you

Save & share what you love

Browse thousands of photos and track with ideabooks

Join Us




Explore





Company




Copyright © 2001-2016 OneWed Inc. All Rights Reserved.